Trinituner Fish Keepers, Aquarists & Aquascapers...

Re: Trinituner Fish Keepers, Aquarists & Aquascapers...

Postby sharkman121 » August 5th, 2011, 5:15 pm

think i overloaded the outlet and it sparked up n caught a fire. I need to get a GFCI outlet and probably get an electrician to put a couple other outlets in the room. I currently have 4 outlets available but the amount of things to plug in... heres a break down

3 koralias
mag drive return pump
protein skimmer
8 t5's run with 4 plugs
moonlights
maxi jet for auto top off
maxi jet for phosban reactor
HOB filter
eheim carbon filter
air stone

total of 15 plugs on 4 outlets is a recipe for disaster especially around saltwater, so i need to organise something.

HondaB20B

Postby HondaB20B » August 5th, 2011, 6:36 pm

all them thing coming from one breaker?
you should run those tings off voltage regulators.NOT A STRIP EH!!
a guy was by raj some mths ago and he bought d latest reef computer ($15G's). It only lasted 2 wks................ T&TEC had a spike and d computer was no more................

let me tell you what i did.....................
Brought 2 separate lines to the tank (separate breakers)
I wrote down every electrical item i want and put the rating in watts on the side.
Went and buy 2- 600W voltage regulators......(THANKS TO RORO)
Went tru the listing and divided up the items by wattage and by the time they remain on. (so like the 2 vortec pumps not on the same breaker, or the main pump and the protein skimmer. so in the event that one breaker trips, half the items still running)
If both breakers trip or current goes, the battery back-up has power to run the 2 vortec pumps for 15hrs and the air-pumps kick in.

HondaB20B

Postby HondaB20B » August 8th, 2011, 8:40 am

i realize that nobody give any input on this thread again..............

Postby sharkman121 » August 8th, 2011, 8:44 am

lol shout louder i eh tink they hear yuh :lol: :lol:

btw i now realise yuh respond to mih electrical question yes, that exactly wat i was lookin for thanks.

HondaB20B

Postby HondaB20B » August 8th, 2011, 8:48 am

so it on one breaker then

Postby sharkman121 » August 8th, 2011, 8:51 am

yea.. i didnt alter the electrical at all. So i guess i need an electrician to come in now?

HondaB20B

Postby HondaB20B » August 8th, 2011, 8:58 am

and remember you still have to cater for a chiller

Postby sharkman121 » August 8th, 2011, 9:02 am

fuh real yes, what other electrical u have installed that i dont yet.

Other than 2 vortech :shock: baller

HondaB20B

Postby HondaB20B » August 8th, 2011, 9:07 am

nah thats it....................... LED strip...........

Postby sharkman121 » August 8th, 2011, 9:16 am

pics of the electrical area and tank one time while yr at it? :oops:

Postby cinco » August 8th, 2011, 9:45 am

have no fish tank at this time but this may interest you all
the Guppy Project done in trinidad
http://cnas.ucr.edu/guppy/videos.html

Gadget Master

Postby Gadget Master » August 8th, 2011, 10:04 am

We made 100 pages!

rmtuner

Postby rmtuner » August 8th, 2011, 10:21 am

Gadget Master (aka DJBlademan) how the fishes going?

HondaB20B

Postby HondaB20B » August 8th, 2011, 12:11 pm

sharkman121 wrote:pics of the electrical area and tank one time while yr at it? :oops:

Decided not to post any pics of my tank or setup on the forum, At least not rite now

it have d regulars that post and give lil info, but only ah set of :stalk:

AGENT RORO

Postby AGENT RORO » August 8th, 2011, 12:21 pm

HondaB20B wrote:
sharkman121 wrote:pics of the electrical area and tank one time while yr at it? :oops:

Decided not to post any pics of my tank or setup on the forum, At least not rite now

it have d regulars that post and give lil info, but only ah set of :stalk:

Was trying to call you. Shout me Tomorrow if you around.

djblademan

Postby djblademan » August 8th, 2011, 12:47 pm

rmtuner wrote:Gadget Master (aka DJBlademan) how the fishes going?

Boy my project got scrapped. I am down to one small tank with 3 3' discus. & they suffering. tank on about half of water & the filter stopped wrking all kinda thing. Time is what I am not getting. I plan on gettin my own place next yr Plz God & I am going to start back full time & dedicate one entire room for just breeding of the discus...

Hence the reason I am not on tuner & this great thread that much but I am very proud to see it has reached 100 pages!!

