Trinituner Fish Keepers, Aquarists & Aquascapers...

Fishman

Re: Trinituner Fish Keepers, Aquarists & Aquascapers...

Postby Fishman » September 4th, 2010, 1:03 pm

HondaB20B wrote:looks good. all that stuff came with the reefkeeper? need something like that cause when i not here de wife does get frustrated sometimes. she find it have to mush ting to maintain

LOL I know about that all too well. :)

The reefkeeper is a modular system. When you buy the base package you get a couple of modules with the head unit. From there you buy modules as you need for what you need. There are different modules for different things. Check out the website for more info on it. www.digitalaquatics.com

HondaB20B

Postby HondaB20B » September 4th, 2010, 3:55 pm

have tuh hide dis purchase from d wife now. LOL.

Postby sharkman121 » September 4th, 2010, 5:27 pm

Questions about a quarantine tank:

1. Is it necessary to have good lighting for a qt
2. Is sponge filter/pump sufficient for a qt
3. Lets say u buy more than one fish, can they all be kept in the same qt before going in the display.
4. Should the qt have substrate or would it be better off barebottomed.

Thanks.

HondaB20B

Postby HondaB20B » September 4th, 2010, 7:33 pm

hondab20b wife here:
hide it from me?????? hmmmmm. is so, ok mister man. allyuh, i hope he find a reeeeeaaaal good hiding place because everything for this aquarium BIG BIG.

Postby sharkman121 » September 4th, 2010, 7:35 pm

:rofl: :lol: :lol:

maybe he compensating for a lack of sumtin :|

HondaB20B

Postby HondaB20B » September 4th, 2010, 7:40 pm

well boy, ahh get ketch............................
it look like ah go have tuh buy some BAGS and SHOES to compensate.

ey fishman, thanks for the website. done organizing to get one. didnt realize that it comes with timers an stuff. save me from buying separate timers now. do you have a backup power supply or pump? was thinking bout running a marine bilge pump hooked up to a battery, so when current goes, it automatically switches on. so i always have waterflow. had a poweroutage (14hrs) some weeks ago when i wasnt here and i lost some fish and featherdusters. when i came back, i hooked up my battery backup airpump. was to do it before i left but forgot

AGENT RORO

Postby AGENT RORO » September 4th, 2010, 7:56 pm

HondaB20B wrote:hondab20b wife here:
hide it from me?????? hmmmmm. is so, ok mister man. allyuh, i hope he find a reeeeeaaaal good hiding place because everything for this aquarium BIG BIG.

WWhhhoooooooggggggooooddddooooooo LOL!!!! HIDE DEAN :lol:

EL JEFE

Postby EL JEFE » September 4th, 2010, 8:25 pm

Hondab20b, she know bout the car you hiding from her? The one you jus buy all them parts for....

HondaB20B

Postby HondaB20B » September 4th, 2010, 8:27 pm

was no way possible i coulda hide de chiller. damn small AC unit

HondaB20B

Postby HondaB20B » September 4th, 2010, 9:48 pm

EL JEFE wrote:Hondab20b, she know bout the car you hiding from her? The one you jus buy all them parts for....

well she know now :mrgreen: :mrgreen:

HondaB20B

Postby HondaB20B » September 4th, 2010, 10:43 pm

fishman, i looking at you pvc setup and would like to know how you have it running. I run most of my piping to the top and from the overflow already. As i now get the sump just wednesday, i looking to run my piping to it rite now and could do with some good advise. thanks

EL JEFE

Postby EL JEFE » September 4th, 2010, 10:49 pm

Hondab20b, when I could bring RORO, to see that fancy aquarium you building?

HondaB20B

Postby HondaB20B » September 4th, 2010, 10:58 pm

roro could come. not you. i see you trying to break my record now. ah still hove de honda concrete blocks yuh could borrow yuh know........................ by d way, STOP SPAMMING NAH.LOL

Fishman

Postby Fishman » September 5th, 2010, 10:57 am

HondaB20B wrote:fishman, i looking at you pvc setup and would like to know how you have it running. I run most of my piping to the top and from the overflow already. As i now get the sump just wednesday, i looking to run my piping to it rite now and could do with some good advise. thanks

I have a durso in each overflow for drains which are 1.5" each. The drains go to the skimmer section. The return pump goes to a manifold where i use water for reactors, refuge and the rest goes to the chiller then back up to the display. My overflows are drilled on the bottom of the tank for drain and return. So all piping passes through the base of the tank. Im not sure if that answers your question, but if not let me know.

Fishman

Postby Fishman » September 5th, 2010, 11:02 am

HondaB20B wrote:well boy, ahh get ketch............................
it look like ah go have tuh buy some BAGS and SHOES to compensate.

ey fishman, thanks for the website. done organizing to get one. didnt realize that it comes with timers an stuff. save me from buying separate timers now. do you have a backup power supply or pump? was thinking bout running a marine bilge pump hooked up to a battery, so when current goes, it automatically switches on. so i always have waterflow. had a poweroutage (14hrs) some weeks ago when i wasnt here and i lost some fish and featherdusters. when i came back, i hooked up my battery backup airpump. was to do it before i left but forgot

No problem man. For flow in my tank i use ecotech vortech pumps which are variable speed pumps. These pumps have an option for a battery so i have one on them that keeps them going in a power outage. When power goes my sump comes offline but the flow in the tank continues, which is the most important thing. The majority of an aquariums water turn over should be done with powerheads and not through the sump so when the sump comes offline it is not a huge deal for a few hours.

