Re: THE OFFICIAL QUIT SMOKING THREAD

Postby DFC » November 13th, 2013, 9:06 am

my gf is 2 cigs away.

Postby sharkman121 » November 17th, 2013, 8:10 am

havent touched a cig in 9 days, this issa huge accomplishment for me as this hasnt happened in over 15 years.

gonna celebrate by buyin a half pack 0X

Postby shogun » November 17th, 2013, 8:24 am

sharkman121 wrote:havent touched a cig in 9 days, this issa huge accomplishment for me as this hasnt happened in over 15 years.

gonna celebrate by buyin a half pack 0X

Well done sharky.

When yuh hear the price of that half pack now, i bet you.. you won't feel like celebrating anymore. 0X

Postby sharkman121 » November 17th, 2013, 8:40 am

dan is wen i went to buy 2 loose du maurier in d shop last week thursday an d oman tell me $3 each.... i tell she hsmc an walk off. dat was d last.

Postby Trini Hookah » November 17th, 2013, 9:03 am

Looooool....anyone had the Dunhill crush? Havent touched a blend in over a year but that menthol bai...

Postby ~Vēġó~ » November 17th, 2013, 10:21 am

805 days smoke free

JoKeR1980

Postby JoKeR1980 » November 17th, 2013, 10:26 am

Trini Hookah wrote:Looooool....anyone had the Dunhill crush? Havent touched a blend in over a year but that menthol bai...

orly?

Postby S_2NR » November 17th, 2013, 10:34 am

Trini Hookah wrote:Looooool....anyone had the Dunhill crush? Havent touched a blend in over a year but that menthol bai...

It nice. Menthol on demand. Just make sure you squeeze the cig butt until you hear or feel the capsule pop. It's a really nice menthol taste.

Postby Trini Hookah » November 17th, 2013, 10:50 am

JoKeR1980 wrote:

orly?

Ah now remember...make that a couple mths...LOL

Postby 88sins » December 4th, 2013, 2:33 pm

aight fellaz

so far iz 6 days smokeless, from 1-1.5 pack/day to not a 1 cold turkey.

dis ting eh easy nah, but ah still say toasswidwitco.

jusme

Postby jusme » December 4th, 2013, 2:51 pm

Just came off of a 73 day dry spell. Then i tasted a dunhill switch. I feel that menthol taste might have its way with me till after christmas

Mike2

Postby Mike2 » January 6th, 2014, 2:25 am

Using e-cig with 0 mg nicotine, sometimes 18. Now that's a whole bottle of liquid which cost 40$ and lasts for approx 2 wks, whereas a half pack has .9 mg of nicotine for each cig. Do the Math now.... I ongoing 6 mts without cigs and don't miss it after eating and while having a few brews. It works well on the pocket as well so I buying more cat parts faster =D even tho the urges still comes it lasts a few mins and the e cig satisfies that. The contents in the liquid are 100% harmless..... Well besides the small nicotine content

Postby Trini Hookah » January 6th, 2014, 7:37 am

Mike2 wrote:Using e-cig with 0 mg nicotine, sometimes 18. Now that's a whole bottle of liquid which cost 40$ and lasts for approx 2 wks, whereas a half pack has .9 mg of nicotine for each cig. Do the Math now.... I ongoing 6 mts without cigs and don't miss it after eating and while having a few brews. It works well on the pocket as well so I buying more cat parts faster =D even tho the urges still comes it lasts a few mins and the e cig satisfies that. The contents in the liquid are 100% harmless..... Well besides the small nicotine content

What brand jjuice you use?

Postby ~Vēġó~ » January 6th, 2014, 5:50 pm

855 days smoke free!

Postby kurpal_v2 » January 6th, 2014, 7:29 pm

~Vēġó~ wrote:855 days smoke free!

Well done

Postby shogun » January 6th, 2014, 8:19 pm

88sins wrote:aight fellaz

so far iz 6 days smokeless, from 1-1.5 pack/day to not a 1 cold turkey.

dis ting eh easy nah, but ah still say toasswidwitco.

~Vēġó~ wrote:855 days smoke free!

Salutements fellas. Keep it up.

Still fighting up at 2 a day. :?

devrat

Postby devrat » January 6th, 2014, 9:00 pm

Going on 3 months after 22 years....... Feeling good !!

Re: SECONDARY SCHOOL REGISTER - Assuming yuh went to school.

Postby Hook » January 6th, 2014, 9:10 pm

Great job, guys! Keep it up!

End of February would make two years for me. It feels great!

Postby shogun » January 6th, 2014, 10:15 pm

devrat wrote:Going on 3 months after 22 years....... Feeling good !!

Well done man.

How many daily for those 22 years, if i may ask?

Hook wrote:Great job, guys! Keep it up!

End of February would make two years for me. It feels great!

Damn.

You practically free dred.

