3ne2nr fishermen

src1983

Re: 3ne2nr fishermen

Postby src1983 » March 14th, 2011, 11:26 am

Can any of you guys, point me in the direction of where I can purchased a downrigger locally??

I called Tackle Shop and they said that they don't have any

Thanks.

Sabot

Postby Sabot » March 14th, 2011, 1:25 pm

src1983 wrote:Can any of you guys, point me in the direction of where I can purchased a downrigger locally??

I called Tackle Shop and they said that they don't have any

Thanks.

Mankee has a Penn downrigger for 2700 or 2900, not certain of the price. Its the manual type, good buy imo.

ryan99tt

Postby ryan99tt » March 14th, 2011, 6:10 pm

reeLpACE, held him on my way back jus in d opening between the 1st bocas dey...hard luck with that bite, wat kinda reel u have?

wall, i in dat, count me and my bro in...

Postby X_Factor » March 14th, 2011, 6:20 pm

Went shark river over the weekend
used a bommer on the river mouth, got one decent hit but the line/fish got stuck while trying to reel it back in......lost fish and lure....stupes

ryan99tt

Postby ryan99tt » March 14th, 2011, 6:23 pm

dem bombers does work gd but it doh last more that ah few bites...d tarpon i caught on the earlier page was caught on ah bomber but it only got 3 hits and was finished...say wat dey cheap and does work on the other hand...lol

Postby X_Factor » March 14th, 2011, 6:32 pm

also got to try some red Penn nylon, works really good....little stretch, little line memory and really strong....and its really transparent once in the water...

ryan99tt

Postby ryan99tt » March 14th, 2011, 6:42 pm

wall wrote:i say we organize a lil sumin.all who in for trip on the north for some wahoo?

by d way, how much d wahoo weigh in at? i real wanna ketch one of dem fellaz badd, i ent mind if it small self...lol

faster the better

Postby faster the better » March 14th, 2011, 7:35 pm

do some trolling this weekend gone dey
pull out two 10lb and a 6lb and get some hit and miss too
forget to take pics as we land on shore ppl out they cash for them one time
should be going weekend again according to the sea
them king flying on the point right now i need to get some bess rebels they hitting the green and red ones

mostwanted

Postby mostwanted » March 14th, 2011, 8:23 pm

i went fishin.........epic fail.

todd61

Postby todd61 » March 14th, 2011, 8:28 pm

mostwanted wrote:i went fishin.........epic fail.

Same here

ryan99tt

Postby ryan99tt » March 14th, 2011, 9:43 pm

faster the better, wat depth dey bitin?

Postby Razkal » March 15th, 2011, 7:57 am

wall wrote:i say we organize a lil sumin.all who in for trip on the north for some wahoo?

well yeah. i'm in whenever.

faster the better, whats up buddy? wha we go do? :D

bumpie

Postby bumpie » March 15th, 2011, 1:48 pm

lard fellas fish eh bitin at all these days, on coastlines,off rocks.Ah fisherman told me from jan-may most fish does go out in d deep to spawn is that true anybody.

Smeed

Postby Smeed » March 15th, 2011, 2:58 pm

upon mr razkal's recommendation.....we made a trip updamiens bay on saturday. high tide was around 9am. we fished from around 8 ish till 12:30. caught about 30 - 40 fish. nuttin monsterish but plenty good bites.....held a few small salmon, reds, grunts and a fricking nest of pompano.

we got 4 bites that we really strong.....line started to drag off and ting but we didn't manage to set de hook. de place have potential. real quiet and like razkal said if u have a canoe or small boat or someting den u really in de game!! will post some pics

reeLpACE

Postby reeLpACE » March 15th, 2011, 3:24 pm

ryan99tt, i was using my usual gulf trolling setup with a penn 760 rated for 20lbs max drag......

ryan99tt

Postby ryan99tt » March 15th, 2011, 4:42 pm

reeLpACE, kool...i got ah penn senator 114, d biggest one tackle shop have but dat cavali still give me ah nice workout...lol

where wall gone? lewwe organise sumthing nah, i wanna really test out d potential of d reel...lol

ryan99tt

Postby ryan99tt » March 16th, 2011, 12:20 pm

bump...

wall

Postby wall » March 16th, 2011, 3:15 pm

took a lil fish in the gulf yesterday and iv come to the conclusion that there are absolutely no fish to be caught trolling.we did a lil banking n caught some waliacks ,racando, cod and a decent size pompano. rell want to go up on the north n damage sum wahoo n dolphin doh.

