3ne2nr fishermen

Postby X_Factor » January 8th, 2010, 9:53 am

yo-zuris

where u all get those to buy? and what type u guys use?

lancer3

Postby lancer3 » January 8th, 2010, 10:35 am

yo-zuris are expensive.....

if u in south u can get them at the fishing place by d wharf

Postby janfar » January 8th, 2010, 10:41 am

Skanky wrote:
deadfish13 wrote:
Skanky wrote:Hear nah, since I fishing I hearing bout zelwan and melwish and I aint ever seen one of these fish in real.Any1 have pics of these fish?

On another note is a new year so lewwe organize a new fishing trip to manzan.I thinking end of January....allyuh post when good for allyuh.

you might know them by another name ..one is a type of pompano and the other similar to a cro cro
anyone have some proper names ?

Trinis not easy yes.I seeing and catching them ting forever and ent know thier local names.Thanks deadfish.

The second one is a Buche(sp), typical saltwater river fish that comes out to the seal when they get big.

HaRdCoRe_YoUtH

Postby HaRdCoRe_YoUtH » January 8th, 2010, 3:40 pm

janfar wrote:
The second one is a Buche(sp), typical saltwater river fish that comes out to the seal when they get big.

NEVER!!! thats a cro cro!!

Postby X_Factor » January 8th, 2010, 5:01 pm

lancer3 wrote:yo-zuris are expensive.....

i was gonna order them off amazon, but i wanna kno which u all use as there are many different types

HaRdCoRe_YoUtH

Postby HaRdCoRe_YoUtH » January 8th, 2010, 10:55 pm

i brought a set from out-door world miami! cheap there..

brands like dawia minnow, hydro magnum and hydro tiger!

All 3 works fine and then there are cheap ones like boomer or something like that which are available here in trinidad!

X_Factor, what prices do amazon have them for cause they are usually around 10 dollar USD! If you ordering them try and order from places like bass pro shop/outdoor world!

Postby X_Factor » January 8th, 2010, 11:43 pm

yeah its approx 10$ with some packs for about 20$, not too bad

but u guys fish with these on the beach or off rocks etc?...cause i never really used artificial baits

HaRdCoRe_YoUtH

Postby HaRdCoRe_YoUtH » January 9th, 2010, 1:10 am

well i dont use my dawia minnow, hydro magnum and hydro tiger on the rock because they expensive and i am afraid to lose them on a rock. I use them only in the open sea trolling! I have some cheaper ones called boomer i think is the name! they work fine as-well i got two of those.

I use these on the rocks by the light house on the bridges in manzanilla( basically where there is open water) Now these are not heavy to go far out so they need to be gauged.

I used about a 75lb strain cable about 18inches from the artificial tip then i join a swivel to that then another piece of cable to other end of the swivel and then pass a sinker(for weight to trow out and sink the artifical a little) through the cable and then join another swivel! That usually does the trick!
BTW- you use differennt sinker/lead for differnet dept.

A lil pic to let u understand better--

I gauge the ones for trolling the same way if the boat is not equipped with down riggers.

BTW i have a lure like that one!

Postby X_Factor » January 9th, 2010, 7:38 am

^^ nice stuff man

last yr i bought some nice reels, line and hooks
stren flurocarbon line which cost me about 20US
and trilene lines and my father gone fishin wit some friends...put the stren on a caster!! and lost it..and doh even talk for the hooks!

but i tell u eagle claw and mustad hooks really sharp and sweet compared to the cheap 10/$5 hooks u get locally

HaRdCoRe_YoUtH

Postby HaRdCoRe_YoUtH » January 9th, 2010, 11:00 am

X_Factor, yup! i have 4 reels and 3 two rods! i have two daiwa 7000 reels, a penn pro reel and a shimano torium! I have a set of eagle hooks one set is the normal looking ones with the barbs on the back of the hook and then i have some black circle eagle hook(very effective for game fish) but i use them where i know i wont really lose them! I hadda make a spin back miami to buy some more stuff!

Postby X_Factor » January 9th, 2010, 11:27 am

nice stuff u hav there
i bought a diawa opus 6000 a penn sargus 6000 both yet to be used!!

HaRdCoRe_YoUtH

Postby HaRdCoRe_YoUtH » January 9th, 2010, 11:37 am

X_Factor, i hear you! i have my torium pack down! It does look to nice to use!!...lol

I had a diawa opus 6000! works fine. I have some reel like that selling and also some daiwa rods big and small!

HaRdCoRe_YoUtH

Postby HaRdCoRe_YoUtH » January 18th, 2010, 12:01 am

nobody fishing!!!........

DrunkenMaster16

Postby DrunkenMaster16 » January 18th, 2010, 12:17 am

Going banking sometime this week.

HaRdCoRe_YoUtH

Postby HaRdCoRe_YoUtH » January 18th, 2010, 3:02 am

DrunkenMaster16, north coast?

