San Fernando Grand Prix - Nov 14th 2010

kes_vtec

Re: San Fernando Grand Prix - Nov 14th 2010

Postby kes_vtec » November 14th, 2010, 8:50 pm

bluecurt wrote:If u really love something all hell could break loose yuh go b there.

Rain or shine it was de best thing that ever happen for a long while.

i just wish the dexter where there... "hold comments no how well they would have done..."

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » November 14th, 2010, 9:07 pm

EXCELLENT EVENT!!!

congrats to everyone who worked hard towards it.

CONGRATULATIONS to Gerrard Carrington for winning the Over 1800cc class with his Mitsubishi Colt/hatchback Evo and to Ancil Ali for winning the Under 1800cc class

Kudos to Zak Waddel in his bike engine powered Lotus Super 7 / Locost - that car sounding WICKED and ran like a thief!!! Unfortunately racing is racing and he lost the race after leading for nearly the entire race. That car sounds like a Formula car.

Despite alot of rain earlier in the day things dried out and the crowds came in their thousands.
The event was graced by the Mayor Of San Fernando, The Attorney General, Members of Parliament and The Prime Minister of T&T Mrs. Kamla Persad Bissessar who took a drive around the track in an antique with the honourable Mayor Mrs. Marlene Coudray.

A few spills and thrills during the day that is synonymous with motor-racing and some issues that need to be addressed for the next event - but overall it was an exciting day of racing and a great day for motorsport in T&T.

Now I need to get some sleep, we got to Skinner Park at 6:45am and only just got home.
Look out for photos and videos tomorrow.

Now to go and dream about the sound coming from that Locost...

CD4Accord

Postby CD4Accord » November 14th, 2010, 9:09 pm

waitin for more pics and vids...

How was the event people? How did the weather work out eventually?

I'm guessing the rumoured north vs south showdown didnt end up occurring etc?

The accord go be ready for them nex rounds (after I win lotto)
-----

I jus talk to pops who was there.. He said that overall was a nice event but if Kamla didn't show up they could have finished all the races.. The parade with her in it wasted valuable racing time hahahha. Typical of my pops yes, forget the politicing! Man want action..

Apparently he said the evo took out the tyre wall right in front of him and my sister!

So... anyone think POS going to try a comeback? The logical location is the Savannah but thats plenty barriers required...
Last edited by CD4Accord on November 14th, 2010, 9:18 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Kronik

Postby Kronik » November 14th, 2010, 9:11 pm

Postby Aaron 2NR » November 14th, 2010, 9:14 pm

have a teaser page up....rest might be up by wednesday of so...

viewtopic.php?f=4&t=342871

Daren 3NE 2NR

Postby Daren 3NE 2NR » November 14th, 2010, 9:41 pm

Daren 3NE 2NR

Postby Daren 3NE 2NR » November 14th, 2010, 9:45 pm

turbohead

Postby turbohead » November 14th, 2010, 9:48 pm

man carrington get orn. i was betting any money he was winning that race, unfortunately due to some technical problems the dreams cars sti didnt make it out for the second pass, those were the 2 main cars i went to see. i was looking forward also to see if ainsley or powell may have had the urge to enter but i just saw the car parked on a ramp which sucked ass. that was a beast that needed to be out there. cd4accord yuh ole man was right that parade took away good time. was a nice event waitin to see if they try it again this time with a lil more curves. the one downfal it had was that spectators were to close to the track. wen that evo slammed into the side it could have damaged ppl there.

Postby sMASH » November 14th, 2010, 9:55 pm

loooooooooook maddddddddd cooooowwwwwww!!!!!!!!

djaggs

Postby djaggs » November 14th, 2010, 10:14 pm

Zak did really good, he was about 1 light year ahead of the next car. The stint at Skip Barber's will pay dividends for him.

Sorry Jason's brakes began failing, fortunately the car wasnt seriously damaged and no spectators were hurt.
It was nice to see "RAW POWER" again (those older guys from south will know what im talking about), and the tribute to Boss also brought back some good memories.

Next time.....

