The Trinituner Entrepreneurship/Self Employed/ Side Hustle Thread

VJTEK

Re: starting talapia farming

Postby VJTEK » June 15th, 2014, 7:30 am

^^ Good to know. You seem to be very informed on this issue.

My skepticism when it comes to these projects comes from years of lip service from various governments over the past 15 years we have been in the industry.

Let's hope that all you mentioned comes to past and also that if governments change that it stays that way.

Postby Chimera » June 15th, 2014, 7:44 am

aidan info sounding great, hope it pans out

Postby pugboy » June 15th, 2014, 8:46 am

what is the situation with feed, that is an important cost which the farmer cannot control

in chicken industry farmers are at mercy of feed suppliers and feed suppliers end up getting into chicken business so margins are very low

Postby hustla_ambition101 » June 16th, 2014, 4:30 pm

https://twitter.com/mofp_tt/status/4786 ... 24/photo/1

Well this should be interesting, the main problem in marketing and selling locally produced tilapia will be providing "assistance", I guess hopes of increased duties on imported Chinese tilapia are down the drain

VJTEK

Postby VJTEK » June 18th, 2014, 7:28 pm

My home based tank system. Very simple setup. Fish gets to this size in 4 months.
1403134017297.jpg

Postby hustla_ambition101 » June 18th, 2014, 7:56 pm

how much you have in the tank?

Postby nervewrecker » June 18th, 2014, 9:28 pm

Gosh, now I feeling to cook this over the weekend.

Anyone has to sell? (south)

VJTEK

Postby VJTEK » June 18th, 2014, 11:52 pm

hustla_ambition101 wrote:how much you have in the tank?

About 25. The tanks are small. It's probably 4 feet diameter. These are the cut tanks from Century Eslon.

all4lee

Postby all4lee » July 15th, 2014, 11:14 pm

Ministry of Agriculture are havin training courses takin place rite now
It's free of charge you jus hav to book a spot....
It's very helpful so whoever is interested shud book dere place...
Free lunches n drinks (soft) :D

fullthrotle

Postby fullthrotle » July 16th, 2014, 7:44 am

where is the training being held?
you happen to have a contact number?

monstas23

Postby monstas23 » July 21st, 2014, 2:15 pm

nice info.... any contact number please......

all4lee

Postby all4lee » July 21st, 2014, 4:15 pm

Ph#665-9967 Sugarcane Feed Center

hong kong phooey

Postby hong kong phooey » July 22nd, 2014, 12:46 am

VJTEK wrote:My home based tank system. Very simple setup. Fish gets to this size in 4 months.

sir do you have fingerling to sell or give away
i have a little pond i cast, 600 gals and would like to give it a little try
what do you feed you fish ?

Postby Chimera » July 22nd, 2014, 9:05 am

Postby MG Man » July 22nd, 2014, 10:55 am

I have about 12 in a small concrete pond..the about the size of those in ABA's pic....more like pets tho, never cooked any of them

3DGOD

Business Ventures.

Postby 3DGOD » August 20th, 2014, 2:58 pm

2NRS what do you think are some lucrative businesses to establish?

Daran

Re: Business Ventures.

Postby Daran » August 20th, 2014, 3:40 pm

Not this thread again.

Op this was discussed ad finitum and the overwhelming answer was a ho house.

Postby desifemlove » August 20th, 2014, 3:54 pm

eh?

look around...see what people want but don't have yet...

i ent giving yuh specific ideas...i can't be bothered lol...

Postby Slartibartfast » August 20th, 2014, 4:01 pm

Daran wrote:Not this thread again.

Op this was discussed ad finitum and the overwhelming answer was a ho house.

Expanding on this idea, why not own a chain or ho houses. You can paint them all white and call it "The Pearl Necklace"

Postby shogun » August 20th, 2014, 5:34 pm

It's all about finding that niche OP. Preferably something you're knowledgeable about and the public has a demand for. If you're passionate and enthusiastic about it as well... then bonus.

tourniquet

Postby tourniquet » August 20th, 2014, 5:39 pm

a mobile ho house.
One car to have the selection of sloots, and a panel van to put the bed.
Godspeed.

Postby gt4tified » September 2nd, 2014, 8:30 am

Lease about 5 acres of agricultural land.Plant crops, both long term (cassava, peas, corn) and short-term (for operating cash). Dig a pond, get some tilapia fingerlings and in no time at all, you rolling in a nice income.

Most trinis too lazy to do this ^^ or to make the sacrifice or effort in general to start any business that involves work.

Postby RASC » September 2nd, 2014, 8:33 am

gt4tified wrote:Lease about 5 acres of agricultural land.Plant crops, both long term (cassava, peas, corn) and short-term (for operating cash). Dig a pond, get some tilapia fingerlings and in no time at all, you rolling in a nice income.

Most trinis too lazy to do this ^^ or to make the sacrifice or effort in general to start any business that involves work.

What type of crops for the short term do you recommend?

Postby gt4tified » September 2nd, 2014, 8:36 am

Carailli, sweet potatoes, eddoes, peppers etc.

Postby Chimera » September 2nd, 2014, 9:45 am

Good luck finding workers to farm that 5 acres.

Postby Slartibartfast » September 2nd, 2014, 10:02 am

ABA Trading LTD wrote:Good luck finding workers to farm that 5 acres.
gt4tified wrote:Most trinis too lazy to do this ^^ or to make the sacrifice or effort in general to start any business that involves work.
I think that's why he was implying you have to do most of the work yourself.

Postby Chimera » September 2nd, 2014, 4:51 pm

farm 5 acres by yourself?

you looking for an early grave

Postby shogun » September 2nd, 2014, 4:56 pm

Lol...

uten

Postby uten » September 2nd, 2014, 4:57 pm

ABA Trading LTD wrote:farm 5 acres by yourself?

not really, I am working on a solution to automate farms so one person can effectively run a 5 acre farm. Trying to get funding now to prove feasibility. I'm competing in a grant program for some funding, you can see the idea and vote for it here: http://bit.ly/vote4dmitri

Postby RASC » September 2nd, 2014, 7:48 pm

uten wrote:
ABA Trading LTD wrote:farm 5 acres by yourself?

not really, I am working on a solution to automate farms so one person can effectively run a 5 acre farm. Trying to get funding now to prove feasibility. I'm competing in a grant program for some funding, you can see the idea and vote for it here: http://bit.ly/vote4dmitri

ABA what you think of this initiative?