The | Apple Inc.  | Thread - WWDC 2025

djblademan

Re: The | Apple Inc. | Thread

Postby djblademan » March 22nd, 2011, 12:03 pm

thanks rodfarva...im considering buying a 4g 32GB think i saw em for like $500 US up...

SRASC

Postby SRASC » March 23rd, 2011, 1:27 pm

One BGR's Apple connects just installed the unreleased and unseen iOS 4.3.1 build on one of their iPhones, and they've been playing around with it for a couple days. They reported the changes from iOS 4.3 a few days back, and it really does look as if iOS 4.3.1 will simply fix bugs, hence the version numbering. Battery life seems a tad bit better, though that’s not scientific at all. The source says we should continue to expect iOS 4.3.1 in the next 1-2 weeks, just as was previously reported.

------

pple today announced that Bertrand Serlet, Apple's senior vice president of Mac Software Engineering, will be leaving the company. Craig Federighi, Apple's vice president of Mac Software Engineering, will assume Serlet's responsibilities and report to Steve Jobs, Apple's CEO. Federighi is responsible for the development of Mac OS® X and has been managing the Mac OS software engineering group for the past two years.

"I've worked with Steve for 22 years and have had an incredible time developing products at both NeXT and Apple, but at this point, I want to focus less on products and more on science," said Bertrand Serlet, Apple's senior vice president of Software Engineering. "Craig has done a great job managing the Mac OS team for the past two years, Lion is a great release and the transition should be seamless."

Federighi worked at NeXT, followed by Apple, and then spent a decade at Ariba where he held several roles including vice president of Internet Services and chief technology officer. He returned to Apple in 2009 to lead Mac OS X engineering. Federighi holds a Master of Science degree in Computer Science and a Bachelor of Science in Electrical Engineering and Computer Science from the University of California, Berkeley.

Serlet joined Apple in 1997, and has been involved in the definition, development and creation of Mac OS X, the world's most advanced operating system. Before joining Apple, Serlet spent four years at Xerox PARC, then joined NeXT in 1989. Serlet holds a doctorate in Computer Science from the University of Orsay, France.

Here he is talking about Mac vs Windows

------

Apple has released an update to FaceTime that improves its performance when taken full screen.

FaceTime for Mac makes it easy to talk, smile and laugh with friends and family on their iPhone 4, iPad 2, iPod touch or Mac. Getting started is quick and easy — simply enter your Apple ID and you're ready to go. Whether you're talking to someone on an iPhone or on another Mac, video calls with FaceTime look great. There's no better way to keep all your favorite faces just a click away.

Features:
● Simple to Get Started
● Easy-to-Organize Contacts
● High-Definition Video
● Elegant Interface
● Ring Anywhere, Any Time

What's New In This Version:
Improves performance when FaceTime is taken full screen.

You can purchase FaceTime from the App Store for $0.99.

------

U.S. Air Force Combat Controller Ron Walker accidentally dropped his iPhone 4 out of a plane while working as a Jump Master, according to iLounge.

Walker is responsible for ensuring that the plane is in correct position before sending parachute jumpers out. When he stuck his body out of the plane to look for landmarks the phone came out of his pocket and took flight.

Once on the ground, Mr. Walker shared the story with his co-workers, and ended up downloading the Find My iPhone app onto a friend’s phone. Within roughly a minute, the app had found his phone, which was roughly two miles away in a wooded area between a two-lane highway and a lake. Plotting the phone’s position on maps, Mr. Walker and a friend headed out on ATVs to see if they could track the phone down, if only so Mr. Walker could attempt to back up his data for transfer to a replacement unit. Within an hour, the two had pinpointed the phone’s location near a tree, ultimately finding the phone in complete working order, apparently with nary a scratch or patch of dirt on it. Mr. Walker says that the phone only had a Griffin Motif TPU case and an aftermarket metal backing on it for protection; he believes that the phone’s fall may have been slowed by tree leaves and needles as it made its way towards land.

------

Whether it changed everything, made you think different, or was just a sideshow to the Windows centerpiece of your life, there's no denying version X of Mac OS has been the most successful and enduring piece of software Apple has ever produced. It is turning 10 years old today, so we thought we'd spare a moment to say congratulations and to dust off an image of our favorite logo of the bunch. And who knows, with the next iteration being dubbed Lion and the lack of any more senior big cats available, maybe this will be the last big anniversary before Apple takes the leap into version 11.

------

NoWhereElse.fr

------

The wait is finally over! The much talked about app for transferring files between iOS devices is here at last! Dubbed as Celeste, it allows iPhone, iPad and iPod touch users to send and receive files via Bluetooth from just about any handset, be it Nokia, BlackBerry, Sony Ericsson, or even your Mac/PC.

