Trinituner Fish Keepers, Aquarists & Aquascapers...

HondaB20B

Re: Trinituner Fish Keepers, Aquarists & Aquascapers...

Postby HondaB20B » December 15th, 2012, 6:46 pm

[quote="Reefplanet"]lol cool i dont have an RODI system ...i will collect some rain water and experiment with it.
Honda maybe yuh could trade it by raj for corals or sell it. maybe some petshop might buy it.[/quote]
thats just a fight down. Most times just like some people they want it for next to nothing. Its only cause i aint get the time to carry it by raj, its not sold. And actually alot of people seeing the juveniles by him that still has the orange face and asking if he cant get some all black ones. I just thought someone might of been interested in it on tuner. No love lost.

Reefplanet

Postby Reefplanet » December 17th, 2012, 3:06 pm

They must be rare or something ..i would have bought it but i already have an ocellaris and idk if to big , aggressive clowns will be good in my small tank. I see raj have white clowns to they real cool looking. Ent it had somebody here that was looking for all black clowns?

HondaB20B

Postby HondaB20B » December 17th, 2012, 3:47 pm

Reefplanet wrote:They must be rare or something ..i would have bought it but i already have an ocellaris and idk if to big , aggressive clowns will be good in my small tank. I see raj have white clowns to they real cool looking. Ent it had somebody here that was looking for all black clowns?

Thats the Platinum Percula Clownfish and they going for $16-1800 for one. Online they go for nearly $200US
They really sweet though.

Cantmis

Postby Cantmis » December 17th, 2012, 10:59 pm

Nice vid I came across. Btw can I get siamese tiger fish locally ?

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=

HondaB20B

Postby HondaB20B » December 18th, 2012, 12:06 pm

The tank is very impressive

Reefplanet

Postby Reefplanet » December 18th, 2012, 3:43 pm

i tested the rain water:

pH= 6.0 can fix that with pH buffer.
ammonia= 0
nitrites= 0
nitrates= 0

mojosodope

Postby mojosodope » December 19th, 2012, 2:02 pm

Does anyone know where I can get Assassin Snails?
http://www.liveaquaria.com/product/prod ... catid=3106

link

Postby link » December 22nd, 2012, 9:31 am

http://www.practicalfishkeeping.co.uk/c ... ntent=html

fellow aquarists...I find Practical Fishkeeping to be a helpful guide...it's a free subscription...try it
rgds

Regent

Postby Regent » December 23rd, 2012, 5:01 pm

what you guys think constructive criticism appreciated
60+24.JPG
60+24 stand.JPG
48+18.jpg

Kasey

Postby Kasey » December 23rd, 2012, 8:33 pm

What constructive criticism u want dude? From the pics, it looks cut and dry - clean as a whistle. If u had put up the build pics, then one may have been able to make some comments. But as I said, it looks flawless from here. Good job, you selling it?.

How much did it cost, and how much would you charge to do that for someone?

Reefplanet

Postby Reefplanet » December 24th, 2012, 12:32 pm

I want a wooden tank stand :( i have a metal stand but it have not much support underneath,you could see all the cords and the sump and saltwater and metal do go good together..ah set a rust!

Kasey

Postby Kasey » December 24th, 2012, 12:45 pm

So yuh wa woodlice from wood, and swells from MDF?

HondaB20B

Postby HondaB20B » December 24th, 2012, 2:09 pm

Kasey wrote:So yuh wa woodlice from wood, and swells from MDF?

Once you treat the wood you wont have any issues. There are specific coating designed to be applied on wood that can take water.
Wood like teak doesnt need anything, but you can use pitch pine.

Fishman

Postby Fishman » December 24th, 2012, 4:47 pm

Reefplanet wrote:i tested the rain water:

ammonia= 0
nitrites= 0
nitrates= 0

Be careful with this. While the rain is falling it picks up contaminates from the air that you may not be able to test for. What's the TDS of the water you collected? Also if you are collecting the water from the roof, the rain water could be picking up heavy metals. Some of which are deadly for a reef (coral and inverts) and will bind to your live rock, which in turn will leach over time in your aquarium.

Kasey

Postby Kasey » December 24th, 2012, 6:32 pm

HondaB20B wrote:

Once you treat the wood you wont have any issues. There are specific coating designed to be applied on wood that can take water.

Never disaggreed with that, but the same argument can be made for steel. With the right treatment, steel is by far the most durable material to make a stand with (once you know what ur doing).

Reefplanet

Postby Reefplanet » December 24th, 2012, 7:54 pm

Fishman wrote:
Reefplanet wrote:i tested the rain water:

ammonia= 0
nitrites= 0
nitrates= 0

Be careful with this. While the rain is falling it picks up contaminates from the air that you may not be able to test for. What's the TDS of the water you collected? Also if you are collecting the water from the roof, the rain water could be picking up heavy metals. Some of which are deadly for a reef (coral and inverts) and will bind to your live rock, which in turn will leach over time in your aquarium.

idk what is the TDS but i got a lot of bad stuff about rainwater.

