The | Apple Inc.  | Thread - WWDC 2025

Re: The | Apple Inc. | Thread

Postby M_2NR » September 18th, 2011, 4:44 pm

^duane there is a place to enter the APN, etc. in the iPad settings? like how we have on the iPhone?

lance100

Postby lance100 » September 18th, 2011, 10:39 pm

iDynamic wrote:I was working on an iPad and couldn't seem to bypass the apple server , I tried every trick in the book , I think in maybe a week or 2 the server would be working again and u should be able to downgrade .. You have your blobs rite ?

Yep but thanks for the attempt though... don't forget to call me when u believe you can do it. (no loud up next time hopefully :lol: )

Parvin

Postby Parvin » September 19th, 2011, 9:00 am

Major Update to RedSn0w Jailbreak Utility Brings Numerous New Features

MuscleNerd has announced a major update to the RedSn0w jailbreak utility that brings numerous new features.

A bunch of new features!
● uses DFU mode to try to automatically determine which device and FW you have
● fetches pieces of public IPSWs from Apple (once). Non-public IPSWs must be provided manually (once). It then caches those pieces for future use.
● "Just boot" is a tethered boot. Uses whatever "Preferences" you've set for boot logo and kernel boot-args
● "Pwned DFU" puts your device in a pwned DFU state for some of the iTunes stuff detailed below
● "Recovery fix" gets past 1015 types of errors (when baseband portion of restore fails). Should work on iOS5 beta too
● "Select IPSW" is for picking non-public IPSWs, or overriding auto-detection
● "SHSH blobs" has a bunch of options…
● "Fetch" - fetch current PARTIAL blobs on device. Puts this set PARTIAL of blobs on your computer as a plist. Checks if Cydia already has a full set for this device and build. If not, it submits this partial set and returns Cydia's acknowledgement or rejection
● "Verify" - cryptographically verifies existing blob files from either redsn0w, TinyUmbrella, or Cydia server. You can select a whole bunch of blobs to verify at once if you want (like the TinyUmbrella directory)
● "Submit" - both verifies and submits one or more blob files to Cydia. This lets you copy your entire TinyUmbrella cache of blobs up to the Cydia server
● "Query" - queries the Cydia server for all available full or partial blobs for a given set of ECIDs
● "Stitch" - stitches either FULL or PARTIAL blobs to a STOCK or CUSTOM IPSW

1. FULL blobs stitched to a STOCK IPSW gives you a completely self-contained signed IPSW that iTunes will accept without any tricks (no need to go into pwned DFU mode, no need to start TinyUmbrella TSS server, no need to redirect to Cydia server for blobs)
2. PARTIAL blobs stitched to any IPSW requires you to go into pwned DFU mode before running iTunes. No need to start TU or use Cydia though.
3. stitching either FULL or PARTIAL blobs to a CUSTOM IPSW also requires a pwned DFU start before iTunes restores. No need to start TU or use Cydia though.
4. stitching is NOT yet supported on iPhones (well, at least not tested). Need to work out the baseband part of the restore process.
5. will eventually support fetching the blobs directly from Cydia instead of a file on your computer

It has been released

Parvin

Postby Parvin » September 19th, 2011, 11:56 am

Nice theme

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » September 19th, 2011, 6:38 pm

M_2NR wrote:^duane there is a place to enter the APN, etc. in the iPad settings? like how we have on the iPhone?
if it's 3G then it should!!!

I have a Wifi only iPad 2 - so i can't test it

iDynamic

Postby iDynamic » September 19th, 2011, 7:12 pm

M_2NR wrote:^duane there is a place to enter the APN, etc. in the iPad settings? like how we have on the iPhone?
if it's 3G then it should!!!

I have a Wifi only iPad 2 - so i can't test it

Yes there is in the 3 g iPad

Simply go to settings>cellular data>apn settings

Then enter your apn

Also has VPN if u guys need it

firstchoicett

Postby firstchoicett » September 19th, 2011, 7:46 pm

anyone of allyuh hear about the Quad core phone coming out next year with 2GHz CPU and 1.5GB of ram 10 Mega pix camera and 5.3' Display?