Celeste brings the long-awaited missing feature to your iPhone, iPad, or iPod Touch.

Send and receive songs, photos, contacts, and more. Celeste works with any Bluetooth transfer-capable device, and integrates perfectly with your built-in iOS applications.

Just like magic.

You can head on over to Cydia and try it for yourself. Celeste is available for $9.99 via the ModMyi repo (Requires iOS 4.2 and over).

SRASC

Postby SRASC » March 24th, 2011, 2:04 pm

Equal specs doesn't always equal equal results.

Samsung Galaxy S (5 MP, 2592 x 1944 pixels, autofocus)

vs

Apple iPhone 4 (5 MP, 2592 x 1944 pixels, autofocus, LED flash)

djblademan

Postby djblademan » March 24th, 2011, 9:44 pm

nice pic above...

iDynamic

Postby iDynamic » March 24th, 2011, 11:14 pm

that speed clock app seems cool.....anyone tried it yet?

Postby M_2NR » March 25th, 2011, 6:35 am

SRASC,
in all fairness to the Galaxy S, that shot looks overexposed as if the point of focus was not the same as the i4. At least i hope so... lol

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » March 25th, 2011, 11:03 am

The iPhone 4 has built in HDR which it probably used to get rid of the over exposure in it's photo.

SRASC

Postby SRASC » March 25th, 2011, 1:37 pm

djblademan wrote:nice pic above...

Thanks

M_2NR wrote:SRASC,
in all fairness to the Galaxy S, that shot looks overexposed as if the point of focus was not the same as the i4. At least i hope so... lol

Nope, that's really how it was. Got it straight from the phone.

Duane 3NE 2NR wrote:The iPhone 4 has built in HDR which it probably used to get rid of the over exposure in it's photo.

Nope, I still have the original shot on my iPhone 4. No HDR was used in it (which at times surprises me knowing how it works now)

------

Oh & 4.3.1 was released today.

------

Apple, in late 2009, acquired a mapping company called PlaceBase and since then many rumors have said that Apple is working to revamp their built-in maps application. Rumors have covered a redesigned iOS application all the way to Apple creating their own maps database – with PlaceBase’s data – to replace Google’s backend currently used in iOS maps.

Now, Apple has filed a new job opportunity for an iOS Maps application developer. Apple wants the candidates to work on a team that will “radically improve” maps and location services within their iPhone, iPad, and iPod touch operating system.

Apple also wants the candidates to have “excellent skills in object-oriented software design and programming” and they will be “collaborating closely with Apple’s peerless human interface team to add new and innovative features.” Additionally, the candidates should have “experience at the application and user interface level” and “experience with the iOS SDK and Cocoa programming.”

From that description, it seems that this person will be “radically improving” the entire maps application, not specifically the backend. We speculate that Apple would not revamp their whole maps app if they are not going to give it a whole new backend.

In iOS 5, Apple is expected to introduce a new “Find my Friends” map-based social network, so perhaps this team will be involved in implementing this as well. Apple has not really updated their built-in maps application since an iOS 1.x update.

------

According to one analyst's checks with Apple's Asian suppliers, the company is in the process of building a 'Smart TV' prototype as part of an ongoing effort to assert a stronger presence in consumers' living rooms.

In a note sent to investors on Friday, analyst Katy Huberty of Morgan Stanley wrote that the firm's "checks in Asia suggest Apple is working on a Smart TV prototype." Though further details remained scarce, Huberty speculated that an Apple Smart TV could be an opportunity for the Cupertino, Calif., company to consolidate "TV/Video content, gaming, DVR, as well as other features like apps and FaceTime into one product," much like the company did with its strategy for the iPad.

Huberty sees Apple's rumored Smart TV as "potentially the next new product category" and predicts that an Apple-branded TV could add approximately $4 billion per 1 percent share of the TV market captured by 2013.

The analyst also cited three other under-appreciated growth catalysts for Apple in her note: sales growth in Asia Pacific, especially China; expansion of iPhone price points leading to increased smartphone market share and continued dominance of the fast growing tablet market.

Projecting 60 percent annual revenue growth for Apple in Asia Pacific, excluding Japan, Huberty sees the Asian share of Apple's revenue approaching 30 percent in 2013. Huberty also noted that the Asia Pacific region tends to skew toward mobile devices, resulting in a higher profit margin for the company.