Congrats & thanks all you fish hobbyist tuners...for making this thread so useful & continuing the 'aqua vybz'
keep posting, asking advertising, advising ....

Cheers
Dj Blademan aka Gadget Master.

dont forget my post, i have diving knives for the fishermen tooo:
viewtopic.php?f=11&t=366372
PM me for cataloug.

Postby sharkman121 » August 8th, 2011, 5:06 pm

^ didnt know u sold em... bought on from ebay just yesterday

dean, inbox me pics if u can.

HondaB20B

Postby HondaB20B » August 8th, 2011, 8:36 pm

If its one thing i will warn all would-be saltwater people.................

Make sure and check your rock before you put it into your tank especially if you get it from our local waters. A mantis shrimp is not a nice thing to have in your tank. its just a bloody miniature T-REX

when i catch him i will post a pic of him he is about 1 1/4" long and olive green

Postby sharkman121 » August 8th, 2011, 11:23 pm

wat he eat?

HondaB20B

Postby HondaB20B » August 9th, 2011, 6:31 am

Cleaner & peppermint shrimp X4, snails X ? cromis X 2.
at last thats what he start with so far

Postby sharkman121 » August 9th, 2011, 11:00 am

damnn....an i thought my snowflake eel was bad.

speaking of which, i found a chromis in the sump last night that was missing for 2 weeks. I jus thought the eel had ate him :|

HondaB20B

Postby HondaB20B » August 9th, 2011, 2:45 pm

put piece of egg-crate ontop of the overflow this will stop any fish, snails, or plants going down you overflow and clogging d drain pipes.

Postby sharkman121 » August 9th, 2011, 5:05 pm

yeh i know, been meaning to do this for the longest while.

HondaB20B

Postby HondaB20B » August 9th, 2011, 8:21 pm

well i aint catch mantis shrimp, s i end up taking out 2 rocks that he keep playing peek-a-boo with me and left it out of the water for some hrs ............... hope i got him

nsingh_tt

Postby nsingh_tt » August 11th, 2011, 12:54 pm

Who/Where in Chaguanas area sells Saltwater Fishes

pay1093

Postby pay1093 » August 11th, 2011, 8:26 pm

Hey guys, Ive been putting aside some work Ive been meaning to do on my aquarium and i finally have some time.

I need to upgrade my filter, right now I have a whisper 4 hang on and its seen quite a few years so I think is time I get myself a new one. Id like to get back a hang on and Ive seen good reviews on the Hagen AquaClear, is it available locally? What about replacement parts? Ive had the tetra need parts in the past and I ended up buying them online, wouldnt like to have a filter down for 2weeks again.

Also Im looking to get rid of my kois (PM if anyone is interested in them, they are aproximatly 5inchs big, no illnesses etc) and replace them with some dwarf gourami's.

Where in south can i get dwarf gourami's? Im looking to get about 3females and pair of males maybe. What ca I expect to pay for the red ones?

Im also looking at adding a light to my aquarium but as I dont have a hood right now, I was thinking to fit the light to the back of the glass at the bottom? Or would that heat the water too much?

HondaB20B

Postby HondaB20B » August 11th, 2011, 9:05 pm

^^^^^ you can get the Hagen AquaClear and parts at natures world on rushworth st in sando at good prices. those filters real good. I think they also have the dwarf gourami's.

pay1093

Postby pay1093 » August 11th, 2011, 9:29 pm

HondaB20B wrote:^^^^^ you can get the Hagen AquaClear and parts at natures world on rushworth st in sando at good prices. those filters real good. I think they also have the dwarf gourami's.

Nice! Just what I wanted to hear :) Would give them a call in the morn to find out the prices. My tanks is a 40gall iirc so ill aim for a filter size to handle a 20% excess.

Im guessing they would also have a lighting solution..

HondaB20B

Postby HondaB20B » August 11th, 2011, 9:32 pm

pay1093 wrote:
HondaB20B wrote:^^^^^ you can get the Hagen AquaClear and parts at natures world on rushworth st in sando at good prices. those filters real good. I think they also have the dwarf gourami's.

Nice! Just what I wanted to hear :) Would give them a call in the morn to find out the prices. My tanks is a 40gall iirc so ill aim for a filter size to handle a 20% excess.

Im guessing they would also have a lighting solution..

yeah they have some decent lights for your appliation

HondaB20B

Postby HondaB20B » August 11th, 2011, 11:50 pm

Raj have these selling right now and they going fast.

http://www.amazon.com/LFGD-BIG-DIGITAL- ... 571&sr=8-1