I still cant imagine phone with a quad core chip that go be faster then some men pc yes.

evokiller

Postby evokiller » September 19th, 2011, 8:39 pm

i tried endless times to get any leak on the ipad3 and there is no luck ahhaa i raelly want to know the release dateeeeeee

iDynamic

Postby iDynamic » September 19th, 2011, 8:44 pm

firstchoicett wrote:anyone of allyuh hear about the Quad core phone coming out next year with 2GHz CPU and 1.5GB of ram 10 Mega pix camera and 5.3' Display?

I still cant imagine phone with a quad core chip that go be faster then some men pc yes.

I get make out :mrgreen:

firstchoicett

Postby firstchoicett » September 19th, 2011, 8:47 pm

iDynamic wrote:
firstchoicett wrote:anyone of allyuh hear about the Quad core phone coming out next year with 2GHz CPU and 1.5GB of ram 10 Mega pix camera and 5.3' Display?

lol.. well Samsung Galaxy3 will have those specs.

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » September 19th, 2011, 10:11 pm

firstchoicett wrote:
iDynamic wrote:

lol.. well Samsung Galaxy3 will have those specs.

you mean the Galaxy S3, not the Galaxy3

SRASC

Postby SRASC » September 20th, 2011, 8:38 am

One of the main staples of iOS is its iconic “Slide to Unlock” lock screen. The interface makes sense on a touchscreen device — just swipe your finger from left to right to unlock.

An app called Lock Screen 2 brings the “Slide to Unlock” screen from iOS to the Mac. Practical, right?

You obviously don’t have a touchscreen on your Mac, so Lock Screen 2 isn’t going to work exactly like iOS. Instead, you have a trackpad on MacBooks and Macs with a Magic Trackpad. Lock Screen 2 lets you swipe across your trackpad like an iOS device to unlock. You can also set a string of keystrokes to simulate a slide to unlock gesture.

The app lets you set a password of 3-12 keys to use for unlocking your Mac, but the trackpad option makes more sense (unless you want the added security). Lock Screen 2 lets you customize the lock screen background, text, and sleep/wake options within the app.

Lock Screen 2 is available for the current price of $1.99 in the Mac App Store. The app’s regular price is $4.99.

------

It’s Playing is a universal iPhone, iPod touch and iPad app that looks to fill the “I will play any video file type” space left when VLC was pulled from the App Store. It’s Playing uses its own soon to be patented engine which it claims will play back most 720p content.

Play all video and audio formats commonly available on the web — including AVI, RMVB, MKV and FLV (Flash Video)
    AdditionFlow© presentation engine: it plays most 720p hi-res video superbly — it’s so great we’re going to patent it.
    Image and sound precision controls
    File and folder management
    Improved privacy management
    Dynamic video quality monitoring and diagnostic

It’s Playing is available as a universal binary for the iPhone, iPad and iPod touch for $1.99.

------

We've posted before how Apple is not only growing in terms of portable devices, but also in terms of Mac sales. Here's another indicator of that: A survey of 158 college students, all undergrads, says 60 percent of new PC purchases by the group this year consisted of Macs. That's not a huge sample, but it is a representative one, as more and more students are going with OS X-driven computers rather than the old desktop PC. According to the same study last year, Apple held only a 38 percent share, so interest in Macs among this group has almost doubled.

More students than last year also brought a tablet with them to school, though shares in that department are apparently leveling. Apple's iPad is down a few percentage points, as is the Kindle, while the "other" category is up by 10 percent.

As volatile as those numbers are (which, unfortunately, casts a little bit of doubt on how relevant this study actually is), there are hints that these undergrads are definitely Mac-inclined in their back-to-school purchases. Apple may have become a mobile device company, but its Mac sales are still stronger than ever.

------

Shares of Apple rose nearly 3 percent Monday to close at a new all-time high of $411.63, padding the electronic giant’s lead over Exxon Mobile as the world’s most valuable company.

Apple’s previous high came on July 26 of this year when the stock hit $403.41 per share.