Found this: Time table of the body's healing progress after quitting.
• 20 minutes

Your blood pressure, pulse rate and the temperature of your hands and feet have returned to normal.
• 8 hours

Remaining nicotine in your bloodstream has fallen to 6.25% of normal peak daily levels, a 93.75% reduction.
• 12 hours

Your blood oxygen level has increased to normal. Carbon monoxide levels have dropped to normal.
• 24 hours

Anxieties have peaked in intensity and within two weeks should return to near pre-cessation levels.
• 48 hours

Damaged nerve endings have started to regrow and your sense of smell and taste are beginning to return to normal. Cessation anger and irritability will have peaked.
• 72 hours

Your entire body will test 100% nicotine-free and over 90% of all nicotine metabolites (the chemicals it breaks down into) will now have passed from your body via your urine. Symptoms of chemical withdrawal have peaked in intensity, including restlessness. The number of cue induced crave episodes experienced during any quitting day have peaked for the "average" ex-user. Lung bronchial tubes leading to air sacs (alveoli) are beginning to relax in recovering smokers. Breathing is becoming easier and your lung's functional abilities are starting to increase.
• 5 - 8 days

The "average" ex-smoker will encounter an "average" of three cue induced crave episodes per day. Although we may not be "average" and although serious cessation time distortion can make minutes feel like hours, it is unlikely that any single episode will last longer than 3 minutes. Keep a clock handy and time them.
• 10 days

10 days - The "average" ex-user is down to encountering less than two crave episodes per day, each less than 3 minutes.
• 10 days to 2 weeks

Recovery has likely progressed to the point where your addiction is no longer doing the talking. Blood circulation in your gums and teeth are now similar to that of a non-user.
• 2 to 4 weeks

Cessation related anger, anxiety, difficulty concentrating, impatience, insomnia, restlessness and depression have ended. If still experiencing any of these symptoms get seen and evaluated by your physician.
• 21 days

Brain acetylcholine receptor counts that were up-regulated in response to nicotine's presence have now down-regulated and receptor binding has returned to levels seen in the brains of non-smokers.
• 2 weeks to 3 months

Your heart attack risk has started to drop. Your lung function is beginning to improve.
• 3 weeks to 3 months

Your circulation has substantially improved. Walking has become easier. Your chronic cough, if any, has likely disappeared. If not, get seen by a doctor, and sooner if at all concerned, as a chronic cough can be a sign of lung cancer.
• 8 weeks

Insulin resistance in smokers has normalized despite average weight gain of 2.7 kg (1997 study).
• 1 to 9 months

Any smoking related sinus congestion, fatigue or shortness of breath has decreased. Cilia have regrown in your lungs, thereby increasing their ability to handle mucus, keep your lungs clean and reduce infections. Your body's overall energy has increased.
• 1 year

Your excess risk of coronary heart disease, heart attack and stroke has dropped to less than half that of a smoker.
• 5 years

Your risk of a subarachnoid haemorrhage has declined to 59% of your risk while still smoking (2012 study). If a female ex-smoker, your risk of developing diabetes is now that of a non-smoker (2001 study).
• 5 to 15 years

Your risk of stroke has declined to that of a non-smoker.
• 10 years

Your risk of being diagnosed with lung cancer is between 30% and 50% of that for a continuing smoker (2005 study). Risk of death from lung cancer has declined by almost half if you were an average smoker (one pack per day). Risk of cancer of the mouth, throat, esophagus and pancreas have declined. Risk of developing diabetes for both men and women is now similar to that of a never-smoker (2001 study).
• 13 years

The average smoker who is able to live to age 75 has 5.8 fewer teeth than a non-smoker (1998 study). But by year 13 after quitting, your risk of smoking induced tooth loss has declined to that of a never-smoker (2006 study).
• 15 years

Your risk of coronary heart disease is now that of a person who has never smoked. Your risk of pancreatic cancer has declined to that of a never-smoker (2011 study - but note 2nd pancreatic study making identical finding at 20 years).
• 20 years

Female excess risk of death from all smoking related causes, including lung disease and cancer, has now reduced to that of a never-smoker (2008 study). Risk of pancreatic cancer has declined to that of a never-smoker (2011 study).

devrat

Postby devrat » January 6th, 2014, 11:55 pm

Shogun ..... Average pack per day smoker

pluggie

Postby pluggie » January 7th, 2014, 4:12 am

I recently crossed the 3 month mark ;) feels excellent. Just have me pushing super hard in the gym to maintain my weight.

Postby ~Vēġó~ » January 7th, 2014, 7:15 pm

I still sometimes feel the urge to bun ah rod....but no fkn way dread.....the money saved is sweet...

Sanctifier

Postby Sanctifier » January 8th, 2014, 12:09 am

Let me start with this...
Sanctifier wrote:I sell cigarettes @ the Station... but I have no problem at all if the gov't TOTALLY BANNED cigarettes for health reasons.
I really hope this helps at least one of you to quit... This sh!t will KILL you... SLOWLY & PAINFULLY!!!... while making WITCO even richer! :evilbat:

Smoked my 1st cigarette @ 13 years old... Started the deadly habit @ 16... Smoked for the next 27 years...
Tried to stop smoking 'a thousand times' over the years... FAILED miserably every time!!!

