TTASA claims access rights to Camden - Drags on Nov 26+27th

Tweety
Pro Drag

Re: TTASA claims access rights to Camden - Drags on Nov 26+2

Postby Tweety » November 19th, 2011, 3:21 am

As I said I have read the FIA Drag Racing spec and with this in mind I would like to clear up something with regards to the License .....

The FIA appoints a body, association etc as its representative in each and every country that has motorsport wishing to be recognised world wide, that representative is called the ASN. NHRA is the ASN in the USA like TTASA is the ASN here in Trinidad. As far as the FIA is concerned the only Drag Racing car drivers that require an official license are those running 9.99 seconds or faster, however, it is at the discretion of the ASN as to wether the slower car drivers require a license or not. With this in mind TTASA is within their rights as the ASN to require everyone to have a license BUT they can not choose only those rules which they want to enforce. i.e. If they are making the license mandatory then all the other FIA specs have to be followed as well such as Rotary Boys says ... Track approval etc.. This has always been the problem with TTASA, they want to follow those specs that suit them and no more but it doesnt work that way. Further more driving school is not mandatory anywhere in the world and they do not have the right to make it so.

Postby SR » November 19th, 2011, 6:14 am

Heres another spin

is TTASA making you pay for FIA membership as a way to both collect funding as well as make it seem that you are now a "member" of TTASA so that they can use these stats for future business development

or in simple terms

look we have members

but really and truly u r not a member

i belive TTASA is not acting in good faith and there is more to it than meets the eye

why not just have a basic safety training session for the track for those interested and a strict saftey inspection for cars that will be running on the airstrip

and stop forcing people to PAY for FIA license that mean nothing anywhere else in the world

professor

Postby professor » November 19th, 2011, 7:39 am

Are the International rallies in Barbados sanctioned by the FIA?

link

Postby link » November 19th, 2011, 9:09 am

professor wrote:Are the International rallies in Barbados sanctioned by the FIA?

YES...
the FIA ASN - The Barbados Motoring Federation - sanctions all events
:wink:

Porn Star

Postby Porn Star » November 19th, 2011, 9:13 am

Link, how bout you respond to Tweety's comments as well ? :wink:

link

Postby link » November 19th, 2011, 9:28 am

http://argent.fia.com/web/fia-public.ns ... 1.2011.pdf

here are a couple excerpts of the ISC...please read the entire ISC to properly understand ...

18. National Event
Any event not satisfying one or more of the conditions
enumerated in article 17 above is called a national event.
A national event is placed under the sole sporting
supervision of an ASN, which exercises its power of
regulation and organisation while respecting the general
conditions of application
of the present Code
(see articles 3
and 53).
A national event is open only to competitors and drivers
holding a licence issued by the ASN of the country in which
that event takes place.

A national event cannot count towards an international
championship or series, nor can it be taken into account for
the drawing up of a general classification after several
international events.

47. Licence
a) A licence is a certificate of registration issued to any
person or body (drivers, entrants, manufacturers, teams,
race officials, organisers, circuits etc.) wishing to participate
or taking part, in any capacity whatsoever, in competitions
or record attempts governed by the present Code....
No one may take part in a sporting event, set or break a
record, if he does not possess an FIA licence issued by his
parent ASN,
or an FIA licence issued by an ASN other than
his parent ASN with the consent of his parent ASN (see
Article 110).
An FIA international licence issued by an ASN is valid for
international events appropriate to the level of such licence
provided that they are entered on the International Sporting
Calendar.

The FIA licence must be renewed annually from the 1st of
January of each year
Each ASN shall issue licences in compliance with the FIA
regulations.
The licence can be issued under a pseudonym, but no one
may make use of two pseudonyms.
A charge may be made for the issue or the renewal of a
licence.

An ASN can issue a licence to a foreigner belonging to a
country not yet represented on the FIA with the FIA's prior
agreement. A list of licences issued under these conditions
shall be kept at the Secretariat of the FIA.

just small parts of the whole ISC which immediately refer to some peoples' personal interpretation of what they think this aspect of FIA is about
rgds

FugiTECH

Postby FugiTECH » November 19th, 2011, 9:37 am

again , who is willing to start the campaign for their racing rights with TTASA ? Orgnaise nah ? Start it ? if not just let the people hold they races and let the people who want to race , race. Stop crying and do something about if you dont like it.

