Re: Fliers stung by charges for window and aisle seats

Postby Yeo » September 23rd, 2013, 11:45 am

Victory_Specification

Postby Victory_Specification » September 23rd, 2013, 5:22 pm

Unless you're flying Private, I don't really see any reason for anybody to 'coast' on who has what card, can lime in what lounge, gets through check-in first.

At the end of the day you're still on the same aircraft, arriving/departing at the same time, have to face the same immigration line and luggage carousel as everyone else - even if you have a diplomatic passport; the majority of the aforementioned still stands.

Airlines just profiting off of you by feeding your ego, and the component of your nature that urges you to peacock around the place.

Postby janfar » September 23rd, 2013, 5:45 pm

lol... zr is a peacock

Postby zoom rader » September 25th, 2013, 7:44 am

Victory_Specification wrote:Unless you're flying Private, I don't really see any reason for anybody to 'coast' on who has what card, can lime in what lounge, gets through check-in first.

At the end of the day you're still on the same aircraft, arriving/departing at the same time, have to face the same immigration line and luggage carousel as everyone else - even if you have a diplomatic passport; the majority of the aforementioned still stands.

Airlines just profiting off of you by feeding your ego, and the component of your nature that urges you to peacock around the place.

All de beat up on coasting.
Traveling is an art. I am in a situation where my employer pays for all my flights at the cheapest economy rates. I travel 10 to 11 times a year to UK and West African . Over the years I have leant the ins and outs of traveling. My first year of travelling I always got the economy seats that was booked for and after that I built up enough points/miles/teir to get upgraded . After that I was still booked in economy class and 80% of my travel I got free upgrades to premium economy and sometimes club world with BA, due to their operational circumstances. I fly mostly with BA and CAL sometime Virgin and United . BA is more professional and recognises their higher card holders, they are world leaders in flying. CAL is lagging behind far as they only have two classes, they do have very pleasant staff.
I board first with both airlines and it beats having to fight up for locker space with trinis. Trinis are the worst travelers as they insist on traveling with two large suitcases and two carry ons. I travel with only a rucksack I get seats that are high up so most times I am first off the flight. Having a rucksack means I walk pass customs every time as I don't have to wait for any luggage. Trini customs always ask why only a rucksack from UK, when i explain the nature of my job they let me though without any further questions.
Getting free upgrades is worth it, better seats , eats and no noisy kids or unruly trinis. Every year i build about 150k miles and use those to travel to other places (not US) in my off time as I have 30 weeks of free time . Airlines uses cards to make money and to retain their customers, the trick is to use it to your advantage as with a credit cards.
There are loads of other trini that's do the same when travelling.
Last edited by zoom rader on September 25th, 2013, 8:04 am, edited 1 time in total.

Postby Gem_in_i » September 25th, 2013, 7:55 am

The Indians load up on luggage and boxes. You travel a lot so am sure you see other people loaded up besides some Trinis.
And don't group all Trinis into the worst category, you aren't a Trini?

Postby Gem_in_i » September 25th, 2013, 7:56 am

BA do have great service.

Postby AllTrac » September 25th, 2013, 7:59 am

rfari wrote:
rfari wrote:ZR, doh leh dem men talk to u so dan. dem eh knw whoze u orwha?

dat doh matter, will soon be getting me gold card from BA,

so yuh reach den?

Two more qualifying flights and ah dey

niceness
and how many miles till u get this

dan.... HAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAH

Postby zoom rader » September 25th, 2013, 8:02 am

Gem_in_i wrote:The Indians load up on luggage and boxes. You travel a lot so am sure you see other people loaded up besides some Trinis.
And don't group all Trinis into the worst category, you aren't a Trini?

BA and CAL are always packed to london and trinis have the most luggage and always vex when they have pay extra . Never been to india so i can't comment on that. European travelers travel very light

Postby Gem_in_i » September 25th, 2013, 8:09 am

Yup Europeans travel light. Was reading their tips on packing on Tripadvisor. One tip I read was to travel with old underware and throw away as you go. Well, my mother said never go anywhere with old underware :lol:

We aren't used to having to pay for all checked bags. Maybe CAL will change that.
Last edited by Gem_in_i on September 25th, 2013, 8:16 am, edited 1 time in total.

Postby noshownogo » September 25th, 2013, 8:15 am

zoom rader wrote:Trini customs always ask why only a rucksack from UK, when i explain the nature of my job they let me though without any further questions.

You ah hitman? :|

Postby Gem_in_i » September 25th, 2013, 8:19 am

Customs ask me how come I have one small luggage too. Like they just so used to everyone loading up :lol: Recently a Customs Officer asked how come is only chocolate I buy in Duty Free

Postby zoom rader » September 25th, 2013, 8:23 am

Sometime female trini customs will ask what's in my rucksack, I always reply 4 jockey shorts and jerseys.

Postby rfari » September 25th, 2013, 8:41 am

zr,
U an airhostess?

Postby AllTrac » September 25th, 2013, 8:49 am

rfari wrote:zr,
U an airhostess?

ah mule. He doh strap it tho...

Postby r3iXmann » September 25th, 2013, 8:56 am

AllTrac wrote:
U an airhostess?

vault? :shock:

Postby rfari » September 25th, 2013, 8:56 am

AllTrac wrote:
U an airhostess?

*dedz* bwaahahhhhhhahahaha!!! Zr a professional vaulter yes

Postby zoom rader » September 25th, 2013, 9:06 am

U an airhostess?

Nope, international nuts man.

Anna J

Postby Anna J » September 25th, 2013, 11:16 am

Good. Now they should start charging by passenger weight.

Postby pete » September 25th, 2013, 11:21 am

Coming back from Miami had a guy like 7ft and probably 350lbs on the flight. He was in the same exit row as me but on the other side and dude literally could not fit into the seat. He had a rough 4 hrs basically sitting on the edge of the seat.

DionYorker

Postby DionYorker » September 25th, 2013, 11:41 am

AllTrac wrote:
rfari wrote:
rfari wrote:ZR, doh leh dem men talk to u so dan. dem eh knw whoze u orwha?

dat doh matter, will soon be getting me gold card from BA,

so yuh reach den?

Two more qualifying flights and ah dey

niceness
and how many miles till u get this

dan.... HAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAH

X2....... :drinking: :drinking: :mrgreen:

Postby Gem_in_i » September 25th, 2013, 11:43 am

Had a flight I traveled on from Miami yrs ago and they were asking everyone their weight while checking in.