16Nov – Motor General Council Meeting
19Nov – equipment testing/verification (officials ONLY)
20Nov – 1st session 1-4pm at Camden - Mandatory Competitor registration leading to tuition / orientation / FIA Licence – Fee $300
24Nov – Briefing meeting 7.30pm (Indoor Sporting Complex at Saith Park, Chaguanas) & submission of entry forms – entry fee $350
26Nov – 2nd session 12-4pm at Camden – Mandatory driver checkout/observations for competence (MUST HAVE PREQUALIFIED BY REGISTERING/ATTENDING 1st session on 20 Nov)
27Nov – OFFICIAL COMPETITION – pit Gates close at 10am – scrutineering starts at 9am – races start at 12NOON !!
Please be advised the Briefing meeting has been confirmed on 24th November at the Indoor Sporting Complex at Saith Park, Chaguanas starting at 7.30pm
Cash prizes with trophies are up for grabs in ALL BRACKETS
link wrote:RoTaRyBoYz wrote:It's this simple... If racers MUST hold a valid FIA license before permission is granted to race then the racers should demand the facility be up to FIA safety standards with a sand trap, safety net & all the other mandatory safety equipment that FIA requires. I think the racers should form a union to deal with problems like this.
but but but......![]()
Camden has a mud trap, cane net...& a water trap after all that.........GUARANTEED STOPPING...[more bait ?]
apprec yr posting suggestions to the problems u highlight, guys....
tks
rgds
26Nov – 2nd session 12-4pm at Camden – Mandatory driver checkout/observations for competence (MUST HAVE PREQUALIFIED BY REGISTERING/ATTENDING 1st session on 20 Nov)
zaxxon1 wrote:^^^^ Yorkshirelass, these same questions crossed my mind also,26Nov – 2nd session 12-4pm at Camden – Mandatory driver checkout/observations for competence (MUST HAVE PREQUALIFIED BY REGISTERING/ATTENDING 1st session on 20 Nov)
Will the FIA lic enable us to also participate (if it ever reaches to that), in circuit and other motorsports here, and anywhere an FIA sanctioned event is held? Who determines if the people checking /observing the drivers are competent to judge the competence of drag racing drivers in different brackets? I may be wrong, but circuit drivers are not accustomed to high horsepower machines 500+ and that changes everything (ask any serious drag racer).
This is like $1200.00 before preparation for the raceday (27th), maybe it would have been better to start with a test and tune day, with the pre requisites of-course (FIA lic). This would help in working out the logistics for a proper maybe international meet at the end of the year.
zaxxon1 wrote:^^^^ Yorkshirelass, these same questions crossed my mind also,26Nov – 2nd session 12-4pm at Camden – Mandatory driver checkout/observations for competence (MUST HAVE PREQUALIFIED BY REGISTERING/ATTENDING 1st session on 20 Nov)
Will the FIA lic enable us to also participate (if it ever reaches to that), in circuit and other motorsports here, and anywhere an FIA sanctioned event is held? Who determines if the people checking /observing the drivers are competent to judge the competence of drag racing drivers in different brackets? I may be wrong, but circuit drivers are not accustomed to high horsepower machines 500+ and that changes everything (ask any serious drag racer).
This is like $1200.00 before preparation for the raceday (27th), maybe it would have been better to start with a test and tune day, with the pre requisites of-course (FIA lic). This would help in working out the logistics for a proper maybe international meet at the end of the year.
Midnight_Demon wrote: But then again... This is ttasa we talking about, its expected that everything gonna be rushed down and done halfway.
Midnight_Demon wrote:zaxxon1 wrote:^^^^ Yorkshirelass, these same questions crossed my mind also,26Nov – 2nd session 12-4pm at Camden – Mandatory driver checkout/observations for competence (MUST HAVE PREQUALIFIED BY REGISTERING/ATTENDING 1st session on 20 Nov)
Agreed with this, a test and tune would have been better to get back a "feel" for the track, get everything back into place, prepare the track and surroundings properly instead of rushing into a full "competition" and rushing to get "fia license" etc. But then again... This is ttasa we talking about, its expected that everything gonna be rushed down and done halfway.
moti wrote:easy money...........beat the christmas rush i say.
Tweety wrote:I have not logged on for a long time and you know what .... SAME SH*T DIFFERENT DAY !!
Will trackbite be allowed? Some how I doubt this very much as it is an active runway and is the reason why we lost Camden in the first place. This means that no sub 10 seconds cars can run safely.
Sparky we do not CHOOSE FIA. The FIA is the world body that governs motorsport and even the NHRA are affiliated. I have read the FIA Drag Racing rules and the are safety oriented so Rotary Boys is very right to ask the questions about safety. TTASA cant choose which rules they want to follow and disregard the rest.
Who is conducting these “mandatory” driving schools and what credentials do they have to do this. I will not now or ever attend any “mandatory” driving school put on by TTASA nor would I will not be paying $200 or $300 for a license. TTASA once again is trying to get the Drag Racers to pay their sanctioning fees for the FIA. When I got my NHRA Drag License I had to make 5 or 6 runs (cant remember the exact amount now) and have them signed off by a recognised NHRA representative before i could get a license.
