Re: The official tropical weather thread: image updates on p

Postby NorStar2K » October 29th, 2010, 3:19 pm

ZCZC MIATWOAT ALL
TTAA00 KNHC DDHHMM
SPECIAL TROPICAL WEATHER OUTLOOK
NWS TPC/NATIONAL HURRICANE CENTER MIAMI FL
240 PM EDT FRI OCT 29 2010

FOR THE NORTH ATLANTIC...CARIBBEAN SEA AND THE GULF OF MEXICO...

THE NATIONAL HURRICANE CENTER IS ISSUING ADVISORIES ON TROPICAL
STORM SHARY...LOCATED ABOUT 155 MILES SOUTH-SOUTHWEST OF BERMUDA.

1. A STRONG TROPICAL WAVE...ACCOMPANIED BY A DEVELOPING LOW PRESSURE
SYSTEM...IS LOCATED ABOUT 225 MILES SOUTHEAST OF BARBADOS. DATA
FROM AN AIR FORCE RESERVE RECONNAISSANCE AIRCRAFT INVESTIGATING THE
SYSTEM THIS AFTERNOON INDICATES A CLOSED SURFACE CIRCULATION WITH
WINDS TO TROPICAL-STORM-FORCE IS FORMING. IF THIS DEVELOPMENT TREND
CONTINUES...THEN ADVISORIES WILL BE INITIATED ON TROPICAL STORM
TOMAS AT 5 PM AST...2100 UTC. TROPICAL STORM WARNINGS WOULD ALSO
THEN BE REQUIRED FOR PORTIONS OF THE WINDWARD ISLANDS. THERE IS A
HIGH CHANCE...NEAR 100 PERCENT...OF THIS SYSTEM BECOMING A TROPICAL
CYCLONE DURING THE NEXT 48 HOURS AS IT MOVES WEST-NORTHWESTWARD AT
15 TO 20 MPH.

2. A TROUGH OF LOW PRESSURE LOCATED ABOUT 1300 MILES EAST-SOUTHEAST OF
BERMUDA IS PRODUCING A DISORGANIZED AREA OF CLOUDINESS AND A FEW
SHOWERS. DEVELOPMENT OF THIS SYSTEM IS NOT EXPECTED DUE TO STRONG
UPPER-LEVEL WINDS. THERE IS A LOW CHANCE...NEAR 0 PERCENT...OF THIS
DISTURBANCE BECOMING A TROPICAL CYCLONE DURING THE NEXT 48 HOURS AS
IT MOVES WESTWARD NEAR 10 MPH.

ELSEWHERE...TROPICAL CYCLONE FORMATION IS NOT EXPECTED DURING THE
NEXT 48 HOURS.

PUBLIC ADVISORIES ON SHARY ARE ISSUED UNDER WMO HEADER WTNT35 KNHC
AND UNDER AWIPS HEADER MIATCPAT5. FORECAST/ADVISORIES ON SHARY ARE
ISSUED UNDER WMO HEADER WTNT25 KNHC AND UNDER AWIPS HEADER
MIATCMAT5.

$$
FORECASTER STEWART/CANGIALOSI
NNNN

Postby Hook » October 29th, 2010, 3:25 pm

PariaMan wrote:
eekipoo wrote:
Hook wrote:
eekipoo wrote:we getting away again...hahaha panic for nuttin...maximum 1inch of rain.

u seeing something we not seeing awha?

apple...say it.

Hook come on ur the man in the met office..clearly most of the wave wayy above trinidad..

That storm is going to clearly miss us

allyuh feel is a little dot on a map we dealing with awha?

Just stay tuned for updates please. One coming soon.

Postby M_2NR » October 29th, 2010, 3:25 pm

i only listening to norstar2k and hook... hymc if yuh eh name that

Postby Mr. Red Sleeper » October 29th, 2010, 3:27 pm

PariaMan wrote:
eekipoo wrote:
Hook wrote:
eekipoo wrote:we getting away again...hahaha panic for nuttin...maximum 1inch of rain.

u seeing something we not seeing awha?

apple...say it.

Hook come on ur the man in the met office..clearly most of the wave wayy above trinidad..

That storm is going to clearly miss us

I wish the "storm" comes and wipe half...*ahem* all ah allyuh illiterate wannabe weather forcasters, out.

What exactly is going to "miss us clean"?

searchingone

Postby searchingone » October 29th, 2010, 3:28 pm

M_2NR wrote:i only listening to norstar2k and hook... hymc if yuh eh name that

maybe there should be separate, locked thread for OFFICIAL updates ONLY. it easy to miss it with the ole talk (naturally) in between.

Postby streetbeastINC. » October 29th, 2010, 3:29 pm

CLImbing north...may not hit us.

playerskrew

Postby playerskrew » October 29th, 2010, 3:36 pm

I home already.....BULLIN.....

shotta 20

Postby shotta 20 » October 29th, 2010, 3:37 pm

Road works postponed for this weekend

Postby Hook » October 29th, 2010, 3:39 pm

It's official guys, Tropical Storm Tomas was declared at 1930Z.

TTMS just issued an official Tropical Storm Warning for Trinidad and Tobago, Grenada and it's dependencies. We should start experiencing Tropical Storm conditions from midnight.

Will get the official release in a few minutes.

shotta 20

Postby shotta 20 » October 29th, 2010, 3:41 pm

BODOWWW!!!

eekipoo

Postby eekipoo » October 29th, 2010, 3:50 pm

Hook wrote:It's official guys, Tropical Storm Tomas was declared at 1930Z.