HondaB20B

Postby HondaB20B » December 24th, 2012, 8:09 pm

Kasey wrote:
HondaB20B wrote:

Never disaggreed with that, but the same argument can be made for steel. With the right treatment, steel is by far the most durable material to make a stand with (once you know what ur doing).

For long term, sand blast it and apply a good zinc primer followed by an epoxy coating, preferably a marine grade. One done correct, you can get a good 10yrs+. Steel is allot more expensive. I did mine in wood due to cosmetic reasons to blend in with the stuff in my library. I did the aquarium stand and cabinets and then built the computer desk and other stuff to match....not the other way around.......lol

HondaB20B

Postby HondaB20B » December 25th, 2012, 1:27 am

Its times like this i wish santa clause owned a Fish store.......... :-)

Don Dada

Postby Don Dada » December 25th, 2012, 9:10 pm

hey guys does anyone know who sells fishes and sets up fresh water aquariums. need to get a 4ft aquarium with stand and all the needed fixtures (fishes also). thanks

HondaB20B

Postby HondaB20B » December 25th, 2012, 9:13 pm

buying a tank and setting it up yourself will save you tons of money.
But you can check santoo or even donny from hydroquatics

Reefplanet

Postby Reefplanet » December 27th, 2012, 12:57 pm

Regent wrote:what you guys think constructive criticism appreciated

How much it will cost to make one like this for me for a tank size of 24"length X 18"width X 18" high ?
without the canopy

HondaB20B

Postby HondaB20B » January 5th, 2013, 8:57 am

A good read on Blue Green Algae/Cyanobacteria, Identification, Causes & Control

http://www.wetwebmedia.com/bluegralgae.htm

Postby sharkman121 » January 5th, 2013, 1:34 pm

HondaB20B wrote:A good read on Blue Green Algae/Cyanobacteria, Identification, Causes & Control

http://www.wetwebmedia.com/bluegralgae.htm

good read, took me ages to get over my algae problem when i now started.

netsket

Postby netsket » January 7th, 2013, 11:58 am

Where did the petshop from by Twin Walls in Gulf View move to?

Gshock

Re:

Postby Gshock » January 7th, 2013, 6:59 pm

swift gti funatic wrote:^^ yes i did... i owned a couple aswell...
longg time ago :lol:
bought them from this guy who was in trincity mall before it was expanded..
think lucky was his name... dunno what happened to him real kool fella... always used to link me with good prices
And he was one of the first ppl i saw with salt water setups :) lion fish and banded bamboo sharks etc

Lucky migrated to the US and sold the petshop to a guy living in Trincity....he got those Discus from a guy in San-fernando ...he took me there once .. I tried several times to find the place since no luck.

HondaB20B

Postby HondaB20B » January 12th, 2013, 12:00 pm

$30,000US ($192,000TT) peppermint angelfish.............

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=NKJ8EKxlaJQ

Kasey

Postby Kasey » January 12th, 2013, 5:14 pm

Got a 12" Iridiscent shark to get off my hands. Excellent condition, grew up in a 7 feet long X 3 feet tall X 2 feet tank along with two others. Others may be for sale also depending on the offers. If I get around $600 for it, I will throw in a 6" koi free.

Also have the following community fish to get rid off also:
1) Two bumble bee catfish 3"
2) One Striped Raphael catfish 3.5"
3) One Black Ghost knife fish 5"
4) One upsidedown catfish
5) One 4" Bala shark
6) One 4" Red tail Shark

link

Postby link » January 13th, 2013, 10:42 am

why u strip down d comm tank, boi ???

Kasey

Postby Kasey » January 13th, 2013, 8:55 pm

link wrote:why u strip down d comm tank, boi ???

Making room for my Cichlid plans bro. Got a few hundred fry hatching out within the coming weeks and need the Aquarium space. Got Electric blue Ahli fry, M. Auratus fry, Demasoni fry, Yellow lab fry, and Venustus fry. All females holding right now!!!!

Regent

Postby Regent » January 14th, 2013, 3:29 pm

HondaB20B wrote:
Fishman wrote:

Yeah I am running a Reef Keeper Elite. It turns on and off my halides, dims my T5's for dawn dusk, controls the moonlights in tune with actual moon phase. Controls calcium reactor, pumps, skimmer, vodka dosing, fans, ATO and reports on PH, Temp etc. The best part is I can log on from anywhere and get the status of anything on it and it also sends emails if something is going wrong. Here are some pics of my equipment and a full tank shot.

had to bump this.................