I bet if i say Join and Support this group to support Inshan and his Private Track Not more than 2 ah allyuh will take me , on The Barrackpore Drag Facility Project by Inshan
Closed Group http://www.facebook.com/photo.php?fbid= ... 440333976/

link

Postby link » November 19th, 2011, 10:05 am

Porn Star wrote:Link, how bout you respond to Tweety's comments as well ? :wink:

http://argent.fia.com/web/fia-public.ns ... .11.10.pdf

TTASA will not ignore those aspiring motor sport enthusiasts whose equipment can't 'do 9.99 seconds or faster'
YES..it's mandatory to have a licence to compete at the highest levels of drag racing....but where does it state that 'a licence is NOT required' ??
The fact that TTASA requires competitors to undergo a qualifying process to obtain such should only be construed as an attempt to foster proper discipline & understanding of the demanding arena of motor racing amongst our aspiring young competitors.

Have we become so selfish in our old age that we cannot think to properly pass on valuable knowledge & experience to the young upcoming racers in this country.
My glasses certainly don't have blinkers on them........it's not my style...what's yours

Tweety
Pro Drag

Postby Tweety » November 19th, 2011, 10:10 am

Link what you have quoted is the International Sporting Code which is General and refers to all forms of motorsport ... we are talking about Drag Racing here be specific about the licence at hand .... this is exactly what we are talking about - TTASA's continued (and to use your own words) personal interpretation of what they think this aspect of FIA is about

see section 8 sub section 10.4 Credentials (page 102)

and by the same token where does it say that anything slower than 9.99 needs a licence?

Tweety
Pro Drag

Postby Tweety » November 19th, 2011, 10:32 am

You make me laugh .... so selfish .... hahaha do you know what a fool you are making of yourself .... oh wait its your style

Anyone that knows me knows how foolish that statement is and it only goes to show how well you know me.

The link I posted is quite clear on what the FIA requires for the "qualifying process" and I dont see a driving school there anywhere all I see is cockpit orientation and runs .... maybe my personal interpretation is wrong please enlighten me

RapToR
Location: Wholesaler & Reseller --- FREE Delivery<--Almost Anywhere!

Postby RapToR » November 19th, 2011, 10:34 am

:popcorn:

Postby X2 » November 19th, 2011, 10:54 am

Just fyi...the fia rules are available online.

Have a read and open your eyes to the REAL rules....not interpretations.

The politics will continue unabated lest everyone knows the truth.

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » November 19th, 2011, 11:58 am

link wrote:
professor wrote:Are the International rallies in Barbados sanctioned by the FIA?

YES...
the FIA ASN - The Barbados Motoring Federation - sanctions all events
:wink:
Devil's advocate here

Will the FIA license given by TTASA for $300 be valid for those wishing to compete in Rally Barbados 2012?

professor

Postby professor » November 19th, 2011, 12:24 pm

Hold on Duane, I was playing Devil's Advocate first, when I asked about the FIA And Barbados Rally, are all the roads inspected by a FIA Rep (meaning not from the Rally organisers) are all the roads fenced to prevent access to the roads etc. As I see it, the ASN, the local experts can 'Bend' some of the rules to suit local conditions, and can make up new ones. Who wants to race at Camden is their business, oh, just in case anyone wants to know before they jump on their 500 + High horses, I would be at the ARC on the 27th with my 280 JDM ponies. Drag on guys, a small step starts or restarts a journey. Some of you guys remind me of some people who refuse to vote, cheat on their taxes and complain the most.

RoTaRyBoYz

Postby RoTaRyBoYz » November 19th, 2011, 2:59 pm

This Link character is kicks.. Link how about some progress pics of all the prep work that you guys did to get the borrowed airplane runway ready for the FIA event next weekend.. Surely TTASA, the FIA ASN would of made significant improvements to said runway for all those FIA licensed racers to race on.
I have a few questions before my arrival next Friday -
Would there be stands (seating) available for my family and the other spectators?
Would there be secured parking for spectators?
Would there be police presence at this event to make people feel a bit more secure? This place is kind of in the bush and some folks may not feel safe arriving in their expensive cars
Would there be an ambulance on scene for both days, all day? And maybe a fire rescue team, just in case a racer gets trapped in his car after an accident?

Seeing that TTASA is the FIA appointee for Trinidad & Tobago and they are insisting on racers become FIA license holders, I'm sure the answers to my questions will be all "Yes" because we all know FIA don't cut corners with it comes to driver & spectator safety.

Postby wagonrunner » November 19th, 2011, 3:12 pm

THE_FUGITIVES wrote:again , who is willing to start the campaign for their racing rights with TTASA ? Orgnaise nah ? Start it ? if not just let the people hold they races and let the people who want to race , race. Stop crying and do something about if you dont like it.

I bet if i say Join and Support this group to support Inshan and his Private Track Not more than 2 ah allyuh will take me , on The Barrackpore Drag Facility Project by Inshan

you have no clue what's done by other posters in this thread.

