3ne2nr fishermen

Re: 3ne2nr fishermen

Postby meccalli » March 2nd, 2011, 9:04 pm

For me, sufix pwns powerpro in braid and thus sufix braid FTW, as for mono i just love big game trilene. although i haven't used much other brands, i've never had a breakoff and thats good enough for me to keep using it.The abrasion resistance is mighty fine on trilene as well.

ryan99tt

Postby ryan99tt » March 2nd, 2011, 9:22 pm

sufix>triline>stren

haven't tried the new sufix 832 advance braid yet though...the one with the 8 braids...

DrunkenMaster16

Postby DrunkenMaster16 » March 3rd, 2011, 12:13 am

Tobago for d i this weekend... gonna take my casting rod(finally use it) spear gun and some casters... anyone else in bago over the carnival?

Postby X_Factor » March 3rd, 2011, 12:40 am

http://www.amazon.com/Sufix-Elite-Fishi ... _sbs_sg_19

which colour will u choose, if it matters and why?
mainly for surf fishing

venomz

Postby venomz » March 3rd, 2011, 7:28 am

meccalli wrote:Oh lovely, this certainly gnna do good for my morale...didnt know tarpon roamed toco O.o
But yeah you can eat tarpon, i tried the only way i could to get rid of that *river fish taste* was to scrape teh meat off the bones, season with salt, pepper, paprika,fresh herbs grate potatoes as in making a hash combine with egg,,dust and fry...only way i would ever eat tarpon anyway to taking the savour out of it and BLEH....so i have a caster with a good 175 yards of 50lb trilene and a spoon with a spring wire leader..I should consider myself set :P

50lb line for tarpon? ona caster? recipe for burn finger and sliced fingers with than fine line...

i say use 100lb strain...and use a 2ft wire leader...for the bigger fellers..

Postby Razkal » March 3rd, 2011, 7:35 am

Stren>Trilene>Sufix

sufix frays and gets chaffed too easily imo...i find the memory of the line is too high also...it retains any little kink or bad twist..Trilene took alot of licks when i used it...no complaints, but so far of all the 30lb-40lb test mono i've used...Stren Red was the moist effective...easiest to use and tie any knot...low memory, good elasticity and reassuringly strong :)

plus red line is virtually invisible at depths

Postby Razkal » March 3rd, 2011, 7:41 am

^ Shakespeare cajun line was really good too, but kinda pricey and a little thick for the 30lb test so i ended up with less line on the reel...never a good moment for me.

Ande mono is good too, but i'd prefer it for lighter outfits...20lb test and under, i don't like the 30lb test ande line very much...same complaints as the trilene...although i like that you have three colour choices no matter what test you need

33 hertz

Postby 33 hertz » March 3rd, 2011, 8:47 am

DrunkenMaster16 wrote:Tobago for d i this weekend... gonna take my casting rod(finally use it) spear gun and some casters... anyone else in bago over the carnival?

Gimme a shout, made some runs up to the rain forest last week and scouted a few good spots along the way. Heading back up there with bait tomm and sunday to see if there is any play.

Sabot

Postby Sabot » March 3rd, 2011, 8:49 am

Razkal wrote:^ Shakespeare cajun line was really good too, but kinda pricey and a little thick for the 30lb test so i ended up with less line on the reel...never a good moment for me.

Ande mono is good too, but i'd prefer it for lighter outfits...20lb test and under, i don't like the 30lb test ande line very much...same complaints as the trilene...although i like that you have three colour choices no matter what test you need

Trilene is good for surf casting and banking. For spinning tackle the Ande can't be beat in 15-20lb. I have tried all the others mentioned here and for years now all I use is Ande. The knot strength is excellent with the blood knot and the palomar as well, almost 95% breaking strain. Caught fish up to 60lb with 15lb Ande already. 0X

Postby Razkal » March 3rd, 2011, 8:55 am

^dun know....anything 20lb and under, Ande is my first and only option...

i really like the Stren 30lb now, i find its as easy to use and light as the ande lines, but i can leave it on the rod for a couple more sessions than i would have with ande 30lb test...no kinks, twists, abrasion and still retains good elasticity even after trolling ( with weighted rig)

only downside is Stren is pretty expensive, close to $100 for a spool...Ande is best bang for buck imo...actually keep a backup spool of line, and its ande 20lb :lol:

Sabot...steups at you and yuh 60lb fish on 15lb test :|

DrunkenMaster16

Postby DrunkenMaster16 » March 3rd, 2011, 9:04 am

33 hertz wrote:
DrunkenMaster16 wrote:Tobago for d i this weekend... gonna take my casting rod(finally use it) spear gun and some casters... anyone else in bago over the carnival?

Gimme a shout, made some runs up to the rain forest last week and scouted a few good spots along the way. Heading back up there with bait tomm and sunday to see if there is any play.

Will call once im on the island.. still 50/50 though.

venomz

Postby venomz » March 3rd, 2011, 10:55 am

when are the best times for fishing?

first quater?
new moon?
last quater?
full moon?

and who lives tobago?....im considering a weekend trip...