With Monday’s $11.13 gain, the Cupertino, Calif., iPhone maker retains its title as the world’s largest company by market capitalization, outpacing the former crown holder Exxon Mobil Corporation by $23 billion.

Since Apple overtook the energy giant in August, its market cap has grown by more than $44 billion and now stands at $382.01 billion compared to Exxon’s $358.34 billion.

Though some had expected a sell-off after Apple co-founder Steve Jobs resigned as the company's CEO in late August, shares of the company have actually risen more than 10 percent since then. Wall Street analysts suggested that Jobs' resignation had already been priced into the stock. Investors have compared Jobs to business magnates Henry Ford and Walt Disney, whose companies successfully carried on their legacies long after they stepped down.

The rise also comes amid growing anticipation that the electronics maker is on the verge of introducing the iPhone 5, widely expected to hit the market around mid-October. (and man have there been reports about that thing)

Last quarter, Apple shipped a record 20.34 million iPhones, accounting for 46 percent of the company’s revenue. One analyst recently told AppleInsider that Apple plans to build 30 million iPhone 5s in the fourth quarter of calendar 2011.

Apple’s growth comes as U.S. markets took a moderate downturn Monday, due to investors shedding risky assets while Greek officials held a conference call with foreign creditors over their looming debt crisis, according to The New York Times.

------

evokiller wrote:i tried endless times to get any leak on the ipad3 and there is no luck ahhaa i raelly want to know the release dateeeeeee

March/April 2012 (as normal)

idlemind

Postby idlemind » September 20th, 2011, 4:26 pm

Fellas a quick question...

If I buy an iPhone 4 from TSTT can it be jailbroken?
Whats the bb on the phones they offer?

And to those that going to ask why would I want to jb an iPhone 4 from TSTT (ie duane & co)
Its for the obvious reason... of course if I have no choice then I would buy my gift card and be merry.

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » September 20th, 2011, 5:38 pm

^ make your life simple and buy your gift card and be merry

you buy an iPhone 4 and jailbreak it then when iOS5 comes out or 5.1.2 and then you realise you have to wait for a jailbreak to come out and it's tethered and drama, and battery life and drama etc etc

make your life simple and buy your gift card and be merry

idlemind

Postby idlemind » September 20th, 2011, 7:50 pm

thanks duane, it makes sense in that regard...since if i screw up and have to wait for another jb, i still have to pay my $600 a month and not be able to use it. I must say though that accidental upgrade caught me once and since then im very particular...hardly ever sync to itunes anymore.

Btw...iPhone 4 16gb is $999 @ TSTT, $600 a mth for 12 mths gets you 300mins and 300sms + free 4G hotspot.

Corporate plan though...not bad at all..
3GS 8GB is $599 and iPhone4 32GB $1899

Parvin

Postby Parvin » September 20th, 2011, 7:52 pm

I know about that 'accidental' upgrade yes ... sigh ... rel headache

Glad I kept mine on 4.2.1 and preserve the bb thus far, gevey sim working bess and the jailbreak sweet :P

idlemind

Postby idlemind » September 20th, 2011, 7:59 pm

^^^ and you believe it was the space bar's fault...ha lawd...

Parvin

Postby Parvin » September 20th, 2011, 8:10 pm

Now I make sure i am not occupied with anything else BEFORE connecting that cable to the pc ... lmao

casper

Postby casper » September 20th, 2011, 9:55 pm

tstt's iphone 4's comming with 4.3.3

all u hadda do is go on www.jailbreakme.com from the device and thats it....easy jb...

idlemind

Postby idlemind » September 20th, 2011, 10:14 pm

hmmm decisions decisions, thanks casper

Postby S_2NR » September 20th, 2011, 10:21 pm

heard about the 1000 for the iphone 4. ( im on corporate as well)
not me and that $600 a month, das madness.

Postby M_2NR » September 20th, 2011, 10:35 pm

u getting a free hotspot bai... think of it as a portable heating element. Ah hear from the next thread you could boil water with it... so when it lags away, you can put a cup of water to heat up and make tea while you wait for pages to load.
ok ill stop.

