ilove3 wrote:hydroep wrote:ilove3 wrote:I cant agree with this. People did not vote for PP nor against the PNM. What was seen was a demonstration against Manning. He thought that he was the father of the nation and treated himself as such, even when everyone was laughing at that suggestion. He was surrounded by a bunch of 'yes' folk who were not telling him to take his head out his anus. As a result, HE lost touch with reality and the people and as a result the election was lost.
Now there is a different leader of the party who has recognized that things has to be done differently so a PR firm was hired to rebrand the party and the leader's image. That is a good start I think so in my opinion, things are different now and hopefully would be different WHEN the PNM wins at the next general elections.
I appreciate your opinion, but I have to disagree with your assessment.
Honestly I laugh at the assertion by PNMites that "PNM loss de election becuase of Manning". The PNM has a General Council (GC) which elects the Political Leader(PL) and to which the PL is accountable. No reasonable person will believe that they didn't know what was going on between 2001-2010. If they thought he was that much of a liability, why didn't they remove him? Perhaps they chose to look the other way because they were receiving political favours? Who knows. But the fact remains they failed in their responsibility to reign in a PL who had run amok. That makes them just as culpable for their failure at the polls in my book.
IMO Mr. Manning was made the sacrificial lamb so that at least one element of the PNM's leadership (the GC) could maintain some semblance of credibility. For if the council members also had to resign, that would have destroyed the party.
What would make this party better is if they got rid of the old delegate system which currently sustains its power structure. Dr. Rowley, on the face of it, appeared to have recognized the defects in the current schema and tried to move the party toward the more democratic 'one man one vote system'. But three years after their defeat, there's still no actionable plan. Some party insiders claim that the process is being stymied by the aforementioned GC whose members see their positions being undermined by this proposal.
In the end, all this talk of re-branding is really the PNM spin doctors way of throwing sugar on sh!t and hoping that the electorate swallows it whole. Because as of this writing nothing substantive about the the party has changed.
And If they win the next election it'll be due to the crap the PP is doing. It definitely will not be because they have anything better to offer.
P.S. Like you, I do not blindly support any party. I simply call things as I see them.
Yuh see, I would agree with what you said. I think that if you looked at what I wrote about who to blame, I said that Manning is to blame; I also put some blame on the GC as I mentioned that he was surrounded by a team of yes men and women. So I think that we see things in a similar light expect that you think that Manning is less culpable that I think. In any case, if the PNM is to show that they are ready to really govern this country, they have to demonstrate that it would not be the same old khaki pants as of past PNM administrations. The days of nepotism and curry favoring should be long gone: standing up for what is right across the board is what is needed but sadly, according to the Great Silver Fox, politics has its own morality
Rooki3 wrote:rfari wrote:Habit7 wrote:I am trying to listen to the PM (CNMG using a Nokia 1100 to broadcast the audio), and I see she is using the same tactic of some in this thread: demonising a future Rowley lead govt. It is quite reminiscent of a former PM seeing the winds of change, demonising a future Kamla lead govt.
Unc getting desperate. As it stands they running the risk of being a perpetual opposition once rowley upholds his political ethics. If its one thing about trinbagoians, you could do what in government; u see theefing and playing ppl for fool? We don't take that lightly. We don't forget that. Kpb will learn that first hand
lolwhut??
we as a ppl doh care abt who teefing
zoom rader wrote:How many more terms must the people of Trini give PNM to get things right?
zoom rader wrote:How many times has PNM lead us to the brink of being a bankrupt nation only to saved by NAR, UNC & PP?
zoom rader wrote:Under PNM people get more lazy ,rude ,hostile, angry and uneasy .
zoom rader wrote:PNM has always dropped the standard of living when they are in power.
zoom rader wrote:Look at the list of PNM, Rowley, Hinds, marlee and cox. U want these people to run your affairs?
shogun wrote:Difference between you and me rader, is i'm not stuck to any particular party. I'd give anyone a chance, if i thought they had the country's well being, as the goal.
I dont think you have displayed the competency to vote, far less assess anyone as PM.RIPEBREDFRUIT wrote:peeneem has absolutely NO one in their party that can be a competent prime minister, hell they cant even function as an opposition.
RIPEBREDFRUIT wrote:peeneem has absolutely NO one in their party that can be a competent prime minister, hell they cant even function as an opposition.
And if you you think I am "blinded by racism and stupidity" yet you judge people based on their geographical location, it saddens me that you are part of the electorate.RIPEBREDFRUIT wrote:if you all were really serious about National security, put me as the minister , and i assure you, the first order of business would be a Huge cargo ship heading out of Trinidad waters FILLED with beethamites, laventillians and sea-lotions bound for " Destination Unknown".
