whyteliver wrote:ABA Trading LTD wrote:hustla_ambition101 wrote:There are highway patrol vehicles on the CRH during the day. Community patrols in my area too, police can't be everywhere. Why do 'adults' need to be policed to do the correct thing.
the fact is, they do. if "adults" didn't need to be policed, there would be no need for the police service
many people don't do illegal/wrong things just due to the fear of getting in trouble/being caught
but that is changing with regards to our driving. Long time only H and PH drivers and the gangsters would run up the shoulder, make illegal U turns etc..now granny and tantie doing it normal normal
while you would obey the laws and drive safely on the highway, there is someone else who would be drunk,speeding down the highway and will come across the median and take you out.
i dont know why some ppl find this so hard to understand .....if the government and the police could get everyone to wear their seat-belt then is not rocket science to help curb road fatalities.
In so called first world countries it is achieved by way of ...wait for it ...THE POLICE...yea i said it,not hoping for adults to be responsible....please...
hustla_ambition101 wrote:whyteliver wrote:ABA Trading LTD wrote:hustla_ambition101 wrote:There are highway patrol vehicles on the CRH during the day. Community patrols in my area too, police can't be everywhere. Why do 'adults' need to be policed to do the correct thing.
the fact is, they do. if "adults" didn't need to be policed, there would be no need for the police service
many people don't do illegal/wrong things just due to the fear of getting in trouble/being caught
but that is changing with regards to our driving. Long time only H and PH drivers and the gangsters would run up the shoulder, make illegal U turns etc..now granny and tantie doing it normal normal
while you would obey the laws and drive safely on the highway, there is someone else who would be drunk,speeding down the highway and will come across the median and take you out.
i dont know why some ppl find this so hard to understand .....if the government and the police could get everyone to wear their seat-belt then is not rocket science to help curb road fatalities.
In so called first world countries it is achieved by way of ...wait for it ...THE POLICE...yea i said it,not hoping for adults to be responsible....please...
Lulz, most first world countries' citizens do not wait for the proverbial big stick to hang over their heads to do the correct thing, they have a discipline ingrained from early. How come these same Trinbagonians go to these same countries and snap seat belt as soon as they touch down and jump in a vehicle, how come they don't run stop lights and signs, how come they don't chuck litter/cigarette butts out the window while driving. It is impossible to have police on every corner, every road 24/7
hustla_ambition101 wrote:whyteliver wrote:ABA Trading LTD wrote:hustla_ambition101 wrote:There are highway patrol vehicles on the CRH during the day. Community patrols in my area too, police can't be everywhere. Why do 'adults' need to be policed to do the correct thing.
Lulz, most first world countries' citizens do not wait for the proverbial big stick to hang over their heads to do the correct thing, they have a discipline ingrained from early. How come these same Trinbagonians go to these same countries and snap seat belt as soon as they touch down and jump in a vehicle, how come they don't run stop lights and signs, how come they don't chuck litter/cigarette butts out the window while driving. It is impossible to have police on every corner, every road 24/7
hustla_ambition101 wrote:Like I have to post pics of my passport with spoon, hope allyuh don't complain when the law is really enforced and be jumping on waze and tuner to post nonsense about road blocks. Accidents happen in a split second, there is no unwritten code that if someone gets pulled over or a ticket for speeding that they won't go back doing the same. Seriously though, is only London and America you guys can quote, two countries overflowing with hooligans
Allergic2BunnyEars wrote:hustla_ambition101 wrote:Like I have to post pics of my passport with spoon, hope allyuh don't complain when the law is really enforced and be jumping on waze and tuner to post nonsense about road blocks. Accidents happen in a split second, there is no unwritten code that if someone gets pulled over or a ticket for speeding that they won't go back doing the same. Seriously though, is only London and America you guys can quote, two countries overflowing with hooligans
It's ok. We understand your chest burning and your reply makes no sense. Truth be told there are very few countries where persons obey the law with little enforcement. In fact maybe you could name the countries for our education?
art n motion wrote:Why are we arguing? You are both right! Enforcement is the issue, however ppl need to be responsible and stop waiting on the Police presence to do the correct thing! I can tell you from driving interstate that for miles there was no police presence yet the law was being observed! Our laws are enforced but we lawless Trinidadians always challenge in court wasting judicial time and the Police time!
hustla_ambition101 wrote:Lulz, most first world countries' citizens do not wait for the proverbial big stick to hang over their heads to do the correct thing
Allergic2BunnyEars wrote:art n motion wrote:Why are we arguing? You are both right! Enforcement is the issue, however ppl need to be responsible and stop waiting on the Police presence to do the correct thing! I can tell you from driving interstate that for miles there was no police presence yet the law was being observed! Our laws are enforced but we lawless Trinidadians always challenge in court wasting judicial time and the Police time!
While you may have not see a police presence at the back of the mind the average citizen abroad knows that police presence is nearby or you are being monitored remotely. Police cars routinely look like ordinary vehicles, are hidden in different lookouts on different days, police officers have radar guns to accurately identify speed of vehicles and if you break the law the probability of getting caught is significantly higher than in Trinidad.
