The | Apple Inc.  | Thread - WWDC 2025

RapToR
Location: Wholesaler & Reseller --- FREE Delivery<--Almost Anywhere!

Re: The | Apple Inc. | Thread

Postby RapToR » July 22nd, 2012, 4:13 pm

jeevdude199 wrote:Anyone bought anything from F1connect? Planning to buy a Macbook from them.

Check Thomas and sons

https://www.facebook.com/photo.php?fbid ... t=1&ref=nf

:arrow:

SRASC

Postby SRASC » July 24th, 2012, 6:17 pm

Microsoft (MSFT) seems to have discovered that people like using Apple’s (AAPL) iOS devices for productivity, as the company is scouting around for developers who will help “design, implement and test” new versions of Office that will “be part of Microsoft’s next move on the Mac and on iOS.” 9to5Mac says that the new job posting is “not solid proof that Office is coming soon, since Microsoft does have several other iOS apps, such as SkyDrive, OneNote, etc.” but also notes that it “specifically looks for someone to test Outlook/Powepoint on Mac and iOS.” BGR previously reported that Microsoft is planning to release Office for both iOS and Android devices this November, so this new job posting isn’t a major surprise.

------

In its Q3 financial earnings press release today, Apple, has announced that OS X Mountain Lion will be available tomorrow. The release will come exclusively through the digital Mac App Store, and the new Mac OS will not be sold on optical discs or on a USB stick.

“We’re thrilled with record sales of 17 million iPads in the June quarter,” said Tim Cook, Apple’s CEO. “We’ve also just updated the entire MacBook line, will release Mountain Lion tomorrow and will be launching iOS 6 this Fall. We are also really looking forward to the amazing new products we’ve got in the pipeline.”

OS X Mountain Lion will cost $19.99, a $10 drop from OS X Lion’s $29.99 pricing. A user can download Mac OS 10.8 via the Mac App Store on one machine, and they will have the ability to install it via the purchased apps feature on up to five total Macs. The system software update will be available to Snow Leopard users in addition to Lion users.
We first speculated that Apple would release OS X Mountain Lion tomorrow, July 25th, when Apple announced that its earnings call would be today, July 24th. Over a week ago, we confirmed this with our retail sources who said Apple would be holding product-indicative overnights tonight. Apple Stores will be ready to show off the new Mac OS tomorrow morning.
OS X Mountain Lion includes over 200 new features, according to Apple, including Notification Center, Game Center, AirPlay Mirroring, enhanced iCloud integration, Notes and Reminders apps, an improved Safari and Mail, Twitter and Facebook integration, and voice dictation.

------

A surplus of Apple (AAPL) rumors is always expected ahead of the company’s earnings reports, and the faucet is wide open on Tuesday. Apple is planning to release a smaller version of its wildly popular iPad tablet shortly after the next-generation iPhone launches this fall, one industry watcher believes. Plugged-in KGI analyst Ming-Chi Kuo, who purportedly shed some light on “iPhone 5″ specs recently, says that Apple’s next iPhone will launch in September followed closely by the release of the much-rumored “iPad mini.”

“IPhone 5 to debut in September,” Ming-Chi wrote in a note to clients on Tuesday. “But due to in-cell touch panel and casing yield rate limits, ability to offset older models’ shipments decrease will be moderate.”

The analyst continued, “Though shipments of iPad mini’s components will start in August, the new iPad line will end production, ready for transition to a modified New iPad line. As such, component shipments will drop in August as iPad mini’s components shipments growth will be offset.”

Ming-Chi’s not that a tweaked version of Apple’s current third-generation iPad will be released around the same time mirrors earlier reports, which claimed Apple is planning some internal redesigns that address heat issues and reduce Apple’s costs.

According to earlier reports, the iPad mini will be as thin as an iPod touch and will feature a 7.85-inch display and a price ranging from $249 to $299. The redesigned sixth-generation iPhone is expected to feature a 4-inch display, 4G LTE, NFC, and a redesigned case that was recently examined on video.

