The | Apple Inc.  | Thread - WWDC 2025

SRASC

Postby SRASC » July 30th, 2009, 1:16 pm

TMZ has posted the first picture of Steve Jobs taken since his leave in January due to medical reasons.

Jobs recently returned to work at Apple following a successful liver transplant.

The photo was taken at 3:00 pm yesterday using an iPhone.

------

According to Forbes, today two researchers Charlie Miller and Collin Mulliner plan on releasing a bug in the iPhone SMS during the Black Hat cybersecurity conference in Las Vegas. The bug is said to allow a person to take over an iPhone via SMS.
“Using a flaw they’ve found in the iPhone’s handling of text messages, the researchers say they’ll demonstrate how to send a series of mostly invisible SMS bursts that can give a hacker complete power over any of the smart phone’s functions. That includes dialing the phone, visiting Web sites, turning on the device’s camera and microphone and, most importantly, sending more text messages to further propagate a mass-gadget hijacking.â€

SRASC

Postby SRASC » July 31st, 2009, 11:58 am

A day after experts revealed a major text message-based security flaw in the iPhone, the BBC reports that Apple is expected to release a fix for the exploit through iTunes on Saturday.

The news that a patch is coming soon came from a spokesperson for O2, the iPhone's wireless carrier in the U.K. It was not immediately made clear whether a patch would be made available for all iPhone users, or just those in the U.K. The exploit also affects Google Android and Windows Mobile phones. Google has reportedly taken steps to fix the security hole.

Security researcher Charlie Miller, co-author of The Mac Hacker’s Handbook, demonstrated the hack Thursday at the Black Hat 2009 conference in Las Vegas. The attack takes advantage of a vulnerability in the phone’s short messaging service, or SMS, feature, allowing an outside party into the phone’s root access without the owner’s knowledge.

When the hack was first revealed by Miller early in July, Apple was expected to release a fix before the Black Hat conference, where he gave greater detail. But that fix never came before Miller's talk.

The exploit takes advantage of the fact that SMS can send binary code to a phone. That code is automatically processed without user interaction, and can be compiled from multiple messages, allowing larger programs to be sent to a phone. The exploit supposedly exposes the iPhone completely, giving hackers access to the camera, dialer, messaging and Safari. It occurs regardless of hardware revision or which version of the iPhone OS is running.

The technique involves sending only one unusual text character or else a series of "invisible" messages that confuse the phone and open the door to attack. Because users won't know whose messages to block in advance, there's little iPhone owners can do but to shut off the phone immediately if they suspect they're at risk -- a real problem as the trick could also be used to make an iPhone send more messages of its own.

SRASC

Postby SRASC » July 31st, 2009, 12:00 pm

Reports of regulatory approval of a new model of the iPhone in China seem to confirm that Apple's hardware will appear on the China Unicom network, and also suggest that a new model was created for the country of over 1 billion.

The new iPhone is reportedly a GSM/WCDMA model that operates on the 900MHz, 1700MHz and 1900MHz bands. It also includes Bluetooth, but no Wi-Fi. It was approved on May 7, according to a China's State Radio Regulatory Commission filing discovered by Engadget. The phone has been approved for use in China for the next five years.

This week, reports surfaced that suggested a deal had been reached between Apple and China Unicom, but officials close to the matter quickly intervened to say the deal was not final.

News on the phone from China, as translated by iPhoneinChina.com, suggests the new model could fall under the Unicom WCDMA standard.

China Unicom runs a GSM/UMTS 3G mobile network using the same signaling technology at AT&T in the U.S. and most other carriers worldwide. Existing iPhone models are already compatible with China Unicom's network, though WCDMA is a third-generation GSM technology.

Pictures of the new Chinese iPhone show a 16GB model that operates on the 3G spectrum. The Hong Kong model includes English text on the back, and says the model is WCDMA.

Details of the China Unicom deal leaked this week reportedly set a minimum threshold of CNY 5 billion ($731 million) in iPhone sales, guaranteeing orders of one to two million devices per year. The source said China Unicom could begin selling the iPhone as early as late September. China Unicom is also rumored to pay Apple 3,000 CNY ($439) per unit and price it below that for customers, Unicom promises to sell a minimum 1 million units per year, and the Chinese iPhone will access "Apple's China App Store."

In February, China Unicom was fingered as Apple's most likely partner by British consulting firm Ovum, followed by a leak of iPhone information inadvertently posted by China Unicom's website and an admission by the company that it was in talks with Apple in March. Earlier this month, Analyst Shaw Wu of Kaufman Bros. similarly claimed that China Unicom would be the frontrunner in marketing Apple's phone in the country.

With over 135 million subscribers as of February 2009, China Unicom is 170% larger in terms of users than AT&T in the US, but it is still China's second largest mobile carrier after the state-owned giant China Mobile, which boasts 471 million subscribers, making it the world's largest carrier by number of subscribers.