Huberty predicts an LTE iPhone from Apple in 2012, with Apple marketing older 3G iPhone models to developing markets. According to the analyst, new features and faster performance of an LTE iPhone could preserve the device's $600 price point, while 3G iPhones would sell for a lower average selling price in countries like China, India and Brazil.

With the international launch of the iPad 2 set to begin on Friday, Apple's lead in the global tablet market is expected to widen. Huberty's long-term view of the device projects adoption rates similar to the iPod. Citing weak sales of non-Apple tablets in the first quarter of 2011 and mixed reviews for upcoming devices, Huberty predicts Apple will easily maintain "well north of 50%" of the tablet market.

Huberty maintains a price target of $410 for Apple stock by November 2011. In a bull case scenario, the analyst sees shares of Apple possibly reaching as high as $540, assuming 55 percent iPhone growth and 74 percent iPad growth. According to the analyst, a bear case scenario could see Apple stock drop to $270 due to the possibility of lower margins and concerns over CEO Steve Jobs' health.

Regarding rumors of a Smart TV from Apple, Huberty is not alone in her prediction. Analyst Gene Munster of investment bank Piper Jaffray has long held the belief that Apple will release a connected television in the near future.

"While Apple's commitment to the living room remains a 'hobby,' we continue to believe the company will enter the TV market with a full focus, as an all-in-one Apple television could move the needle when connected TVs proliferate," Munster said in a note to investors earlier this year. Munster sees a rumored $3.9 billion supply investment for display components by Apple as a possible indication of an upcoming connected TV.

Though Munster does not see an Apple-branded TV coming in 2011, he predicts that Apple could sell 1.4 million units in 2012, adding as much as $2.5 billion in revenue to the company's bottom line.

------

A new patent made public by U.S. Patent and Trademark Office this week and discovered by AppleInsider could hold the key to a new graphical interface for the way contacts and music are displayed on an iOS device.

The patent filing, named "Segmented Graphical Representations for Recommending Elements" shows Apple is looking (or at least was looking, the patent was originally filed back in 2009) at ways to improve the drab text-based interface of the Contacts app, as well as bringing a new interface to the company’s touch-enabled iPod apps.

The filing mentions a new contact screen that could use contextual cues to alter the display to fit a user’s situation. An example could be when on a call to someone from a particular company. The patent would allow for the new interface to then change to show graphical contacts for people who also work for that same company, possibly improving efficiency.

Music would be handled in a similar way. A playing tack could be the basis for a new screen showing album art from that particular artist, with links to iTunes imbedded. New pinching and zooming could also be part of the interface, the patent says.

It’s no surprise that Apple would be looking at more graphical ways of presenting information on its iOS devices, especially with the new higher resolution screen in the iPhone 4. What is surprising though is the date on the patent itself. Originally filed in September 2009, the patent is 18 months old. Is Apple holding onto a new interface, possibly for iOS 5?
With a new notification system high on the iOS 5 wish list already, hopefully the next point-0 release of Apple’s mobile operating system will live up to the expectation!

SRASC

Postby SRASC » March 25th, 2011, 5:36 pm

------

Something I not liking about 4.3.1 (at least for the iPhone 4)...

Postby M_2NR » March 25th, 2011, 5:43 pm

oh gawrsh boihossboidanboySRASCboi u didnt hadda make d phone look so bad dan.

d 1 day i not following my list closely... is d day 4.3.1 drop LOL. and thats just a number bro.

SRASC

Postby SRASC » March 25th, 2011, 6:03 pm

Yea I know, I just messing around. About sticking it to the Galaxy S, it is an Apple thread after all, lol, but it kinda is more directed to my brother who always going on that the Galaxy S this or Android that, blah blah blah. Just to clarify while I was making that post I checked to see the original shot & it indeed looked like that.
Coincidently this came out talking about the iPhone's camera today

Postby M_2NR » March 25th, 2011, 8:31 pm

lol haha oh well

i must add anyone who isnt using mobile mouse (formerly air mouse) are missing out such an experience if only it had the iphone auto correction.
it enables multi touch gestures too when u use it almost like a magic mouse touchpad.

Postby M_2NR » March 26th, 2011, 2:05 pm

New Cydia 1.1.1 is out:

expect some errors due to the amount of ppl hitting up teh server

sexyicon

Postby sexyicon » March 26th, 2011, 2:40 pm

Gevey SIM Unlock iPhone 4 iOS 4.3 baseband 02.10.14-04.10.01

Basebands:

The Gevey team has announced a new unlocking method for iPhone 4 users who are stuck on iOS 4.2.1, with 2.10.04 or 3.10.01 baseband

What does it mean to Unlockers?