Not arguing but simply disagreeing with your statement that citizens abroad just behave orderly because they genuinely choose regardless of police presence.
The next time you are on the interstate and feel that there is no police presence try going over the speed limit by 25 miles. If no police catches up with you or you don't get a fine in the mail please report back here. Seriously not trying to troll. I really would be surprised there were no repercussions.
Locally I know dudes who pass the police on the highway at 200kph and accelerating with ZERO repercussions. It is human nature to prod and poke and bend the rules to see how far they can go. In Trinidad you can go way further without getting burnt by law enforcement than abroad. Simple as that.
art n motion wrote:Bunny are you implying that the only reason ppl abroad do the correct thing is due to enforcement or being caught or the response of LE? I don't think so...
urabus wrote:.https://www.facebook.com/vishal.maharaj.92hustla_ambition101 wrote:urabus wrote:One of the accidents that claimed the lives of two ppl last night or early this morning ..... Now seeing the survivor had posted on FB approximately 9 hrs ago....."free drinks at Zen Night club" and tagged himself and the two other persons who died in the accident.
link?
MG Man wrote:urabus wrote:.https://www.facebook.com/vishal.maharaj.92hustla_ambition101 wrote:urabus wrote:One of the accidents that claimed the lives of two ppl last night or early this morning ..... Now seeing the survivor had posted on FB approximately 9 hrs ago....."free drinks at Zen Night club" and tagged himself and the two other persons who died in the accident.
link?
man profile pic is a selfie.....no big loss to society
MG Man wrote:imo they need to repeal the seatbelt law
If you dumb enough to not buckle up front or back, fine....let Darwin deal with you
toyota2nr wrote:Another problem is trinis only care about themselves and immediate environment. As said before if the police was to seriously enforce all laws you would see people complaining that they're being inconvenienced. People cry out for law enforcement and then complain when they get it. I think after a while the police just threw their hands in the air and say whatever.
Accident victim joked about death 5 days before
By Gyasi Gonzales gyasi.gonzales@trinidadexpress.com
Story Created: Mar 17, 2014 at 10:10 PM ECT
Story Updated: Mar 17, 2014 at 11:32 PM ECT
FIVE days before he was killed, accident victim Vishal Maharaj hugged his mother, Sita Maharaj, and told her jokingly that he was going and die and “alluh go miss meh face”.
Maharaj, 17, a Vishnu Boys’ College graduate and his cousin, Sunil Mahadeo, 20, were both killed around 3 a.m. on Sunday when the Toyota Hilux in which they were travelling in the tray crashed.
Police said that around 3 a.m. the Hilux with eight occupants was proceeding west along the Audrey Jeffers Highway.
Five of the young men and women were in the cabin of the vehicle while the other three, Maharaj, 17, of Paul Augustus Road, Chin Chin Road, Cunupia, and Sahadeo, 20, of Second Avenue, Latchman Gardens, Cunupia, along with another man identified only as Neeval were in the tray of the pick-up vehicle.
Upon reaching the vicinity of the Peake’s One Stop Service Station, Kalim Ali, 25, the driver of the vehicle, told police he received a “bad drive” from another motorist, and while trying to avoid a collision, he lost control of the vehicle.
The vehicle slammed into the concrete barrier along the highway, before spinning out of control. Both Maharaj and Sahadeo were thrown from the tray of the pick-up and landed violently onto the roadway.
They both died on the scene while Neeval remains in stable condition at the Port of Spain General Hospital.
Friends and relatives of the two deceased were at the Forensic Science Centre in St James yesterday.
After viewing his son’s body, Maharaj’s father, Ramraj Maharaj, sat in his car and wept. His wife, Sita Maharaj, later joined him. Together they recounted the last bits of conversation they had with their son.
They said on his cellphone WhatsApp status he had posted, “The end is near...”
Ramraj said his son even made a will last week stating who his PlayStation, cellphone and laptop would go to in case he died.
He said on Sunday night he saw the will his son had typed and broadcasted via his BlackBerry Messenger Service to all of his friends.
“I don’t understand that. He was a happy youth man. He was only home whole day and if he ever wanted money for anything he would ask his mother and besides that he also wanted to go back to school,” he said.
“He told me ‘right now I takin a lil rest dey and let my daddy mind me’,” laughed Ramraj.
During the conversation with reporters, Sita joined her husband at his side.
She tearfully recalled that five days before her son had hugged her and told her, “I am going to die and we go miss him and alluh go miss this face.”
A funeral service for Maharaj takes place tomorrow at the family’s Cunupia home following which his body will be cremated at the Caroni Cremation site.
Narace Bolen, the father of Sunil Mahadeo, said the deceased was his youngest son. “He was a really, really decent boy,” he said.
St James police are continuing investigations.
http://www.trinidadexpress.com/news/Accident-victim-joked-about-death-5-days-before-250715221.html
src1983 wrote:Hilux, Vigo, Navara and ranger drivers known for speeding, have you ever seen them on the highways.....