The vast size of the Chinese market has kept observers intently interested in how and when Apple would officially enter the market with the iPhone. On its recent earnings call, Apple executives only said they planned to begin selling the iPhone within the next year and described the negotiations as a "priority project." That may have been cover to keep its negotiations productive as Apple pitted the Chinese carriers against each other to gain the best deal.

In addition to phone network compatibility, China Unicom may be more open to allowing Apple to run its own software store and retain control over iPhone features such as WiFi and Bluetooth. In contrast, China Mobile has expressed an unwavering demand to exclusively operate its own mobile software store, a stance also adopted by Verizon in the U.S.

idlemind

Postby idlemind » July 31st, 2009, 2:26 pm

hey guys just purchased my first iPhone
its a 3G 8GB

i got a padna of mine to do the jailbreaking coz im completely clueless but i intend to fix that.

can anyone help me with the CallerID fix?

i read the thread about it http://mytriniphone.com/blog/2008/11/ip ... s-to-kofi/

but im still lost and not sure if since 28 wks ago that theres an easier process

can anyone help out a iPhone noob?

thanks

shagadelic99tt

Postby shagadelic99tt » July 31st, 2009, 2:34 pm

jus search for it on cydia...

idlemind

Postby idlemind » July 31st, 2009, 2:47 pm

thanks shagadelic99tt, i found it on Cydia

and now im searching for other basic stuff i want.
quick question...are all apps and fixes on Cydia safe and tested?

looking for an app to brighten the screen for a few secs like a flashlight

idlemind

Postby idlemind » July 31st, 2009, 3:00 pm

ok i found the flashlight app too lol...liking cydia soo far

ZeroOne

Postby ZeroOne » July 31st, 2009, 4:11 pm

Aww we have a new iphone user, welcome to the club. Most of the stuff on cydia is safe, just make sure and read the instructions on what your going to install.

SRASC

Postby SRASC » July 31st, 2009, 6:17 pm

An O2 spokesperson has told BBC that Apple will release a fix on Saturday for a major security flaw with iPhone SMS.

Security experts Collin Mulliner and Charlie Miller have discovered a bug which will allow hackers to completely take over your iPhone with a single character SMS.

They presented the exploit at the Black Hat conference in Las Vegas, explaining that it works by slightly modifying the data sent by the network which is not seen by the user.

Apple had been informed of the exploit over a month ago; however, they have not as of yet taken steps to prevent it.

According to O2 a fix should be available through iTunes on Saturday.

"We will be communicating to customers both through the website and proactively,"

"We always recommend our customers update their iPhone with the latest software and this is no different."

SRASC

Postby SRASC » July 31st, 2009, 6:20 pm

Apple has just released iPhone OS 3.0.1 to fix the SMS vulnerability which was revealed by researchers Charlie Miller and Collin Mulliner yesterday at the Black Hat conference in Las Vegas.

They had claimed that a security vulnerability in the iPhone's SMS messaging system could allow hackers to in theory "take over every iPhone in the world".

Apple seems to have realized that it was serious enough to release a patch to fix the SMS vulnerability.

This Knowledgebase Article gives more details of the vulnerability where they have given credit to the researchers for finding the security hole:

Impact: Receiving a maliciously crafted SMS message may lead to an unexpected service interruption or arbitrary code execution

Description: A memory corruption issue exists in the decoding of SMS messages. Receiving a maliciously crafted SMS message may lead to an unexpected service interruption or arbitrary code execution. This update addresses the issue through improved error handling. Credit to Charlie Miller of Independent Security Evaluators, and Collin Mulliner of Fraunhofer SIT for reporting this issue.

Apple has issued the following statement on the software update:

"We appreciate the information provided to us about SMS vulnerabilities which affect several mobile phone platforms. This morning, less than 24 hours after a demonstration of this exploit, we've issued a free software update that eliminates the vulnerability from the iPhone. Contrary to what's been reported, no one has been able to take control of the iPhone to gain access to personal information using this exploit."

Please note that iPhone OS 3.0.1 breaks jailbreaking. So if you have jailbroken and/or unlocked your iPhone then we would recommend you to wait for iPhone Dev Team to release their latest tools.

SRASC

Postby SRASC » July 31st, 2009, 9:46 pm

So Apple on Friday released an update to the iPhone OS (3.0.1) that takes care of an SMS vulnerability. It's a fairly important patch, and usually when Apple updates the iPhone OS, jailbreakers have to wait until the Dev Team comes out with a new version of jailbreaking software before they can update.

But according to the iPhone Dev Team's Twitter, this is not the case with the 3.0.1 firmware. In fact, the current versions of redsn0w and ultrasn0w work the same with the 3.0.1 firmware as they do with the 3.0 firmware that came out a few weeks ago. In short, the jailbreaking software already works. I checked with the Dev Team community and had this confirmed. "Restore to 3.0.1, run redsn0w, select the 3.0 file... Bang zoom."

