3ne2nr fishermen

Re: 3ne2nr fishermen

Postby Razkal » March 17th, 2011, 10:02 am

^nah bro, bullet type head... i had similar thoughts on the surface action, but Bocas currents made me consider otherwise yes.. i may try using a 2oz trolling lead then... if it falls below the surface easily i may take up your suggestion and go lead-less...seeing as the artificial squid already has a slight weight to it.

i hope i hold something yes :lol: i've been like a mad scientist in my back porch making rigs and trying sheit in my pond this week...looking forward to banking though...i've had good success with running line rigs recently and made one or two variants to try

ryan99tt

Postby ryan99tt » March 17th, 2011, 11:07 am

u cud also tryu and rig up sum ballyhoo if u cud get ur hands on sum...it works really gd but right now the fish not biting on the surface, dey biting below 20ft so is either u try and organise sumting to use as ah downrigger or get a deep diver...i also already tried the ballon rig with sum success, i end up ketchin sum cutlass fish with that rig in d gulf...

Postby dougla_boy » March 17th, 2011, 11:14 am

i am enjoying this thread...i would like to take up fishing as a hobby....but i am in love with live bait fishing.....best fishing i had so far!

Rahtid

Postby Rahtid » March 17th, 2011, 12:00 pm

some definitions plz?

trolling?

banking?

drag?

rigger?

downrigger?

some help plz?

venomz

Postby venomz » March 17th, 2011, 12:23 pm

Rahtid wrote:some definitions plz?

trolling?

banking?

drag?

rigger?

downrigger?

some help plz?

GIYF- google is ur friend...........

Rahtid

Postby Rahtid » March 17th, 2011, 12:35 pm

venomz wrote:

trolling?

banking?

drag?

rigger?

downrigger?

some help plz?

google would give me an 'americanized' definition!!!

i want a trini definition

venomz

Postby venomz » March 17th, 2011, 12:47 pm

well.. trollin...

we hook up ah line to a piece ah bait and fling it outside a moving boat and hope for a big fish to bite...??

ok ok i stop being a fool now...
wen i get the time i can explain...

Sabot

Postby Sabot » March 17th, 2011, 1:52 pm

Rahtid wrote:
venomz wrote:

trolling?

banking?

drag?

rigger?

downrigger?

some help plz?

google would give me an 'americanized' definition!!!

i want a trini definition

Trolling- Baited line is towed behind a moving boat normally at an average speed of 5-8knots depending on the species sought. In the water the bait appears to the fish as an actual moving baitfish and strikes instinctively. Bait will normally be something resembling whatever the fish are feeding on eg. squid, ballyhoo, artificial plug etc.

Banking- Line with chunks of bait are lowered to the sea floor and you wait for a strike from the fish. As simple as it gets. Bait can be any type of fresh fish or even live fish.

Alavieve- Live baitfish are hooked to a weightless line and thrown overboard and allowed to swim erratically until the strike.

Drag- stopping force required to allow line to be removed from a fishing reel, normally measured in lbs. Normally set at 1/4 the breaking strain of the line used on average.

Downrigger- Device that has a weighted cable that hooks to your trolling line and sends the line down the water column to a desired depth where the fish are holding.

Hope that kinda explains a bit :P

ryan99tt

Postby ryan99tt » March 17th, 2011, 5:20 pm

nice definitions...

Postby X_Factor » March 17th, 2011, 5:43 pm

im lookin for some 12" wire leaders with the swivel& clip at the ends
any one seen them aroudn?

Rahtid

Postby Rahtid » March 17th, 2011, 6:38 pm

Thnx Sabot,, I now see. I might go river fishing on sunday again,will take more pics.

wall

Postby wall » March 17th, 2011, 6:40 pm

X_Factor wrote:im lookin for some 12" wire leaders with the swivel& clip at the ends
any one seen them aroudn?

just rig them up yourself.

Postby X_Factor » March 17th, 2011, 6:55 pm

im looking for the flexible sorta cable wire leaders, never saw that selling in spools

not the normal toothproof "gauge" wire where u can rig them up however you want

something like this
http://www.amazon.com/Heavy-Duty-Wire-L ... 13&sr=8-11

wall

Postby wall » March 17th, 2011, 7:04 pm

ooo. i had a few packs a while ago.havent seen them for sale anywhere down here but i never really looked.check tackle shop.

