3ne2nr fishermen

ryan99tt

Re: 3ne2nr fishermen

Postby ryan99tt » June 21st, 2012, 8:19 pm

i bought ah double kayak in tobago but i still have to pass and collect it and i ent really getting time...want to try for some tarpon with the kayak...

Postby Razkal » June 22nd, 2012, 6:06 pm

^tarps in the kayak/canoe is mad scene bro :lol:

we hooked one slow trolling in the canoe at Damien's bay...the time it spent on the hook, we spent trying to stay inshore. that fish started heading straight out the bay, pulling a canoe with two men normal! ..eventually we had to give up some line tension to make sure we were still in control (of the canoe) and it got off. seriously sobering situation though.

i still love canoe fishing, just that i rig to suit now..mostly we launch from damien's and fish for bechine, and light banking fish...just fun business. a group canoe/kayak run up there sounds bess!

litos

Postby litos » June 23rd, 2012, 9:20 am

been following the fishin scene on the forum for a while, but only now do i see something that interest me fully. kayak fishing. i go out sometimes in the south...launch by the kings wharf in sando or the mosquito creek or the river in woodland.

i am new to d kayaking so i choose flat or calm water.

only small fish in the gulf though. one time i did catch a medium size salmon off d wreck in sando...but mostly smallies. in d river in woodland it is mostly small tarpon or snook or bigger sized catfish. good bird watching though as the ibis not too afraid of the kayak...no noise i suppose.

whenever you are launchin in south give a pm on the forum.

i put in some pics from d woodland river and off the flatrock in sando.

i see d places that i do go are not exceptionally productive as fishing spots but it is good exercise and it offers a great opportunity to take in nature .....slowly.
Photo0048.jpg
sando wreck and sando hill in background
Photo0049.jpg
off flatrock sando
Photo0033.jpg
this is in d river

Smeed

Postby Smeed » June 23rd, 2012, 5:53 pm

litos..... who u referring to bro?..... i was actually in front ptsc on de wharf yesterday evening for about half an hour..... held a couple baby racando i think. water was flat calm and ideal for kayaking. i'm interested in making a paddling mish.... but i'm out until beginning of august. holler if u making a paddle around dat time.

btw what kinda yak u got? and did u buy it down here?

litos

Postby litos » June 24th, 2012, 7:51 am

i was referring to to the brother who buy the kayak in tobago boy smeed. i have a wilderness system tarpon 120. yes i buy i here in chagaramas....but the price i pay ways....it a bit high and ridiculous here but i get it anyway. it is a single seater with two internal storage compartments and one large enough cargo pit at the back of the unit. it comes with elastic rope straps so i can put my cooler and some small equipment in there with all the cockpit room for paddling and turning.

i install a trolley anchor with about 40 feet of quarter inch nylon rope so i could tie off or anchor where i want. no real drifting problems. i still exercise some caution though when i go in d deep. life jacket is a must.

i design and build a rack for the back of my van so transporting it securely is ok. if u want some pics of d rack and the trolley anchor let me know. no scene.

i too have constraints of time. goin out with company is hard in the south since i dont think kayaking is so big down here. who knows boy smeed we cud start something.

i was thinking of trying out at la brea jetty. i see they holding some good sizes salmon out by the pylons.

august sounding good as i will be on vacation from work. let me know as things go.

DrunkenMaster16

Postby DrunkenMaster16 » June 25th, 2012, 12:30 am

if yuh in la brea pass through "point sabb" or point sable, some nice action 200 ft off shore... saw some anglers lickin up 5 - 10 lb cavali. small kings and some reds.

litos

Postby litos » June 25th, 2012, 4:48 am

drunken master....
i not too familiar with those names that you suggest. saab and sable.

cud you give some further directions.

thanks.

drop ho

Postby drop ho » June 25th, 2012, 8:58 am

so ah counting three men with kayaks so far?
To be quite honest before i invest i feel i'll be renting to try it out.

