Sound Systems Discussion, please read first post

Would you support a local P.A. System / DJ Forum???

Yes
88%
No
12%

Total votes: 167

sr20 sleeper

Re: P.A. Systems, DJ Systems, Pro audio men.....

Postby sr20 sleeper » July 7th, 2014, 2:05 pm

Anyone has a Gemini cdmp 3650, gemini cdmp6000 or pioneer ddj sb to sell?
pm me or call me at 301-5325 .... i'm hardly online.
I also have an sl1 box with all accessories for sale ..

intelMAX

Postby intelMAX » July 7th, 2014, 2:13 pm

^ Check Gopauls in Sando or Steves in San Juan - for the DDJ-SB

Postby X_Factor » July 8th, 2014, 3:10 pm

anyone seen the crown xls selling locally?

silent_riot

Postby silent_riot » July 8th, 2014, 3:23 pm

CET has them.

sr20 sleeper

Postby sr20 sleeper » July 24th, 2014, 4:08 pm

Anyone wanna share the enclosure plans for the EAW KF850? :)

certified_dealer

Postby certified_dealer » July 24th, 2014, 4:27 pm

sr20 sleeper wrote:Anyone wanna share the enclosure plans for the EAW KF850? :)

Postby gt4tified » July 24th, 2014, 5:10 pm

^^ppl still making them big heavy ting? lol

For me, its go active or go home yes. :)

DJ

Postby DJ » July 25th, 2014, 7:56 am

gt4tified wrote:^^ppl still making them big heavy ting? lol

That is an ignorant and inconsiderate statement.

If one can afford 'active' one will invest in active, but in the mean time for us poor men, we will stay within the reach of what we can afford. And I can tell you that I send home some active men already with my non active system......

D.S.S

Postby D.S.S » July 25th, 2014, 8:33 am

DJ wrote:

If one can afford 'active' one will invest in active, but in the mean time for us poor men, we will stay within the reach of what we can afford. And I can tell you that I send home some active men already with my non active system......

Kasey

Postby Kasey » July 25th, 2014, 9:50 pm

D.S.S wrote:
DJ wrote:

Postby gt4tified » July 25th, 2014, 11:14 pm

Waw...look at chest burn! Lol

DJ, before yuh jump off dat cliff of assumption, answer me this....what does active have to do with affordability? Isn't it an investment either way? But I'm sure you already know that, right?

Actually, I think its the other way around and that one has to be better off to afford building boxes, given the cost of materials nowadays, sourcing the correct drivers and matching it to amplifiers, transport etc.

My statement was based on the fact that I downsized years ago from big heavy boxes, and then went to a small active system for my own reasons. It had nothing to do with affordability. I am not here boasting that what I have is better than anybody's, I was merely alluding to the size of boxes, based on my personal experience. Hence the link between my first and second statements....i was expressing an opinion....MY opinion, detailing MY preference. If you (or anyone else) still thinks that makes me ignorant and inconsiderate, no problem, free country. But I'm sure you already knew that too, right?

Kasey

Postby Kasey » July 26th, 2014, 7:29 am

Chest burn? LOL. Na bruh, just agreement.

Postby gt4tified » July 26th, 2014, 10:12 am

Kasey wrote:Chest burn? LOL. Na bruh, just agreement.

Daz all you have to say? How disappointing......bruh. :|

Kasey

Postby Kasey » July 27th, 2014, 1:39 pm

gt4tified wrote:
Kasey wrote:Chest burn? LOL. Na bruh, just agreement.

Daz all you have to say? How disappointing......bruh. :|

The man said it all. I cannot afford an active system that louder, and of better quality than my EAW set, talk done. And disappointing you is the least of my concerns bruh. I just try and give my opinion on what I think and not look down, or appear to look down on people who I think I am better of than. Again, I never mean to offend anyone.

certified_dealer

Postby certified_dealer » July 29th, 2014, 12:58 am

So anyone have the plans??

westaudio

Postby westaudio » July 29th, 2014, 3:09 am

ImageUploadedByTriniTuner1406617718.509623.jpg
small but load

DJ

Postby DJ » July 29th, 2014, 9:05 am

westaudio wrote: small but load

Well I can see the load, but is it loud? LOL. Kidding bro.