The words in brackets are mine.
From another thread wrote:The only way that Motor Sport can regain some of its glory anywhere, is to have a dedicated board of passionate people who are willing to work together for the common good of the sport(the date alone says volumes). They must also not be afraid to stand up to people who are willing to cheat, threaten, and undermine the sport just so they could look good (again). This is what killed motor racing at Wallerfield. There was a person who threatened some Board members by taking business away from them if they took a stand against them. ( :roll: )

Cheating, or bending the rules, has always been a part of racing. But if the rules are not enforced and obeyed, then everything will come apart as we saw in the past. Do you know when I stopped racing, 22 other drivers did the same? The sad part was that all we were asking for was to penalize the culprits and make it public and enforce the rules, but everyone was afraid to do it. Any sport has to have someone willing to enforce the rules but they have to be backed up by the other members. (difficult to get backing when your members and potential members concerns / voices are ignored)

Postby pete » November 19th, 2011, 3:22 pm

professor wrote:Hold on Duane, I was playing Devil's Advocate first, when I asked about the FIA And Barbados Rally, are all the roads inspected by a FIA Rep (meaning not from the Rally organisers) are all the roads fenced to prevent access to the roads etc. As I see it, the ASN, the local experts can 'Bend' some of the rules to suit local conditions, and can make up new ones. Who wants to race at Camden is their business, oh, just in case anyone wants to know before they jump on their 500 + High horses, I would be at the ARC on the 27th with my 280 JDM ponies. Drag on guys, a small step starts or restarts a journey. Some of you guys remind me of some people who refuse to vote, cheat on their taxes and complain the most.

I haven't personally been to the Barbados rally AND an FIA WRC rally but from footage I've seen the courses seem to be restricted the same way. What do you mean fenced? To stop spectators or to stop people from driving their cars onto the course?

trini mk5

Postby trini mk5 » November 19th, 2011, 3:46 pm

Link hasn't addressed the question of whether camden has been FIA certified yet!!! :?

FugiTECH

Postby FugiTECH » November 19th, 2011, 4:50 pm

THE_FUGITIVES wrote:again , who is willing to start the campaign for their racing rights with TTASA ? Orgnaise nah ? Start it ? if not just let the people hold they races and let the people who want to race , race. Stop crying and do something about if you dont like it.

you have no clue what's done by other posters in this thread.

The words in brackets are mine.
From another thread wrote:The only way that Motor Sport can regain some of its glory anywhere, is to have a dedicated board of passionate people who are willing to work together for the common good of the sport(the date alone says volumes). They must also not be afraid to stand up to people who are willing to cheat, threaten, and undermine the sport just so they could look good (again). This is what killed motor racing at Wallerfield. There was a person who threatened some Board members by taking business away from them if they took a stand against them. ( :roll: )

Cheating, or bending the rules, has always been a part of racing. But if the rules are not enforced and obeyed, then everything will come apart as we saw in the past. Do you know when I stopped racing, 22 other drivers did the same? The sad part was that all we were asking for was to penalize the culprits and make it public and enforce the rules, but everyone was afraid to do it. Any sport has to have someone willing to enforce the rules but they have to be backed up by the other members. (difficult to get backing when your members and potential members concerns / voices are ignored)

ok , good luck to the ones trying to make a change

Bezman

Postby Bezman » November 19th, 2011, 5:29 pm

link

Postby link » November 19th, 2011, 7:21 pm

Duane
an FIA licence for drag racing only allows you to do just that.
If you want to compete in rally events, you must show proficiency in that sporting discipline & be endorsed as a member by an accredited rally organisation as such. Only then would your 'drag' licence be endorsed to include 'rally'.
rgds

Postby SR » November 19th, 2011, 7:31 pm

link wrote:Duane
an FIA licence for drag racing only allows you to do just that.
If you want to compete in rally events, you must show proficiency in that sporting discipline & be endorsed as a member by an accredited rally organisation as such. Only then would your 'drag' licence be endorsed to include 'rally'.
rgds

so who is accrediting the "drag racing" licence

link

Postby link » November 19th, 2011, 7:46 pm

Tweety wrote:Link what you have quoted is the International Sporting Code which is General and refers to all forms of motorsport ... we are talking about Drag Racing here be specific about the licence at hand .... this is exactly what we are talking about - TTASA's continued (and to use your own words) personal interpretation of what they think this aspect of FIA is about

see section 8 sub section 10.4 Credentials (page 102)

and by the same token where does it say that anything slower than 9.99 needs a licence?