It works if A.your network handles 112 calls properly according to the GSM standard; B.they are tolerant to TSMI spoofing and does not actively validate your SIM again for incoming calls.

Unlike its ancestors, the i4 SIM interposer is not a drop-in-and-forget device. The exact precedure must be performed should the device restart, lose reception for an extended period of time or move to another PLMN. In all these situations the TMSI expires and has to be obtained again. Theoretically it is possible for a daemon to automate the process similar to ZeroG, but that only makes thing more convoluted.

It is, without question, unethical or downright illegal to use the technique anywhere 112 is a legitmate emergency number. Not a huge issue in China where the number is only used for informative purposes and the networks cannot be bothered to fix the issue.

All firmware/baseband combinations for the i4 up to iOS4.3 are vulnerable, however the exploit may be patched in any future software updates or via the carrier. If apple can influence providers to block Cydia it is not impossible for them to press them to fix the exploit. The only way to permanently unlock your baseband is NCK.

SIM interposer should not harm your phone hardware, however your network could request IMEI and identify your device during the emergency call. Your identity cannot be faked and it is possible that they will ban your account. There is a reason why SIM cards remain legally the property of the service provider: you are not supposed to tamper with them without breaching contract.

Notwithstanding all the problems, SIM interposer does not cause any battery drain since it is only active transiently, nor would it cause signal loss because it does not change cellular transmission other than the initial validation step.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=U8victBq ... r_embedded

SRASC

Postby SRASC » March 27th, 2011, 10:41 am

Just curious anyone has ever seen this? (battery icon/percentage)

Postby M_2NR » March 27th, 2011, 9:26 pm

yea... i figuring you were fully charged and then it started to discharging... you also using power from your cable not the battery but it discharged a lot! mines used to go to 99% (on the 3GS and 2G i noticed it on iOS 3.1.2 never on iOS 4).

u on iOS 4.3.1?

SRASC

Postby SRASC » March 27th, 2011, 9:46 pm

Nope. Still 4.2.1

Postby M_2NR » March 27th, 2011, 10:40 pm

O_O hrmmm... it happen more than once?

SRASC

Postby SRASC » March 28th, 2011, 12:09 pm

Apple has just announced that this year’s World Wide Developers Conference will take place at the Moscone West Center in San Francisco, CA. This year’s event will be special as it will be the unveiling of Apple’s next major iOS version and that place in which Mac OS X 10.7′s final touches and technical details will be revealed. Apple’s announcment today confirms that iOS is in fact not being previewed at an event in April, for example. and will only be previewed in June. This lends credence to a fall launch for the new mobile operating system from Apple.

Apple’s Phil Schiller:

At this year’s conference we are going to unveil the future of iOS and Mac OS,” said Philip Schiller, Apple’s senior vice president of Worldwide Product Marketing. “If you are an iOS or Mac OS X software developer, this is the event that you do not want to miss.

The conference itself will be home to over 100 technical sessions and 1000 Apple engineers will be on staff to assist developers with their coding needs. Here are the specifics from Apple:

more than 100 technical sessions presented by Apple engineers on a wide range of technology-specific topics for developing, deploying and integrating the latest iOS and Mac OS technologies;
    over 1,000 Apple engineers providing developers with code-level assistance, insight into optimal development techniques, and guidance on how they can make the most of iOS and Mac OS technologies in their apps;
    the opportunity to connect with thousands of fellow iPad®, iPhone® and Mac developers from around the world; and
    Apple Design Awards which recognize iPad, iPhone and Mac apps that demonstrate technical excellence, innovation and outstanding design.

------

The iPhone 5 puzzle has received a few new pieces and they both point to the product launch not taking place at this year’s WWDC. Jim Dalrymple – usually accurate – from The Loop claims that no hardware will be unveiled at the World Wide Developers Conference: no iPhones, no iPads, no Macs. But how could Apple kill their annual summer iPhone launch pattern?

Apple’s apparent focus on software in its WWDC announcement backs up what my own sources are saying about the annual conference. That is, expect a software show in 2011, not a hardware event.

Apple typically sticks to patterns such as new iPods every September, new iPhones in June, now new iPads in March, and major Mac upgrades around October. This year is already different. Based on Apple’s WWDC press release and rumors from last week, Apple won’t be holding their annual March-April iOS preview event. The WWDC invite clearly says Apple will preview the next version of iOS.

At this year’s conference we are going to unveil the future of iOS and Mac OS,” said Philip Schiller, Apple’s senior vice president of Worldwide Product Marketing. “If you are an iOS or Mac OS X software developer, this is the event that you do not want to miss.