------

A pair of reports on Tuesday claim Apple is revamping its iPod touch media player and will borrow components from both the upcoming next-gen iPhone and existing iDevices like the iPhone 4S.

Echoing analyst Ming-Chi Kuo's report earlier today, Japanese language Apple blog MacOtakara claims Apple is preparing a new iPod touch that will marry a larger display with updated internal components in a refreshed aluminum housing.

According to the site's sources, the fifth-generation iPod touch will boast a large 4-inch screen identical in size to the rumored next-gen iPhone, though it is unknown if the two devices will share the exact same part as such high-resolution displays are in short supply. While specifics concerning the screen's source are unclear, Kuo said in his report that the unit will likely use the same in-cell touchscreen LCD technology as Apple's upcoming handset.

The media player will also get a speed bump with Apple's proprietary A5 processor, the same silicon powering the current iPhone 4S.

Sources note that Apple will eschew the polished aluminum casing seen on all iPod touch models in favor of a "buffed aluminum" finish more akin to the company's MacBook line. As usual, the unit will be offered in black as well as the white design introduced to the line last year.

The purported device also sports a small hole on the back case opposite the rear-facing camera assembly but sources make no guesses as to the feature's use. This is similar to a hole found between the camera and LED flash on reportedly leaked pre-production next-gen iPhone case backs which later disappeared on more recent versions of the "uni-body" chassis.

While pricing and availability have yet to be nailed down, Kuo believes the new iPod touch could kick off a huge Apple product cycle at the beginning of September that will see the release of a smaller iPad, a tweaked full-sized iPad and a next-generation iPhone.

Parvin

Postby Parvin » July 24th, 2012, 10:04 pm

Anyone here used/tested/using this app ???

http://itunes.apple.com/tt/app/trinidad ... 35752?mt=8

Is it worth the price tag?

SRASC

Postby SRASC » July 24th, 2012, 10:33 pm

Parvin wrote:Anyone here used/tested/using this app ???

http://itunes.apple.com/tt/app/trinidad ... 35752?mt=8

Is it worth the price tag?

ImageUploadedByTapatalk1343183544.740662.jpg

Based on that I'd say no... but least it cheaper than MNav's

Parvin

Postby Parvin » July 24th, 2012, 11:32 pm

Thanks man.

On another note,

Whatsapp Messenger just went FREE for a limited time.

Postby Allergic2BunnyEars » July 25th, 2012, 7:40 am

Mountain Lion to be released TODAY!!!

casper

Postby casper » July 25th, 2012, 7:57 am

^^u got d macbook bro???

well pro nah...well u know what i mean

christopherwilliams2

Postby christopherwilliams2 » July 25th, 2012, 8:09 am

using mountain lion.

Postby Allergic2BunnyEars » July 25th, 2012, 8:46 am

Yeah got rmbp on the 18th of this month. Nice machine overall. Light. Already missing the DVD drive though. Didn't know remote disc could only be used for installations as opposed to ripping music cds and watching DVD movies.

Awaiting free download of Mountain Lion today.

casper

Postby casper » July 25th, 2012, 9:04 am

^^^so what option is there to get a dvd drive on ur machine??? i'm sorry but i dont know much about mac PCs and laptops...only things from apple i ever really ventured in are iphone, ipad, ipod classics and touch and apple tv

Postby Allergic2BunnyEars » July 25th, 2012, 9:08 am

Remote disc allows a mac laptop user without a dvd drive to use another machine's optical drive over a wifi network. Remote disc application must be installed on the other machine and both devices must be on the same wifi network. The other machine can be Mac or Windows based.

Your other alternative is to buy an external DVD drive.

