HOW IS T&T'S ECONOMY FEARING?

Re: HOW IS T&T'S ECONOMY FEARING?

Postby pete » August 25th, 2014, 8:37 am

The Dollar for Dollar system did not PENALIZE you for having enough money, it made everyone pay the same amount unless you really couldn't afford it at all, in which case they paid the full tuition.

I've benefited from both D4D and Gate and really I was more focused on school when I knew my parents were paying part of the tuition.

kaylex

Postby kaylex » August 25th, 2014, 11:12 am

this^

Postby Redman » August 25th, 2014, 11:15 am

Fair isnt the issue-

If it was set up as a SOCIAL program then its a targeted program for those without the means.

The subsidy is a general benefit-not a social thing.

And frankly if you are in a position to afford it then why not pay your way???

As a matter of principle a multimillionaire shouldn't be taking advantage of any social programs.

Postby desifemlove » August 25th, 2014, 11:16 am

Eh? GATE has restrictions...yuh can only sit 3 attempts wit GATE.

Doh see why people tink poor people cyah get no education lolol.....And they wanna keep crime low hehe..

kaylex

Postby kaylex » August 25th, 2014, 11:27 am

revolving loans is the way everyone who wants to access tertiary education could get.. and nothing wrong with that..
we hadda stop the freeness everywhere..
this welfare state business creates more dependency than anything

kjaglal76v2

Postby kjaglal76v2 » August 25th, 2014, 12:03 pm

GATE wud nvr get touched

why?

because besides benefittin students, it also benefits the owners of private institution like SAMS, SBCS etc & its these owner who help with party finance

rabiesebola

Postby rabiesebola » August 25th, 2014, 2:41 pm

i say remove the gas subsidy and impose higher taxes on oil companies. the rich live to fabulous a lifestyle so let em sustain the country some more and buy a prado instead of a range rover. gate will promote the importance of education but i believe it needs to be regulated by more stringent pass levels. these 2 factors in my opinion will promote economic growth.

Postby Allergic2BunnyEars » August 25th, 2014, 2:45 pm

rabiesebola wrote:i say remove the gas subsidy and impose higher taxes on oil companies. the rich live to fabulous a lifestyle so let em sustain the country some more and buy a prado instead of a range rover. gate will promote the importance of education but i believe it needs to be regulated by more stringent pass levels. these 2 factors in my opinion will promote economic growth.

Gas companies may well decide to move their business elsewhere if taxes are raised on them. Just to get "successful" bid rounds for offshore exploration the GORTT had to change up the tax scheme to encourage companies to come in the first place after years of slow activity. Also removal of subsidy without an alternative means of cheap transport will not just affect the rich but more-so those who have limited income already.

Postby Redman » August 25th, 2014, 2:47 pm

rabiesebola wrote:i say remove the gas subsidy and impose higher taxes on oil companies. the rich live to fabulous a lifestyle so let em sustain the country some more and buy a prado instead of a range rover. gate will promote the importance of education but i believe it needs to be regulated by more stringent pass levels. these 2 factors in my opinion will promote economic growth.

Yes this makes sense.
Penalize one of the few sectors that working.
Make us less competitive internationally to attract new investment

rabiesebola

Postby rabiesebola » August 26th, 2014, 11:38 am

redman rememeber we have the pitch lake which is constantly expanding so what if we become less competitive? we need to rely less and less on oil and gas if we expect the economy to really thrive

moving

Postby moving » August 26th, 2014, 3:31 pm

DIS is a Simple fix.. STOP corruption by Ceasing assets and den hang dem!!!!

the country will have plenty money after

Postby Redman » August 26th, 2014, 3:37 pm

rabiesebola wrote:redman rememeber we have the pitch lake which is constantly expanding so what if we become less competitive? we need to rely less and less on oil and gas if we expect the economy to really thrive

you eh fakin serious.

Crescendo Dîáz

Postby Crescendo Dîáz » August 27th, 2014, 11:43 am

Lots of e-conomiss here

abducted

T&T Economy not looking good for 2019, Central Bank says TT economy slowing down

Postby abducted » December 29th, 2018, 2:33 pm

Primary economic indicators are all down, the Central Bank said yesterday in its quarterly monetary policy announcement, as growth has slackened and inflation remains “sluggish” because of weak domestic demand.

After a bump in economic activity late last year and into the first half of 2018, spurred by BPTT’s Juniper and other energy projects coming on stream, growth has slowed, the bank said.

