Pros and Cons Ipad2 vs bb playbook

Postby SR » December 7th, 2011, 8:38 am

Looking at the advantages and disadvantages on both for a user with a blackberry phone

main usage email presentations web browsing

gaming is not even on the list

what are experienced users thoughts

bb playbook 64 gb is approx $371
http://www.amazon.com/Blackberry-Playbo ... 404&sr=1-2

ipad2 64gb is apporx $715us
http://www.amazon.com/Apple-MC916LL-Tab ... 458&sr=1-5

Re: Pros and Cons Ipad2 vs bb playbook

Postby Mr. Red Sleeper » December 7th, 2011, 8:41 am

Why not the Kindle for consideration?

Postby RBphoto » December 7th, 2011, 9:28 am

Kindle is not that powerful.

evokiller

Postby evokiller » December 7th, 2011, 9:29 am

i have my playbook since mid summer, my friends have ipads, honestly i prefer the pb, i bought it when it was the same price as the apple's aswell so the price had nothing to do with my purchase, i use my pb for school and for records/spreadsheets of ticket sales ect and it pretty good also is microsoft wrd compatible. The bridge is good, u can use all files from your phone thru the playbook, cameras are better on the pb, they say that the UI is more fun on the pb aswell which i agree too but im not sure if you will cuz i dont know you haha, the playbook always true multi-tasking as compared to the apple's. the ipad does allow it but you will need to download a developers app that is about 4 giggs. the web browsing is pretty normal, it seems close enough to browsing on the other computers

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » December 7th, 2011, 9:31 am

If they use a Blackberry heavily and they actually have to wonder if an iPad is better then the best bet for them is the Playbook.

Sumana.00

Postby Sumana.00 » December 7th, 2011, 9:31 am

I was told from a friend with both that Playbook is better for Business-purposes

Postby tr1ad » December 7th, 2011, 9:34 am

both are useful but the PB would better suit your needs as per the bridge application

zoelikescheese

Postby zoelikescheese » December 7th, 2011, 10:01 am

Postby nervewrecker » December 7th, 2011, 10:47 am

So far the cons with the pb is the small power button, imo it feels kinda flimsy. I just let it go into standby mode & pack it away till I need it again. Bringing it out from standby is done in a split second though so no lame start-up time. If you area starting up from scratch cater for about 90 seconds to 2 minutes.
Battery life is pretty good, I havent checked to see if you get 10 hours continious as they boasted but I spent quite a lot of time on it & the battery life just began to drop to around 50%.
I dont like how the back of it gets hot, it feels kinda uncomfortable. When used in an a/c environment it not that noticeable.
Camera wise, there is no setting to allow you to take pics close up, no flash to take pics in the dark & in a room illuminated by a single fluorescent bulb I find some of the pics to be a bit grainy. Picture quality seems to be good enough to take pics from a few feet away in a well illuminated room though (eg you want to take a pic of a slide on a projected unto a board during a presentation).
No app to allow direct handwriting to be converted into text for microsoft word or any other document yet (at least none that I know of).
Word & excel doc's work smooth, no problems reading & editing so far. Editing excel sheets is easy once you know formulas off the top of your head, if not google ftw.
I think blackberry has some blue-box thingy that allows you to store up to 5gb of info. I simply email myself documents or upload it to my shared folder & replace the current ones there. That way I am not restricted to access from any one computer or storage device. As long as I have access to the net I dl, edit & replace. No need for a flash drive so far.
PB screen is cleaner than the ipad (so so they say, I never did a side by side comparison but it is very clean, the demo vid is sweet) & it supports flash.
Imo if you sung it for the basics as you listed, it will work fine. Apple has more apps though (or so I heard).

Postby nervewrecker » December 7th, 2011, 10:49 am

& no, I dont own a blackberry phone, the bridge feature is useless to me.
will try a .pdf file soon...........

another con: tuner is kinda sluggish on it :lol: dosent load right away.

Strauss

Postby Strauss » December 7th, 2011, 11:01 am

SR wrote:Looking at the advantages and disadvantages on both for a user with a blackberry phone

main usage email presentations web browsing

gaming is not even on the list

what are experienced users thoughts

bb playbook 64 gb is approx $371
http://www.amazon.com/Blackberry-Playbo ... 404&sr=1-2

ipad2 64gb is apporx $715us
http://www.amazon.com/Apple-MC916LL-Tab ... 458&sr=1-5

Even if you WANT a Playbook, now is NOT the time to buy one.
Too many issues to sort out e.g. integration, lack of apps, developer support etc.

Even if you want, a Playbook, hold out for a little while longer until RIM gets their act together. Look at the HP Touchpad - the project crashed 7 months after it went on the market.

