The | US Embassy | Thread

Re: US VISA QUESTION

Postby hustla_ambition101 » March 17th, 2013, 8:18 pm

Who's going to support him while he's up there? Is he enrolled in any educational institute, just a couple of factors they gonna watch and determine his suitability, if he's travelling alone, they might deny him as a risk.

MonsterPower

Postby MonsterPower » March 17th, 2013, 8:19 pm

wrong .

they take different approaches to this.It may go in his favour as well as not.

Bigrig do you have your visa? as the guardian they will look at your travel patterns and provided the child will travel woth you they stand a good chance..

BigRig

Postby BigRig » March 17th, 2013, 8:28 pm

his friend mom taking full responsibility, will also be buying his plane ticket and seeing about him while he's there, he's going to school atm his dad recently die in jan of this year and i taught it would be good if he could spend a little time away from home

Postby hustla_ambition101 » March 17th, 2013, 8:29 pm

I wish him luck........

BigRig

Postby BigRig » March 17th, 2013, 8:30 pm

it is also his first visa

BigRig

Postby BigRig » March 17th, 2013, 8:31 pm

no i do not have a visa

JoKeR1980

Postby JoKeR1980 » March 17th, 2013, 8:31 pm

Postby AllTrac » March 17th, 2013, 8:32 pm

wow, with his father dieing recently, his legal guardian is his cousin and the person who would be responsible for him up there is a friends mom, they might see this as someone wanting to stay in the US, odds are definitely against him as he has nothing to tie him down to trinidad. Then again ive seen people is worst situations get through, i guess you should just take a try and hope for the best, it might swing either way.

ruffrider27

Re: The | US Embassy | Thread

Postby ruffrider27 » March 22nd, 2013, 7:09 am

Friend went this week got a letter to return ,she say's the new system,must have a bank statement which she din't have ,job letter and payslips no less than 6 months ,questions asked,do you have an invitation letter from family , if she got a work in the states, will she stay ,how much money for vacation ,longest time planing to stay , any family member owns any property in the usa.

she has 60 days to bring in a bank statement,with savings in the past 6 months too.

because they know people are putting money into account just before the interview, may it be from friends or family lending them and returning it when the process is over. lol

Postby AllTrac » March 22nd, 2013, 7:23 am

well i did the whole personal appearance waiver thing since my last visa was issued after September 2007. The online process is long, confusing at times and drawn out, but i completed all the forms, paid the fee at scotia, waited 2 days, plugged in the code on their website and I got the confirmation page, called DHL to pick up all my documents. They picked it up on tuesday and I saw that it was received at the embassy on Wednesday via online tracking. There is a 3 days wait, hope all goes well. Any questions wrt to the online process and personal appearance waiver option I can try to answer here, all I know is how i did my process.

Postby pete » March 22nd, 2013, 8:14 am

If they ask if you got a job in the US would you stay, would an appropriate answer be that you would only accept employment if the company was able to arrange the necessary work permit?

Postby janfar » March 22nd, 2013, 8:38 am

pete wrote:If they ask if you got a job in the US would you stay, would an appropriate answer be that you would only accept employment if the company was able to arrange the necessary work permit?

Correct. Its a trick question. They asked my aunt the same (retired nurse) and she said she has no intention to work in life again. 10 yr VISA instantly.

2sweet

Postby 2sweet » March 22nd, 2013, 4:45 pm

AllTrac wrote:well i did the whole personal appearance waiver thing since my last visa was issued after September 2007. The online process is long, confusing at times and drawn out, but i completed all the forms, paid the fee at scotia, waited 2 days, plugged in the code on their website and I got the confirmation page, called DHL to pick up all my documents. They picked it up on tuesday and I saw that it was received at the embassy on Wednesday via online tracking. There is a 3 days wait, hope all goes well. Any questions wrt to the online process and personal appearance waiver option I can try to answer here, all I know is how i did my process.

I have a question. From reading the necessary requirements/qualifications list for the exemption from scheduling a consular appointment, it was made clear that ALL the requirements must be met. The first requirement is that the visa that is being renewed was issued after September 2007. Another requirement is that the visa that is being renewed must have been issued for the maximum validity period. The exemption is only applicable to visitor and crew visas, both of which have a maximum validity period of 10 years (120 momths). So, I was thinking that people would only really be able to take advantage of this exemption system from after September 2017 and beyond. Am I confused or missing something?

I realize that those having a visa issued before September 2007 are exempt from interview but still have to schedule an appointment to submit documents. My question is in regard to the exemption of scheduling an appointment both to submit documents and get interviewed which is only available for those visas issued after September 2007. I read it twice trying to make sense of it because I don't understand why they would implement an exemption that cannot be utilized anytime in the near future. This is why I am thinking I must have missed something.