Fishman

Postby Fishman » September 5th, 2010, 11:08 am

sharkman121 wrote:Questions about a quarantine tank:

1. Is it necessary to have good lighting for a qt
2. Is sponge filter/pump sufficient for a qt
3. Lets say u buy more than one fish, can they all be kept in the same qt before going in the display.
4. Should the qt have substrate or would it be better off barebottomed.

Thanks.

Sharkman,
1. No good lighting is not necessary unless it is a coral qt.
2. Use a hang on the back filter for a qt, this keeps the water moving better than a sponge filter for areation.
3. Depends on the size of the fish and the qt. Really it should be one fish at a time So that the fish has time to adjust and if it does have a disease cannot spread it to another.
4. Barebottom is fine.

HondaB20B

Postby HondaB20B » September 5th, 2010, 12:26 pm

Fishman wrote:
HondaB20B wrote:fishman, i looking at you pvc setup and would like to know how you have it running. I run most of my piping to the top and from the overflow already. As i now get the sump just wednesday, i looking to run my piping to it rite now and could do with some good advise. thanks

I have a durso in each overflow for drains which are 1.5" each. The drains go to the skimmer section. The return pump goes to a manifold where i use water for reactors, refuge and the rest goes to the chiller then back up to the display. My overflows are drilled on the bottom of the tank for drain and return. So all piping passes through the base of the tank. Im not sure if that answers your question, but if not let me know.

yeah i understand. was actually trying to find out why you had 2 set of piping coming from the bottom of tank. yeah, looking at gettin one of those powerheads with the battery backup. we will link up. thanks

djblademan

Postby djblademan » September 5th, 2010, 12:43 pm

Postby sharkman121 » September 5th, 2010, 12:43 pm

Fishman post some more shots of the tank, as well as some close ups of the fish and coral please.

HondaB20B

Postby HondaB20B » September 5th, 2010, 1:01 pm

fishman, in the 3rd pic, is that 2 fluidized bed reactors?

Fishman

Postby Fishman » September 5th, 2010, 4:20 pm

HondaB20B wrote:fishman, in the 3rd pic, is that 2 fluidized bed reactors?

Yeah one is running carbon and the other is GFO.

HondaB20B

Postby HondaB20B » September 5th, 2010, 4:33 pm

or, ok. didnt think of doing it that way with the charcoal. which section of the sump you have it pulling from and is it dumping strait back into the pump area?
whats a good calcium reactor to buy.
PM me your # so we can link up if you dont mind

Fishman

Postby Fishman » September 5th, 2010, 5:32 pm

sharkman121 wrote:Fishman post some more shots of the tank, as well as some close ups of the fish and coral please.

Here you go:

Fishman

Postby Fishman » September 5th, 2010, 5:38 pm

HondaB20B wrote:or, ok. didnt think of doing it that way with the charcoal. which section of the sump you have it pulling from and is it dumping strait back into the pump area?
whats a good calcium reactor to buy.
PM me your # so we can link up if you dont mind

The reactors are fed off of the main return pump manifold and dumps back into the pump section.

There are a few good reactor brands out there: Deltec, Korallin, Reef Octopus, Geo.....
Check out reefcentral.com. there is always good advice over there on equipment and other stuff. The nice thing i that the advice is from people who actually use the stuff.

HondaB20B

Postby HondaB20B » September 5th, 2010, 5:49 pm

OK THANKS. Nice clam. how big is it

Fishman

Postby Fishman » September 5th, 2010, 6:43 pm

HondaB20B wrote:OK THANKS. Nice clam. how big is it

Thanks Man. Its a actually two different clams. Just by averaging I would say one is about 3" and the other is about 3.5".

HondaB20B

Postby HondaB20B » September 5th, 2010, 7:01 pm

OK. HEARD YOU NEED A HELL OF ALOT OF LIGHTS TO KEEP THOSE.
Could handle one of them soon as i set up. running 6-T5, 10,000K X 39W and 6 - 39W actinics

Fishman

Postby Fishman » September 5th, 2010, 7:31 pm

You may be able to do a clam if you put it high up in the tank. If possible change your bulb combo though. The actinics dont put out much par. The ATI blue plus bulbs are a little different on the spectrum but put out alot more par. Whats nice about t5's is that there are many different bulbs out there so you can mIx and match your bulbs for the colour and par that you want.

You have a 6 bulb count from front to back right?

HondaB20B

Postby HondaB20B » September 5th, 2010, 7:43 pm

Yup, 12 alltogether

Fishman

Postby Fishman » September 5th, 2010, 8:20 pm

Sounds good. Check out some other bulb combinations for more par and better colour. Theres a guy over in reefcentral who has tested most of the bulbs and he gives good recommendations. His name is grim reefer i think.