Got a 2000 ticket for my smoked rear glasses.. need advice

Messi

Re: Got a 2000 ticket for my smoked rear glasses.. need advi

Postby Messi » August 8th, 2010, 12:24 pm

Mr Gear wrote:Permit me to offer a comment or two.

No case is so good that it cannot be lost or so bad that it cannot be won.

You need to go to court prepared with what you are going to argue and prepared with what the other side is likely to argue. You job is to emphasize the strengths of your case and highlight the weakness of the other side's case. That is how you win in court.

I would not pay the ticket and go to court and argue.

If you pay, you are guaranteed to be out of pocket $2,000 plus the cost of replacing all of the smoked glass. Calculate the cost of that and weigh the cost of going to court and winning. So that is best case vs worse case, then consider absolute worse case, paying a higher fine and still having the cost of replacing all of the smoked glass and absolute best case of being able to approach any road block knowing that you are forever immune.

Do not get the service of a friend that is a lawyer, go to an independent attorney and get unbiased proper advice but still argue the case in court yourself without a lawyer being present. Let the lawyer tell you what to ask and how to answer questions and address the court and the Magistrate. I personally recommend Ramesh Lawrence Maharaj as I have used him before, got excellent advice and won my case. Now I drive around with a stuck on number plate, immune from prosecution.

You will have the EVO X for some time and you don't want to be in jeopardy every single day so either you challenge it and go for a win or take the loser pose, pay the fine and change all of the smoked glass. Check Teknet for new glass.

I think once i think the risk of the increased fine from the judge is minimal, i will go to court and argue the case. I have this week to decide. thanks for the advice.

shaneelal

Postby shaneelal » August 8th, 2010, 12:46 pm

tripplediamond wrote:Purchased a brand new lancer from diamond motors back in 2001, was registered with 35% titanium tint and so far when police ask, i tell them we got the car like that from the firm, alot of officers claim that ALL titanium tint illegal but then again is if the police in a mood i guess... I will never understand the reasoning, btw, 4 windows, full back windscreen and a 7" band on the top of the front windscreen> This is legal as far as i know.

As of right now, it is at the discretion of the officer to what is legal, I believe the limit of the band on the front windshield is 6".

bluespeed

Postby bluespeed » August 8th, 2010, 1:11 pm

shaneelal wrote:
tripplediamond wrote:Purchased a brand new lancer from diamond motors back in 2001, was registered with 35% titanium tint and so far when police ask, i tell them we got the car like that from the firm, alot of officers claim that ALL titanium tint illegal but then again is if the police in a mood i guess... I will never understand the reasoning, btw, 4 windows, full back windscreen and a 7" band on the top of the front windscreen> This is legal as far as i know.

As of right now, it is at the discretion of the officer to what is legal, I believe the limit of the band on the front windshield is 6".

so why should we leave our faith to these ignorant, jealous, uneducated mofo......

tripplediamond

Postby tripplediamond » August 8th, 2010, 11:50 pm

^^Yea, why, there is no excuse for stupidity, those illiterate (not all) police! Sometimes i wish i cud hit dem a good lash for being so stupid eh.

V2NR 3.0

Postby V2NR 3.0 » August 9th, 2010, 2:10 pm

Challenge it bro !

christopherwilliams2

Postby christopherwilliams2 » August 9th, 2010, 8:02 pm

can anyone tell me how to get rid of the glue adhesive left back by the tint on my windows?
or must i take it to a tint shop?
I got the tint off but some parts still have that glue residue.
it's annoying and i can barely see through anymore.
I looked through the earlier threads but non were conclusive.

tried...methlyated spirits, squeezy..
:(

Postby cinco » August 9th, 2010, 10:39 pm

wd 40

christopherwilliams2

Postby christopherwilliams2 » August 10th, 2010, 5:18 am

cinco wrote:wd 40

jus spray is on the glass and wipe it off?