Anyway everyone knows how I feel about TTASA and they will never see 1 cent of my money!
X2Tweety wrote:Anyway everyone knows how I feel about TTASA and they will never see 1 cent of my money!
I am fine with this only.sparky wrote:Camp den is not an international race way and we are limited in the kind of infrastructure that can take place there added to the fact it is a temporary facility with rules and guide lines to adhere to.
I don't know who is we and when "we" choose to follow something that cannot allow drag racers to race any where with better motor racing governance than TnT.However in any sport there must be rules and guide lines to govern that sport, in this case we choose to follow the FIA rules concerning drag racing.
Discipline ? can we type your user name on you-tube and see the said discipline taking place on the streets of TnT? or maybe its not you .If people would take the time to read those rules and safety guide lines, it will instill a level of discipline that is necessary for the growth of the sport.
Tweety wrote:I have not logged on for a long time and you know what .... SAME SH*T DIFFERENT DAY !!
Will trackbite be allowed? Some how I doubt this very much as it is an active runway and is the reason why we lost Camden in the first place. This means that no sub 10 seconds cars can run safely.
Sparky we do not CHOOSE FIA. The FIA is the world body that governs motorsport and even the NHRA are affiliated. I have read the FIA Drag Racing rules and the are safety oriented so Rotary Boys is very right to ask the questions about safety. TTASA cant choose which rules they want to follow and disregard the rest.
Who is conducting these “mandatory” driving schools and what credentials do they have to do this. I will not now or ever attend any “mandatory” driving school put on by TTASA nor would I will not be paying $200 or $300 for a license. TTASA once again is trying to get the Drag Racers to pay their sanctioning fees for the FIA. When I got my NHRA Drag License I had to make 5 or 6 runs (cant remember the exact amount now) and have them signed off by a recognised NHRA representative before i could get a license.
Anyway everyone knows how I feel about TTASA and they will never see 1 cent of my money!
Ignorant Ignis wrote:well said
sparky wrote:Camp den is not an international race way and we are limited in the kind of infarstructure that can take place there added to the fact it is a temporary falicity with rules and guide lines to adhere to. However in any sport there must be rules and guide lines to govern that sport, in this case we choose to follow the FIA rules concerning drag racing. If people would take the time to read those rules and safety guide lines, it will instill a level of discipline that is neccessary for the growth of the sport. Things do not happen over night and it will take time to evolve and get better, it will need a collective imput to succeed
Midnight_Demon wrote:sparky wrote:Camp den is not an international race way and we are limited in the kind of infarstructure that can take place there added to the fact it is a temporary falicity with rules and guide lines to adhere to. However in any sport there must be rules and guide lines to govern that sport, in this case we choose to follow the FIA rules concerning drag racing. If people would take the time to read those rules and safety guide lines, it will instill a level of discipline that is neccessary for the growth of the sport. Things do not happen over night and it will take time to evolve and get better, it will need a collective imput to succeed
No one saying don't follow rules and what not u know... Jus saying that if u going to follow. "Fia rules" then don't half a$$ it.. Make sure the track and spectator area set up to "fia" standards as well... As said before just seems like another money making scheme from ttasa
RoTaRyBoYz wrote:Buh men hadda buy Scotch and ham this christmas.. Where else yuh guh make that kinda money in 2 days without doing something illegal
I was reading FIA drag racing licensing rules & regulations today and it seems like the only way FIA putting their name on something, is if the track owner brings in a FIA inspector to inspect & approve the track.. I'm almost 1000% certain that Camden is not up to FIA standards and have not been approved for racing by FIA, so why on earth do you need a FIA license to participate on a airfield that has nothing to do with FIA
Not even the NHRA require a license to run in a lot of classes and they are under the FIA umbrella, so I don't understand why TTASA making it mandatory for those average Joes in their 16 second cars to get a FIA license before they can be allowed access to an airplane runway. I can understand they enforcing that "rule" on a guy with a 7 to 10 second car or a car that trapping 120+ MPH, but for the average guy to not big into racing, it's just plain stupid.
wagonrunner wrote:moti wrote:easy money...........beat the christmas rush i say.
I feel it have a bess kaiso in there to this beat yunno.
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=hhvnuuQ2cmQ
RoTaRyBoYz wrote:Buh men hadda buy Scotch and ham this christmas.. Where else yuh guh make that kinda money in 2 days without doing something illegal
I was reading FIA drag racing licensing rules & regulations today and it seems like the only way FIA putting their name on something, is if the track owner brings in a FIA inspector to inspect & approve the track.. I'm almost 1000% certain that Camden is not up to FIA standards and have not been approved for racing by FIA, so why on earth do you need a FIA license to participate on a airfield that has nothing to do with FIA
Not even the NHRA require a license to run in a lot of classes and they are under the FIA umbrella, so I don't understand why TTASA making it mandatory for those average Joes in their 16 second cars to get a FIA license before they can be allowed access to an airplane runway. I can understand they enforcing that "rule" on a guy with a 7 to 10 second car or a car that trapping 120+ MPH, but for the average guy to not big into racing, it's just plain stupid.
A-1 Superior Tech wrote:Yea some answers now please, don't want people buying allyuh christmas presents and rum now over a false license talk