You should look at the Samsung GT 10" if you really want access to apps and features. And in this market, it's nothing about the hardware — it's all about apps.

searchingone

Postby searchingone » December 7th, 2011, 11:06 am

nervewrecker wrote:So far the cons with the pb is the small power button, imo it feels kinda flimsy. I just let it go into standby mode & pack it away till I need it again. Bringing it out from standby is done in a split second though so no lame start-up time. If you area starting up from scratch cater for about 90 seconds to 2 minutes.
Battery life is pretty good, I havent checked to see if you get 10 hours continious as they boasted but I spent quite a lot of time on it & the battery life just began to drop to around 50%.
I dont like how the back of it gets hot, it feels kinda uncomfortable. When used in an a/c environment it not that noticeable.
Camera wise, there is no setting to allow you to take pics close up, no flash to take pics in the dark & in a room illuminated by a single fluorescent bulb I find some of the pics to be a bit grainy. Picture quality seems to be good enough to take pics from a few feet away in a well illuminated room though (eg you want to take a pic of a slide on a projected unto a board during a presentation).
No app to allow direct handwriting to be converted into text for microsoft word or any other document yet (at least none that I know of).
Word & excel doc's work smooth, no problems reading & editing so far. Editing excel sheets is easy once you know formulas off the top of your head, if not google ftw.
I think blackberry has some blue-box thingy that allows you to store up to 5gb of info. I simply email myself documents or upload it to my shared folder & replace the current ones there. That way I am not restricted to access from any one computer or storage device. As long as I have access to the net I dl, edit & replace. No need for a flash drive so far.
PB screen is cleaner than the ipad (so so they say, I never did a side by side comparison but it is very clean, the demo vid is sweet) & it supports flash.
Imo if you sung it for the basics as you listed, it will work fine. Apple has more apps though (or so I heard).

^nice

next year February RIM will release OS 2.0 which supposed to support android apps.
February is not so far away.

evokiller

Postby evokiller » December 7th, 2011, 11:14 am

no idea y guy above referenced the hp touchpad, when the playbook was out before the hp....

Postby nervewrecker » December 7th, 2011, 11:24 am

imo the apps dont bother me, its just the basics I wanted.
I got the 16gb because of the price, I originally was going for the kindle fire as it has all I want but if I was getting so much more for the same price why not buy it?

Parvin

Postby Parvin » December 7th, 2011, 11:25 am

nervewrecker wrote:So far the cons with the pb is the small power button, imo it feels kinda flimsy. I just let it go into standby mode & pack it away till I need it again. Bringing it out from standby is done in a split second though so no lame start-up time. If you area starting up from scratch cater for about 90 seconds to 2 minutes.

There is DropBox for iOS which allows the same thing ... so you're not restricted to access from any one computer or storage device either. But DropBox is available for iOS, Android and other platforms i believe.

casper

Postby casper » December 7th, 2011, 11:25 am

evokiller wrote:no idea y guy above referenced the hp touchpad, when the playbook was out before the hp....

For real...

For wat SR wants I don't think u cud beat the playbook for functionality specialty as he already owns a blackberry phone..tha PB does what no other tab can do with his handset...which is actually quite useful if u ask me...

Also the PB is already pre-loaded with office software...he clearly stated he wants this for business purposes...I believe RIM has all the business apps u can possibly need for the playbook in its app store so I dunno why ppl still talkin bout apps this and app that..personally IMO YES apple has the most apps but out of those million apps how much of them are even practical or will u even download even if it free???? Most of them ting is some senseless sssshit sorry to say...

He already said its not for gaming purposes...so the huge app world apple has wont be much use to him as most of the app stores apps are entertainment based....it have a lot on business too but they are mostly d same thing over and over just different versions from different developers...

I own an ipad2 and I will honesty recommend a PB for his purpose ...alyuh plz doh make this thread into a fan boi thing...he will have less use for an ipad2 than a PB in my honest opinion

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » December 7th, 2011, 11:30 am

^ Apple also now has iCloud which is the same cloud based storage for your files, email, media, calendar etc to access from any device.

personally I use Google Docs - its files, calendar, contacts, email, notes etc etc on every device you own using Google Sync - works on BB, Android, iPhone, iPad etc -and I use it with my own domain and my own email address - you don't need to have a gmail address to use it. Offers offline email access too on your device.

Swisha

Postby Swisha » December 7th, 2011, 11:41 am

btw, the Playbook has been rooted and even the patch BB released to disable it has already been overcome...

BlackBerry PlayBook gains root with DingleBerry

The BlackBerry PlayBook has just become the first rooted BlackBerry device, and developers xpvqus, neuralic, and cmwdotme are preparing to release their rooting tool, dubbed DingleBerry. Neuralic can be seen below demonstrating control over the backlight and other system features, and has shown the device running Hulu in another video.

The video shows the PlayBook running BlackBerry Tablet OS 1.0.8, but neuralic claims the root also works on the 2.0 beta, and that rooting the beta allows access to the Android Market. Rooting persists after the device is rebooted. Besides giving users access to new features, this could mark the first step towards getting the PlayBook to run a custom OS, making the PlayBook more attractive to people who agreed with our assessment of the current software.