See pictures here: http://www.facebook.com/album.php?aid=2 ... da0b7562ec

Postby equipped2ripp » November 15th, 2010, 12:06 am

^ San Fernando Borough Day? San Fernando is a city 22 years now eh man... :)

djaggs

Postby djaggs » November 15th, 2010, 12:09 am

tofastforyou

Postby tofastforyou » November 15th, 2010, 12:57 am

those videos was real bess :)

Postby A172 » November 15th, 2010, 3:57 am

hmmm it seems the more the self-proclaimed "experts" try to fight down these events, the more epic they actually turn out to be.....works out well that way really

bess event 8-)

Hammy Bolo

Postby Hammy Bolo » November 15th, 2010, 6:26 am

car #41 the white b13 spilled fuel every time he made a corner causing some mahem on the track............

out of control

Postby out of control » November 15th, 2010, 8:56 am

Honda 21 race team Thanks to Kester , Mouse , Darrell , Jameer and all our supporters As plan we will now make our way to Florida where the car will be build over and race in moroso then to Jamaica , Barbados ,Guyana and Trinidad and Tobago .

djaggs

Postby djaggs » November 15th, 2010, 9:48 am

A172 wrote:hmmm it seems the more the self-proclaimed "experts" try to fight down these events, the more epic they actually turn out to be.....works out well that way really

bess event 8-)

Well while the event was fun, i personally saw a lot of incompetemce where safety is concerned, but I chose not to talk about it here cuz i dont want to bring down the event, I prefer to leave it as it is. Fun !!!

Postby Team Loco » November 15th, 2010, 10:03 am

settling for exotic car segment..........

Computerman

Postby Computerman » November 15th, 2010, 10:05 am

Duane 3NE 2NR wrote:we got to Skinner Park at 6:45am

We got there at 5am. The two Mazda pickups (blue and red) by Tucker.

cornfused

Postby cornfused » November 15th, 2010, 10:17 am

This was a great event , Thank you to all involved .

Yes i wondered about that white B13 that spilled fuel every time it took corner at the western end of the track , I think the gearing of some of the cars in particular the rx7 's of Priest and Ravi Singh very not suited to such a sprint type event . The highlight for me was seeing the Aston Martin DB9 , yeah :D

Some drivers were quite rusty as is expected with more than maybe 5 years of inactivity , tip toes around the corners.To me this just showed up the inability and foresight of any of the past and some present controllers and authorized bodies to hold such an event.

Next up should be a paid event on a better organized street circuit with better facilities and vantage points , or hopefully drag racing on some part of a designated highway , probably most suited is one in the eastern areas

out of control

Postby out of control » November 15th, 2010, 10:54 am

Hats of to the main person who made this event possible Mr Bunny Persad , again thank you and keep up the good work

Postby Aaron 2NR » November 15th, 2010, 11:07 am

^ Wrong it was Amar Cheddie

Garrett Inside

Postby Garrett Inside » November 15th, 2010, 11:49 am

no matter who it was that organized it all, the event was dam good, yes saftey should be tightened a bit but in the the words of that Mortal Kombat fella "IT HAS BEGUN!!!"

time to continue this GP's onto other towns. Everyone who was there i'm sure had fun, who miss out....well.....hard luck.

The people came out in huge numbers and showed support, but as we is trinbagonians, we kyar be early for some flippin reason. Nonetheless Circuit racing is back and i sure hope its here to stay.

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » November 15th, 2010, 11:54 am

Aaron 2NR wrote:^ Wrong it was Amar Cheddie
No no, Amarjit Chadee was the Chairman of the Executive Committee and was appointed by Selwyn Bunny Persad.

This entire 2010 San Fernando Grand Prix was the brainchild of Bunny Persad

Amar Chadee did a fantastic job as the Chairman of the 2010 Executive. He was the main man in charge of the 1986 San Fernando Grand Prix.

The two men in really in charge for this one in 2010 were Bunny Persad and Vishnu Mangalsingh

Postby Team Loco » November 15th, 2010, 11:55 am

Aaron 2NR wrote:^ Wrong it was Amar Cheddie

all allyuh wrong.....it was Kamla :D

djaggs

Postby djaggs » November 15th, 2010, 12:25 pm

I tort it wuz Jack.

Postby Aaron 2NR » November 15th, 2010, 12:34 pm

event was very very well executed....

security needed to be tightened though...to much ppl without permission were on the course...

but a great job none the less....

djaggs

Postby djaggs » November 15th, 2010, 12:48 pm

Lets see now, .....plans for next year.......Roll Cage going in......full harness seat belts......fixed back racing seat........................

Red Dawg

Postby Red Dawg » November 15th, 2010, 4:09 pm

I have similar plans, but I cant find any class regulations for the cars on TTASA website.
Is it that anything goes. Below 1600 and above 1600 are the only class requirements.
What tires can I use/
In Barbados the regs for each class is at least three pages long. It ensures equality within the classes and promotes better closer racing.
Even Sequential gearboxes are illegal in some classes, But the Locost has a bike engine which means that it has a sequential gearbox..

I am not knocking the racing, I just need to know before I go and spend somebody else money to build a car.
As far as the driver is concerned, would a letter from the SCCA serve as an affiliate association?

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » November 15th, 2010, 4:26 pm

^ if you want to race in a TTASA race then it makes sense to contact TTASA - they may not have all their regulations listed in their website.