Re: The | Apple Inc. | Thread

Postby eel7 » January 24th, 2011, 4:09 pm

anyone has fifa 11 for mac????

Postby M_2NR » January 24th, 2011, 4:12 pm

i get it on my 3GS sometimes i thought it was smartscreen...
Duane 3NE 2NR wrote:why not just build it in? usual apple thinking

anyway better than not having it at all

lol how much extra for it? i bet a nice 20usd. :lol:
typical

SRASC

Postby SRASC » January 24th, 2011, 5:32 pm

Is the screenshot above an early look at Angry Birds 2?
It comes from a German news report about Rovio Games, the people behind the game/cultural phenomenon Angry Birds. The news segment is about upcoming add-on, Angry Birds Seasons--due by Valentine's day-- but the screenshot above is not from that game, leading to the speculation that it's a very early look at the full sequel to Angry Birds.
It's hard to glean too much about the (supposed) game from the shots -- it pretty much looks like Angry Birds with a different background. You have your birds, your slingshot, your pigs protected by structures made of wood, ice and stone. I wonder if Roviois taking an "if it ain't broke, don't fix it" attitude toward the company's cash cow. Lord knows I would -- when you come up with an app that prints its own money, you don't go messing with it.

------

Google has updated its Gmail WebApp for iPhone and Android devices with the ability to print using Google Cloud Print.

Let's say you need to print an important email attachment on your way to work so that it's waiting for you when you walk in the door. With Gmail for mobile and Google Cloud Print — a service that allows printing from any app on any device, OS or browser without the need to install drivers — you can.

To get started, you'll first need to connect your printer to Google Cloud Print. For now, this step requires a Windows PC but Linux and Mac support are coming soon. Once you're set up, just go to gmail.com from your iPhone or Android browser and choose "Print" from the dropdown menu in the top right corner. You can also print eligible email attachments (such as .pdf or .doc) by clicking the "Print" link that appears next to them.

The new feature will be rolling out over the next few days.

------

Apple's patent applications have always been a topic of interest. They give us a rare look into Apple's research and development labs, although many of the concepts never see the light of day.

For years, we've seen Apple patent applications for touch-sensitive keyboards. Those patents have been based on the pioneering work of FingerWorks, a company which was acquired by Apple in 2005 and served as the basis for much of Apple's multi-touch technology. Prior to the acquisition, FingerWorks had produced several touch-sensitive multi-touch keyboards that garnered positive reviews, although they never became mainstream products. The one major hurdle in the adoption of these touch-only keyboards has been the lack of tactile feedback as compared to traditional keyboards.

A new Apple patent application that we've uncovered seems, however, to try to address that issue by creating a hybrid physical keyboard that will also double as a motion-sensitive input device. The patent application is authored by John Elias, one of the co-founders of FingerWorks.

First, Apple acknowledges that the physical keyboard remains the preferred input device:
Over the last forty years there have been numerous attempts made to introduce an alternative to the standard keyboard. The changes include, but are not limited to, non-QWERTY layouts, concave and convex surfaces, capacitive keys, split designs, membrane keys, etc. However, although such alternative keyboards may provide improved usability or ergonomics, they have failed to replace or duplicate the commercial success of the conventional mechanical keyboard.

In the patent application, Apple goes on to describe a best-of-both-worlds scenario in which a physical keyboard also has a motion-sensitive area. The motion-sensitive area is implemented in this design with four "slot cameras" around the perimeter of the keyboard. These cameras are be able to track the user's finger movements immediately above the keyboard to provide the usual mouse or trackpad functions of cursor tracking and window scrolling.

Apple suggests that the keyboard would offer two modes: a typing mode and a mouse mode. These modes could be toggled by holding down a special key or through a specific key combination. Users could then operate the computer entirely using the keyboard for both typing and navigation. This configuration would eliminate the need for a mouse or even a trackpad. It's also easy to imagine the evolution to incorporate more complicated gestures beyond standard mouse navigation.

