Hyperion

Re: 3ne2nr fishermen

Postby Hyperion » September 2nd, 2013, 8:08 pm

turbo tercel wrote:
ImageUploadedByTriniTuner1378149335.518121.jpg
had a nice session Saturday

that is a reall nice session, north coast rigs deep jigging?

Hyperion

Postby Hyperion » September 2nd, 2013, 8:11 pm

meccalli wrote:Hmmn, good to hear, first time going scotland, last year when i went teteron, the place was crawling with 6-8 inch waliack.. that was evening time tho and we catch the band, hit hard about 5.30 to 6.30. Thanks!

that is the correct time for them on them reef in teteron; running sinker, fine nylon and big bait.

proton17

Postby proton17 » September 2nd, 2013, 8:12 pm

Kevin when it have dem lily and the water dirty like dat every year, from Chatham to Cedros like galfa it does have real sharks to like 50 pounds and big cavalli too. Mostly sharks and some big catfish from shore.

Dat does happen when the river and thing from vene side flush out during the rainy season, sometimes it does have snakes and caimans on dem Lillies.

kevin5211

Postby kevin5211 » September 2nd, 2013, 8:30 pm

proton17 wrote:Kevin when it have dem lily and the water dirty like dat every year, from Chatham to Cedros like galfa it does have real sharks to like 50 pounds and big cavalli too. Mostly sharks and some big catfish from shore.

Dat does happen when the river and thing from vene side flush out during the rainy season, sometimes it does have snakes and caimans on dem Lillies.

Well I did see a half catfish and sum other stuff. But my bro in law say sharks duz come close d shore at night. I did set out a line with mullet but didn't get any bites. Tried sum artificial as well but no luck.

proton17

Postby proton17 » September 2nd, 2013, 8:46 pm

Right now like in galfa either around full or new moon is sharks in the day with a nice live yellow and black cro cro. On a rising from dead low tide. When the tide get too full u does cannot get to reach over the bar where d sharks and cavalli does be cruising.

I hook stuff in dey that I couldn't stop and get spooled but I always saw locals pull big 40 pound sharks and some big cavalli. At dat time I still had mono and no braid.

kevin5211

Postby kevin5211 » September 2nd, 2013, 8:48 pm

proton17 wrote:Right now like in galfa either around full or new moon is sharks in the day with a nice live yellow and black cro cro. On a rising from dead low tide. When the tide get too full u does cannot get to reach over the bar where d sharks and cavalli does be cruising.

I hook stuff in dey that I couldn't stop and get spooled but I always saw locals pull big 40 pound sharks and some big cavalli. At dat time I still had mono and no braid.

Dats probly why. I got there when tide was already half way.

proton17

Postby proton17 » September 2nd, 2013, 8:53 pm

One problem though dat I hardly go galfa side again unless wit some ppl I know. Strange boats and ppl sometimes if u know wat I mean.

kevin5211

Postby kevin5211 » September 2nd, 2013, 8:56 pm

proton17 wrote:One problem though dat I hardly go galfa side again unless wit some ppl I know. Strange boats and ppl sometimes if u know wat I mean.

Yeh too much drug runners dese days

ryan99tt

Postby ryan99tt » September 2nd, 2013, 9:13 pm

Well daz where all dem stuff does come in...

Postby meccalli » September 2nd, 2013, 9:13 pm

bonito is a real bess sharkbait as is cavalli. Them guys in florida does catch jacks for that purpose. Kayak them out a bit and rig em with wire and big circles. Shark fishing from the surf is on my to do list in the future for sure.

proton17

Postby proton17 » September 2nd, 2013, 9:19 pm

Meccali u ever see on wfn channel the show called fishing the flats, where dey go to sometimes catch Goliath grouper and the live bait is sometimes a 10-15 pound cavalli with a big hook behind the dorsal. Dem live bait is is my best fish....

Postby meccalli » September 2nd, 2013, 9:24 pm

Oh yeah, love that show. I see real guys go by that same bridge to catch those groupers. Like rell dogs across there. Big Sting ray, cavalli, moonshine....them swallowing anything LOL.

Postby meccalli » September 2nd, 2013, 9:27 pm

Oh yeah, love that show. I see real guys go by that same bridge to catch those groupers. Like rell dogs across there. Big Sting ray, cavalli, moonshine....them swallowing anything LOL.

