Digicel 4G/HSPA+ Thread

Re: DIGICEL 3G. online...

Postby ismithx » April 26th, 2012, 9:16 pm

yeah.... so anyone could actually find out the tech specs of the network and post them?

redsupra101

Postby redsupra101 » April 26th, 2012, 9:21 pm

any chance you guys can post handset type and location when you post the speedtest? easier for the digicel ppl in the thread to track those high latency areas.

DIGICEL 3G. online...

Postby M_2NR » April 26th, 2012, 9:37 pm

I'm posting mine from Valsayn area. The super fast ones were closer to the Butu Rd cell tower in Valsayn south. I see I'm getting data from an el socorro tower and that tower so... I will sort of always get crappy data always because it keeps switching back and forth. But 2mbit isn't so bad. It just eats my battery because it is at 2 bars all the time.

shaq090

Postby shaq090 » April 26th, 2012, 9:47 pm

I want 3G :(

fouljuice

Postby fouljuice » April 26th, 2012, 10:20 pm

Soon man. Doh hut up yuh head.
At least when they finish 'testing', you won't have to have to wait for them to come and run lines on your street, etc.

Postby skylinechild » April 27th, 2012, 12:14 am

getting 5-8Mb on my phone in freeport....service running smooth...i movin faster than my desktop...:lol:
for some strange reason google maps not loading however the preloaded maps GPS software works also i'm not able to do the speedtest on speedtest .net i using flow website to do the test.

EDIT: google maps not loading - however it loads over a wifi connection. and also when i switch back down to 2G ( EDGE)....strange....

mojosodope

Postby mojosodope » April 27th, 2012, 12:57 am

getting 5 - 8 down and close to 2 Mb up, popped my digi sim in a 4S, set up personal hotspot and streamed 1080P youtube on my laptop easily

thought this was interesting, my blackberry plan expired tonight and the trial extended that also

src1983

DIGICEL 3G. online...

Postby src1983 » April 27th, 2012, 6:19 am

St Helena

Azzuri

Postby Azzuri » April 27th, 2012, 7:15 am

Digicel is using the 1900 band for their 3G i believe....not the 850.

PapaC

Postby PapaC » April 27th, 2012, 7:36 am

:( Anybody know hoot get my sim activated by chance? I feel so left out... :(

shaq090

Postby shaq090 » April 27th, 2012, 7:37 am

PapaC wrote::( Anybody know hoot get my sim activated by chance? I feel so left out... :(

me too....was trolled by digi with the text and they said they dont kno why i got the message but i aint on the trial

Postby Stephon. » April 27th, 2012, 7:45 am

Wow this is very embarrassing for b-Mobile.

src1983

DIGICEL 3G. online...

Postby src1983 » April 27th, 2012, 7:58 am

Stephon. wrote:Wow this is very embarrassing for b-Mobile.

TSTT has always been reactive, its only because of competition the started to step up....

Postby r3iXmann » April 27th, 2012, 8:09 am

src1983 wrote:

TSTT has always been reactive, its only because of competition the started to step up....

no..they don't NEED to step up their game for anything because trinis will always rush to buy whatever they have to be 'in de game'

look at those ridiculous 4g devices..you'd be amazed at how many fools rush to get that nonsense. if people boycotted, then TSTT would move to suit

Postby dougla_boy » April 27th, 2012, 9:42 am

r3iXmann wrote:
src1983 wrote:

no..they don't NEED to step up their game for anything because trinis will always rush to buy whatever they have to be 'in de game'

look at those ridiculous 4g devices..you'd be amazed at how many fools rush to get that nonsense. if people boycotted, then TSTT would move to suit

that could apply to almost all businesses in trinidad and tobago at the moment yuh kno.....Kiss being one.....$1.50 for a facking GOODIE?!?!?!!??!!?!!

Postby S_2NR » April 27th, 2012, 11:34 am

r3iXmann wrote:
src1983 wrote:

just like all other businesses in trinidad. nothing new.

pablo_tt

Postby pablo_tt » April 27th, 2012, 11:44 am

Trincity

Postby Stephon. » April 27th, 2012, 11:46 am

I am down right jelly! :(

Vinesh

Postby Vinesh » April 27th, 2012, 11:50 am

any android pps? i tried not working i didn't get any text saying i was selected but i tried the settings any help? i am seeing the 3g network when i manually search but i am getting a error when trying to connect. My phone is quad band :
2G Network GSM 850 / 900 / 1800 / 1900
3G Network HSDPA 850 / 900 / 1900 / 2100

pablo_tt

Postby pablo_tt » April 27th, 2012, 11:53 am

One question to be asking, how many peeps here are post paid and how many are pre-paid? Also is Digicel doing for both or are they giving preference for post paid customers at this time?

redsupra101

Postby redsupra101 » April 27th, 2012, 12:00 pm

pablo_tt wrote:One question to be asking, how many peeps here are post paid and how many are pre-paid? Also is Digicel doing for both or are they giving preference for post paid customers at this time?

up to last week it was only customers with post paid or unlimited data package... not sure if it changed this week.

mojosodope

DIGICEL 3G. online...

Postby mojosodope » April 27th, 2012, 12:15 pm

I'm pre paid and I got it yesterday

Postby tr1ad » April 27th, 2012, 12:22 pm

shaq090 wrote:
PapaC wrote::( Anybody know hoot get my sim activated by chance? I feel so left out... :(

me too....was trolled by digi with the text and they said they dont kno why i got the message but i aint on the trial

src1983

DIGICEL 3G. online...

Postby src1983 » April 27th, 2012, 12:31 pm

mojosodope wrote:I'm pre paid and I got it yesterday

U can roll out a 3G network, but still have confused customer reps lol!!!

I'm heading south today, would like to see how the service performs there (if any)

Postby Damien » April 27th, 2012, 12:34 pm

must say it is working good, how much for the packages though? i am already paying $200 a month for data

Postby nemisis » April 27th, 2012, 12:43 pm

$350 for 500mb for existing post paid customers

src1983

DIGICEL 3G. online...

Postby src1983 » April 27th, 2012, 12:44 pm

Damien wrote:must say it is working good, how much for the packages though? i am already paying $200 a month for data

I thinking a structure like the US...

1g plans
2g plans
And
5g plans

I highly doubt a unlimited plan.... :(

brickman

Postby brickman » April 27th, 2012, 12:55 pm

From what ive heard it will be in mb packages & for post paid only,believe only corp will get a unlimited option.That $350 up price range sounds about correct.

shaq090

Postby shaq090 » April 27th, 2012, 12:58 pm

brickman wrote:From what ive heard it will be in mb packages & for post paid only,believe only corp will get a unlimited option.That $350 up price range sounds about correct.

to me they said that it will follow the rest of countries..... so far all digi hspa+ islands have the same price and data quota (GB)

air wick

Postby air wick » April 27th, 2012, 1:07 pm

pablo_tt wrote:One question to be asking, how many peeps here are post paid and how many are pre-paid? Also is Digicel doing for both or are they giving preference for post paid customers at this time?

I'm post paid...