Postby Chimera » August 10th, 2010, 7:38 am

Mr Gear wrote: I personally recommend Ramesh Lawrence Maharaj as I have used him before, got excellent advice and won my case.

afaik, Ramesh in london doing consulting.

link

Postby link » August 10th, 2010, 8:40 am

Team Loco wrote:
MG Man wrote:if Licensing office registered your car with that glass, then it means they approved it.......just like that stupid double standard for cars imported with fogs being legal depending on if the car was imported and registered that way

not so! or at least they found some dumb arse excuse again.

today my truck driver got charged $1000 for having an unauthrised swivel amber light on the cab. he explained the truck passed inspection last week with the swivel light intact. the licence officer said the pit inspector just handles the road worthiness of the vehicle. he has nothing to do with tint or unauthorised lights. sounds like BS to me.

if you own a "T' registered vehicle, and have a tow bar, you are required to apply to the commisioner to have a revolving light installed. process could take up to a yr.

don't u also hve to have a 'heavy T' endorsement ??

r p m

Postby r p m » August 10th, 2010, 8:51 am

You need to go to court prepared with what you are going to argue and prepared with what the other side is likely to argue. You job is to emphasize the strengths of your case and highlight the weakness of the other side's case. That is how you win in court.

If you pay, you are guaranteed to be out of pocket $2,000 plus the cost of replacing all of the smoked glass. Calculate the cost of that and weigh the cost of going to court and winning. So that is best case vs worse case, then consider absolute worse case, paying a higher fine and still having the cost of replacing all of the smoked glass and absolute best case of being able to approach any road block knowing that you are forever immune.

Do not get the service of a friend that is a lawyer, go to an independent attorney and get unbiased proper advice but still argue the case in court yourself without a lawyer being present. Let the lawyer tell you what to ask and how to answer questions and address the court and the Magistrate. I personally recommend Ramesh Lawrence Maharaj as I have used him before, got excellent advice and won my case. Now I drive around with a stuck on number plate, immune from prosecution.
You will have the EVO X for some time and you don't want to be in jeopardy every single day so either you challenge it and go for a win or take the loser pose, pay the fine and change all of the smoked glass. Check Teknet for new glass.

Mr.Gear,would u mind elaborating on this point. i was ticketed a while back for having a stick on number plate. the charge on the ticket was 'no identification mark'

i have the law book and it stated 'letters painted on or otherwise affixed to the front of the vehicle may be used instead of plates' it says front,nothing about being in the middle,just front!
i think act of april 2010 is different now but this happened before the new act!

Postby Hook » August 10th, 2010, 10:56 am

christopherwilliams2 wrote:

Mild soap solution in a spray bottle and a razor blade. This is what the tint shops do anyway. Spritz the glass with the soap solution and then use the razor blade to scrape off the tint adhesive. You will not damage your glass with a razor blade.

christopherwilliams2

Postby christopherwilliams2 » August 10th, 2010, 11:05 am

Hook wrote:
christopherwilliams2 wrote:

Mild soap solution in a spray bottle and a razor blade. This is what the tint shops do anyway. Spritz the glass with the soap solution and then use the razor blade to scrape off the tint adhesive. You will not damage your glass with a razor blade.

thanks...will try now.

Postby cinco » August 10th, 2010, 11:09 am

yeh u can do the wd40 spray on a cloth and wipe the soap is much cleaner and less smelly

Messi

Postby Messi » August 11th, 2010, 10:56 am

Ok I am gonna challenge it.

Terran

Postby Terran » August 11th, 2010, 6:19 pm

Good luck with it.

Please share the verdict with us.

Messi

Postby Messi » August 12th, 2010, 3:29 pm

Ok will do, case isnt till Oct 15th.

bluespeed

Postby bluespeed » August 12th, 2010, 10:32 pm

Good luck bro.... Would you be going to court in south?

turbo_boy411

Postby turbo_boy411 » August 12th, 2010, 11:00 pm

I say if you have the time and means as suggested by Mr. Gear, go for it challenge them bastards in court!!!
I've owned two cars that were Roll on Roll off that came in and was licensed, i was there for one in POS, with Treated/Stained glass, been stopped a couple times, but my front glass (driver and passenger and windscreen had 35%...)
"They" told me my back glass was too dark, i told them this is a foreign used car and was licensed as such!!! looked at it for a couple mins, walked around a couple times to find something to charge me for, in the end they told me to go ahead... it's all up to the officer and his "human eyes" to tell you if he 'finds' it too dark...
So you see the many different sheit's on a level you have to put up with? Human judgment CANNOT determine the exact visibility of your glass, sunlight/sun's angle/interior color all have major roles to play in determining this...

