WTk V.A.T. Paying people

oxidation

WTk V.A.T. Paying people

Postby oxidation » April 28th, 2010, 6:52 pm

good day want some help in paying some vate here.

like if you buy and item for $10 and you pay vat on that which will be $1.50

so my total bill will be $11.50

now if i sell back that same item at $20 and charge vat on that $ 3.00 total bill is $ 23.00

now when i have to pay inland revenue how much i have to pay

do i take the vat with the markup price ($3.00) and minus the vat i purchased the item for ($1.50) and the remainder ($1.50) jus pay that to inland revenue................

DTAC

Postby DTAC » April 28th, 2010, 6:57 pm

Knowing Government they'll want both the $1.50 and the $3.00.

silver racer

Postby silver racer » April 28th, 2010, 7:10 pm

was the item bought and sold in the same period??

if yes, i believe u'll hav 2 pay the difference ie $1.50.

If its not in the same period u'll jus have to file a claim for the specific period in which u incured the payment of vat and the reciept of vat respectively.

oxidation

Postby oxidation » April 28th, 2010, 7:16 pm

^^^^ yes same period

MBC Autotronix

Postby MBC Autotronix » April 28th, 2010, 7:24 pm

yea u will have to pay the difference.

masterofmindz

Postby masterofmindz » April 28th, 2010, 7:49 pm

yep the diff u will pay...

oxidation

Postby oxidation » April 28th, 2010, 9:02 pm

nice tnx

Postby brams112 » April 28th, 2010, 9:22 pm

ok when you buy something,the vat is calculated buy ,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,ask an accountant nah mamoo,or pass by inland office and ask :idea:

Postby Rooki3 » April 28th, 2010, 11:02 pm

i know for sure the $1.50, is yours, the $3.00 is their's

rodfarva

Postby rodfarva » April 28th, 2010, 11:59 pm

You reclaim the. 1.50 and pay the 3.

drunkenscorpion

Postby drunkenscorpion » April 29th, 2010, 11:00 am

lol....some people really sad yes

The amount that you remit is the difference between your input and output VAT. Therefore you only remit $1.50

Ram

Postby Ram » April 30th, 2010, 8:47 am

With VAT you pay the difference:
You purchase the item for $11.50 Vat on item is $1.50, that $1.50 is your VAT INPUT

You sell the item for $23.50 Vat on item is $3.00, that $3.00 is your VAT OUTPUT

What you are liable to pay considering your VAT OUTPUT exceeds your VAT INPUT will be $1.50

hope this helps

Postby Stephon. » April 30th, 2010, 9:26 pm

tl;dr version
You pay the 3 dollars.

ebonysweetness69

Postby ebonysweetness69 » April 30th, 2010, 9:43 pm

You can ONLY claim for VAT if Your business is registered (of course it is) and if the item you purchase came from a VAT registered place.
eg: phone cards, if u buy a $20 phone card bmobile, u pay $23 , $3 for vat. But if u buy that phone in a small shop dat is NOT vat registered, u cannot claim for vat.so if u sold an item for $ 40 and charge $6 vat, u will have to pay BIR $6, but if the phone card was purchased in a VAT reg, place, u pay BIR $3.

YOU CAN ONLY CLAIM FOR VAT, FROM VAT REG PLACES ONLY!!!!!! THAT'S THE LAW!

Postby Rooki3 » April 30th, 2010, 9:45 pm

^^^ thas pretty obvious, cuz onlt reg VAT places can charge VAT :idea:

ebonysweetness69

Postby ebonysweetness69 » April 30th, 2010, 9:50 pm

Rooki3 wrote:^^^ thas pretty obvious, cuz onlt reg VAT places can charge VAT :idea:

I WAS NOT TALKING ABOUT CHARGING VAT, I WAS TALKING ABOUT CLAIMING FOR VAT, A VERRRRRRRRRY BIG DIFFERENCE!!!!!!!!!