The Verge 1, The Verge 2

DTAC

Postby DTAC » December 7th, 2011, 11:50 am

With RIM slashing the price of the Playbook because of poor sales and their habit of abandoning devices in the drive to sell newer/cheaper devices to the growing mass market (think the Storm 2 and it's inability to upgrade to even OS6) I wouldn't get one unless you have no problem with the potential for it to be "forgotten" by the manufacturer.

For all it's closeted mentality the iPad 2 will be supported until the iPad 4 at least.

Strauss

Postby Strauss » December 7th, 2011, 12:09 pm

evokiller wrote:no idea y guy above referenced the hp touchpad, when the playbook was out before the hp....

Because estimates points to HP's now defunct tablet having sold more than twice that of RIM's Playbook.

My advice was to 'wait and see' until next year when RIM is supposed to bring the Playbook up to 'playable' standards.

evokiller

Postby evokiller » December 7th, 2011, 12:18 pm

oh okies okies

Strauss

Postby Strauss » December 7th, 2011, 12:39 pm

casper wrote:I dunno why ppl still talkin bout apps this and app that..personally IMO YES apple has the most apps but out of those million apps how much of them are even practical or will u even download even if it free???? Most of them ting is some senseless sssshit sorry to say...

You underestimate the amount and quality of apps for Android and iOS.

Even if Android/iOS only has 1% useful apps, and 100% useful apps for the playbook... Andoid/iOS apps will still > Playbook apps.

iOS / Android apps = 500,000+ (run on both phones and tablets)
Native iPad apps = 100,000
Native Android tablet (Honeycomb) apps = 500
Playbook apps = 2,500

But as I said, with the amount of total iOS/Android apps, wait until RIM brings Android 2.3 apps to the Playbook (and not all will be supported).

evokiller

Postby evokiller » December 7th, 2011, 12:45 pm

i guess its what u want it for original poster , apps and those things dont affect me cuz i use it for school work and sales and its good for the little i use it for, but if strauss is correct abt the release of that update then wait till then

CellTech

Postby CellTech » December 7th, 2011, 3:13 pm

You ever tried considering the samsung galaxy tab or the xoom? Great devices...It have some acer tabs dat does run windows 7 normal too.

Skanky

Postby Skanky » December 8th, 2011, 8:10 am

RIM vs AAPL.jpg

The green line shows Apple's stock performance and the red, RIM's.
There's usually something pretty wrong with a company when it's stock price behaves as RIM's.
RIM as a company isn't doing well and as such I wouldn't buy anything from the Blackberry maker, whose future seems uncertain.
Just adding a different perspective to the debate.

Parvin

Postby Parvin » December 8th, 2011, 9:26 am

For the fellas that mentioned the HP touchpad

HP to release the second batch of $99 TouchPads on December 11

http://blog.gsmarena.com/hp-to-release- ... cember-11/

Sumana.00

Postby Sumana.00 » December 8th, 2011, 12:57 pm

Skanky wrote:
RIM vs AAPL.jpg

There's usually something pretty wrong with a company when it's stock price behaves as RIM's.
RIM as a company isn't doing well and as such I wouldn't buy anything from the Blackberry maker, whose future seems uncertain.

That's actually what's been holding me off from buying another BB to replace my current phone, and I'm not sure RIM is going to recover either

casper

Postby casper » December 8th, 2011, 3:50 pm

Sumana.00 wrote:
Skanky wrote:
RIM vs AAPL.jpg

That's actually what's been holding me off from buying another BB to replace my current phone, and I'm not sure RIM is going to recover either

Well if everyone else thinks like u then the situation not gonna get any better u know...think about it

Strauss

Postby Strauss » December 8th, 2011, 4:01 pm

casper wrote:That's actually what's been holding me off from buying another BB to replace my current phone, and I'm not sure RIM is going to recover either

Well if everyone else thinks like u then the situation not gonna get any better u know...think about it[/quote]

Well if RIM actually brings a good phone, people will buy them and stocks will go back up. Only T&T and poor 3rd world countries are keeping RIM barely afloat. Consumer market > enterprise market.

But there is hope yet for RIM if they start moving to bring a new phone. The OS and apps is just one part of it. We'll have to see what they do in 2012.

Strauss

Postby Strauss » December 8th, 2011, 4:06 pm

Parvin wrote:For the fellas that mentioned the HP touchpad

HP to release the second batch of $99 TouchPads on December 11

http://blog.gsmarena.com/hp-to-release- ... cember-11/

Remember the HP Touchpad is cancelled. Those are warehouse stocks, returned from reseller inventory, refurbished etc. There are no more Touchpads in production.

HP just wants to get RID of it by selling it at a loss. It's a great deal for US$99, but what do you do after? It's like those guys who got stuck with those Lada's.