Postby meccalli » September 2nd, 2013, 9:30 pm

proton17

Postby proton17 » September 2nd, 2013, 9:35 pm

D biggest shark dat I personally know somebody from Cedros caught at galfa was 85 pounds, d shark I think gave trouble to come over the sandbar.

HaRdCoRe_YoUtH

Postby HaRdCoRe_YoUtH » September 2nd, 2013, 10:40 pm

meccalli wrote:bonito is a real bess sharkbait as is cavalli. Them guys in florida does catch jacks for that purpose. Kayak them out a bit and rig em with wire and big circles. Shark fishing from the surf is on my to do list in the future for sure.

Saw this vid and this is how I rig most of my big rigs!
They have some nice vids there!!

Postby joker » September 2nd, 2013, 11:42 pm

proton17 ... allyuh is the men who set palang and a la vieve? in galfa???......

saw a brown sunny parked up there a couple of times ....
I AM ADVISING NIGHT FISHING IN GALFA... AND THE TEMPLE STREET is a very high risk decision!
if you are .... go to the coast guard and let them know your intentions they will inform cedros police who will check on you!... and use lights ... or light a bonfire !

proton17

Postby proton17 » September 3rd, 2013, 7:16 am

Nah dats not me. I have family down Cedros and I does go only when I have time. Dat does normally be a few locals who does set dem thing.

chad193

Postby chad193 » September 3rd, 2013, 6:02 pm

Fellas 2 shimano baitrunner 4500 for sale as well. Reels in bess condition barely used. Asking $500 a reel. Pics in my shimano saragosa for sale listing in miscellaneous bargain center. Also have a shimano baitrunner 6500 for sale as well but drag cap missing. Asking $500 as well, could get the cap off ebay. Checked today and its there.

turbo tercel

Postby turbo tercel » September 5th, 2013, 8:25 am

xfactor wrote:
turbo tercel wrote:
ImageUploadedByTriniTuner1378149335.518121.jpg
had a nice session Saturday

that is a reall nice session, north coast rigs deep jigging?

YUP

HaRdCoRe_YoUtH

Postby HaRdCoRe_YoUtH » September 5th, 2013, 8:51 am

Video from Tobago session was not loading so I took some screen shots!

ImageUploadedByTriniTuner1378385436.771053.jpg

ImageUploadedByTriniTuner1378385452.583827.jpg

ImageUploadedByTriniTuner1378385475.046697.jpg

vickyexp

Postby vickyexp » September 5th, 2013, 10:43 am

Guys,
Want to let you know that the Felicity Charlieville Fishing Association will be having their annual Fishing Tournament later this month, details are listed below. I was there last year and it was quite good.
FCFA 2.png
FCFA 1.png

vickyexp

Postby vickyexp » September 6th, 2013, 9:29 am

got some good news this week as well, there's been some restrictions placed in trawling. I'm supprised that it wasn't posted here before.
http://www.trinidadexpress.com/news/Dev ... 72931.html
Devant bans trawling
Declining seafood stocks and environmental damage...
Story Created: Sep 3, 2013 at 8:59 PM ECT

(Story Updated: Sep 4, 2013 at 7:14 PM ECT )

FOOD Production Minister Devant Maharaj has announced restrictions on trawling in local waters, in the face of declining seafood stocks and environmental damage caused by wide-range dragnets.

In a media release on Monday, Maharaj disclosed that he has mandated a ban on trawling for non-artisanal trawlers; the implementation of a closed season for trawling activities; an amendment of regulations governing the Fisheries Act; and the appointment of a multi-sectorial committee to consider a relief package which can be offered to displaced fishers who will be affected by the change in legislation and the ban on trawling.

“As many are aware, trawling is a method of fishing that involves the manual or mechanised towing or pulling of fishing net called a trawl net through the water or on the bottom of the sea bed,” Maharaj stated.

Trawling has earned a reputation for being vastly destructive and has been the subject of calls for it to be banned, locally and internationally.

In addition to local fishermen who use trawling boats, the Gulf of Paria is also trawled by international fishers. The practice has been banned or restricted in several countries, including Australia, Brazil, Canada and Malaysia.