SRASC

Postby SRASC » July 25th, 2012, 9:24 am

CUPERTINO, California—July 25, 2012— Apple® today announced that OS X® Mountain Lion, the ninth major release of the world’s most advanced desktop operating system, is available as a download from the Mac® App Store℠. With more than 200 innovative new features, Mountain Lion includes iCloud® integration, the all new Messages app, Notification Center, system-wide Sharing, Facebook integration*, Dictation, AirPlay® Mirroring and Game Center. Mountain Lion is available as an upgrade from Lion or Snow Leopard for $19.99.

“People are going to love the new features in Mountain Lion and how easy it is to download and install from the Mac App Store,” said Philip Schiller, Apple’s senior vice president of Worldwide Marketing. “With iCloud integration, Mountain Lion is even easier to set up, and your important information stays up to date across all your devices so you can keep editing documents, taking notes, creating reminders, and continue conversations whether you started on a Mac, iPhone or iPad.”

With more than 200 innovative new features, Mountain Lion includes:
iCloud integration, for easy set up of your Mail, Contacts, Calendar, Messages, Reminders and Notes, and keeping everything, including iWork® documents, up to date across all your devices;
the all new Messages app, which replaces iChat® and brings iMessage™ to the Mac, so you can send messages to anyone with an iPhone®, iPad®, iPod touch® or another Mac;
Notification Center, which streamlines the presentation of notifications and provides easy access to alerts from Mail, Calendar, Messages, Reminders, system updates and third party apps;
system-wide Sharing, to make it easy to share links, photos, videos and other files quickly without having to switch to another app, and you just need to sign in once to use third-party services like Facebook, Twitter, Flickr and Vimeo;
Facebook integration, so you can post photos, links and comments with locations right from your apps, automatically add your Facebook friends to your Contacts, and even update your Facebook status from within Notification Center;
Dictation, which allows you to dictate text anywhere you can type, whether you’re using an app from Apple or a third party developer;
AirPlay Mirroring, an easy way to wirelessly send an up-to-1080p secure stream of what’s on your Mac to an HDTV using Apple TV®, or send audio to a receiver or speakers that use AirPlay; and
Game Center, which brings the popular social gaming network from iOS to the Mac so you can enjoy live, multiplayer games with friends whether they’re on a Mac, iPhone, iPad or iPod touch.
Additional features in Mountain Lion include the revolutionary new Gatekeeper, which makes downloading software from the Internet safer; Power Nap, which automatically updates your apps and system while your Mac is asleep; and a faster Safari® browser. New features for China include significantly improved text input, a new Chinese Dictionary, easy setup with popular email providers, Baidu search in Safari, and built-in sharing to Sina Weibo and popular video websites Youku and Tudou.

Pricing & Availability
OS X Mountain Lion is available from the Mac App Store for $19.99 (US). Mountain Lion requires Lion or Snow Leopard (OS X v10.6.8 or later), 2GB of memory and 8GB of available space. For a complete list of system requirements and compatible systems, please visit: apple.com/osx/specs. OS X Server requires Mountain Lion and is available from the Mac App Store for $19.99 (US). The OS X Mountain Lion Up-to-Date upgrade is available at no additional charge from the Mac App Store to all customers who purchased a qualifying new Mac system from Apple or an Apple Authorized Reseller on or after June 11, 2012.

*Facebook integration will be available in an upcoming software update to Mountain Lion.

Apple designs Macs, the best personal computers in the world, along with OS X, iLife, iWork and professional software. Apple leads the digital music revolution with its iPods and iTunes online store. Apple has reinvented the mobile phone with its revolutionary iPhone and App Store, and is defining the future of mobile media and computing devices with iPad.

------

Some updates for Lion users as well.

Strauss

Postby Strauss » July 25th, 2012, 10:30 am

Catching my ass to get ML downloaded.

mojosodope

Postby mojosodope » July 25th, 2012, 1:26 pm

Servers are getting pounded atm, wait a couple hours and try again

Postby Aaron 2NR » July 25th, 2012, 6:55 pm

currently downloading

Strauss

Postby Strauss » July 26th, 2012, 10:43 am

The Apple-Samsung Trial: What the Companies Will Attempt to Prove
By Ashby Jones

In the Apple-Samsung case set to go to trial next week, each company asserts that the other infringed a handful of patents used in their smartphones and tablet computers.

