Whats considered a good salary in TnT?

Re: Whats considered a good salary in TnT?

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » August 1st, 2014, 5:45 am

zorced wrote:Save yourself the time it took me to learn this:

Your qualification just gets your resume on the short list,

your experience gets you to the interview,

your attitude gets you promoted,

your connections can get you all of the above and

your ulterior influence / outside of work relationship can trump all.

Tertiary education is only what you make of it; don't get your hopes up when you see other "successful" people unless you know their back-story.

Ok, i know this is demotivating, but its better to be prepared than just be hopeful.

This also does not apply everywhere, but I've seen it all too often.

V2NR 3.0

Postby V2NR 3.0 » August 1st, 2014, 8:57 am

SNIPER 3000 wrote:
lalloboy101 wrote:^^there are people i the company I work for that dont have degrees and work for on av. 95 to 120k a month on assignments.

Do tell more about your company...

Your company is one of them - just take a walk up stairs

Advent

Postby Advent » August 1st, 2014, 9:19 am

shake d livin wake d dead wrote:

Tertiary education is only what you make of it; don't get your hopes up when you see other "successful" people unless you know their back-story.

Ok, i know this is demotivating, but its better to be prepared than just be hopeful.

I agree with this, as more people come out of school with degrees, what separates them ? EXPERIENCE, when i realized this a few years ago i put my degree on pause to get work experience in the IT field, now that i have 5 years work experience, offers of 9000tt plus jobs are happening and my friend who grad with a Bsc cant even get a technician job

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » August 1st, 2014, 9:29 am

Slartibartfast wrote:
Nice!

I'll get on it right after I finish my current books. I'm reading the foundation series by Asimov. Wait! You into robotics so you may like his books. He is the guy that invented the word robotics in his fictional stories. I read that the scientists that started developing robotics did it because his books inspired them.

wow Asimov has some pretty impressive line of books on robots will check them out.

thanks for this!

Soul Collector

Postby Soul Collector » August 1st, 2014, 9:30 am

So very, very true. In the upcoming week, I will be one of those exact cases you are mentioning. Lets see if experience will trump "paper".

Daran

Postby Daran » August 1st, 2014, 12:23 pm

Actually it's not experience alone.

It's a can do attitude and eagerness that gets you liked and promoted.

With this attitude, I've seen persons with a BSc + experience far far out perform more educated and experienced persons in the same organization. Do favors, help people outside your immediate department, network effectively, never ask favors and always remain humble and visible.

I've seen early 30s persons make 50k to 100k a month just because the higher ups had confidence in them.

Never listen to cynical people who hate on upper management. Trust me.

Soul Collector

Postby Soul Collector » August 1st, 2014, 12:31 pm

With the right attitude and work ethic you can achieve a helluva lot. You said it really well there.

Thing is, not all places will be grateful for all the extra work you do. No matter how much effort you put in and favours you do some people will never acknowledge it. They will smile and say yeah good job but then it's always some BS at the end of the day.

I'm talking from my own experience in my current job. I do things that's not even asked and provide solutions to problems that we have but they don't even care, or a better way to put it is, they don't even appreciate it. And you can see from my last post, that I am currently looking for a place who appreciates and realizes what I bring to the table.

Postby S_2NR » August 1st, 2014, 12:47 pm

This is depressing. Bring back the days when just having a degree was good enough please

Postby Slartibartfast » August 1st, 2014, 1:01 pm

EFFECTIC DESIGNS wrote:wow Asimov has some pretty impressive line of books on robots will check them out.

thanks for this!
Any time bro. He is the guy that invented the three laws of robotics that you heard of in iRobot... in fact, iRobot is a short story of his. He also wrote Bicentenial Man as one of his longer short stories. It was like the movie without all the romance and relationships that slowed it down.

His foundation series however is a very interesting and very long read. I suggest reading it in between reading other books because it may get monotonous reading all of them back to back.

Quoted this for truth... damn, I could not have said this better myself

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » August 1st, 2014, 1:15 pm

^ Bicentenial Man was a truly all time great I must say.

Will definitely get his foundation series.

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » August 1st, 2014, 7:28 pm

S_2NR wrote:

This is depressing. Bring back the days when just having a degree was good enough please

continue dreaming

eurotuner

Postby eurotuner » August 1st, 2014, 8:03 pm

Interesting to see this thread, my co worker makes 20k+(private work) and beggin me for gyas morney this week, steupes. Every day she buys breakfast(marias) and lunch(from whatever place that's never cheap) always at the best resturants, has a 5k car lease and an 8k home rental. Sum young ppl today have not grasp the concept of saving, I told her to save, she says it's hard :|

Postby nemisis » August 1st, 2014, 8:24 pm

eurotuner wrote:Interesting to see this thread, my co worker makes 20k+(private work) and beggin me for gyas morney this week, steupes. Every day she buys breakfast(marias) and lunch(from whatever place that's never cheap) always at the best resturants, has a 5k car lease and an 8k home rental. Sum young ppl today have not grasp the concept of saving, I told her to save, she says it's hard :|
you brush her before giving the gas money right?