It's perhaps telling that, despite years of research, the most dramatic new input device Apple has released has simply been a standalone multi-touch trackpad. Keyboards relying solely on touch have not been considered ready for primetime quite yet, but it seems that Apple is shifting gears to explore more palatable variants.

SRASC

Postby SRASC » January 26th, 2011, 9:36 pm

Postby M_2NR » January 26th, 2011, 9:59 pm

^ that real bad eh.

who getting a white iphone 4?

it sooooo tempting.... :oops:

idlemind

Postby idlemind » January 28th, 2011, 11:34 am

Guys,

Can anyone lend me an AT&T sim?
My bro lost his and his 3G just locked back on him.

My assistance will be greatly appreciated.
Thanks

Postby M_2NR » January 28th, 2011, 5:02 pm

3G? hackivate it dan with redsn0w and then use SAM and activate it.

idlemind

Postby idlemind » January 28th, 2011, 8:08 pm

Yea...dats what he did...I guess he jus panicked.
Wasnt there a battery drain issue this way though?

SRASC

Postby SRASC » January 28th, 2011, 9:03 pm

We recently told you all about 3DBoard, a jailbreak tweak that gives your iPhone that 3D effect. Now there’s a new kid on the block, and it’s called DeepEnd.

Coded by the well known developer Ryan Petrich, DeepEnd works just as expected. Using your iPhone 4′s gyroscope it appears to change your iPhone’s screen orientation based on the angle you hold your handset at.

The best part? DeepEnd is free once you add this repo to Cydia - http://rpetri.ch/repo/

You will, of course, need to have a jailbroken iPhone or iPod touch (with a gyroscope) to install it.

------

The iPhone Dev Team has confirmed that a Windows version of Redsn0w 0.9.7 is on its way for jailbreaking iOS 4.2.1 with iOS 4.1 IPSW instead of iOS 4.2b3 firmware and SHSH blobs

Unfortunately though, it wont be as fast as its Mac OS X counterpart. This is because the Windows version of Redsn0w 0.9.7 will be using filesystem instead of RAM, which will make the process a whole a lot slower.

SRASC

Postby SRASC » January 28th, 2011, 10:38 pm

Anyone know who could fix an iPhone 3G digitizer?

Postby M_2NR » January 28th, 2011, 11:45 pm

idlemind wrote:Yea...dats what he did...I guess he jus panicked.
Wasnt there a battery drain issue this way though?

daiz why they made SAM to help that. SAM basically activates through apple.

SRASC wrote:Anyone know who could fix an iPhone 3G digitizer?

hadda find a person to, not for me but a friend's brother 3G screen gone through and i dont wanna do the job

djblademan

Postby djblademan » January 29th, 2011, 9:23 am

hey tuners...im not a big apple person & i really dont know much...a friend of mines got an iphone 3gs (2nd hand, think its jailbroken) & it was working good for 2 days & well the screen jus stopped working cant touch it to slide the keys to unlock & when you hold down the power & home to reset it not working...but you can press the home button to answer calls....
I though of re-jailbreakin / flashin but i dont know much about it...esp with this kinda problem we expirencing...
any help advice or comments to assist will be greatly appreciated...thanks in advance...

idlemind

Postby idlemind » January 29th, 2011, 12:20 pm

SRASC wrote:Anyone know who could fix an iPhone 3G digitizer?

I replaced mine already myself, and it worked fine til the screen cracked again.
When I tried it a second time, it worked for a bit.
But the cables took too much licks this time. Went back in again and that was it.

The thing is in my experience Cable 1 pops out too easily, had to chuck a piece of paper in to keep it from popping out when pushing back in the screen. Cable 3 is far too flimsy to work with. The slide and clamp mechanism cant take roughing up.