Anyone who’s following along would be well-served by checking out two new documents that just hit the docket out in San Jose, Calif. They’re Apple and Samsung’s trial briefs, which lay out, in readable detail (and with color photos!) what each side will attempt to prove to the 10-person jury.

Here are some highlights from Apple’s brief, followed by Samsung’s brief:

Samsung cannot change the central fact that its products are strikingly similar to Apple’s patented designs. Nor can it change the novelty and extraordinary success of Apple’s designs. Samsung will instead attempt to confuse the issues with a hodgepodge of defenses based on incorrect legal standards. Samsung’s defenses will fail.

Samsung’s documents show that the similarity of Samsung’s products is no accident or, as Samsung would have it, a “natural evolution.” Rather, it results from Samsung’s deliberate plan to free-ride on the iPhone’s and iPad’s extraordinary success by copying their iconic designs and intuitive user interface. Apple will rely on Samsung’s own documents, which tell an unambiguous story.

Samsung’s documents show that Samsung developed an overall plan to copy Apple’s innovative designs and features so that it could compete with Apple.

FULL STORY:
http://blogs.wsj.com/korearealtime/2012 ... -to-prove/
(X-posted)

Postby Allergic2BunnyEars » July 26th, 2012, 10:46 am

I'm still awaiting my free download code for ML some 12 hours later...

ворвзаконе

Postby ворвзаконе » July 26th, 2012, 10:59 am

Hey guys looking for a gvsim to unlock my Iphone 4s to Digicel network, the phone is currently locked to Verizon network any help...

Swisha

Postby Swisha » July 26th, 2012, 12:21 pm

Allergic2BunnyEars wrote:I'm still awaiting my free download code for ML some 12 hours later...

same here.

btw can anyone say if they ran into problems with vmware fusion on mountain lion?

Strauss

Postby Strauss » July 26th, 2012, 1:21 pm

Swisha wrote:
Allergic2BunnyEars wrote:I'm still awaiting my free download code for ML some 12 hours later...

same here.

btw can anyone say if they ran into problems with vmware fusion on mountain lion?

Will let you know later. Aint thought to check that out yet.

Postby Aaron 2NR » July 26th, 2012, 3:24 pm

running smoothly on my machine.....upgraded my ram as well today

SRASC

Postby SRASC » July 26th, 2012, 4:32 pm

Mountan Lion running nice on my MBP (Early 2011).

src1983

Postby src1983 » July 26th, 2012, 7:46 pm

I submitted my claim, but didn't hear anything from them as yet not even a email :(

Postby Kenjo » July 26th, 2012, 10:04 pm

SRASC wrote:Mountan Lion running nice on my MBP (Early 2011).

how long did it take to install?
think i might upgrade mine when the servers aren't so busy

Swisha

Postby Swisha » July 26th, 2012, 11:38 pm

lots of complaints all over the net about the up-to-date program. whoever did receive a code, it was downloading the server version instead :|

apparently it can take up to 3 days to get a code...

casper

Postby casper » July 27th, 2012, 9:51 am

^^^but daz no scene right??? cuz apple is never wrong...so fans dont ever have anything to complain about... :D

Strauss

Postby Strauss » July 27th, 2012, 9:55 am

casper wrote:^^^but daz no scene right??? cuz apple is never wrong...so fans dont ever have anything to complain about... :D

NEVA WRON !!!! 0X

See now yuh learning how to do it rite :lol:

Swisha

Postby Swisha » July 27th, 2012, 3:43 pm

finally got my code! downloading now...

Postby S_2NR » July 27th, 2012, 3:53 pm

does the bsocial data plan still work on iphone?

Postby Allergic2BunnyEars » July 27th, 2012, 7:38 pm

No download code yet :(

Gonna install win xp virtual machine out of boredom