Habit7 wrote:I was trying to make you aware of yourself, especially after comments like thisAnd if you you think I am "blinded by racism and stupidity" yet you judge people based on their geographical location, it saddens me that you are part of the electorate.RIPEBREDFRUIT wrote:if you all were really serious about National security, put me as the minister , and i assure you, the first order of business would be a Huge cargo ship heading out of Trinidad waters FILLED with beethamites, laventillians and sea-lotions bound for " Destination Unknown".
firstchoicett wrote:Trinidad and Tobago need better people who's honest , hard working and willing to go the extra mile.
Country_Bookie wrote:ilove3 wrote:hydroep wrote:ilove3 wrote:I cant agree with this. People did not vote for PP nor against the PNM. What was seen was a demonstration against Manning. He thought that he was the father of the nation and treated himself as such, even when everyone was laughing at that suggestion. He was surrounded by a bunch of 'yes' folk who were not telling him to take his head out his anus. As a result, HE lost touch with reality and the people and as a result the election was lost.
Now there is a different leader of the party who has recognized that things has to be done differently so a PR firm was hired to rebrand the party and the leader's image. That is a good start I think so in my opinion, things are different now and hopefully would be different WHEN the PNM wins at the next general elections.
Honestly I laugh at the assertion by PNMites that "PNM loss de election becuase of Manning". The PNM has a General Council (GC) which elects the Political Leader(PL) and to which the PL is accountable. No reasonable person will believe that they didn't know what was going on between 2001-2010. If they thought he was that much of a liability, why didn't they remove him? Perhaps they chose to look the other way because they were receiving political favours? Who knows. But the fact remains they failed in their responsibility to reign in a PL who had run amok. That makes them just as culpable for their failure at the polls in my book.
IMO Mr. Manning was made the sacrificial lamb so that at least one element of the PNM's leadership (the GC) could maintain some semblance of credibility. For if the council members also had to resign, that would have destroyed the party.
What would make this party better is if they got rid of the old delegate system which currently sustains its power structure. Dr. Rowley, on the face of it, appeared to have recognized the defects in the current schema and tried to move the party toward the more democratic 'one man one vote system'. But three years after their defeat, there's still no actionable plan. Some party insiders claim that the process is being stymied by the aforementioned GC whose members see their positions being undermined by this proposal.
In the end, all this talk of re-branding is really the PNM spin doctors way of throwing sugar on sh!t and hoping that the electorate swallows it whole. Because as of this writing nothing substantive about the the party has changed.
And If they win the next election it'll be due to the crap the PP is doing. It definitely will not be because they have anything better to offer.
P.S. Like you, I do not blindly support any party. I simply call things as I see them.
Yuh see, I would agree with what you said. I think that if you looked at what I wrote about who to blame, I said that Manning is to blame; I also put some blame on the GC as I mentioned that he was surrounded by a team of yes men and women. So I think that we see things in a similar light expect that you think that Manning is less culpable that I think. In any case, if the PNM is to show that they are ready to really govern this country, they have to demonstrate that it would not be the same old khaki pants as of past PNM administrations. The days of nepotism and curry favoring should be long gone: standing up for what is right across the board is what is needed but sadly, according to the Great Silver Fox, politics has its own morality
Agreed, they need to communicate what is their vision by h they get elected. It can't be the same build tall buildings to give the illusion of development while using CEPEP to placate the urban areas. That's what led to the spiralling crime rate.
the crime was the foreman racketilove3 wrote:Country_Bookie wrote:ilove3 wrote:hydroep wrote:ilove3 wrote:I cant agree with this. People did not vote for PP nor against the PNM. What was seen was a demonstration against Manning. He thought that he was the father of the nation and treated himself as such, even when everyone was laughing at that suggestion. He was surrounded by a bunch of 'yes' folk who were not telling him to take his head out his anus. As a result, HE lost touch with reality and the people and as a result the election was lost.
Agreed, they need to communicate what is their vision by h they get elected. It can't be the same build tall buildings to give the illusion of development while using CEPEP to placate the urban areas. That's what led to the spiralling crime rate.
CEPEP by itself is a crime. Most employed are single mothers desperate for a means out yet still the governments playing politics with their livelihood. Sad but true
turbotusty wrote:well id like to. figured by the next 5 years id be sure and start putting together my cabinet. no friend ting. all my ministers have to work like dog to better this country. but then.. maybe all they have to do is NOT THIEF and things will be a whole lot better.
Rooki3 wrote:firstchoicett wrote:Trinidad and Tobago need better people who's honest , hard working and willing to go the extra mile.
jack warner was all of those things, well, besides honest
firstchoicett wrote:I say don't vote yes
Mr. Red Sleeper wrote:turbotusty wrote:well id like to. figured by the next 5 years id be sure and start putting together my cabinet. no friend ting. all my ministers have to work like dog to better this country. but then.. maybe all they have to do is NOT THIEF and things will be a whole lot better.
We see why you wont make it![]()
kaylex wrote:You could start a new party.. but you need financing ... and who give you financing to fool up the population clearly expects a ROI ( Return on Investment)
Wolf in Sheep Clothing..