Dem kilomax does perform, and I find they very affordable too. Especially for men who cannot afford 'active'.

DJ

Postby DJ » July 29th, 2014, 9:08 am

certified_dealer wrote:So anyone have the plans??

Dude, the EAW KF850 is currently a propreitary production line enclosure, that is NOT available for duplication.

Your best bet is to go measure your pardner EAW top and draw your own diagram.

rafman

Postby rafman » August 4th, 2014, 2:10 pm

Anyone ever used (or using) the Gemini CNTRL 7?
Online reviews list a couple problems...but still rate it as good value for money.
Your thoughts?

marvin23

Postby marvin23 » August 4th, 2014, 2:35 pm

rafman wrote:Anyone ever used (or using) the Gemini CNTRL 7?
Online reviews list a couple problems...but still rate it as good value for money.
Your thoughts?

I bought one new.....and gave it away a few months later...
It is an average piece of equipment imho...definitely for personal home entertainment....i wouldn't recommend it for serious professional use.
I found it unreliable (even for personal use)
I used it with a brand new hp laptop, configured it properly, updated and upgraded my laptop accordingly..(check google or virtual DJ website for Info)...and the controller would still cut off and freeze virtual DJ software and laptop.
The USB cord supplied never fitted properly behind my controller...even when I bought other cords...it always felt like it would slip out...

Overall, my review is that its a basic controller, even though the price may be enticing, its flaws frustrated me...a bit too unreliable to be honest.

My recommendations: there are some entry level pioneer (the best..) and numark controllers that may put the Gemini to shame...just be prepared to pay more..
If you really have your eyes set on the Gemini, make sure your laptop is optimized for that purpose...and hope you are more fortunate than me..
The only Gemini products I may consider are the cdj 700 or the camp 7000...but I need to do more research on them....hope this helps pal..

marvin23

Postby marvin23 » August 4th, 2014, 2:36 pm

rafman wrote:Anyone ever used (or using) the Gemini CNTRL 7?
Your thoughts?

I bought one new.....and gave it away a few months later...
It is an average piece of equipment imho...definitely for personal home entertainment....i wouldn't recommend it for serious professional use.
I found it unreliable (even for personal use)
I used it with a brand new hp laptop, configured it properly, updated and upgraded my laptop accordingly..(check google or virtual DJ website for Info)...and the controller would still cut off and freeze virtual DJ software and laptop.
The USB cord supplied never fitted properly behind my controller...even when I bought other cords...it always felt like it would slip out...

Overall, my review is that its a basic controller, even though the price may be enticing, its flaws frustrated me...a bit too unreliable to be honest.

My recommendations: there are some entry level pioneer (the best..) and numark controllers that may put the Gemini to shame...just be prepared to pay more..
If you really have your eyes set on the Gemini, make sure your laptop is optimized for that purpose...and hope you are more fortunate than me..
The only Gemini products I may consider are the cdj 700 or the camp 7000...but I need to do more research on them....hope this helps pal..

rafman

Postby rafman » August 4th, 2014, 8:15 pm

Great!!! That's exactly the review I needed.
I have a Pioneer DDJ SB, but that cannot be used with VDJ (out of the box).

Thanks man.

Postby X_Factor » August 4th, 2014, 10:09 pm

whats the price for a pair of those cdj 850's now?

marvin23

Postby marvin23 » August 6th, 2014, 10:26 pm

I glimpsed some cdj 850s for sale in the miscellaneous section here.....i think they were used though.....not sure of the prices new or otherwise....

bir123

Postby bir123 » September 12th, 2014, 9:53 pm

Do any of you guys have experience with the Yorkville LS200p.

Postby ruffneck_12 » September 12th, 2014, 11:52 pm

Anybody ever tried out the 21" 18 sounds sub from steves electronics?

westaudio

Postby westaudio » September 13th, 2014, 12:21 am

Boy i love them need to buy 2 more and i good

bir123

Postby bir123 » September 13th, 2014, 4:16 pm

Are you talking bout the LS200P

Postby SmokeyGTi » October 10th, 2014, 10:02 am

west audio what you pushing them kilomaxx with?

also are the boxes scoops?

westaudio

Postby westaudio » October 10th, 2014, 10:15 am

Yes 18s in scoops and am useing a Wharfedale Pro MP1800 but need more for them but selling them all