ryan99tt

Postby ryan99tt » March 16th, 2011, 5:02 pm

wall, where on d north yuh does hold dem wahoo?

wall

Postby wall » March 16th, 2011, 5:14 pm

anywhere a few miles off the tracking station

ryan99tt

Postby ryan99tt » March 16th, 2011, 5:19 pm

well let we organise sumting nah...

wall

Postby wall » March 16th, 2011, 5:42 pm

lewe organize a boat,bait, tackle, people and drinks

ryan99tt

Postby ryan99tt » March 16th, 2011, 9:47 pm

how much dat guh cost to rent d boat for dat?

Postby pugboy » March 16th, 2011, 9:58 pm

an easy trip is to troll up/down the first bocas in the afternoon 3-6pm for tarpon

venomz

Postby venomz » March 17th, 2011, 7:47 am

as u ready...just pm meh

reeLpACE

Postby reeLpACE » March 17th, 2011, 8:53 am

no tarpon in the bocas this time of year really but i with yall on the wahoo run tho.....wha bout dolphin? anyone hear anything bout ppl holdin' any?

ryan99tt

Postby ryan99tt » March 17th, 2011, 9:03 am

nah, i ent hearind anything bout dolphin fish but last time i was up in d fish market in POS i see dey had ah marlin and ah normal dolphin...

Postby Razkal » March 17th, 2011, 9:23 am

Smeed wrote:upon mr razkal's recommendation.....we made a trip updamiens bay on saturday. high tide was around 9am. we fished from around 8 ish till 12:30. caught about 30 - 40 fish. nuttin monsterish but plenty good bites.....held a few small salmon, reds, grunts and a fricking nest of pompano.

we got 4 bites that we really strong.....line started to drag off and ting but we didn't manage to set de hook. de place have potential. real quiet and like razkal said if u have a canoe or small boat or someting den u really in de game!! will post some pics

good stuff man, glad you didn't suffer at the spot...it has potential to make yuh cry with no bites/play :lol:

some of the best fish we caught from the shore were dug out from either end of the bay. the extreme right-hand side has accessible rocks and make a great spot to cast floater/top water poppers...good banking but mad potential to get stuck and lose gear...bank with really light weights from there.

next time try a balloon rig, once wind isn't relentless onto the shore. a standard bottom finder banking rig, with a 1/2 oz sinker keeping the bait about 3-4' under the surface and a half-inflated balloon as the float, it would be wise to use some leader material for the trace to the hook on that rig...never had an unsuccessful run with that rig at Damien's bay...plenty 1-2 pounder Bachine and small barracuda to be caught like that...allowing the bait to float lower below the surface and you might be lucky to hit a big snapper or rocando like that!

Balloon rig:

works good with squid chunks (whole mantle piece minus tentacles) or bonito chunks for me..

image from www.combat-fishing.com

Postby Razkal » March 17th, 2011, 9:37 am

got invited to join a buddy for some Bocas action saturday, small trolling and banking. i'm kinda skeptical about the trolling based on some of the experienced guys review of current trolling..

but i still made a trolling rig i'm interested in trying out, need to get a heavier swivel and i'll post some pics to see what're the thoughts on it.

made using an artificial weighted squid and the rubber squid skirts as attractants...

one quick question for the experienced trollers: the weight of the rig itself should be no more than 6Oz...a 4 Oz trolling weight followed by 12' shock leader to the 2Oz weighted squid.
not factoring in using a downrigger, just the weight of the rig, how deep should i expect the rig to settle at if we're low speed trolling? ( at or below 14knots)

i was hoping to have it atleast 6-7' below the surface....the lure has no lip to promote diving deeper, and heavier trolling weights might prove counterproductive if something was actually caught...seeing as the rig is intended for a Penn 950ssm with 250yds 30lb Stren red.

PLEH!

reeLpACE

Postby reeLpACE » March 17th, 2011, 9:52 am

Razkal, doesn't sound like a bad rig but from my experience a lighter trolling sinker or no sinker at all works best for slow trolling squid baits, fast trolling for wahoo u'll need a heavier sinker....is it a chugger type head ) or (? if it is the chugger type i find that pulling it on the surface creates more action....just my 2cents lewwe know what ya hold.