eurotuner

Postby eurotuner » August 1st, 2014, 8:49 pm

nemisis wrote:
eurotuner wrote:Interesting to see this thread, my co worker makes 20k+(private work) and beggin me for gyas morney this week, steupes. Every day she buys breakfast(marias) and lunch(from whatever place that's never cheap) always at the best resturants, has a 5k car lease and an 8k home rental. Sum young ppl today have not grasp the concept of saving, I told her to save, she says it's hard :|

She gots no arse.....so that's a pass for me + no gas $$$ for her

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » August 1st, 2014, 9:07 pm

8k rental??? she ah kinda cyat or wa??? a mortgage doh even be so much.

Postby Slartibartfast » August 1st, 2014, 9:52 pm

eurotuner wrote:
nemisis wrote:

She gots no arse.....so that's a pass for me + no gas $$$ for her

Ahhh yes, a fellow a$$ connoisseur... a connasseur is the proper term I believe

Never forget the motto
She get's squat
If her booty's flat

zorced

Postby zorced » August 1st, 2014, 11:37 pm

Daran wrote:Actually it's not experience alone.

It's a can do attitude and eagerness that gets you liked and promoted.

With this attitude, I've seen persons with a BSc + experience far far out perform more educated and experienced persons in the same organization. Do favors, help people outside your immediate department, network effectively, never ask favors and always remain humble and visible.

I've seen early 30s persons make 50k to 100k a month just because the higher ups had confidence in them.

Never listen to cynical people who hate on upper management. Trust me.

So much truths said here.

eurotuner

Postby eurotuner » August 2nd, 2014, 12:37 am

shake d livin wake d dead wrote:8k rental??? she ah kinda cyat or wa??? a mortgage doh even be so much.

You wont imagine the kinda rent money some people throw out in Trinidad, you will
fall into cardiac arrest, trust me.

Postby S_2NR » August 2nd, 2014, 2:24 am

shake d livin wake d dead wrote:8k rental??? she ah kinda cyat or wa??? a mortgage doh even be so much.

location location location

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » August 2nd, 2014, 7:15 am

eurotuner wrote:

You wont imagine the kinda rent money some people throw out in Trinidad, you will

I still in shock...I not paying no 8k as rent...I went to TTMF for info regarding a mortgage...a loan of 1.6mil carried me to about $4500 per month..I sure when I finish pay it the house is mine..

but back to your friend,20k + wa company is that :D

PapaC

Postby PapaC » August 2nd, 2014, 10:27 am

shake d livin wake d dead wrote:
eurotuner wrote:

I still in shock...I not paying no 8k as rent...I went to TTMF for info regarding a mortgage...a loan of 1.6mil carried me to about $4500 per month..I sure when I finish pay it the house is mine..

but back to your friend,20k + wa company is that :D

That rate real cheap...
Most people can't make the jump because of the up front payment though.

Postby pete » August 2nd, 2014, 2:06 pm

That loan is with a down payment of 600k?

Postby janfar » August 2nd, 2014, 3:05 pm

Same thing I wondering... But this is tuner .. Most ppl pull facts out of their rectums just for post count sake.

eurotuner

Postby eurotuner » August 2nd, 2014, 3:53 pm

Sounded too good to be true :(
I'd get a mortgage next week if it was $4,500 monthly :lol: :lol:

Soul Collector

Postby Soul Collector » August 2nd, 2014, 4:30 pm

Mortgages can be as low as $2100 per month. Of course that's after a downpayment. It's how expensive you looking to go.

Jeremy Mohd

Postby Jeremy Mohd » August 2nd, 2014, 4:37 pm

For 4500 p/month for 1.6 million. LOLL.

Would love to see that maths.
That payment is more like 8000 if that good.

On what's a good salary I would agree with others that 15K gross is comfortable.

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » August 2nd, 2014, 7:56 pm

pete wrote:That loan is with a down payment of 600k?

$550k,30 year mortgage.

I doh see the big issue,its just how you budget not spend your money wild wild...

when I bought the land,it cost 250k..I made a down payment of 50k and got 2k a month for 10 years(loan amount being 200k)...I plan on paying out for that within 3 years...

dreamyn

Postby dreamyn » August 3rd, 2014, 11:05 pm

bruh... u could be working for 30k a month and still get horn left,right and center... as long as u happy and living comfortable... forget what other ppl working for jed

eurotuner

Postby eurotuner » August 3rd, 2014, 11:54 pm

Saw a old payslip (over 10 years ago) where in my first job i made $1700.00 wow
Good ole old days when i had ZERO bills :lol:

Soul Collector

Postby Soul Collector » August 4th, 2014, 5:54 am

dreamyn wrote:... as long as u happy and living comfortable... forget what other ppl working for jed

This. Stop comparing yourselves to other ppl and what they have or at least appear to have.