Official BlackBerry Thread

casper

Re: D Official 2010 BlackBerry THREAD

Postby casper » July 12th, 2011, 10:47 am

tr1ad is correct....that is what they were tellin me when i brought back the phone...they asked me if i got it unlocked or if i changed the housing etc...i told them the phone is new and i just bought it bout a week ago...then they explained to me those same things tr1ad just said...

Postby S_2NR » July 12th, 2011, 10:50 am

http://forums.crackberry.com/forum-f157/unlocking-unbranding-what-they-what-do-they-mean-182055/

Have a read.
I agree with ABA.
Bmobile would look for any excuse to void a warranty but unlocking should not void a warranty. Abroad u can unlock phones and still have ur warranty.

Postby tr1ad » July 12th, 2011, 10:53 am

you not understanding

unlocking involves software manipulation.... which is against terms and conditions on a bill of sale i.e. purchase

you are googling for an answer, yes you would get an answer, however it isn't applicable to the bill of sale terms and conditions in TRINIDAD

your crackberry link highlights what is the difference, unlocking means you can go anywhere and use another sim, carriers here in trinidad would be against such becasue then there is no profit from offering roaming

casper

Postby casper » July 12th, 2011, 10:54 am

If theres a scratch on the back of your phone from rubbing against your keys and you take the phone in and say the screen isn't working, they will say the warranty is void.

For warranty to be valid you need to keep the phone in the box and never use it.

^^^false...my co-worker own was pretty digged up and had some scratches..izza whole year she had that phone u know...it even fell a couple times in work right here...no cracks in screen or anywhere on the phone though...

stop making ur own assumptions man...cuz what u saying there isnt true

Postby tr1ad » July 12th, 2011, 10:59 am

actually ABA

they last blackberry i purchased from bmobile was pretty banged up, but the OS was faulty, ( i never upgraded etc then, about two years ago iirc) and the phone was exchanged for a perfectly new one, as it was a software problem

they wouldn't honour say a screen problem if the phone is banged up
it's like if you buy a car and take it off road the next day and carry it back saying the suspension bad

Postby Chimera » July 12th, 2011, 11:27 am

casper wrote:
If theres a scratch on the back of your phone from rubbing against your keys and you take the phone in and say the screen isn't working, they will say the warranty is void.

For warranty to be valid you need to keep the phone in the box and never use it.

^^^false...my co-worker own was pretty digged up and had some scratches..izza whole year she had that phone u know...it even fell a couple times in work right here...no cracks in screen or anywhere on the phone though...

stop making ur own assumptions man...cuz what u saying there isnt true

assumptions? :lol:

You know i'm very happy with TSTT's and Digicel's policy on not honoring warranty more work and money for me and my techs.

Your co-worker may have been one of the lucky few to get a no hassle return/exchange but that isn't the case for many people. And I get complaints weekly from *NEW* customers who buy phones from TSTT & Digicel and can't get their warranty honoured due to a scratch or scuff on the phone. a good bit of TSTT dealers share out my business cards when people come to them with phone problems.

anyway.

http://www.allyourblackberryneeds.com/Price-List.html

Corn Bird

Postby Corn Bird » July 13th, 2011, 12:15 am

don't know if anyone posted this already

there is a new gps navigation app for blackberry

http://www.ubinavtnt.com/content/

nice software by mora systems with some minor flaws -- for example it doesn't seem to know about the latest changes in the roads (still thinks there is an el socorro highway exit).

cornfused

Postby cornfused » July 13th, 2011, 9:54 am

does bb work in other islands or territories?, a friend of mine went to jamrock and this is how it went.

From Antigua no network , in new Kingston no network , bmoblie said the restart battery pull , did this 3 time no network , insert digi sim in bmobile b berry , whats app works with network , 2 hrs with *100 manager says this is and isolated case , 20 mins with lime representative says this is common with tt based blackberrys . Short term option take out a 70 J sim with lime , no Trinidad resolution since Sunday

TSTT says its a network to network issue , how has your experience been with traveling through the Americas with bbm?

Postby S_2NR » July 13th, 2011, 10:10 am

cornfused wrote:does bb work in other islands or territories?, a friend of mine went to jamrock and this is how it went.

From Antigua no network , in new Kingston no network , bmoblie said the restart battery pull , did this 3 time no network , insert digi sim in bmobile b berry , whats app works with network , 2 hrs with *100 manager says this is and isolated case , 20 mins with lime representative says this is common with tt based blackberrys . Short term option take out a 70 J sim with lime , no Trinidad resolution since Sunday

TSTT says its a network to network issue , how has your experience been with traveling through the Americas with bbm?

i normally buy a prepd sim with data wherever i go.
firetruck bmobile and firetruck roaming

cornfused

Postby cornfused » July 13th, 2011, 10:31 am

i see this also as the preferred option , so much for the grand connectivity of bb

Postby S_2NR » July 13th, 2011, 10:42 am

cornfused wrote:i see this also as the preferred option , so much for the grand connectivity of bb

most likely is a tstt problem and usual reps dont kno sheit.
once the phone supports the band it supposed to work.
everywhere i travel with my BB, i get roaming and data normal but dont use it cause its wayy too expensive.

prepaid sims with data rel easy to get abroad. so no loss.

i2smart4u

Postby i2smart4u » July 13th, 2011, 10:55 am

casper wrote:^^^how much digi have it for???

btw i highly recommend anyone to buy phones from b-mobile eh...and no i doh work for the green network HAHAHHA

my co-worker here have a bold 2 and 3 days before her warranty was gonna expire her phones screen stopped working all of a sudden...she carried it to b-mobile where she bought it and they gave her a brand new one hassle free

i also bought a bold 3 from b-mobile and the 1st one i bought was defective...i carried it back and showed dem d scene and they gave me a brand new one and took back that one...the manager told her workers that they'd use it as a display unit... :D

Lucky you.......TSTT has my bold 2 (under warranty) for 2 months now for a enter key that needs to be pressed hard to input anything. After two months i went back and they told me give them 2 more weeks (oh they aint get it back yet).