Postby Rooki3 » April 30th, 2010, 10:18 pm

YOU CAN ONLY CLAIM FOR VAT, FROM VAT REG PLACES ONLY

and only vat registerd businsses can collect vat

you statments were kinda redundant :?

Postby Stephon. » April 30th, 2010, 10:21 pm

I laughed

ebonysweetness69

Postby ebonysweetness69 » April 30th, 2010, 10:30 pm

Rooki3 wrote:
YOU CAN ONLY CLAIM FOR VAT, FROM VAT REG PLACES ONLY

and only vat registerd businsses can collect vat

you statments were kinda redundant :?

the nuances of the english language have u very confused. i said claim, not collect.

I was saying that some ppl (in order to pay less VAT to BIR) will include phone cards , etc that came from lil shops that are not VAT reg.
to make things clear to u, if ANSA McAL bought a phone card from TSTT, then ansa can pay less vat to BIR, bcus TSTT is vat reg, but if ansa bought a phone card from lil jenny's shop, the phone card shouldnot be included, bcus lil jenny is not vat reg, therefore ansa pays more VAT to BIR.
I realise u r mixing up claiming for vat & charging vat, to put simply:
Claiming for vat is the amt u pay to BIR
Charging vat is if your gross yearly sales is $250, 000 or more
Last edited by ebonysweetness69 on April 30th, 2010, 10:33 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Ram

Postby Ram » April 30th, 2010, 10:32 pm

Allyuh making something so simple seems so complicated

Postby Rooki3 » April 30th, 2010, 10:33 pm

Charging vat is if your gross yearly sales is $200, 000 or more

fixed

don't argue me there

Postby buzz » April 30th, 2010, 10:35 pm

ebonysweetness69, can you explain in a little more detail ?

cuz thats a good point

why do i pay VAT on a phone card in a shop that isn't VAT registered ?

i'm new to this so take it slow :|
Last edited by buzz on April 30th, 2010, 10:36 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Ram

Postby Ram » April 30th, 2010, 10:35 pm

You can buy a bmobile phone card from anywhere and it will still carry vat… because TSTT is VAT registered… it does not matter who selling it… what you saying about buying a phone card from “lil Jennyâ€

Postby Rooki3 » April 30th, 2010, 10:40 pm

[quote="Ram"]You can buy a bmobile phone card from anywhere and it will still carry vat… because TSTT is VAT registered… it does not matter who selling it… what you saying about buying a phone card from “lil Jennyâ€

Postby buzz » April 30th, 2010, 10:42 pm

So if i buy an item from VAT registered store, can my unregistered VAT business still charge VAT for the said item ?

Ram

Postby Ram » April 30th, 2010, 10:42 pm

as i said before.....

Allyuh making something so simple seems so complicated

if you are not into accounts and Trinidad and Tobago Taxes, please don't mislead the people on this forum.

Postby buzz » April 30th, 2010, 10:43 pm

[quote="Rooki3"][quote="Ram"]You can buy a bmobile phone card from anywhere and it will still carry vat… because TSTT is VAT registered… it does not matter who selling it… what you saying about buying a phone card from “lil Jennyâ€

ebonysweetness69

Postby ebonysweetness69 » April 30th, 2010, 10:43 pm

[quote="Ram"]You can buy a bmobile phone card from anywhere and it will still carry vat… because TSTT is VAT registered… it does not matter who selling it… what you saying about buying a phone card from “lil Jennyâ€

ebonysweetness69

Postby ebonysweetness69 » April 30th, 2010, 10:45 pm

buzz wrote:So if i buy an item from VAT registered store, can my unregistered VAT business still charge VAT for the said item ?

sorry, but no, u can't, but u can raise ur selling price

Ram

Postby Ram » April 30th, 2010, 10:46 pm

Buzz.. you cannot charge someone VAT if you are not VAT registered.. it's against the LAW of the Land..

Only if your company is making 200K a year and can show proof of that, then you can become VAT registered.
And charge VAT to your Customers