Postby meccalli » March 3rd, 2011, 11:02 am

Hmmn, well i usually like to play the fish a lil bit but as i'll be on rocks perhaps beefing up the line may be the right thing to do. I have one of those finite fin-nor 8ft rod medium action /reel combo but..i use it for freshwater fishing. I dunno, I guess I always use casters for heavy fishing. :/

Sabot

Postby Sabot » March 3rd, 2011, 11:02 am

Razkal wrote:

Don't stueps pal, was a tarpon to boot up Toco side, la Fouray to be exact.

Tackle was a red and white yo-zuri with 2' 58lb wire leader.
Used with a 6500SS Penn and Ugly Stik 9'.

I try to use the lightest line possible to increase the odds in the fish's favour, thats the sport...sometimes I even go down to a 27lb wire leader as well.

I use PowerPro 50lb braid as well which is the equivalent diameter of 12lb Ande.
See men using all kinda 80lb braided etc, no sport in that.

venomz

Postby venomz » March 3rd, 2011, 11:12 am

meccalli wrote:Hmmn, well i usually like to play the fish a lil bit but as i'll be on rocks perhaps beefing up the line may be the right thing to do. I have one of those finite fin-nor 8ft rod medium action /reel combo but..i use it for freshwater fishing. I dunno, I guess I always use casters for heavy fishing. :/

ur a old type fisher man...i like that..

dont worry i have a 200yd 100lb strain line for some monsters...on a 8inch caster...

ryan99tt

Postby ryan99tt » March 3rd, 2011, 12:24 pm

Razkal wrote:Stren>Trilene>Sufix

sufix frays and gets chaffed too easily imo...i find the memory of the line is too high also...it retains any little kink or bad twist..Trilene took alot of licks when i used it...no complaints, but so far of all the 30lb-40lb test mono i've used...Stren Red was the moist effective...easiest to use and tie any knot...low memory, good elasticity and reassuringly strong :)

plus red line is virtually invisible at depths

we talkin bout braid here...

proton17

Postby proton17 » March 3rd, 2011, 1:44 pm

Anybody know where u can get good prices on spiderwire braid, i normally buy it online but don't have time right now.

BTW manzan have real small mullet in the surf right now!

Postby meccalli » March 3rd, 2011, 2:03 pm

proton i bought some red spiderwire 50lb leader from this dude in tunapuna..is this lil mini mall right next to monarch's opposite the market. its the last store straight down the middle..i think it was $330 for the whole spool. And yeah red braid is nice, cuz of the way light breaks up in water, red gets pretty hard to sight.

Postby Razkal » March 4th, 2011, 1:22 am

Sabot wrote:
Razkal wrote:

I try to use the lightest line possible to increase the odds in the fish's favour, thats the sport...sometimes I even go down to a 27lb wire leader as well.

I use PowerPro 50lb braid as well which is the equivalent diameter of 12lb Ande.

I like that! i have a yozuri minnow for this weekend, copped a fresh iridescent blue and pink unit to try on the 20lb outfit...first minnow artificial, pulled it around the pond to see the action and it. is. gooooood. :D

got a deep diver also, but don't think i have any line to take that jammin' now...

faster the better

Postby faster the better » March 4th, 2011, 8:10 am

men starting to bring in kings towing
and the feed coming in the basin but they still smallish
in a lil timing go have some action

venomz

Postby venomz » March 4th, 2011, 8:44 am

the original kingfish sniper! ^^^^^

when u linking a trip with we boy?

Sabot

Postby Sabot » March 4th, 2011, 9:03 am

Razkal wrote:
Sabot wrote:
Razkal wrote:

I like that! i have a yozuri minnow for this weekend, copped a fresh iridescent blue and pink unit to try on the 20lb outfit...first minnow artificial, pulled it around the pond to see the action and it. is. gooooood. :D

got a deep diver also, but don't think i have any line to take that jammin' now...

Yo-zuris catch any type of fish in my opinion.
These lures are very effective the only problem is they don't cast very far.

ryan99tt

Postby ryan99tt » March 4th, 2011, 10:28 am

yo-zuri does be gd for trolling alone...

Sabot

Postby Sabot » March 4th, 2011, 10:49 am

ryan99tt wrote:yo-zuri does be gd for trolling alone...

Not really, they are great for casting but not when long distance is required.

Caught many snook that roam the shallows/troughs on Tobago beaches with these.

venomz

Postby venomz » March 4th, 2011, 10:54 am

i use this...to troll with...

its only one week old..and i got one small bite..never landed anything as yet...

Postby meccalli » March 4th, 2011, 6:30 pm

Rapala x-rap..done talk LOL..i've had a yo-zuri break on me already :(..good lures nevertheless but i prefer the action of rapala's lures.

ryan99tt

Postby ryan99tt » March 4th, 2011, 10:58 pm

anybody know if i will get shrimp in d wholesale fish market in POS tomorow?

Postby X_Factor » March 4th, 2011, 11:00 pm

^ how much u hadda get?
sometimes i think its cheaper to go in tunapuna market
might be heading orange valley in the morning to get some fish

ryan99tt

Postby ryan99tt » March 4th, 2011, 11:14 pm

i wanna get about 5lb of shrimps for bait and about 5lb to feed my fishes....i cud go othahite but i guh already be up dat side so i say i wudda see if i get there one time....

venomz

Postby venomz » March 5th, 2011, 7:11 pm

san do market 4am u go get a pig tail bucket for 50dollars...from dem trawller men