Sabot

Postby Sabot » March 17th, 2011, 10:21 pm

X_Factor wrote:im looking for the flexible sorta cable wire leaders, never saw that selling in spools

not the normal toothproof "gauge" wire where u can rig them up however you want

something like this
http://www.amazon.com/Heavy-Duty-Wire-L ... 13&sr=8-11

Mankee usually sells these rigged with the swivels and the snaps etc.
Monarch in Tunapuna sells the stranded cable by the spool. Small spools though and you need the sleeves for them as well which is for sale there also.

ryan99tt

Postby ryan99tt » March 18th, 2011, 8:09 am

u can get that type of wire at the general store in sanfernado....

proton17

Postby proton17 » March 18th, 2011, 10:00 am

U can also get it at aphzal's hardware in el socorro. Anybody hear that tomorrow supposed to be some supermoon. They said that will be the closest that the moon will be to the earth for a good few years to come. Apparently the tide supposed to be a really low, low tide and a very high, high tide

ryan99tt

Postby ryan99tt » March 18th, 2011, 12:31 pm

yup, i heard that too...i will be in d gulf so i will see if fish bite different...lol

venomz

Postby venomz » March 18th, 2011, 12:53 pm

hmmmm wouldnt this be affecting fish biting 3 days before and 3 days after the moon?

Dragular

Postby Dragular » March 18th, 2011, 1:04 pm

anyone here ever fish in 'fishing pond' in Sangre Grande???

what kind of fish you catch around there and what bait yuh use????

Rahtid

Postby Rahtid » March 18th, 2011, 4:34 pm

Dragular wrote:anyone here ever fish in 'fishing pond' in Sangre Grande???

what kind of fish you catch around there and what bait yuh use????

fishing pond is a village eh, if u fishing for girls,,yes,a lot.

but there are rivers there, and its not too far from manzan

proton17

Postby proton17 » March 18th, 2011, 4:56 pm

I hear dat it have a beach just like manzan in fishing pond and dat u could only access it through a boardwalk over the mangrove, I dunno maybe the fishing untouched

Jeremy Mohd

Postby Jeremy Mohd » March 18th, 2011, 5:01 pm

I sure the fishing pond people have fished it...

So maybe not untouched, but 'less touched' than manzan..

Rahtid

Postby Rahtid » March 18th, 2011, 5:02 pm

what are the sayings about the moon when it comes to fishing?

Sabot

Postby Sabot » March 18th, 2011, 9:48 pm

Fishing pond has good fishing for sharks but not sure if access is possible via the boardwalk still as it was very dilapidated a few years ago. Good for catfish and other rough water fish that can tolerate rough surf environments.

Moon phases affect fishing in many ways, in fact it affects all life in general. Old people normally say to cut trees in order for the wood to last on "darknight" when the moon is weak. This is because the pull of the moon affects the amount of sap within the tree structure and its the sap that termites etc attack. For a strong moon the tree structure will be saturated and the wood will be more prone to termites and other forms of damage like rot etc. (Too much information...back to the question :))
Moon affects the tides and the movement of water. Fish feed more on an active tides, either incoming or outgoing and would sometimes lie and wait for feed being washed out by the current etc. For a strong moon the tides will be bigger/stronger and fish may become more active for a few days around this time because of this and may feed more aggressively. Some fish such as pargue/redfish feed more actively on slack tides and weak moons though.
Ever realize that you see more mad people behavior around strong moons? :lol:
Moon phases affect the rivers as well even though the tidal effect may not be easily discerned so keep this in mind when fishing the rivers 0X

Postby meccalli » March 19th, 2011, 12:28 am

In light of this information also look out for lunatics around full moon...
Imagine at one time a plead of lunacy would hold up in court if you assaulted someone or something during a full moon.
Also the moon affects how fish feed in terms of how far inshore as well as attracting baitfish congregations on full moons due to insect activity around water.

faster the better

Postby faster the better » March 19th, 2011, 6:47 am

bait getting some size
have some bait penn down in cuevas going out and try them today
will post the ketch

ryan99tt

Postby ryan99tt » March 19th, 2011, 11:20 am

faster the better, nice!!!

heading back out for some tarpon today, will let u guys know was d scene wen i get back...

33 hertz

Postby 33 hertz » March 19th, 2011, 6:41 pm

Heading out to see if the moon brings out any monsters tonight.

ryan99tt

Postby ryan99tt » March 19th, 2011, 10:40 pm

nothing at all...got some small catfish and dat was it...i hope u guys had better luck than me..