Postby S_2NR » September 20th, 2011, 10:40 pm

i loled @ the hotsport part especially.

they need to bring that down to 1000 with no additional charges and keep your current plan.
like how it is abroad.

Postby M_2NR » September 20th, 2011, 10:45 pm

is chu. I think when they heard it gets really hot, they thought it was a feature of the device :?
ok srsly ill stop.

but that will never happen and honestly, unless i getting something free from bmobile, they eh getting my money. ever.

BTW thanks iDynamic for the screenshot! :)

S_2NR, you took out the digicel or bmobile post paid plan? i seeing there are some cool plans this year again for UWI ppl...

Postby S_2NR » September 20th, 2011, 10:49 pm

i have bmobile corporate.
in two days i can upgrade cause it would be 6 months since my last purchase from them.

Postby M_2NR » September 20th, 2011, 11:21 pm

ohh scene :)

idlemind

Postby idlemind » September 21st, 2011, 7:21 am

Well the $600 a month doesn't bother me since the company pays my bill.
And if by any miracle the hotspot works fine by me, I can give back my adsl at home...

Simple..

casper

Postby casper » September 21st, 2011, 12:32 pm

^^^the "myhotspot" thing actually faster than normal blink @ home so if u have blink @ home and using it for wireless i suggest u cancel that...my neighbour have blink and plays black ops on his ps3 via wifi and gets 2 bars right through...i lend him d myhotspot thing and he got 3 bars with it sometimes 4... lolz

Postby S_2NR » September 21st, 2011, 8:51 pm

idlemind wrote:Well the $600 a month doesn't bother me since the company pays my bill.
And if by any miracle the hotspot works fine by me, I can give back my adsl at home...

Simple..

let us know when u get it how it works.
with the iphone 5 around the corner, its not worth it to me.
just another way for bmobile to lock u down.

ворвзаконе

Gears up 2ners time to start camping out for your new iPhone

Postby ворвзаконе » September 22nd, 2011, 7:40 am

Apple's Next Event to Be Held on October 4, Starring Its New CEO

John Paczkowski, On Wednesday September 21, 2011, 6:03 am EDT
Tuesday, October 4.

That’s the day Apple is currently expected to hold its next big media event, according to sources close to the situation, where the tech giant will unveil the next iteration of its popular iPhone.

While there have been a lot of conflicting reports about the exact timing of the event, including some that pegged it as taking place this month, AllThingsD had previously posted that the rollout of the iPhone 5 would be in October.

While Apple could certainly change its plans anytime, sources said that the October 4 date has been selected by the company to showcase the iPhone 5. Sources added that the plan is now to make the new device available for purchase within a few weeks after the announcement.

And while the iPhone 5 is a much anticipated handset, the event itself has a lot more importance for Apple than many previous ones.

That’s because it will be newly installed CEO Tim Cook’s first big product introduction and the place where the public will get a first lengthy impression of him that may well set the tone for Cook’s new role.

And that’s why, said sources, although he’s never quarterbacked an Apple product announcement before, Cook is certain to preside over the iPhone 5 rollout.

He has to, of course. To pass the presentation on to anyone else — even one of Apple’s key executives such as Phil Schiller, who has handled the Macworld and Worldwide Developers Conference keynotes in 2009 — would undercut Cook’s new role and reinforce public perception that its legendary outgoing CEO and co-founder Steve Jobs is Apple and that it will be a different company without him.

So, like his predecessor and as Jobs’s right-hand man and chosen successor, Cook is expected to be the main presenter at all big Apple media events going forward.

That said, sources said, he’s sure to have help from Apple lieutenants, such as marketing head Schiller, iOS chief Scott Forstall and Eddy Cue, recently named SVP of Internet Software and Services.

Still, the pressure will be on Cook to turn in a good performance at the event, especially after what has so far been a very smooth leadership transition at Apple.

What will be interesting to see, of course, is if Jobs himself will also make an appearance, which is something that is likely to be determined by his health in a decision that will made very close to the event.

And while putting Jobs onstage with Cook could diminish the new leader’s first public effort, what better “one more thing” than Jobs himself making a cameo appearance?