There is also the black rubber around the frame of the digitizer that can burst easily.
Mine went the first time i replaced so i had to use silicone between the screen and the chrome bezel to prevent a shatter if the phone fell on its sides.

My advice would be to forget replacing the digitizer only.
Replace the digitizer and lcd together.
In that way you dont have to stick back the digitizer onto the lcd and fight with old cables. You gonna get new cables 1, 2 and 3.

Amazon has the digitizer, lcd and the combo. They all work.

SRASC

Postby SRASC » January 29th, 2011, 1:32 pm

RovioMobile have announced the next version of their hit game Angry Birds, coming to the App Store in March. The new game will not be a true sequel, but will be a licensed game based on the tie in with 20th Century Fox’s upcoming animated film Rio.
So far all they’ve done is post a YouTube trailer and tease it on Twitter. Rio is a film about rare birds being kidnapped by other birds and is all about them escaping to freedom. Therefore we assume in this game, you will be up against birds rather than the nasty pigs that steal your eggs.
The film Rio is due to be released on April 15th but the new game will be available sometime in March.

SRASC

Postby SRASC » January 30th, 2011, 9:02 pm

Google is rolling out its new Instant Previews feature to iOS devices, according to a FORTUNE observation.

When performing a Google search in MobileSafari a magnifying glass appears to the right of each result. Pressing the magnifying glass lets you navigate through the results visually.

------

The news today is that it appears GreenPois0n RC5 will be bringing untethered jailbreak to iOS 4.2.1 sooner rather than later. Twitter user @JHackstar tipped us off to a Wiki showing that GreenPois0n RC5 is ‘coming VERY soon’ and will support all devices.

The reason for the new movement is that Apple has now closed the loophole hackers have been using up until iOS 4.3. Now there’s obviously no point in waiting for the new update to be released it’s been decided that GreenPois0n will go ahead as-is, with a new attempt at 4.3 to be made later. iPhone hacker Pod2g has also confirmed this on Twitter:

The good point is that because of this (and the fact that Apple fixed the kernel exploit in 4.3), we’re all working back on releasing gp.

That’s great news on 3 levels. First, I’m sure plenty of you have been waiting for an untethered jailbreak on 4.2.1 for a long time now. Second, the new GreenPois0n will work on ALL hardware. It’s great to hear that nobody will be left out in the cold this time around. Thirdly, it’s good to hear a release isn’t too far away.

------

Continuing the jailbreak theme today comes news that jailbreak supremo MuscleNerd has claimed that Geohot might release a new untethered jailbreak in the coming weeks.

The news comes after another iPhone developer and hacker Pod2G informed the world that a new vulnerability has been discovered for iOS and that GreenPois0n is being actively worked on as it is clear that Apple has blocked GreenPois0n in its upcoming version of iOS – version 4.3.

Reading MuscleNerd’s comments it appears we could be getting at least one new untethered jailbreak for at least some devices sooner rather than later.

The date of February 10th is no coincidence – that’s when the Verizon iPhone finally lands in stores. New owners looking for a jailbreak on day 1 could be in luck!

Of course this is still unconfirmed by Geohot himself, so fingers crossed. Hopefully he can pull himself away from all that Sony drama going on in the PlayStation jailbreak scene to help us out in iLand!

SRASC

Postby SRASC » February 1st, 2011, 12:28 am

When we published a post about a jailbreak tweak called DeepEnd, which gives the iPhone homescreen a cool 3D-like effect by moving the iPhone’s wallpaper based on its orientation, tonywongfish, one of our readers commented that the tweak would have more impressive if the wallpaper could be a live feed from iPhone’s camera rather than a static wallpaper.

It looks like jailbreak app developer with the handle limneomaster liked the idea.

limneomaster has revealed plans to release a new jailbreak app called CameraWallpaper that will allow users to replace the static wallpaper with live feed from iPhone’s camera.