Apple even introduced a new Verizon iPhone 4 in January of this year and it only launched last month (February). Apple is also expected to release a white version of the iPhone 4 next month. These two iPhone 4 upgrades seem to allow Apple to push back the launch of their next-generation handset. Afterall, how could they release updated iPhone 4s in February and April then a whole new device in June? Apple on releasing a new iPhone in June after releasing the Verizon iPhone: “we’re not stupid.”

If it’s not coming at WWDC when will it? The usually well-sourced Macotakara.jp claims that the iPhone 5 is yet to hit the full production stage and says that the iPhone 5 will go into mass production late in 2011 for an early 2012 launch.

According to Chinese sources, had been rumored to be announced for the fourth quarter of fiscal 2011 iPhone 5, it does not begin to manufacture the parts, the launch seems to be lost in fiscal 2012.

This would be around a year after the Verizon iPhone 4 launch, creating a new pattern for iPhone launches. The site reiterates earlier claims of a new, aluminum enclosure which is possibly taking longer to produce. A chinese site recently claimed the new iPhone would go into production in Q3 of this year – backing up an iPhone-less WWDC.

Postby M_2NR » March 28th, 2011, 4:58 pm

I hate this no iPhone 5 in June talk :(

SRASC

Postby SRASC » March 28th, 2011, 5:15 pm

M_2NR wrote:I hate this no iPhone 5 in June talk :(

ryan99tt

Postby ryan99tt » March 28th, 2011, 8:55 pm

SRASC wrote:

yup, really was looking to upgrade...anyway, how the unlock looking for 4.2.1 for iphone 4 and d untethered jailbreak for ipod touch 4g?

SRASC

Postby SRASC » March 28th, 2011, 10:14 pm

ryan99tt wrote:
SRASC wrote:

yup, really was looking to upgrade...anyway, how the unlock looking for 4.2.1 for iphone 4 and d untethered jailbreak for ipod touch 4g?

There are tethered jailbreaks (& I think unlocks) for up to 4.3.1 I think though PwnageTool for Macs & Sn0wbreeze. As far as an untethered it was demonstrated on video, but given no time estimate for a release.

ryan99tt

Postby ryan99tt » March 28th, 2011, 10:26 pm

any unlock for baseband 4.10.01 yet?

SRASC

Postby SRASC » March 28th, 2011, 10:31 pm

Sn0wbreeze 2.4 supports Ultrasn0w unlock for basebands (01.59.00 / 04.26.08 / 05.11.07 / 05.12.01 / 05.13.04 / 06.15.00)
ultrasn0w is NOT compatible with the following basebands (02.10.04 / 03.10.01 / 04.10.01 / 05.14.02 / 05.15.04)

SRASC

Postby SRASC » March 29th, 2011, 6:52 pm

I0nic has given his untether for the iOS 4.3.1 jailbreak to the iPhone Dev-Team for testing and integration into their jailbreak utilities.

The iphone-dev-team is already beta-testing the untether. So it is up to them to give you your tool of choice.

Please don't bother the dev-team now. The deal is: if the beta test is successfull, they are free to do whatever they want with it.

SRASC

Postby SRASC » March 30th, 2011, 8:57 am

Research In Motion could be planning to release BlackBerry Messenger, arguably the BlackBerry’s killer app, for iOS devices on April 26, claims a poster over at the MacRumors forum:

RIM had a Social Media conference today in Toronto, and my entire college business and marketing class was invited to the event. RIM’s co-ceo Jim Balsillie revealed that they plan to bring BBM and “other services” to iPhone on April 26 via the app store. Balsillie also revealed that they plan to release an update to the app this summer which will take advantage of a new “notification system”!

The claim echoes a Boy Genius Report story which asserted that RIM is taking the BlackBerry Messenger app to iOS and Android as a way to tackle dozens of copycat applications. The iOS version will not have all the features of its BlackBerry client, which is deeply integrated into RIM’s operating system, the publication wrote.

Other sources are indicating that Android version is a go-go and should hit Android Market first, followed by iOS version.

jhonnieblue

Postby jhonnieblue » March 30th, 2011, 10:06 am

after this, what would be the reason to own a BB?

Swisha

Postby Swisha » March 30th, 2011, 10:33 am

lol ent :lol:

SRASC

Postby SRASC » March 30th, 2011, 10:37 am

That's what I've been saying. Then again if it is going to be as watered down as has been reported, only text conversations in the non-BlackBerry versions, would RIM's strategy of lets show them & they will come work?
Personally I don't think so. If that's the case then people would just revert to things like fring & WhatsApp.