Re: 3ne2nr fishermen

Postby todd61 » March 20th, 2011, 12:47 am

i head out in de gulf 5 am i hope it have fish

Postby Razkal » March 20th, 2011, 3:43 pm

made a Bocas/north mission yesterday as was said, banking was dismal although we took about 15 one and two pounder reds...it took from 8am to 2pm to catch those 15 fish :|

big game was definitely around though, made a blooper catch of an eel that got ravaged on the way up til all that surfaced was the head...same happened to two small grunts.

ryan99tt, hardly any tarpon play north/bocas side bro....some guys were fishing for them also and got nothing...saw two monsters do their tarpon aerial thing coming back though....really REALLY big ones!

3-4pm trolling was good but still slow..got a stinkin' lizard fish *barff*, five jack crevalles over 13lbs each and one that weighed 5lbs got thrown back..

a bredren caught the 4.5' 'cuda that left bite marks on three of the five jacks though...beast of a fighter, emptied the baitcaster three times in 20 foot water just darting to the depths outside, was intending to release it (ciguatera poisoning bumminess) but the gaff man was entirely too trigger happy.

Postby Razkal » March 20th, 2011, 3:44 pm

will grab some pics and post up tmrw

Postby Razkal » March 20th, 2011, 3:52 pm

oh btw...

yozuri*f deep divers, live herring finish and standard red head finish were the trolling lures.

i opted not to use the artificial squid rig mainly because it created MAD resistance. too little headroom (i think) to actually fight anything worth catching..better off on better rod/reel or heavier gear atleast...

todd61

Postby todd61 » March 20th, 2011, 6:57 pm

Way, went out today not a bite whole day from 6am to about 4pm not thing,where de hell all de fish.(was banking only).went south to my power spot not a power in site (not sure if thats how it spell)form south to down de island to our deep sea red fish spot (near de grand) not a redfish in site.
Real day day for us yes.

HaRdCoRe_YoUtH

Postby HaRdCoRe_YoUtH » March 20th, 2011, 7:59 pm

went to Finshing Pond beach today... Water crystal clear loads of mullet in the water... Therefore manzan water suppose to be clearing up very nicely and fish suppose to be biting soon. Wednesday suppose to be good to fish!

BTW caught notting today except what i caught in the fillet...some mullet, bushe, tarpon and zelwan.

Postby pugboy » March 20th, 2011, 8:03 pm

so the big moon had a negative effect on fishing

Postby X_Factor » March 20th, 2011, 9:03 pm

in the market today didnt have the amts of fish i usually see for sunday morning
so thats probably true

shrimp however was selling at a really good price
paid 25$ a lb which normally sells for 30-35!

Postby pugboy » March 20th, 2011, 9:10 pm

the moon thing is pretty bogus imho
esp the local folklore about 3 day before/after

I doubt fish suddenly decide that they wanna get hungry on particular days and not others
or move only based on the moon

Postby meccalli » March 20th, 2011, 9:28 pm

Not to step on any toes, but i do agree that the 3 days before 3 days after should not be a bible law however don't ever get the impression that moon phases have no effect on fishing..It affects large bodies of water and thus fish feeding habits. A prime example would be snook that loves feeding during high current(lateral movement of water) of which is dramatically increased during periods of neap tides .i.e new and full moon. All fish have their habits and looking to moon phases in the wrong light can make you or break you when it comes to planning fishing trips.

ryan99tt

Postby ryan99tt » March 20th, 2011, 9:34 pm

Razkal, nice...where u went, along the north coast or around d islands dem? how was the water? i goin ah whole day trolling next time, i have some new equipment coming in soon...going and try some deep water jigging too...

ryan99tt

Postby ryan99tt » March 20th, 2011, 10:02 pm

by d way, u use ah downrigger?

Postby Gladiator » March 20th, 2011, 10:12 pm

pugboy wrote:the moon thing is pretty bogus imho
esp the local folklore about 3 day before/after

I doubt fish suddenly decide that they wanna get hungry on particular days and not others
or move only based on the moon

Spoken like a true novice...

Moon >>> Tides>>> Currents >>> Plankton>>> Bait >>> Fish

faster the better

Postby faster the better » March 21st, 2011, 7:52 am

went out weekend get some small bait up cuevas
this was saturday peche
340lb a salmon, 35lb a kingfish and a few dolphin
sunday we onlly get 200lb a salmon

deadfish13

Postby deadfish13 » March 21st, 2011, 7:58 am

IMGP1342.JPG

IMGP1352.JPG

IMGP1873.JPG

moon does have an affect . moon events do produce .
3 jacks and plenty catfish sunday morning
pomps caught late last year .

venomz

Postby venomz » March 21st, 2011, 8:02 am

nice.....^^

ryan99tt

Postby ryan99tt » March 21st, 2011, 10:26 am

faster the better, way!! real fish dey dred...

deadfish13, where u hold dem fish dem?