So my friend if you have had a run in with one of the police officers of our beloved country and his wife didn't give him any sex last night, you my friend will be privy to a beautiful parchment on which i think you should wipe ur ass...

Regards... :|

Edit:- Forgot to add if you do decide to take those S.O.B. to court have a reporter or two ready, so you'll make headlines and let the whole country know we don't have to take shitt!!! Best of luck...(Bob playin in my mind as i wrote this 'Get up, Stand up!')
Last edited by turbo_boy411 on August 13th, 2010, 1:38 am, edited 4 times in total.

nareshseep

Postby nareshseep » August 12th, 2010, 11:54 pm

Without a standard, any tint can be illegal.

The law states :
"Using a motor vehicle with the
windscreen or any other window fitted
with glass so tinted, treated or
darkened as to obscure the view of the
inside of the vehicle from outside"

Why cant we come together, petition rally for licensing division to set standards on tint levels, so that everyone can benefit.

Here are some tint laws around the world.
http://www.tintcenter.com/laws/TX/
http://www.tintcenter.com/laws/
http://toptint.com.au/car-tinting-law.php

What tint would you all recommend to be the standard?
I would suggest as the standard.

Rear windshield 20%
Back windows 35%
Front windows 35%
Front windshield 75%

Look even St croix have vlt measuring devices in 2005
http://stcroixsource.com/content/news/l ... tint-law-0

Postby sharkman121 » August 13th, 2010, 12:08 am

^ am with naresh, it makes sense.

Mr Gear

Postby Mr Gear » August 13th, 2010, 1:41 am

r p m wrote:

Mr.Gear,would u mind elaborating on this point. i was ticketed a while back for having a stick on number plate. the charge on the ticket was 'no identification mark'

i have the law book and it stated 'letters painted on or otherwise affixed to the front of the vehicle may be used instead of plates' it says front,nothing about being in the middle,just front!
i think act of april 2010 is different now but this happened before the new act!

I am not sure what the new law says. I hope that it is the same.

The act does not specify center, just front. I placed it in the middle just for the sake of symmetry. I was charged several years ago by a PC Williams, the thread is on here somewhere. A veteran Tuner will probably post the link so you can find the full story. I challenged the charge and won. I missed my opportunity to visit Dubai that January as I had a date for trial fixed by the court. I'm happy that I won. Let the bastards learn how to read.

Postby Hook » August 13th, 2010, 10:04 am

I'm not finding the Lic. plate thread (will keep looking), but here's the tint thread

viewtopic.php?f=4&t=239088

playerskrew

Postby playerskrew » September 2nd, 2010, 2:15 pm

Doh hot yuh head dat police won't even show up in court, been there done dat ... (3 times)....

Postby crazybalhead » September 2nd, 2010, 2:16 pm

I HAVE seen the police show up for traffic incidents many times, hoping that the police does not show up is a stupid strategy.

playerskrew

Postby playerskrew » September 2nd, 2010, 2:24 pm

crazybalhead wrote:I HAVE seen the police show up for traffic incidents many times, hoping that the police does not show up is a stupid strategy.

What is the police proof he goin an tell yuh drive d car in d court for d judge 2 see....
dem cops eh have nothing 2 lose if they don't show up, what dey want d man 2 do spend over $5,000. 2 change all he glass i doh think so....

Postby Hook » September 2nd, 2010, 2:30 pm

They don't care what you do to your glass...once yuh pay yuh ticket

Mr. Mag

Postby Mr. Mag » September 22nd, 2010, 9:45 am

go to court....ticket is wrong....you have witnesses....if car was imported an cleared by licencing office as is then it was proved road worrthy AS IS......challenge it! if you dont think you can speak for yourseslf get a $100 lawyer it better than payin $2000

Messi

Postby Messi » October 14th, 2010, 3:03 pm

Court date is tomorrow at 9am.. wish me luck.. will let you know..

Postby crazybalhead » October 14th, 2010, 3:05 pm

Good luck man! Dress properly (shirt tucked in), stand straight and answer the magistrates questions directly!