Litos i see the retail on that kayak is US 1,000.00 i cud imagine wha yuh pay for it locally :shock: ...

Smeed

Postby Smeed » June 25th, 2012, 10:56 am

Approx $8000 I guessin?? Peakes have a couple as well for around dat price.... BIC is de brand. I was contemplating buying a couple in bass pro an den raptoring dem in..... Will definitely be a lot cheaper

drop ho

Postby drop ho » June 25th, 2012, 11:04 am

Yup was thinking the same thing ie Raptoring them in....

ryan99tt

Postby ryan99tt » June 25th, 2012, 11:57 am

i in once i collect my kayak..

DrunkenMaster16

Postby DrunkenMaster16 » June 25th, 2012, 1:16 pm

litos wrote:drunken master....
i not too familiar with those names that you suggest. saab and sable.

cud you give some further directions.

thanks.

Drive to La Brea junction, turn by the football field, drive straight down the road past the bar on the right, drive straight on that road till you see the "bmobile house" on the left opposite a road on the right. Take the road on the right drive to the end and you can't miss the water.

faster the better

Postby faster the better » June 25th, 2012, 9:37 pm

start a kingfish killin time
DSC000333.jpg

Postby X_Factor » June 25th, 2012, 9:43 pm

^hoss........
link up a small lime nah?

PARTS2go

3ne2nr fishermen

Postby PARTS2go » June 25th, 2012, 9:46 pm

Where you caught the kings?

faster the better

Postby faster the better » June 25th, 2012, 9:47 pm

lol will see wha the scene is n let u know

faster the better

Postby faster the better » June 25th, 2012, 9:49 pm

north coast

Postby meccalli » June 25th, 2012, 10:35 pm

So i did some surf fishing in mayaro. small catch but...its my best surf catch to date. Bunch o' wild jacks, gulf whiting, catfish and a longfin pomp.
Surf Fish by meccalli, on Flickr

litos

Postby litos » June 26th, 2012, 4:08 am

thank you drunken master.
i am your disciple forever....

locally sales agent for wilderness kayaks

Contact Information:
Kayak Centre DBA Trinikayak LTD.
Phone: 868-633-7871
Email: trinikayak@gmail.com

hottrod317

Postby hottrod317 » June 26th, 2012, 10:46 am

meccalli wrote:So i did some surf fishing in mayaro. small catch but...its my best surf catch to date. Bunch o' wild jacks, gulf whiting, catfish and a longfin pomp.
Surf Fish by meccalli, on Flickr

nice lil catch there boi......but what bait did you use?........I normally go up there and Manzan....sometimes we catch and sometimes we dont.Im still hunting the elusive cavali.....today Im going Carenage side to do ah lil something if I catch I will post pics....... East coast have real potential ....
what I realise is surf fishing is all about reading currents and figuring where the troughs are .....and having the correct baits for them.

On another note Proton wey yuh dey man post some pics nah boy.........I know you is the Manzan Master!

Smeed

Postby Smeed » June 26th, 2012, 11:34 am

Nice haul dere Mecc..... What bait and rig u used?

proton17

Postby proton17 » June 26th, 2012, 2:28 pm

Just reach back from tobago! It have real tarpon in tobago right now from the shore but they so busy gorging on some real tiny baitfish dat they don't study anything else. It had some big cavalli pass through too but you have to be in the right position on the beach to catch them with ur artificials.

The cavalli does only hang around for like a second early in the morning and late evening and then they gone. I saw a guy catch a cavalli about 6 pounds this morning though, I arrived on the beach 615am, a little too late and then a heavy shower soak us and then I just left......