“This type process allows the vast majority of species captured by the trawl fleets to be discarded, with a major proportion of the discards comprising juveniles and commercially important species, including carite, king fish, snappers and groupers, which are of commercial importance to stakeholders of other fisheries,” Maharaj stated.

“Additionally, conflicts have arisen between artisanal and non-artisanal trawl fishers concerning habitat destruction resulting from the dragging of the trawl gears on the sea bed during trawling operations.”

Trawl nets vary in size but can span tens of feet and run behind the boat for miles, indiscriminately dredging the water and sea bed.

“This state of affairs has resulted in serious conflicts amongst competing fishers and has also been used by environmentalists as compelling justification for immediate and strong action to be taken to address trawling activities,” Maharaj said.

Most local trawlers originate from Orange Valley and head of the Orange Valley Fishing Association, Shaffie Mohammed, said on Monday that the group is awaiting further consultation with Maharaj before commenting.

ryan99tt

Postby ryan99tt » September 6th, 2013, 9:33 am

But will the authorities be able to keep up the law??? Bug question....

reeLpACE

Postby reeLpACE » September 6th, 2013, 10:17 am

Not very optimistic but its a good start toward sustainability. The culture among fishermen needs to change as well in terms of releasing under sized fish, even some anglers on this forum post pictures of ridiculously undersized catches. It's our (recreational anglers) responsibility as much as any other party to educate ourselves and pass on the knowledge...not everything is good for 'fry dry' let the fish grow!

vickyexp

Postby vickyexp » September 6th, 2013, 11:00 am

The current laws are there wrt limits on how big different species need to be before you can legally harvest but it's not enforced, the fisheries division knows this but they don't have the resources to enforce the laws and they're also concerned that if it's enforced then the current catch of most fishermen will be severly reduced. I guess it's one step at a time.

Postby X_Factor » September 6th, 2013, 2:45 pm

its simple, go in the markets and charge the vendors for selling the undersized catch
that will stop them from selling and purchasing from the wholesaler
and just work backwards to the fisherman who will have no choice but to throw back undersized catch as there wont be a demand for it

BUT
when you go to the market and the consumer buying the 3lbs of small mixed fish for 20.00 and there is a demand for it, it will then create the supply

francis1979

Postby francis1979 » September 6th, 2013, 4:19 pm

Source: http://rgd.legalaffairs.gov.tt/Laws2/Al ... /67.51.pdf
FISHERIES ACT CHAPTER 67:51

Person who contravenes any regulation made under this Act is liable on summary conviction to a fine of two thousand dollars and to imprisonment for six months.

Any person who uses poison of any description or any explosive with intent to stupefy, poison, take or kill fish is liable on summary conviction to a fine of one thousand dollars or to imprisonment for three months.

3. No fish less than twelve inches in length of the following kinds: King fish, Spanish Mackerel, Grouper, Codfish, Sorb, Pargue and Zeblan, shall be taken or sold or exposed for sale.

4. No fish less than eight inches in length of the following kinds: Cola, Red fish (Vivanot, Walliacke, Tete-ronde and Pomfano), and Salmon, shall be taken or sold or exposed for sale.

5. No Sardine shall be sold except to a bona fide fisherman for the purpose of bait.

6. (1) No fish, Shell-fish, Crabs or Shrimps shall be taken within the area lying between a line drawn from the mouth of the
Caroni River to a buoy fixed one thousand feet seaward from the sewerage outfall and thence to the mouth of the Diego Martin
River, and the shore.
(2) No fish or Shell-fish (including Oysters, Crabs and Shrimps) shall be taken anywhere between Claxton Bay and the
mouth of the Cipero River or from the sea between the said places for a distance f one-half of a mile seawards from low
water-mark.

No person shall take oysters from the Ortoire River between the Mafeking Road public ferry and the sea from 1st July to 31st December in each year.

No person shall, at any time, kill, harpoon, catch or otherwise take possession of any turtle, or purchase, sell, offer or
expose for sale or cause to be sold or offered or exposed for sale any turtle, turtle meat or any other part of the turtle.

ryan99tt

Postby ryan99tt » September 6th, 2013, 4:24 pm

I rarely see anglers reasing any fish anywhere i go...then i come catch bigger fish than dem an release all...lol

Postby joker » September 6th, 2013, 8:27 pm

Trawlers mash up the. South western coast ...might be 3 yrs b4. The fish stock recovers