Scoobert Bauce wrote:both UTT and UWI is crap. The pass mark in UWI is frickin 40%
COSTAATT>>>> UWI
Devourment wrote:Scoobert Bauce wrote:both UTT and UWI is crap. The pass mark in UWI is frickin 40%
COSTAATT>>>> UWI
ok dude
crossdrilled wrote:crazychinee wrote:EFFECTIC DESIGNS wrote:I taught doctors graduated from UWI were recognized around the world?
First time I hearing they does laugh at UWI degree. I could imagine for UTT then
Uwi's medical degree was recogized up till about 6-7 years ago. I believe the last class to have full GMC accreditation was class of 04; which means you could of applied to speciality programes without doing anything additional.
Now it's a whole different ball game.
UWI doctors cannot practice in the states. Only in the UK. They have to do the USMLE exams, get a placement, then work as an intern from scratch. UWI doctors can only work freely in the UK.
francis1979 wrote:Most Engineering degrees from UWI are accredited from UK Institutions.
For example the Mechanical Engineering Degree is accredited by IMECHE _ http://www.imeche.org.
Chemical, Electrical and Civil are accredited by their own institutions.
The accrediting institutions usually publish a list of accredited universities. For Mechanical Engineering Degrees see page 40 of http://www.imeche.org/Libraries/TAPD/Ac ... .sflb.ashx.
From my interaction with individuals who recruit (academic and employment) individuals from T&T; the general consensus is that graduates from UWI can compete with graduates from US & UK; therefore once you have the correct academic qualifications and non-academic qualifications there is no reason why you will not be accepted.
Point to note is that entry into some of the prestige degrees (e.g. Cambridge) is very competitive because everyone globally wants to attend. Therefore entry is difficult.
One of the things that you did not mention but is very important is the field of specialization and how you intend to use the master in the future. That could be a deciding factor in the location of the university to be selected.
An example is a friend of mine wanted to do a degree in UK but when he considered the cost of the degree vs. value in career he decided not to because the investment could never repay it self.
Therefore I will recommend that you decide what you want to achieve with your masters than try to box yourself into US, UK or UWI.
dok_tec wrote:crossdrilled wrote:crazychinee wrote:EFFECTIC DESIGNS wrote:I taught doctors graduated from UWI were recognized around the world?
First time I hearing they does laugh at UWI degree. I could imagine for UTT then
Uwi's medical degree was recogized up till about 6-7 years ago. I believe the last class to have full GMC accreditation was class of 04; which means you could of applied to speciality programes without doing anything additional.
Now it's a whole different ball game.
UWI doctors cannot practice in the states. Only in the UK. They have to do the USMLE exams, get a placement, then work as an intern from scratch. UWI doctors can only work freely in the UK.
Alot of students who graduate write usmle and migrate. its not that hard to do as you might think its just another exam really after 5 years of exams.
students who study medicine in uwi are actually smarter than alot doing medicine abroad.The work load in most cases are much more intense than some universities like fiu mia.We dont have premed that in a way cuts out some work what we would just add to our yr 1 and 2 courses and in a way would be easier to pass your 2 years and get into med.pass mark is 50, there is no upper/lower seconds none of that and you cannot trail any courses when moving onto the next year now(new rule), cant split courses into 2 years like other uwi courses (incl engineering)... pretty much you have to pass everything everytime or stay back a year which is a big no no cause maybe 1 year added to a 3 year course is not bad but a 5 year course plus 1 year internship is hell.the curriculum has not really changed in decades so we are still studying the same thing in the same time frame from way back when we had accreditation(i just did a 1998PP) for the most part i would say its the faculty facilities staff etc why accreditation was lost that is keeping back medicine to its full capabilities.
At the end of it students have a double bachelor degree and could practice medicine anywhere they choose in the world albeit at the minor expense of entry exams.
crossdrilled wrote:Um... what is the secret sauce that makes a UWI graduate an Engineer? It is the same curriculum, the same theories, the same lessons. I don't remember having any special classes teaching me how an engineer deports himself, drinking tea with a pinky up as such. All of the courses I took were of a purely technical nature, and some of the lecturers, like Thripaty (SP) did not give one shite.
Please enlighten me as to what is the secret UWI course that makes you an engineer rather than a technician as soon as you graduate? We did the same course, so I will be familiar with the curriculum.
crossdrilled wrote:Has anyone actually examined the course content of each institution? I have had that opportunity, ad my verdict is that they are similar. UTT even has a more diverse curriculum than UWI, teaching a lot more practical applications in each topic. People leave UTT with a clue about industry and the systems they will eventually be working on...UWI... not so much
soo wrote:crossdrilled wrote:Has anyone actually examined the course content of each institution? I have had that opportunity, ad my verdict is that they are similar. UTT even has a more diverse curriculum than UWI, teaching a lot more practical applications in each topic. People leave UTT with a clue about industry and the systems they will eventually be working on...UWI... not so much
you may be right crossdrilled. which courses are you comparing ? Civil mechanical electrical petroleum? i've been told UTT is more practical and UWI is more theory based. UTT must have strengths in some areas over UWI and vice versa. it may also be stronger in one branch of engineering than others.
crazychinee wrote:
Space that out a lil bit ....
What year did you graduate?
Devourment wrote:This is not easy sheit at all......even for men with all As at levels including Further Maths (like myself).
dok_tec wrote:crazychinee wrote:
Space that out a lil bit ....