TTMS just issued an official Tropical Storm Warning for Trinidad and Tobago, Grenada and it's dependencies. We should start experiencing Tropical Storm conditions from midnight.

Midnight..seriously!! no pun intended eh hook but between you, me and Trinituner that estimation is sounding kind off. By midnight tonight that looking like the storm will be even further north of us.

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » October 29th, 2010, 3:54 pm

Thanks for the updates Hook!

Postby redmanjp » October 29th, 2010, 4:05 pm

so why tv6 still saying we not under warning? hook allyuh sticking relaying the latest & obviously critical development!!

Bezman

Postby Bezman » October 29th, 2010, 4:05 pm

eekipoo wrote:
Hook wrote:It's official guys, Tropical Storm Tomas was declared at 1930Z.

Midnight..seriously!! no pun intended eh hook but between you, me and Trinituner that estimation is sounding kind off. By midnight tonight that looking like the storm will be even further north of us.

well then dont study it, have a big lime by your house tonight, tell everyone come with their hand swinging, food and drinks on you, no scene.. :drinking:

Postby M_2NR » October 29th, 2010, 4:08 pm

redmanjp, check previous page...

anyone know for sure if the works on the highway still on? norstar2k?

eekipoo

Postby eekipoo » October 29th, 2010, 4:11 pm

i just might do that..Bez yuh invited.. I'm not saying that i don't believe the release i just monitoring the images available and saying what i seeing based and past movement of the storm/wave. Waiting for the official release though

Postby SUPAstarr » October 29th, 2010, 4:12 pm

Maraval Traffic is not terrible, jus slow movin, i expect it to get worse. Woodbrook an environs is a mess, almost all gas stations are a mess. Lots of jackass drivin so b careful peeps. Panic buying in session. 3 gas stations in south sold out. Reports of ppl bein robbed on the bus route

Postby pete » October 29th, 2010, 4:15 pm

I'd definitely say if trying to get home try to avoid passing any gas stations. People panic buying and there's huge buildups around the gas stations.

zitanos

Postby zitanos » October 29th, 2010, 4:17 pm

Postby tr1ad » October 29th, 2010, 4:17 pm

eekipoo wrote:i just might do that..Bez yuh invited.. I'm not saying that i don't believe the release i just monitoring the images available and saying what i seeing based and past movement of the storm/wave. Waiting for the official release though

so with your logic and perception

even if it goes north whatever rain we get won't be that bad :|

Bezman

Postby Bezman » October 29th, 2010, 4:17 pm

i so glad i went this morning and fill up the van with diesel, buy a set a groceries etc, BUT i buy callalloo and pig tail and forget the coconut milk and now i panicing!!!

Postby tr1ad » October 29th, 2010, 4:22 pm

GOD IS AH TRINI

Postby redmanjp » October 29th, 2010, 4:22 pm

M_2NR wrote:redmanjp, check previous page...

i meant to the media as in tv6 & C- they had their 4pm update and was still saying we NOT under warning

i also think their should be a headline on the homepage of the met office if a warning is in place- not just in the warnings section

Postby M_2NR » October 29th, 2010, 4:27 pm

redmanjp wrote:
M_2NR wrote:redmanjp, check previous page...

i meant to the media as in tv6 & C- they had their 4pm update and was still saying we NOT under warning

i also think their should be a headline on the homepage of the met office if a warning is in place- not just in the warnings section

hoss... right above this post and under mines and pete's...

not flaming you eh.. but check good and see..

zitanos wrote:offical warning seems to be out:

http://metoffice.gov.tt/watches/article.aspx?id=8347" target="_blank

8)
its official

Humes

Postby Humes » October 29th, 2010, 4:29 pm

Godzilla just came ashore around Sea Lots and is heading towards South Quay.

zitanos

Postby zitanos » October 29th, 2010, 4:29 pm

err.. i rem reading somewhere.. i think the ODPM had a "note" on their fanpage this morning (seems to be removed)... that this whole thing was a rumor and don't panic..

I rell like how it went from Rumor to "Tropical Storm Warning" in 24hrs

Postby streetbeastINC. » October 29th, 2010, 4:40 pm

some black clouds up east...grande... takin a run manzanilla in a lil....

Humes

Postby Humes » October 29th, 2010, 4:50 pm

zitanos wrote:err.. i rem reading somewhere.. i think the ODPM had a "note" on their fanpage this morning (seems to be removed)... that this whole thing was a rumor and don't panic..

I rell like how it went from Rumor to "Tropical Storm Warning" in 24hrs

That's because alyuh doh know how to make a distinction between different weather systems.

This morning and last night it would have been a rumor that we were under tropical storm watch, because the system hadn't developed into a storm.

Now, several hours later, it has.

That so difficult to understand? Or yuh want tuh continue making a conspiracy theory out of it?

Postby pete » October 29th, 2010, 4:55 pm

Seems kinda reactive to me..

COulda issued a statement that the system may have the potential to become a tropical storm and care should be taken to secure homes and ensure you have the necessary items in case it should develop into the storm.

Humes

Postby Humes » October 29th, 2010, 4:57 pm

pete wrote:Seems kinda reactive to me..

COulda issued a statement that the system may have the potential to become a tropical storm and care should be taken to secure homes and ensure you have the necessary items in case it should develop into the storm.

How do you know the statement didn't say that, though?

And either way, hasn't the ODPM been singing that song ad nauseum for weeks now? We're a tropical island and it's hurricane season...we've known since we were children what's required of us.

So who's being reactive?
Last edited by Humes on October 29th, 2010, 4:58 pm, edited 1 time in total.