Powerslave

Postby Powerslave » January 18th, 2010, 8:55 am

Might i recommend this site for fish ID's
http://www.fishbase.org/search.php
Useful and you can search by scientific, common names even by country.
There is also a book that was published by the Fisheries Division on the marine species of TT, got a copy around somewhere

DrunkenMaster16

Postby DrunkenMaster16 » January 18th, 2010, 11:25 am

HaRdCoRe_YoUtH wrote:DrunkenMaster16, north coast?

Yeah, well thats the plan atleast.

lancer3

Postby lancer3 » January 18th, 2010, 12:01 pm

X_Factor wrote:
lancer3 wrote:yo-zuris are expensive.....

i was gonna order them off amazon, but i wanna kno which u all use as there are many different types

this is the one i use.....

http://www.webpeche.owally.com/p_materiel/photo/F8.jpg

there is a fishing/bike shop in grande who sells lure... cant remember d name of the lure but they go for like $65 and is bigger and heavier than the yo-zuris

Postby X_Factor » January 18th, 2010, 5:06 pm

im on vacation from more or less the 5th march till sometime in september

im surely in, on any fishing limes then

HaRdCoRe_YoUtH

Postby HaRdCoRe_YoUtH » January 18th, 2010, 7:59 pm

DrunkenMaster16, yeh north coast always profitable!

lancer3, those are bombers! they are not that heavy so they must be guaged(check below how to guage). they work ok but dont last very long! As i said B4 u can use those on rocks and stuff cause if they get stuck in a rock or sonething they cheap but ones like dawia minnow, hydro magnum and hydro tiger which are a little expensive last long and i only use them for trolling in the sea!

HaRdCoRe_YoUtH wrote:well i dont use my dawia minnow, hydro magnum and hydro tiger on the rock because they expensive and i am afraid to lose them on a rock. I use them only in the open sea trolling! I have some cheaper ones called boomer i think is the name! they work fine as-well i got two of those.

I use these on the rocks by the light house on the bridges in manzanilla( basically where there is open water) Now these are not heavy to go far out so they need to be gauged.

I used about a 75lb strain cable about 18inches from the artificial tip then i join a swivel to that then another piece of cable to other end of the swivel and then pass a sinker(for weight to trow out and sink the artifical a little) through the cable and then join another swivel! That usually does the trick!
BTW- you use differennt sinker/lead for differnet dept.

A lil pic to let u understand better--

I gauge the ones for trolling the same way if the boat is not equipped with down riggers.

BTW i have a lure like that one!

wall

Postby wall » January 18th, 2010, 10:12 pm

where are the king fish and carrite? went out 3 times las week and this afternoon in the gulf outside point a pier and claxton bay and only catching cutlass fish , ancho and red fish all trawling which is quite strange. the gulf really dead right now unless you banking.

Postby X_Factor » January 18th, 2010, 10:22 pm

ancho

actually sellin for the same price as carrite and even tastes better

HaRdCoRe_YoUtH

Postby HaRdCoRe_YoUtH » January 19th, 2010, 12:59 am

wall, i think north coast! they dont be to far from the shore line! Get a captian who knows the north coast good and u will catch!

wall

Postby wall » January 19th, 2010, 12:02 pm

HaRdCoRe_YoUtH wrote:wall, i think north coast! they dont be to far from the shore line! Get a captian who knows the north coast good and u will catch!
north coast a lil outta my way lol i fishing in a lil boston whaler so i hadda stay in the gulf.i no they catching endless carite and kingfish on the south coast down moruga. anyone have a pirouge and looking to take a fish this weekend or what?i supplying all tackle whether you want to bank or trawl.

wall

Postby wall » January 19th, 2010, 12:04 pm

X_Factor wrote:
ancho

actually sellin for the same price as carrite and even tastes better
hm didn't know that.whats the price per pound? going to do a lil spear fishing and banking this afternoon so i could more than fill the boat with ancho, so is bess i go and sell lol

Postby X_Factor » January 19th, 2010, 5:30 pm

^^ ancho is around 12-20$ a pound retail

wholesale is around 8-10$ 20lbs and more

if yuh wanna sell hit me a pm

psykomorf

The sea fish of Trinidad

Postby psykomorf » January 19th, 2010, 8:50 pm

This book seems pretty cool from a historical perspective... http://www.archive.org/download/seafish ... ncrich.pdf

HaRdCoRe_YoUtH

Postby HaRdCoRe_YoUtH » January 19th, 2010, 9:47 pm

psykomorf, nice read but fishing habits changed from long ago!

TriniVdub

Postby TriniVdub » January 20th, 2010, 1:25 am

yea so when is the next fishing lime? leh we organize something na...i don't have a boat, nor rod, but would love to learn man :lol:

Skanky

Postby Skanky » January 20th, 2010, 6:54 am

TriniVdub wrote:yea so when is the next fishing lime? leh we organize something na...i don't have a boat, nor rod, but would love to learn man :lol:

^People like yourself we refer to as knot specialists. :lol:

Anyway I up for a Manzan first week in February.We will meet get to know who is who then decide how we get down to the serious business of fishing on future trips.

I going once nothing comes up.Anyone who wants to come invited.