What year did you graduate?
did not graduate yet, still in mthope.Pretty much what i'm saying is the accreditation aspect which is what so much ppl see as a bad thing that we dont have it really isnt that big of a deal.in fact noone in medicine even talks about it... just write the usmle whenever your finish and thats it no biggie.
Devourment wrote:soo wrote:crossdrilled wrote:Has anyone actually examined the course content of each institution? I have had that opportunity, ad my verdict is that they are similar. UTT even has a more diverse curriculum than UWI, teaching a lot more practical applications in each topic. People leave UTT with a clue about industry and the systems they will eventually be working on...UWI... not so much
you may be right crossdrilled. which courses are you comparing ? Civil mechanical electrical petroleum? i've been told UTT is more practical and UWI is more theory based. UTT must have strengths in some areas over UWI and vice versa. it may also be stronger in one branch of engineering than others.
Crossdrilled is answering his own questions there.
The curriculum might sound the same, but it's vastly different. Dr. Chandarban Sharma told me recently that not one single UTT graduate has ever passed his Industrial and Commercial Electrical Systems course ever in 5 years (UTT offers this course as option for Power Students). Also, Dr. Gift teaches a UTT Electronics class held at UWI and he said the student intelligence is vastly different, especially in basic Math.
And there lies the basic difference why UWI teaches theory and UTT teaches more "practical" industrial knowledge.
Knowing the advanced scientific theory allows you to learn additional info later on in your career. You think you can show a UTT grad advanced mathematics or software and expect them to follow? No. You think a UTT grad will ever be recognized as an Engineer outside of TnT? No.
That is why I keep saying UTT is producing technicians not engineers.
Honestly, people in TnT because of their small mindedness do not understand what an engineer really does.
Engineers develop and create using complex mathematics.
Look at some of the passpapers from UWI (these were chosen ramdomly).
http://www.mainlib.uwi.tt/exams/Papers/pdfpapers/e_99/ecng3029_1_06.pdf
http://www.mainlib.uwi.tt/exams/Papers/pdfpapers/e_99/ecng2006_3_06.pdf
http://www.mainlib.uwi.tt/exams/Papers/pdfpapers/e_99/ecng3015_1_05.pdf
This is not easy sheit at all......even for men with all As at levels including Further Maths (like myself). This is stuff that honest to God brilliant students spent 6 to 8 hours a day after class trying to perfect, and then only to get 60% in a final exam as UWI Eng lecturers do not mark easy.
The brightest and best students in UTT cannot compete with the less capable UWI engineering students. Therefore, obviously their workload and difficulty is cut back immensely. That is why UTT will never be accredited by any international Engineering organization.
goalpost wrote:lol, ICES is a buss up course dan ...
eurogirl wrote:Devourment wrote:soo wrote:crossdrilled wrote:Has anyone actually examined the course content of each institution? I have had that opportunity, ad my verdict is that they are similar. UTT even has a more diverse curriculum than UWI, teaching a lot more practical applications in each topic. People leave UTT with a clue about industry and the systems they will eventually be working on...UWI... not so much
Crossdrilled is answering his own questions there.
The curriculum might sound the same, but it's vastly different. Dr. Chandarban Sharma told me recently that not one single UTT graduate has ever passed his Industrial and Commercial Electrical Systems course ever in 5 years (UTT offers this course as option for Power Students). Also, Dr. Gift teaches a UTT Electronics class held at UWI and he said the student intelligence is vastly different, especially in basic Math.
And there lies the basic difference why UWI teaches theory and UTT teaches more "practical" industrial knowledge.
Knowing the advanced scientific theory allows you to learn additional info later on in your career. You think you can show a UTT grad advanced mathematics or software and expect them to follow? No. You think a UTT grad will ever be recognized as an Engineer outside of TnT? No.
That is why I keep saying UTT is producing technicians not engineers.
Honestly, people in TnT because of their small mindedness do not understand what an engineer really does.
Engineers develop and create using complex mathematics.
Look at some of the passpapers from UWI (these were chosen ramdomly).
http://www.mainlib.uwi.tt/exams/Papers/pdfpapers/e_99/ecng3029_1_06.pdf
http://www.mainlib.uwi.tt/exams/Papers/pdfpapers/e_99/ecng2006_3_06.pdf
http://www.mainlib.uwi.tt/exams/Papers/pdfpapers/e_99/ecng3015_1_05.pdf
This is not easy sheit at all......even for men with all As at levels including Further Maths (like myself). This is stuff that honest to God brilliant students spent 6 to 8 hours a day after class trying to perfect, and then only to get 60% in a final exam as UWI Eng lecturers do not mark easy.
The brightest and best students in UTT cannot compete with the less capable UWI engineering students. Therefore, obviously their workload and difficulty is cut back immensely. That is why UTT will never be accredited by any international Engineering organization.
Dr sharma ain't meet me n my gf's yet thas why he still talking ... lol
cross drilled why u bothering for ? clearly this guy's a douche and He wil give allyuh elect ppl a bad name in de industry after he come out . " Allyuh eh know whose me or wah ?! I issa engineer !!! "
btw I just opened 1 past paper and for robotic design now for any kinda electro /mech /fluid system We use bond graphs .. u should really check it out .. those past papers looking prehistoric .. just like your attitude ...
dok_tec wrote:^^^^^ 3