But the most ridiculous part is that they gave me a nokia 5800 as a replacement phone, oh they ran out of blackberry replacements. Good thing i have an android backup!

POOR POOR SERVICE!!!!

Postby Chimera » July 13th, 2011, 11:08 am

i2smart4u wrote:
casper wrote:^^^how much digi have it for???

btw i highly recommend anyone to buy phones from b-mobile eh...and no i doh work for the green network HAHAHHA

my co-worker here have a bold 2 and 3 days before her warranty was gonna expire her phones screen stopped working all of a sudden...she carried it to b-mobile where she bought it and they gave her a brand new one hassle free

i also bought a bold 3 from b-mobile and the 1st one i bought was defective...i carried it back and showed dem d scene and they gave me a brand new one and took back that one...the manager told her workers that they'd use it as a display unit... :D

Lucky you.......TSTT has my bold 2 (under warranty) for 2 months now for a enter key that needs to be pressed hard to input anything. After two months i went back and they told me give them 2 more weeks (oh they aint get it back yet).

But the most ridiculous part is that they gave me a nokia 5800 as a replacement phone, oh they ran out of blackberry replacements. Good thing i have an android backup!

POOR POOR SERVICE!!!!

NAH BOI DOH BE ON TSTT BOI! DEM SERVICE BESS BOI!!! :lol:

We wudda fix that enter key problem in 5 minutes for you for $100

tstt most likely eh send that phone to fix yet anyway, they guh wait til u get fedup and accept a 8520 replacement phone or pay to upgrade to a torch.

casper

Postby casper » July 13th, 2011, 11:09 am

^^^which branch?

i2smart4u

Postby i2smart4u » July 13th, 2011, 11:17 am

8520 YUH MAD AWA........they want me to get on like a warf rat. after i pay my $2500.......give me something of equal value or is consumer affairs for them.

i2smart4u

Postby i2smart4u » July 13th, 2011, 11:18 am

casper wrote:^^^which branch?

WEST MALL

Postby tr1ad » July 13th, 2011, 11:30 am

no problems with roaming and my blackberry.... globally

problem with blackberry

Postby 1234 » July 13th, 2011, 6:05 pm

tuners have a blackberry 9630 and anytime you try putting in a phne card it dialing and not sending...same when checking balance..phne is digicel btw..
Can anyone help me solve dis..
tanxs

Re: problem with blackberry

Postby ruffneck_12 » July 13th, 2011, 6:07 pm

pop out d SIM, lick it, dry it

and try it again

Postby 1234 » July 13th, 2011, 6:09 pm

lol...ppl i serious here...try more than one sim

Postby ruffneck_12 » July 13th, 2011, 6:11 pm

well try driving to a far distance away from where u trying it,,, so u go be using another cell tower,,, idk if it will work but if u desperate try it

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » July 13th, 2011, 6:18 pm

if it's to add money to your number then I believe you can do that from any phone - try putting the sim in another phone and adding the money from the phone card. Once the money has been added to you number you can put the SIM back in your blackberry

Postby 1234 » July 13th, 2011, 6:27 pm

yea i know but i prefer dis problem fix... even with the bbm u cant see your contacts profile pics
the phne is a Verizon frm the states and unlock to the digi network btw

Postby tr1ad » July 13th, 2011, 7:40 pm

if i'm not mistaken
verizon phones are of a slightly different frequency

sorry i can't help really
don't know much about prepaid

Postby Stephon. » July 13th, 2011, 7:44 pm

I guess all those German lessons I took finally coming in handy here. :D
Last edited by Stephon. on July 13th, 2011, 7:47 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Postby Chimera » July 13th, 2011, 7:45 pm

1234 wrote:yea i know but i prefer dis problem fix... even with the bbm u cant see your contacts profile pics
the phne is a Verizon frm the states and unlock to the digi network btw

if its really unlocked it should be unlocked to work on any network, not just to digi

dial

##000000 on the phone

in the screen that comes up, change the top number to 868xxxxxxx (being your local cell number)

then click menu and save.

phone will reset

then try dialing.

Postby Chimera » July 13th, 2011, 7:46 pm

1234 wrote:yea i know but i prefer dis problem fix... even with the bbm u cant see your

sounds like you need to wipe and reload os.

DYNAMIX SOUND SYSTEM

wtk: blackberry 9700 os 6.0??

Postby DYNAMIX SOUND SYSTEM » July 13th, 2011, 7:53 pm

has ne 1 who owns a bb 9700 upgraded to os 6.0?

wats the pros and cons of it??

Re: wtk: blackberry 9700 os 6.0??

Postby S_2NR » July 13th, 2011, 10:05 pm

DYNAMIX SOUNDS wrote:has ne 1 who owns a bb 9700 upgraded to os 6.0?

wats the pros and cons of it??

OS 6 > OS 5
in all aspects.

being the 9700, u might have less memory after the upgrade and it might not move as snappy as OS5.

have the 9780 which is designed for OS6 and love it

Postby Stephon. » July 13th, 2011, 10:10 pm

I know a girl that had OS6 on her 9700, she downgraded because she couldn't have her "spongebob theme" :? and she was worried with the little memory the phone had :|