The GOOGLE | ANDROID Thread

Swisha

Re: The *Official* GOOGLE | ANDROID Thread

Postby Swisha » January 11th, 2013, 7:45 pm

M_2NR wrote:You can use a VPN to order the Nexus 4... padna of mine ordered his this way. Once your CC works with google wallet, it will work and the address in the US is your skybox addy

correct. i ordered the very first Nexus from the Google store in this way

14ride

Postby 14ride » January 12th, 2013, 8:26 am

ok guy...like i will hav to this this thing myself.
i hav a link here...with the info on where to get odin etc.and how to do it etc.etc...

http://androidforums.com/i7500-all-thin ... rom-s.html

can u guys plz.tel me if this is correct?

btw...i hav a gt-i9100 it does not say if this model s2 is upgradable to ics or jellybean?? is it??
Last edited by 14ride on January 12th, 2013, 8:48 am, edited 1 time in total.

14ride

Postby 14ride » January 12th, 2013, 8:43 am

achillies

Postby achillies » January 12th, 2013, 9:04 am

14ride wrote:ok guy...like i will hav to this this thing myself.
i hav a link here...with the info on where to get odin etc.and how to do it etc.etc...

http://androidforums.com/i7500-all-thin ... rom-s.html

can u guys plz.tel me if this is correct?

btw...i hav a gt-i9100 it does not say if this model s2 is upgradable to ics or jellybean?? is it??

That looks like the incorrect model, though many methods would be identical

Go over to XDA, in correct model thread. You would get correct info and stock official Roms, and will be done in 5 minutes

Jonathan_337

Postby Jonathan_337 » January 12th, 2013, 2:19 pm

I just got my S3 and I don't see any update to 4.1.2..anyone else had that problem? I'll root and flash a ROM soon but until I have the time I want it updated.

Also what cases do you guys recommend? I'd buy an Otter Box but this phone is like a Me2 now and I don't wanna have the same case as everyone else to top it off.

14ride

Postby 14ride » January 12th, 2013, 5:18 pm

Jonathan_337 wrote:I just got my S3 and I don't see any update to 4.1.2..anyone else had that problem? I'll root and flash a ROM soon but until I have the time I want it updated.

Also what cases do you guys recommend? I'd buy an Otter Box but this phone is like a Me2 now and I don't wanna have the same case as everyone else to top it off.

o gosh...u making me feel bad with my s2 jed.i fine the outer case to big thou.amazon hav alot to chose from

Postby Stephon. » January 13th, 2013, 12:04 pm

I have a cruzerlite case.

Postby kurpal_v2 » January 13th, 2013, 12:08 pm

Swisha wrote:
M_2NR wrote:You can use a VPN to order the Nexus 4... padna of mine ordered his this way. Once your CC works with google wallet, it will work and the address in the US is your skybox addy

correct. i ordered the very first Nexus from the Google store in this way

Jumping through hoops to spend my money? 1ha

Postby S_2NR » January 13th, 2013, 12:08 pm

Question: The bb bmobile data plans still working on android phones? more specifically the bsocial plan for 69$.
Dont care for 4g. Just want something to run whatsapp.

metalgear2095

Postby metalgear2095 » January 13th, 2013, 12:17 pm

S_2NR wrote:Question: The bb bmobile data plans still working on android phones? more specifically the bsocial plan for 69$.
Dont care for 4g. Just want something to run whatsapp.

Mine stopped a couple months ago. Got a message that is was using an android phone and had to get a new plan for service

Postby S_2NR » January 13th, 2013, 12:18 pm

so what u using now?

metalgear2095

Postby metalgear2095 » January 13th, 2013, 3:33 pm

S_2NR wrote:so what u using now?

Got an android 4G plan.

Postby S_2NR » January 13th, 2013, 3:41 pm

cant justify that extra 200$ on my bill since theres wifi everywhere now. i.e. bzone, all restaurants, home, school, etc.

Postby Stephon. » January 13th, 2013, 7:41 pm

S_2NR wrote:cant justify that extra 200$ on my bill since theres wifi everywhere now. i.e. bzone, all restaurants, home, school, etc.

CHILDD!!!!

Bmobile have 4G plans for 275 a month that includes 200 mins and 200 texts + 4G AND they give you 50 extra minutes for so so its 250 mins in total, what plan you have now ?

metalgear2095

Postby metalgear2095 » January 13th, 2013, 8:34 pm

S_2NR wrote:cant justify that extra 200$ on my bill since theres wifi everywhere now. i.e. bzone, all restaurants, home, school, etc.

I understand. Used to think like that too but once you get used to 4g it's hard to imagine waiting for a webpage to load up.

metalgear2095

Postby metalgear2095 » January 13th, 2013, 8:34 pm

Stephon. wrote:

CHILDD!!!!

Bmobile have 4G plans for 275 a month that includes 200 mins and 200 texts + 4G AND they give you 50 extra minutes for so so its 250 mins in total, what plan you have now ?

This plan is how much data?

Postby S_2NR » January 13th, 2013, 8:43 pm

how much for the 2g plans now? did they see any drop in price or is it still 150$ for unlimited 2g?

Stephon. wrote:

CHILDD!!!!

i have a corporate plan that comes with 100 minutes, 25 texts. And i also get the 50 free bmobile to bmobile minutes.
All my minutes and texts are usually done by the 3rd week in my billing cycle.
My usage is normally like 5000+ my lime minutes and 300 regular minutes. Dont send much texts, have whatsapp for that. If i send 50 texts for the month thats plenty. So i dont NEED 200 texts/month.

My bill never crosses $200. ever. My plan base price is 75$. Additional charges never exceed $120 with the estimated usage i outlined above.

If i take that plan my bill starts at $275 (VAT EXCLUSIVE)

Thats the smallest package they have?