Users can also take photos instantly (without the need to launch the Camera app) and set the photo as wallpaper via Activator enabled menu. iPhone 4 and iPod Touch 4G user will also be able to switch between front and rear cameras. iPhone 4 users will also be able to enable the torch from the menu.

You can checkout the video of the app in action to get an idea:

It needs to be seen how the jailbreak tweak affects iPhone's battery life etc.

The developer hasn’t provided an ETA on when it will be released or how much it will cost or if it will be available for free. As always, we’ll let you know as soon as it is available on the Cydia App Store.

Swisha

Postby Swisha » February 1st, 2011, 8:28 pm

Black People Like BlackBerries and Asians Like iPhones

Nielsen doesn't just track TV watching stats, they track mobile phone usage as well, and their 2010 smartphone stats are quite interesting. Did you know Asians love the iPhone? And black people hate it, but love BlackBerries?

It's also interesting that the Hispanic and White columns are so similar, because when you compare that to this following graph:

it shows that actual smartphone penetration is much lower among Whites than Hispanics and Asians. So even though Hispanics and whites use the same types of phones—when they do use smarpthones—whites use smartphones a lot less.

And if this chart is more-or-less accurate, we're at the meeting point where Android, BlackBerry and iPhones are holding pretty much equal marketshare. This will definitely change after the next quarter or two, when Verizon iPhone users show how much demand there really was.

Gizmodo

SRASC

Postby SRASC » February 3rd, 2011, 9:47 pm

Reports are coming in that Greenpois0n was released. A visit to http://greenpois0n.com/ however might as well be a visit to 404.com. Will check into it a little more.

Update: Checked. Mac version downloads. Windows & Linux users result in a 404.

Update 2: Currently it is Mac only and is a beta release. A Windows version will be released "soon." (another reason, as if I needed one, to switch (back) to the Mac)

------

mediahouse

Postby mediahouse » February 4th, 2011, 5:17 am

my iphone 3gs firm ware 4.2.1 baseband 16.0 i believe

I updated the software on itunes it had an error now its in recovery mode i tried to restore in itunes i got error 1015 .

The phone wont go in DFU mode at all...
any suggestions?

SRASC

Postby SRASC » February 4th, 2011, 2:28 pm

Contrary to earlier reports that iOS 4.3 would be released on February 13th, a new report suggests it will actually be released on Valentine's Day.

MacStories writes, "We just got word from a reliable source that iOS 4.3 should be available on February 14th at 10 AM PST."

iOS 4.3 is expected to bring support for In-App Subscriptions, improved AirPlay capabilities, iAd full screen banners, HTTP Live Streaming statistics, and more.

Now that's Apple (hopefully) showing the love (except for iPhone 3G & iPod touch 2G owners)

Postby M_2NR » February 4th, 2011, 3:04 pm

mediahouse wrote:my iphone 3gs firm ware 4.2.1 baseband 16.0 i believe

I updated the software on itunes it had an error now its in recovery mode i tried to restore in itunes i got error 1015 .

The phone wont go in DFU mode at all...
any suggestions?

yuh have a mac and a ATT sim card? if not. dont bother with GP. GP will kick you out of recovery though if u have a mac but u will have to find a att sim card because it does not hactivate.

best bet is go back to 4.1 using a pwned custom f/w or look for a pwned 4.2.1 and be tethered for the while and then use GP. u can even do a virgin 4.1 with TinyUmbrella TSS server or saurik server on... and it will error out (to 10xx hopefully, happened to a tuner's ipad BB'd 3GS) and then use TU to kick it out and then jailbreak with RS.

of course... im a big n00b in this as i eh use GP nor intend to unless giving a disclaimer that things will fck up.

If u ever used the Monte method... well you'd have to do a restore anyway

also... 16.0? u not supposed to be 06.15?

SRASC

Postby SRASC » February 4th, 2011, 4:36 pm

For everyone who is still emailing us with problems getting GreenPois0n to install Cydia, you can safely use RedSn0w to install Cydia instead.