Postby meccalli » June 26th, 2012, 3:44 pm

Yeah, proton is really the master for that side lol, i too came a bit closer but as i told my father, if i can only catch these fish mothers and fathers haha. Well, i think i have the feel down for mayaro now, i give up on my surf rods and quick release sinkers, if you leave em in rodholders, you sure for em to suck and pick the bait out. I used 15lb pink ande on a handline with 2 dropper loops and #4 and 6 hooks. On the morning i caught most of the jacks, i used a shrimp sabiki tipped with shrimp(get em at mankees). Bait was shrimp bits.
What i noticed ..is that i was outfishing tons of guys there who were using heavy rods and getting way out, for the most i stood where the foamy water washes over your feet and casting maybe 10 ft at most in front of me. I looked for where the waves would come in and make the water deeper particularly at high tide cuz it seemed, the fish were just swooping in with the waves where it would agitate the sand and expose chip chip etc and back out, cuz most of the strikes occurred at that exact moment. As for timing, jacks hit really early 6-8 with the incoming/full tide, the whiting hour seemed to be around 8-10 on the outgoing/flat kinda tide period. Most of the action was had when the weather was a bit set up for rain strangely- low pressure maybe.
Hope that helped, this trip really made me take some time and try to figure out how to work these fishes. Oh and time your strikes well, otherwise you'll end up with an empty hook haha :)

proton17

Postby proton17 » June 26th, 2012, 5:20 pm

Nah not me, Deadfish :D

hottrod317

Postby hottrod317 » June 26th, 2012, 11:45 pm

Went down just after Alcoa (Carenage) caught a 21b salmon and a couple palm sized snappers
on cut bait ,mainly maulet......then two old guys and an old lady ( all about fifty something) came right next to me and caught a couple of small (banan a.k.a ladyfish) and a nice size salmon...about 400pm or so .........saw a lady pull ah nice Reds about 12inches or so maybe 150 metres away from us..... anyway didn't make sense posting pics really :oops: ..........good luck to all that going fishing this week :)

hottrod317

Postby hottrod317 » June 26th, 2012, 11:51 pm

proton17 wrote:Nah not me, Deadfish :D

yes is you !!!!! anyway tough luck on the Tobago run!!!! I know
if you did pull them Tarpons and Cavalli you woulda move to Tobago lol...... 8-)

halfbreed

Postby halfbreed » June 27th, 2012, 4:05 am

outside galeota/mayaro here fror the past two weeks and the dog tooths in abundance! dont hv a camera w me but biggest we caught so far is 10lbs. other shark and smaller snapper and the odd 5lb Lipee in between. Caught these around the Bayfield rigs

drop ho

Postby drop ho » June 27th, 2012, 8:32 pm

hottrod317 wrote:Went down just after Alcoa (Carenage) caught a 21b salmon and a couple palm sized snappers
on cut bait ,mainly maulet......then two old guys and an old lady ( all about fifty something) came right next to me and caught a couple of small (banan a.k.a ladyfish) and a nice size salmon...about 400pm or so .........saw a lady pull ah nice Reds about 12inches or so maybe 150 metres away from us..... anyway didn't make sense posting pics really :oops: ..........good luck to all that going fishing this week :)

Was right there over the weekend pull two reds couple about 8-10 inches. How far out were your rig?

ryan99tt

Postby ryan99tt » June 28th, 2012, 12:57 am

too much ppl does be there now...never really had luck there though..probably need to se lines and waste some time...heading up in some tackle shops tomorow too see wat new it have for me...

dean_spleen09

Postby dean_spleen09 » June 28th, 2012, 8:16 am

proton17 wrote:Just reach back from tobago! It have real tarpon in tobago right now from the shore but they so busy gorging on some real tiny baitfish dat they don't study anything else. It had some big cavalli pass through too but you have to be in the right position on the beach to catch them with ur artificials.

The cavalli does only hang around for like a second early in the morning and late evening and then they gone. I saw a guy catch a cavalli about 6 pounds this morning though, I arrived on the beach 615am, a little too late and then a heavy shower soak us and then I just left......

what beach was this ? , was up there from sunday morning till tuesday night , but didnt get time to do any fishing.