The Topic of School Zoning in the next few years

RIPEBREDFRUIT

The Topic of School Zoning in the next few years

Postby RIPEBREDFRUIT » May 9th, 2014, 7:35 am

So government is seeking to zone kids in the upcoming years and do away with the dreded SEA.
it would be good to see what happens to all those people from south and central wanting first choice schools in port fo spain, people will have to go live in the area that they want their kids to go to school in, its done abroad so I guess it could work.

According to the minister of Edu, there are 90 govt run schools, and of those only 10 are considered to be first choice, so their plan is to revise, revamp and improve the rest of the schools to bring them up to what would be considered a first choice school.

One things for certain, Prices of Real estate in POS will once again JUMP sky high due to demand.

Swisha

Re: The Topic of School Zoning in the next few years

Postby Swisha » May 9th, 2014, 9:27 am

people from south and central does want first choice schools in POS? :|

Postby Trini Hookah » May 9th, 2014, 9:35 am

Swisha wrote:people from south and central does want first choice schools in POS? :|

Er...yes.

Swisha

Postby Swisha » May 9th, 2014, 9:35 am

lol ok then

Postby Ronaldo95163 » May 9th, 2014, 9:43 am

I taut dem dong dey does run dong Naps and pres?

Anyhw...this govt on tewts with that done wey wit SEA idea...standards of prestige schools gonna drop

pyromaniax

Postby pyromaniax » May 9th, 2014, 9:57 am

I think the zoning would be a good idea. 1st choice schools are only for "image". I went to a 1st choice school but I have all the thanks in the world for a lessons teacher who was actually the one to help me with majority of what I needed to know who taught in what was considered not a first choice school.

toyota2nr

Postby toyota2nr » May 9th, 2014, 10:51 am

Ronaldo95163 wrote:I taut dem dong dey does run dong Naps and pres?

Anyhw...this govt on tewts with that done wey wit SEA idea...standards of prestige schools gonna drop

What standards exactly do you speak of? I went to St. Anthony's in the 90's and there wasn't any standards as people believe. A great number of the students there were rich kids who had the attitude that they didn't need to learn anything or put any effort as they had it made.

The result of that is that many of them were as dumb as a bag of rocks.

:evilbat:

Postby nemisis » May 9th, 2014, 11:03 am

toyota2nr wrote:

What standards exactly do you speak of? I went to St. Anthony's in the 90's and there wasn't any standards as people believe. A great number of the students there were rich kids who had the attitude that they didn't need to learn anything or put any effort as they had it made.

The result of that is that many of them were as dumb as a bag of rocks, who had it made regardless

:evilbat:

Postby Ronaldo95163 » May 9th, 2014, 11:13 am

I was referring to schools like Naps,Pres,SAGHS,Convent etc who produce the top number of schols year after year...look at the areas they in...you think that with zoning they gonna continue getting those results??

If zoning was around in my time instead of SEA I woulda end up in a goon infested gubberment school :sick:

Postby dougla_boy » May 9th, 2014, 11:59 am

Get rid of SEA....actually teach the forkin children and stop tryn pass exams......need a school system like Arbor school in POS.....

bluestarz0

Postby bluestarz0 » May 9th, 2014, 12:39 pm

i think TG is losing it. parents are furious.
he said next May 2015, 40% and 60% only for the SEA

Ronnie203

Postby Ronnie203 » May 9th, 2014, 2:40 pm

Ronaldo95163 wrote:I was referring to schools like Naps,Pres,SAGHS,Convent etc who produce the top number of schols year after year...look at the areas they in...you think that with zoning they gonna continue getting those results??

If zoning was around in my time instead of SEA I woulda end up in a goon infested gubberment school :sick:

ent.....these people running this country mad yes
No way I supporting this zoning...

Postby zoom rader » May 9th, 2014, 2:54 pm

Don't know if you guys know that Zoning has being around for quite a while now and it's nothing new.

Swisha

Postby Swisha » May 9th, 2014, 3:56 pm

Sabriel wrote:schools in POS prestige?....ok then.

lol ent. Which is y I asked since when ppl from south and central want to send their children to schools in POS :lol:

kdere

Postby kdere » May 9th, 2014, 4:16 pm

So where are the bulk off prestige schools? I wanna hear this...

Postby teems1 » May 9th, 2014, 4:21 pm

dougla_boy wrote:

Get rid of SEA....actually teach the forkin children and stop tryn pass exams......need a school system like Arbor school in POS.....

With something like 40%-50% failure rates in CXC English and Maths in T&T, you can't blame parents for not wanting their children around underachievers.

Postby teems1 » May 9th, 2014, 4:29 pm

kdere wrote:

Sucks having to use number of CAPE scholarships as a metric, but if you have any other method of doing so, you can feel free to elaborate.

http://www.trinidadexpress.com/news/Cape-scholarship-recipients-2013-224511651.html

I'm not going to bother with doing a chart or anything, but the lion's share of scholarships did not go to the POS schools.

Postby pete » May 9th, 2014, 4:53 pm

Kids from POS schools generally have their scholarships to US universities on lock before CAPE so don't really take it on.

kdere

Postby kdere » May 9th, 2014, 5:11 pm

pete wrote:Kids from POS schools generally have their scholarships to US universities on lock before CAPE so don't really take it on.

Exactly but most you won't know this and I completely understand why. :grin:

kdere

Postby kdere » May 9th, 2014, 5:14 pm

And another thing... Most prestige schools also focus alot on extracurriculars. That's why plenty off their students leave Trinidad on music and sport scholarships. Outside the box thinking na. I think some of you need to good the meaning of 'prestige'.

Postby Ronaldo95163 » May 9th, 2014, 5:14 pm

Those "prestige" schools in POS actually rel easy to pass for

kdere

Postby kdere » May 9th, 2014, 5:35 pm

Sabriel wrote:
kdere wrote:

I wanna hear what makes them prestige...the fact that they are in 'POS'.?

Maybe if you went a prestige school you would be able to read my last post

kdere

Postby kdere » May 9th, 2014, 6:05 pm

Sabriel wrote:If that's your English. ..and you went to a prestige school..in POS...well ..what can I say?...big up yourself.

Because tuner is the place to show of your grammar skills? Grammar policing in an argument is always the actions of a desperate man.

Postby Rory Phoulorie » May 9th, 2014, 6:37 pm

kdere wrote:
pete wrote:Kids from POS schools generally have their scholarships to US universities on lock before CAPE so don't really take it on.

Exactly but most you won't know this and I completely understand why. :grin:

This is subjective and meaningless in this discussion. Do you have unbiased data to support your statement, or do you hear it from the north-western school children who love to go to moorawkus beach?

Postby kurpal_v2 » May 9th, 2014, 6:38 pm

South schooled massive inside

Postby Dizzy28 » May 9th, 2014, 7:40 pm

My 1st choice when I wrote was the closest secondary school to my house anyhows.