Habit started @ a few per day... went to 1 pack/day... settled @ 1 1/2 packs/day... on 'BAD' days ---> 2 packs/day.
Sanctifier wrote:Read the Reports about how Tobacco companies tailor nicotine levels & cigarette quality for various age groups & income levels worldwide... Report made me very angry... still couldn't quit!!!

My wife & kids 'nagged' me to stop... still couldn't quit!!!

Read the Reports that tobacco can cause problems getting and maintaining an ERECTION... still couldn't quit!!!

I tried ALL the remedies out there... patches, tar-guards, Nicorette gum... still couldn't quit!!!

THREE of my uncles DIED over the years from emphysema!!!... still couldn't quit!!

Respiratory issues (frequent, lingering head colds... migraine attacks & sinusitis) became RESPIRATORY PROBLEMS!!!...
Sanctifier wrote:(Multi-coloured phlegm... constant mucus & sinus drainage... inability to lie on my back when sleeping... SEVERE migraine attacks & sinusitis... inability to take a deep breath without SEVERE choking & coughing... EVERYTIME!!!)

I honestly didn't expect to live to see 60!

REMEDIES: - FEAR, Milo & Exercise!!!
Sanctifier wrote:After crossing my "40's" and living in fear for over 2 1/2 years of getting lung cancer or emphysema, I decided to try to stop again!

I found that Caffeine & Nicotine are "complimentary" drugs. Start drinking a cup of coffee... and automatically I lit a cigarette.

So I swapped coffee for MILO... FYI, Milo and cigarettes taste AWFUL!!!
After a few months of this, the urge to drink coffee and smoke finally disappeared.

I started exercising again... This helped me to breath better without symptoms.

For months, I kept an 'open' 1/2 pack of Broadway on me at all times to remind me... STALE cigarettes taste & smell horrible!!!

My wife & kids helped to keep me motivated.

After a shorter time than I expected, 'the urge' to smoke disappeared.
I finally was able to stop... Today the mucus, head colds, migraine attacks & sinusitis have all disappeared.
I don't know if I might still develop cancer eventually... but at least I can BREATH without issues these days.
btw I was 60 in September last year... It's been 17 years since I quit... THANK GOD!!!
Last edited by Sanctifier on January 8th, 2014, 12:21 am, edited 1 time in total.

Postby shogun » January 8th, 2014, 12:19 am

Sanctifier wrote:REMEDIES: - FEAR, Milo & Exercise!!!

Cheers! Dr.Sanctifier.

Sanctifier

Postby Sanctifier » January 8th, 2014, 12:26 am

^ ^ ^ I can smile now shogun. Yup, I was lucky to quit 'cold turkey'... but that's one of the toughest (& scariest) things that I ever tried to do.
When you quit you get sinus drainage for a few weeks... like the worse head cold in history... but don't give up!!!
Don't want to have to do that again! Thank God it's over... & I can breath easy now. :roll:
Sanctifier wrote:The only issue when you quit is that your nose starts to 'smell' properly again...
Food, boi FOOD!!!... The weight gain can be a serious issue.
Eating more + weight training caused me to pack on the pounds...
It's all my wife's fault... she's an EXCELLENT chef! :lol:
Now I have to loose the excess weight (165--->228 lb.)... ANOTHER health issue to fight!!! :roll:
Right now @ 217... Goals are to go down to 187 lb by April... & be able to do a '600 lb' leg-press... for 10 reps! 8-)

My $0.02¢ :lol:
Last edited by Sanctifier on January 8th, 2014, 12:57 am, edited 1 time in total.

Postby joker » January 8th, 2014, 12:55 am

:o 60yrs:o...
I have been smoking since I was 12 tried to stop....3times ....did not.

Sanctifier

Postby Sanctifier » January 8th, 2014, 1:03 am

joker wrote: :o 60yrs :o...
I have been smoking since I was 12 tried to stop....3times ....did not.
:o 60yrs :o ... Yup, 60 last September... (and still haven't raced yet! :roll: )
I still have too much to do before 'bucket kicking time'. Need another 40 years... AT LEAST!!! :lol:

btw if you drink a lot of coffee... or coca cola, try swapping to Milo. It helps reduce the craving.
Good luck.

Invisible

Postby Invisible » January 8th, 2014, 2:35 am

800 Days Smoke free. All praise to GOD for giving me the strength and ability to quit cold turkey.
I didn't even think it would be possible to stop after 17 years of that filthy habit.

No alcohol in 11+ years

supermanhhh

Postby supermanhhh » January 9th, 2014, 11:54 am

I smoked for years. Since I was 15yrs. Stopped when I was 27. I tried everything; gum, patches even a herbal cigarette. But what really worked was; I just stopped. I put my mind to it. Drank lots of water, fruits. Once you pass the first two days, you are on the right track. The addictive element Nicotine takes two days to leave your body. You will go through withdrawal symptoms. Angry, edgy etc. But its worth it. Live longer, teeth whiter, breath doesnt smell etc.

supermanhhh

Postby supermanhhh » January 9th, 2014, 11:57 am

5 Years smoke free. Since 29th July, 2009. Proud of it.