Following a “positive out turn in the first half of 2018,” the bank said production indicators in the third quarter showed declines. The year-on-year increase in natural gas production waned and several natural gas facilities shut down for maintenance within that three-month period. Crude oil production slipped and methanol output was also down because of repair work to plants.

The bank also said that preliminary non-energy indicators were also lower in the third quarter for 2018 compared to the same period last year, particularly construction and distribution.

While 2018 was not the best year in our post-independence growth performance, it was important because the economy returned to real gross domestic product growth after several years of negative, he said. But, he said, “The economy is dragging along and the state will have to find novel ways to revitalise it moving forward since the same strategies aren’t working. Repeatedly (advisers) have encouraged the state to move away from a narrow focus on gas-led growth to a broader based, sounder platform that is more sustainable. There are flashes of such efforts here and there and certainly the removal of the fuel subsidy is a sign of a government willing and able to make changes.”

https://newsday.co.tt/2018/12/29/tough-new-year/

vaiostation

Re: T&T Economy not looking good for 2019, Central Bank says TT economy slowing down

Postby vaiostation » December 29th, 2018, 2:47 pm

I am soo shocked!!!
So taxing and firing people not working???

airuma

Re: T&T Economy not looking good for 2019, Central Bank says TT economy slowing down

Postby airuma » December 29th, 2018, 2:50 pm

I ain't no economist but that article seems like hogwash to me.

Postby matr1x » December 29th, 2018, 3:21 pm

Its possible to slow down from a dead stop?

Postby bluefete » December 29th, 2018, 3:28 pm

Really? What is the current price of West Texas Intermediate oil?

airuma wrote:I ain't no economist but that article seems like hogwash to me.

l33t2

Postby l33t2 » December 29th, 2018, 3:38 pm

Lol wot? U live Trinidad? This has been the most dead Christmas season ever. Ask any businessman.

neilsingh100

Postby neilsingh100 » December 29th, 2018, 4:10 pm

l33t2 wrote:

Lol wot? U live Trinidad? This has been the most dead Christmas season ever. Ask any businessman.
Next year not going to be any better but government needs to continue with restructuring the economy. Due to the lack of natural gas and the fact upstream companies not finding any new sources that economically viable to produce we need to rethink how the gas we have left is used so it would not surprise me if we scale back on LNG exports over the next few years which will lead to further declines in the economy.

airuma

Postby airuma » December 29th, 2018, 5:17 pm

l33t2 wrote:

I agree with the "not looking good for 2019" part, the last part where "real gross domestic product growth" and linking removal of fuel subsidy to a government willing and able to make change are what bothers me.

Cantmis

Postby Cantmis » December 29th, 2018, 5:46 pm

Only if stuart agrees

T&T Economy not looking good for 2019, Central Bank says TT economy slowing down

Postby MaxPower » December 29th, 2018, 5:54 pm

And allyuh really feel 2019 Carnival slowing down?

antlind

Postby antlind » December 29th, 2018, 5:58 pm

The only thing that’s going to show positive growth in 2019 is crime. Sad but true.

l33t2

Postby l33t2 » December 29th, 2018, 6:22 pm

MaxPower wrote:And allyuh really feel 2019 Carnival slowing down?

Nah as long as they have tusty men, girl could afford ticket to go fete.

pjfred

Postby pjfred » December 29th, 2018, 6:22 pm

Kamla cause all ah this!
The next thing all yuh go say is black man cyah run nothing.

ProtonPowder

Postby ProtonPowder » December 29th, 2018, 6:27 pm

MaxPower wrote:And allyuh really feel 2019 Carnival slowing down?

as long as island finance open and the credit unions giving character loans at 18% apr, carnival eh going nowhere

Postby paid_influencer » December 29th, 2018, 6:52 pm

"we jammin still" goh b pnm campaign song :drinking:
Last edited by paid_influencer on December 29th, 2018, 6:56 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » December 29th, 2018, 6:55 pm

And men still spending thousands on fireworks, PDU moving strong....and well Paula said all is well

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » December 29th, 2018, 7:01 pm

Just want to point out that other countries are making billions on legalized marijuana.

Unfortunately for us the dunce PNM thinks that we can live on oil forever. They doh want to try anything new, but no surprise if you look at who is the Finance Minister and the Prime Minister. Kings of Dotishness flock together