Postby Stephon. » January 13th, 2013, 8:43 pm

5GB

Postby Stephon. » January 14th, 2013, 7:56 am

In contrast to the last post i made on the forum, I'm pleased to announce that Samsung's Galaxy S lineup has sold a total of ONE HUNDRED MILLION devices world wide.

It’s been a big week for Samsung’s mobile division, but the company has one last milestone to share: it has sold more than 100 million Galaxy S devices to date. According to Samsung, the 30 million Galaxy S III figure we heard back in November has Jumped to 40 million over the past two months, tying the lifetime sales of its successful Galaxy S II handset. The S III also sold twice as quickly during its first five months on the market, with 20 million channel sales compared to 10 million for the SII. The original Galaxy S is no slouch either, having sold 24 million units since it was released in June, 2010.

The news follows some major announcements for Samsung, including its 110-inch 4K "Floating" TV and 8-core Exynos 5 Octa processor. The latter is expected to run faster and up to 70 percent more efficiently than the company’s current fastest mobile chip, the Exynos 5 Dual, and hopes are running high for a Galaxy S IV with the new processor later this year.

http://www.theverge.com/2013/1/14/38745 ... -s-devices Image

Postby Rooki3 » January 14th, 2013, 10:58 am

Stephon. wrote:

CHILDD!!!!

this is d plan i have, i always cross 350 tho

dredman1

Postby dredman1 » January 14th, 2013, 11:00 am

S_2NR wrote:i have a corporate plan that comes with 100 minutes, 25 texts. And i also get the 50 free bmobile to bmobile minutes.
My usage is normally like 5000+ my lime minutes and 300 regular minutes. Dont send much texts, have whatsapp for that. If i send 50 texts for the month thats plenty. So i dont NEED 200 texts/month.

My bill never crosses $200. ever. My plan base price is 75$. Additional charges never exceed $120 with the estimated usage i outlined above.

I was in the same boat as you - I had the basic $75 postpaid voice plan from bmobile, and my bill usually never crosses $86.25 ($75+vat) unless I make overseas calls on it, and always had rollover minutes. Also, since the only place I don't have wifi is while I'm out or driving, I was looking for the cheapest data package possible since I won't need much.

The cheapest option to get postpaid 4G data on bmobile right now is to add the $179 5gb data package to it - about $24 cheaper than the $275 bundle, but less minutes and texts. Cheapest, but not necessarily the best value. bmobile also offers a Corporate 4G plan with rates cheaper than what Stephon. posted above, but I didn't want to tie my personal phone with my company.

If you want to add data cheaper on bmobile, you have to go prepaid, which I wasn't prepared to do for numerous reasons.

Digicel has cheaper postpaid 4G options, but I needed to keep my existing bmobile number.

Postby Rooki3 » January 14th, 2013, 11:20 am

bwdmc men want 4g data & complaining to spend a measly 275

Postby Stephon. » January 14th, 2013, 12:08 pm

And my family in America paying no less than 100 each for their phone bills and not complaining. Actually the average post paid phone bill in america with one of the major carriers is around 50 dollars minus the luxuries. Y'all better get with the times and out of the stone age!

Postby Rooki3 » January 14th, 2013, 12:15 pm

s2nr does say t&t backward, want 1st world world ting but complaining bout price

Postby kurpal_v2 » January 14th, 2013, 12:40 pm

Rooki3 wrote:s2nr does say t&t backward, want 1st world world ting but complaining bout price

Ballin on a budget bra

Postby Stephon. » January 14th, 2013, 12:41 pm

Na na NAH I eh go condone any s2nr slander in this thread!!

Postby S_2NR » January 14th, 2013, 12:56 pm

:lol: what?
The most data intensive thing I use is whatsapp and email. I don't need 4g. Hence the reluctance to spend that money. Whatsapp works great on edge and so does email.

Lol @ first world and third world talk. U always that outta timing nooki3 :lol:

Postby S_2NR » January 14th, 2013, 1:05 pm

dredman1 wrote:
S_2NR wrote:i have a corporate plan that comes with 100 minutes, 25 texts. And i also get the 50 free bmobile to bmobile minutes.

I was in the same boat as you - I had the basic $75 postpaid voice plan from bmobile, and my bill usually never crosses $86.25 ($75+vat) unless I make overseas calls on it, and always had rollover minutes. Also, since the only place I don't have wifi is while I'm out or driving, I was looking for the cheapest data package possible since I won't need much.

The cheapest option to get postpaid 4G data on bmobile right now is to add the $179 5gb data package to it - about $24 cheaper than the $275 bundle, but less minutes and texts. Cheapest, but not necessarily the best value. bmobile also offers a Corporate 4G plan with rates cheaper than what Stephon. posted above, but I didn't want to tie my personal phone with my company.

If you want to add data cheaper on bmobile, you have to go prepaid, which I wasn't prepared to do for numerous reasons.

Digicel has cheaper postpaid 4G options, but I needed to keep my existing bmobile number.

May go the corporate route. Have to decide if a little more convenience worth it. Cuz everywhere I go have bzone now or some sort of WiFi. And once u have it saved it connects automatically. Only place I don't have WiFi is while I'm driving or stuck in traffic.

I had data before but now that I experience having a much lighter bill and using WiFi everywhere I go. It actually not that bad. Saving money for a lil inconvenience I.e. turning on WiFi is not that bad. If bzone didn't exist however, I would have taken 4g in q heartbeat.

alpine

Postby alpine » January 14th, 2013, 1:12 pm

on a side note, it seems samsung has released their update for jelly bean on the galaxy tab 2 10.1 and 7.0, got minds updated dated via wifi over the weekend.

Postby Ted_v2 » January 14th, 2013, 3:34 pm

Mines didn't get the update yet