10.4 CREDENTIALS
Each driver must have a valid FIA International License subject to
inspection by officials at any time.

All license applicants must be at least 16 years of age; minimum
age for drivers in Top Fuel, Funny Car, Pro Modified and Pro
Stock is 18 years of age.
Drivers of the following type vehicles are mandated to have a
valid FIA International Competition License.
[/b]
The ISC states :

47. Licence
a) A licence is a certificate of registration issued to any
person or body (drivers, entrants, manufacturers, teams,
race officials, organisers, circuits etc...) wishing to
participate or taking part, in any capacity whatsoever, in
competitions or record attempts governed by the present
Code. The licence-holder is deemed to be acquainted with
the texts of the present Code, and must comply with its
provisions.

and
...No one may take part in a sporting event, set or break a
record, if he does not possess an FIA licence issued by his
parent ASN,...

so...
are you tweeting that competitors don't need an FIA licence or even be indoctrinated via a 'driving school' type scenario if they are not competing in classes like 'Top Fuel, Funny Car, Pro Modified and Pro Stock' ??
also...
the ISC goes hand-in-hand with any other set of rules & regulations governing specific motor racing disciplines...we should not dupe unsuspecting enthusiasts by isolating one set of regulations & blindsiding the common rules (ISC).
Now sir...I will leave you ALL to enlighten yourselves.........THERE'S A DRIVING SCHOOL TO ATTEND TOMORROW AT CAMDEN RACEWAY AT 12NOON :D :!: :!:

RoTaRyBoYz

Postby RoTaRyBoYz » November 19th, 2011, 8:21 pm

Link, I'm still waiting on a reply to my questions...

gt-foure

Postby gt-foure » November 19th, 2011, 8:35 pm

firstly camden track is not sutiable for cars running 11's or faster unless u feeling suicidal...i'm sure allyuh remember d crashes from d last set of races 2 of the drivers still have not physically recovered...so untill they are planning to make the track up 2 FIA standard and enforce the proper safty precautions then this liscence thing is BS and its only another way to screw us racers cause its what TTASA does best....

RoTaRyBoYz

Postby RoTaRyBoYz » November 19th, 2011, 8:46 pm

^ hold on padna, I'm about to tear into Link as soon as ah reach home. He trying to mislead the masses but he feel everybody stupid.

Postby SR » November 19th, 2011, 8:47 pm

Who is qualified to conduct an FIA approved driving school for drag racing?

has that person been active in the sport of drag racing within the last 5 years

TeamH2O

Postby TeamH2O » November 19th, 2011, 11:32 pm

lol.....hopefully everybody who likes drag racing will soon realize this. Let everybody ask for proof of FIA approvals and all the info needed nah....money greedyness, stupes.

RoTaRyBoYz

Postby RoTaRyBoYz » November 19th, 2011, 11:46 pm

Link you freakin bugwarner, that sheit you copy & paste above is specific to FIA championship events held at FIA member tracks, not for an unapproved piece of sheit airport runway like Camden. Meaning, if I wanted to race at a none FIA specific event at Santapod raceway in England, I could do so without a FIA license but I'm limited to how fast I can go. It's just as Gordon mentioned above with regards to the NHRA 9.99 or over 135 MPH rule. If you running slower than that, you NO NOT NEED a NHRA license. You can race yuh 16 second Toyota Prius from now till Jesus comes and no one cares if you have a NHRA License or not.

So Link, is this a FIA championship event you having next weekend that you making it mandatory to get a FIA license before you can compete at Camden? BTW, which one of you fellas running in Pro Stock, Pro mod, Top Fuel or Funny car? Because those are the classes that a FIA license is a MUST HAVE before you can compete. I don't think a FIA license is required for the various Sportsman (11-12 second range) classes in Europe.

Link my boy, you have no clue on who you're dealing with here. I'll continue to educate the masses on the sheit you're trying to spread.

nigie

Postby nigie » November 20th, 2011, 12:11 am

Fact is.... does the race starved masses who have longed for the opportunity to just go out and floor that car that they have been chooking in for the last 5 yrs...some of which have been dreaming to realize that exaggerated time that they expect their car to do based on the dyno sheet. Here the opportunity seems to have presented itself...and their are many who will go for it. Its like telling the sex starved man who just got out of jail that the girl he going 2 hit very ugly and most likely diseased...would it matter?. My angle is looking at the big picture...obviously those that are in the position (With the level of responsibility and authority) to chart the way forward for DRAG RACING need much to be desired in their way of thinking and of doing business...this is a very sad time for motorsport especially drag racing in this country. In the preceding bantering i think the major question is as SR asked

"who is accrediting that FIA license for drag racing"