So go ahead, iPhone hackers, and secure your devices soon. You don't have to worry about losing Cydia and other rogue apps.

ryan99tt

Postby ryan99tt » July 31st, 2009, 10:39 pm

SRASC, so wat about the 2G ppl? anyone got a custom firmware???

govin1231

Postby govin1231 » August 1st, 2009, 5:57 am

i new to this i phone thing...
a fren of mine bought 1 of this..
http://www.diytrade.com/china/4/product ... _KA09.html
does n e 1 has the software to use it on the computer?
like to transfer music an the pics?.. can ne 1 help?..

SRASC

Postby SRASC » August 1st, 2009, 8:25 am

^^^ fake iPhone.

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » August 1st, 2009, 10:42 am

govin1231 wrote:i new to this i phone thing...
a fren of mine bought 1 of this..
http://www.diytrade.com/china/4/product ... _KA09.html
does n e 1 has the software to use it on the computer?
like to transfer music an the pics?.. can ne 1 help?..

that's not a real iPhone so none of the software will work on it

R. Mutt
Location: on the side of the road maptracing and reflashing the ecu

Postby R. Mutt » August 1st, 2009, 10:53 am

Hey guys, is there any way to get rid of the red circle on the phone icon because visual voicemail will not work in Trinidad?

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » August 1st, 2009, 11:38 am

^ the red circle shows up on the phone icon when you have voicemail. In T&T it shows up with out a number in it since we don't have visual voicemail and so car tell how many voicemail messages you have. The red circle goes away when you check all your voicemail.

At least that's how it works on bmobile - I dunno for Digicel

joashmgn

Postby joashmgn » August 1st, 2009, 12:38 pm

iPhone OS 3.0.1 problems guys... trying to resolve the caller ID issue... i downloaded and installed the carrier bundles via cydia but still getting the problem...

what tuh do... what tuh do???

SRASC

Postby SRASC » August 1st, 2009, 5:11 pm

joashmgn wrote:iPhone OS 3.0.1 problems guys... trying to resolve the caller ID issue... i downloaded and installed the carrier bundles via cydia but still getting the problem...

what tuh do... what tuh do???

Did you try downloading the Caller ID fix for 3.0? I would expect it to work on 3.0.1 as well.

joashmgn

Postby joashmgn » August 1st, 2009, 7:12 pm

i was lookin all over for that... didn't try it yet...

about to though...

thanks man...

EDIT: it worked!.. thanks a lot...

streetlifestyle

Postby streetlifestyle » August 5th, 2009, 10:16 am

diff bet 3.0 and 3.0.1???

SRASC

Postby SRASC » August 5th, 2009, 10:36 am

streetlifestyle wrote:diff bet 3.0 and 3.0.1???

Only one I could see is the patch for the SMS exploit. If this exploit wasn't discovered then 3.0.1 would have never been.

R. Mutt
Location: on the side of the road maptracing and reflashing the ecu

Postby R. Mutt » August 5th, 2009, 10:40 am

Duane 3NE 2NR wrote:^ the red circle shows up on the phone icon when you have voicemail. In T&T it shows up with out a number in it since we don't have visual voicemail and so car tell how many voicemail messages you have. The red circle goes away when you check all your voicemail.

At least that's how it works on bmobile - I dunno for Digicel

I know why the icon is there, but it's there whether I have voicmail or not. I've seen other unlocked 2Gs but they don't have this issue. I wonder if it's because my phone was activated through AT&T...i.e. the proper way through iTunes.

jhonnieblue

Postby jhonnieblue » August 5th, 2009, 10:51 am

anyone does upgrading of the iphone to 3.0 version..hav the original 2g and want to upgrade it...dint get time to do it myself

streetlifestyle

Postby streetlifestyle » August 5th, 2009, 11:08 am

^^^where u from? why u dont do it urself??? Takes all of abt 10 mins. (if so much) and who d hell is dat chic?!?!?!?! :shock:

jhonnieblue

Postby jhonnieblue » August 5th, 2009, 11:41 am

i saw the procedures for the upgrade to 2.0 + and know how to do that one but what software u use for the 3.0? any difference?
nah the phone was sitting down at home doing nothing...wasnt really using it

she nice eh :mrgreen:

streetlifestyle

Postby streetlifestyle » August 5th, 2009, 12:05 pm

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » August 5th, 2009, 12:21 pm

jhonnieblue wrote:i saw the procedures for the upgrade to 2.0 + and know how to do that one but what software u use for the 3.0?

upgrading a 2G phone to 3.0 is easy
follow the steps here
http://www.iclarified.com/entry/index.php?enid=4302
there are even the links there for the files you need to download

very easy

streetlifestyle

Postby streetlifestyle » August 5th, 2009, 12:25 pm

or what Duane says....^^^^^^^

jhonnieblue

Postby jhonnieblue » August 5th, 2009, 12:51 pm