33 hertz

Postby 33 hertz » March 21st, 2011, 11:26 am

Razkal wrote:a bredren caught the 4.5' 'cuda that left bite marks on three of the five jacks though...beast of a fighter, emptied the baitcaster three times in 20 foot water just darting to the depths outside, was intending to release it (ciguatera poisoning bumminess) but the gaff man was entirely too trigger happy.

Raz a certified bushman in Bago told me that you can tell if a fish is contaminated with ciguatera by placing a silver coin in the blood of the fish. If it turns black its contaminated, if not well you could go ahead and enjoy. Not too sure if its true but it sounded cool lol.
Last edited by 33 hertz on March 21st, 2011, 11:44 am, edited 1 time in total.

venomz

Postby venomz » March 21st, 2011, 11:30 am

33 hertz wrote:
Razkal wrote:a bredren caught the 4.5' 'cuda that left bite marks on three of the five jacks though...beast of a fighter, emptied the baitcaster three times in 20 foot water just darting to the depths outside, was intending to release it (ciguatera poisoning bumminess) but the gaff man was entirely too trigger happy.

Raz a certified bushman in Bago told me that you can tell if a fish is contaminated with ciguatera by placing something made of real silver in the blood of the fish. If it turns black its contaminated, if not well you could go ahead and enjoy. Not too sure if its true but it sounded cool lol.

is this is folklore per say?
btw what turns black the silver or blood?

33 hertz

Postby 33 hertz » March 21st, 2011, 11:32 am

By the time I headed out Sat, the tide was out and fishing was bummy. Caught a huge eel and a few crabs. Lots of small nibbles but I didnt hold anything. Ended up liming with some locals who also had no luck. They took me to a place through the mangrove where they caught some decent snapper earlier when the tide was in. Place has real decent potential, heading back this weekend during high tide to see what I pull up.

wall

Postby wall » March 21st, 2011, 11:49 am

X_Factor wrote:in the market today didnt have the amts of fish i usually see for sunday morning
so thats probably true

shrimp however was selling at a really good price
paid 25$ a lb which normally sells for 30-35!

you should try sando wharf for shrimp.i paid $20 for a pound n a half of shrimp last weeknd. from what ive seen ovr the past few years fishing has gone to sh*t compared to what it was a while back. damn trwalers n long liners destroying everything.

33 hertz

Postby 33 hertz » March 21st, 2011, 12:43 pm

venomz wrote:is this is folklore per say?
btw what turns black the silver or blood?

It's actually a silver coin, the coin itself supposed to turn black. It was the first time I heard of it, but I saw there was also reference to it on wikipedia. Guess its not proven but the guy has lots of experience in the area.

Rahtid

Postby Rahtid » March 21st, 2011, 12:43 pm

I went freshwater fishing,caught a few,fish were real biting!!! As u drop,bite!

Caught a few of these,not sure what it is,

03202011(002).jpg

03202011(001).jpg

Sabot

Postby Sabot » March 21st, 2011, 1:19 pm

Rahtid wrote:I went freshwater fishing,caught a few,fish were real biting!!! As u drop,bite!

Caught a few of these,not sure what it is,

03202011(002).jpg

03202011(001).jpg

Big bushman like you Rahtid... :lol:

Coscorob...

wall

Postby wall » March 21st, 2011, 2:05 pm

Postby 16 cycles » March 21st, 2011, 2:15 pm

unrelated: for those who into fishes - ended up liming at Aquarios - cold beers, big fish on display in aquariums and a coy pond with waterfall....

entrance was free....Tunapuna side on the main rd in the vicinity of Turban

DJ went from linkin park to sizzla - good mix lol

venomz

Postby venomz » March 21st, 2011, 2:21 pm

sounds like a good liming spot........ :drinking:

Rahtid

Postby Rahtid » March 21st, 2011, 2:23 pm

16 cycles wrote:unrelated: for those who into fishes - ended up liming at Aquarios - cold beers, big fish on display in aquariums and a coy pond with waterfall....

entrance was free....Tunapuna side on the main rd in the vicinity of Turban

DJ went from linkin park to sizzla - good mix lol

U aint say the important part yet,,,how much females liming there also?

venomz

Postby venomz » March 21st, 2011, 2:49 pm

ohhh....rahtid stated the obvious...

not only the amount of women but the quality in grade...

reeLpACE

Postby reeLpACE » March 21st, 2011, 2:50 pm

lookin good fellas!

faster the better.......what lure did u hold the dolphins on? or was that live bait too?