For those having trouble getting Cydia via the GP Loader, just let redsn0w install it (don't choose the Monte option)

(The reason that works is tethered RS doesn't touch boot sequence at all, but GP does. They stay out of each others way)

Hopefully this will not be necessary once traffic settles down.

As a side note, those who are currently running a tethered jailbreak can reportedly install GP over their tethered jailbreak to become untethered; although a clean restore is recommended.

Postby M_2NR » February 4th, 2011, 6:58 pm

thanks SRASC. love the colors :D

SRASC

Postby SRASC » February 4th, 2011, 10:32 pm

AT&T's reply to Verizon's iPhone 4 ad. Kinda makes me wonder, what the bmobile & Digicel iPhone ads would be like...

SRASC

Postby SRASC » February 5th, 2011, 9:51 pm

If you’ve been waiting on the Windows version of greenpois0n RC5, the iOS 4.2.1 untethered Jailbreak for iPhone, iPod touch, and iPad then good news — it’s live!

------

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » February 6th, 2011, 12:03 am

^ alot of iphone owners in T&T fall under the category of "The unappreciative"

they got an iphone because they heard it's cool - they have it for a short while not understanding how it really works and so they write it off claiming it's a "fashion phone" and "just hype" and they end up getting blackberry which can't do quarter of what the iphone can, but they would never realise that anyway.

You know the type: got an iphone, never jailbreaked it, don't have data on their SIM, don't even have an itunes account and wouldn't know how to connect to a wifi hotspot even if a router fell on their head.

Then there are the ones who got their's unlocked and jailbroken when they bought it, prolly got some free apps loaded on it and they figure that is the max an iphone can do - prolly never even heard of itunes or the appstore or ever opened cydia.

SRASC

Postby SRASC » February 6th, 2011, 12:45 am

^^^ I'm with you on that one. My brother was definitely one of those. Got the iPhone to say I own(ed) an iPhone. Until he sold it, it was like I had 2 iPhones (got his just over a month after I got mine), & just like you said, he got a BlackBerry which when you look at it minus BBM = nothing (but he sold that & got a Galaxy S). Least its progress, I guess...

idlemind

Postby idlemind » February 6th, 2011, 12:57 am

I guess im the Overuser.
Almost died when i bricked my 3g
Couldnt use anything else...now and even before I still talk big about what this thing could do.
Almost always using it for sumtin, loaded with Apps jus to say I have them, dont really use all.
And yes...my Angry Birds outfit is on order already :(

:D :D :D

src1983

Postby src1983 » February 6th, 2011, 10:48 am

Duane 3NE 2NR wrote:^ alot of iphone owners in T&T fall under the category of "The unappreciative"

they got an iphone because they heard it's cool - they have it for a short while not understanding how it really works and so they write it off claiming it's a "fashion phone" and "just hype" and they end up getting blackberry which can't do quarter of what the iphone can, but they would never realise that anyway.

You know the type: got an iphone, never jailbreaked it, don't have data on their SIM, don't even have an itunes account and wouldn't know how to connect to a wifi hotspot even if a router fell on their head.

Then there are the ones who got their's unlocked and jailbroken when they bought it, prolly got some free apps loaded on it and they figure that is the max an iphone can do - prolly never even heard of itunes or the appstore or ever opened cydia.

So true.........

btw can u guys help, I can'tseem to get my mms setting to work.

I searched the forum and found this......

bmobile
APN: mms
MMSC: http://192.168.210.104/mmrelay.app
MMS Proxy: 192.168.210.104:8080

is there something I'm missing???

iphone 4, not jailbroken

Thanks.....

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » February 6th, 2011, 11:02 am

^ never really bothered with MMS on the iphone

why not use whatsapp or meebo or the ton of other chat apps there are with the ability to send images and video? The there's always email.

MMS is limited in alot of ways