Also, do you mean appointment exemption and not personal appearance waiver because the website stipulates that personal appearance waiver are only for those who are under age 14 or over the age of 80? Thanks

Postby AllTrac » March 28th, 2013, 7:19 am

guys I would advise you all to do not choose the option of "personal appearance waiver"
as the website info is different to what the consular said on the phone and it is constantly being updated. Now the personal appearance waiver is only available to anyone under 14 years and over 80 years old, this was only added to the website yesterday. Continue with the old method and book an appointment. I have to wait for them to send back my documents and now book and appointment. Its pretty confusing as they themselves giving you conflicting information on the phone. Dont take on that headache, book your appointment.

Postby pete » March 28th, 2013, 7:29 am

You would think the form to fill out online would inform you that you don't qualify for the personal appearance waiver as you're between 14 and 80.. :|

vickyexp

Postby vickyexp » March 28th, 2013, 8:09 am

Has anyone gone thru the visa process since the new system was implemented?
If so, how long did it take for DHL to return you passport?

Postby AllTrac » March 28th, 2013, 2:19 pm

so they called me for the 4 finger prints about an hour ago, i just came back. The officer said that the personal appearance waiver is actually 2 process that must be met. I qualified for the interview waiver but not for the finger print waiver, so i was not interviewed, just took my finger prints and was out in 1 min. I remember the last time i was there for renewal they only took index finger prints.They said that if they needed anything further they would call, but they have all the documents already, if not then I would get my passport delivered in the mail.
so those who seems qualified for the personal appearance waiver, try remember if the last time you were there if you did 4 fingerprints or just the index, if u only did index, you can still opt for the personal appearance waiver and they would call you in when they ready for your finger print.

Postby pete » March 28th, 2013, 2:26 pm

So the 4 fingerprints that they take when you're going into the US isn't linked to your account, you still have to go to the embassy to do that? lame.

Postby AllTrac » March 28th, 2013, 2:29 pm

pete, thats what i thought, apparently not.

NY_Trini

Postby NY_Trini » March 28th, 2013, 9:21 pm

vickyexp wrote:Has anyone gone thru the visa process since the new system was implemented?

2 days

Postby AllTrac » April 8th, 2013, 7:50 am

got back my passport via DHL last week thursday, got a 10 year extension, the entire mail in process took approximately 2 weeks, might of been shorter since it fell between the easter weekend.

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » April 8th, 2013, 10:39 am

vickyexp wrote:Has anyone gone thru the visa process since the new system was implemented?

within 4 days time.

Xplode

Postby Xplode » April 9th, 2013, 7:40 am

Going with my step daughter this morning, over 18 full time student,still dependant on her mom and me, we see how it goes,wish her luck 2ner's

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » April 9th, 2013, 9:48 am

Xplode wrote:Going with my step daughter this morning, over 18 full time student,still dependant on her mom and me, we see how it goes,wish her luck 2ner's

gluk meng.

Xplode

Postby Xplode » April 9th, 2013, 12:57 pm

Xplode wrote:Going with my step daughter this morning, over 18 full time student,still dependant on her mom and me, well see how it goes,wish her luck 2ner's

She got tru,waited in the car park couldn't go inside with her ,came back happy ,her bank statement with savings with over 10g's ,all her passes from secondary school, referral letter from Costaatt and part time job letter from a law firm ,only on weekends she works there .

she will be looking out for DHL anytime...

before her time was called ,waited by the gate with her and can't understand people still cumming with cell phones and telling the guard "they will take it off or take out the battery",they say no cell phones allowed on the web site and a big sign in front the embassy,how hard is that to understand

Postby AllTrac » April 9th, 2013, 2:10 pm

glad she got through.
There is a small business close by that is making a nice little profit of people ignorance with the cell phone, they charge $10 to keep it for you safely, thats what i heard the guard saying

Postby Dave » April 9th, 2013, 2:21 pm

^^yup
the amount of $10 they collect eh lol

Xplode

Postby Xplode » April 9th, 2013, 4:10 pm

next thing some country bokkies ,"doh go in with no gold chain mohpiee,ok"

knorgriff

Postby knorgriff » May 6th, 2013, 3:52 am

ru$$ell wrote:lol@ that zoom in pic @ 4:15

HAAHAHAHAHHAHAHAHA

Sent from my iPhone using TriniTuner mobile app

Victory_Specification

Postby Victory_Specification » July 8th, 2013, 10:55 pm

Question/Dilemma

Paid the TTPOST fee and filled out the DSC-160 form since DEC Last year. Because of school etc wasnt able to make an appointment in time under the 'old' system. New system in place won't let me make my appointment using the old ttpost receipt.

Any advice? or do I have to feed Uncle Sam's economy with another 1,000TT?

I was very recently issued a UK student visa, as well as supporting docs to go there for study this summer, so I think i should have a decent chance of not getting blank (it's happened before, but the visa I have now expired in november last year)

any advice would be greatly appreciated!