Re: Wayne Kublalsingh Hunger Strike...

Postby 3stagevtec » September 19th, 2014, 4:07 pm

He eh dead yet...

toyota_lover

Postby toyota_lover » September 19th, 2014, 4:19 pm

Last edited by toyota_lover on September 19th, 2014, 4:21 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Postby janfar » September 19th, 2014, 4:20 pm

Fack he.

Postby desifemlove » September 19th, 2014, 4:21 pm

hmm.... de man gone mad...

How many people actually have empathy for the Movement? Seriously?

People in Tobago, West, North, Central and the south-east like Mayaro ent affected. I bet plenty people in Arima, 'Puna, Town, Chaguanas and Couva looking forward to quicker trips to Debe for doubles or Icacos for a lime......

Dr. Kublalsingh best not waist is his life in vain...or somehow survive and get arrested and made an example of by UNC...

Postby Trini Hookah » September 19th, 2014, 5:56 pm

Sabriel wrote:
desifemlove wrote:Dr. Kublalsingh best not waist is his life in vain......

:drinking:

I say carnival come early.

Who need enemy

Postby Who need enemy » September 19th, 2014, 6:07 pm

He ent have or know anything better to do or wah

Postby ruffneck_12 » September 19th, 2014, 6:18 pm

I feel he not gonna survive this rounds :(

Unless he was on a food binge before hand, chugging protein shakes and coconut oil by the gallon

Postby janfar » September 19th, 2014, 6:32 pm

Nah man... i sure his 'stimulating pool swims' and secret back seat doubles will keep him alive.

Make musbe does sneak a Snickers in the morning before coming out he car.

Postby 3stagevtec » September 19th, 2014, 6:37 pm

Why people caring about him beyond me.. There are so much other individuals that deserve recognition for their work, many of them having a greater impact on the community while working quietly in the background. The media sensationalizing the wrong people.

No Mediacore

Postby No Mediacore » September 19th, 2014, 6:53 pm

The media ARE the wrong ppl, only gutter leaves need to get caught in that mesh

Postby K74T » September 19th, 2014, 7:59 pm

janfar wrote:Fack he.

Greater words have never been said. 8-)

Postby shogun » September 19th, 2014, 9:22 pm

janfar wrote:secret back seat doubles

Kubs geh accused of le covert doubles there?. :lol:

Postby DVSTT » September 19th, 2014, 10:27 pm

K74T wrote:
janfar wrote:Fack he.

Greater words have never been said. 8-)

Lololol

Postby De Dragon » September 19th, 2014, 10:44 pm

Kubs hadda realize that in dis 9 day wonder nation, he barking up de wrong tree trying to get sympathy or create a movement to oppose the highway.

Postby Chimera » September 19th, 2014, 11:02 pm

He will get international recognition if he dies because of the strike tho. But is there really any risk? Once he get to the point where he faints from starvation, ent dey gonna iv him

shottah_crew

Postby shottah_crew » September 19th, 2014, 11:18 pm

Why a hunger strike tho? Kinda extreme and at this point, I can see him dying and highway still building.

Yuh want court case, well let the court handle it.

Postby DVSTT » September 19th, 2014, 11:26 pm

ABA Trading LTD wrote:He will get international recognition if he dies because of the strike tho. But is there really any risk? Once he get to the point where he faints from starvation, ent dey gonna iv him

Yup, and whisk him off to private health care

Postby janfar » September 20th, 2014, 12:00 am

I won’t back down
Kublalsingh: PM must speak to me...

By \\\\\ Kim Boodram
Story Created: Sep 19, 2014 at 11:29 PM ECT
Story Updated: Sep 19, 2014 at 11:29 PM ECT
MOMENTS after delivering a letter in response to Prime Minister Kamla Persad-Bissessar’s letter to him, activist Dr Wayne Kublalsingh said yesterday he felt the PM had “become a metaphor for the highway” in her fixed approach to the concerns of the people.
Kublalsingh’s letter is a response to one written by Persad-Bissessar to him, made public on Wednesday and hand-delivered to him on Thursday morning, where she stated that her Government will not “be held to ransom” by his choice to endanger his life with another hunger strike.
Persad-Bissessar called on Kublalsingh to wait on the decision of the court, where the Highway Re-Route Movement (HRM) has charged the State with breaching the constitutional rights of its members.
In his reply, Kublalsingh thanked Persad-Bissessar for her letter and said: “The only victory possible in this matter is for you to agree to put on hold the questioned segment of highway, and agree to review it.”
The former University of the West Indies (UWI) lecturer yesterday carried out day three of his second hunger strike outside the Office of the Prime Minister (OPM) in St Clair, the first having been staged in November 2012 for 21 days at the same site, to protest the Debe to Mon Desir segment of the Solomon Hochoy Highway extension to Point Fortin Highway.
Just before noon, he left the make-shift camp that he and members of the HRM have occupied off and on for the past two years, to be ushered into the OPM where he delivered his own letter to the PM via the Engagements Adviser to the Prime Minister, Lisa Ghany.
Speaking to the media afterwards, he emphasised previous statements that he will not desist until the Prime Minister agrees to dialogue with the HRM and other concerned parties and the appropriate scientific pundits.
He drew again on the report of the Highway Review Committee (HRC), commissioned by Persad-Bissessar and headed by Dr James Armstrong, which recommended that Government halt the contentious part of the highway to conduct much-needed social, economic and ecological reviews.
He said Persad-Bissessar’s inflexible response was inappropriate in dealing with a complicated social and ecological situation and he was still hoping that she agrees to dialogue.
Aside from speaking with him or the HRM, Kublalsingh said the Prime Minister should at this time speak for the sake of the nation.
Kublalsingh still bears the ill effects of his first hunger strike, which saw him emaciated and unable to stand on his own at its end.
He said while he hopes to emerge from this round with his health at least intact, he will not go back on his plan to abstain from food and water, and all fluids, until the Prime Minister gives her word that meaningful dialogue can take place.
The first hunger strike ended when Persad-Bissessar pulled together the HRC, following pleas from various quarters for her intervention as Kublalsingh’s health faded.
The activist, accompanied yesterday by a contingent of HRM members and his mother Vilma Kublalsingh, said the camp will not be set up outside the OPM this weekend as previously planned and he will spend the time resting.
“I plan to take many baths and if possible, visit the sea,” Kublalsingh said.

Asked how he planned to resist taking a sip of water as he bathed, Kublalsingh said:
“Once you have made up your mind, food and water don’t mean anything.”

kublalsingh’s response to pm’s letter

Text of the letter sent to Prime Minister Kamla Persad-Bissessar yestersay by environmental activist Dr Wayne Kublalsingh:

September 19, 2014

Honourable Mrs Kamla Persad-Bissessar MP
Prime Minister of Trinidad and Tobago
Office of the Prime Minister
13-15 St Clair Avenue
St Clair

Dear Mrs Kamla Persad-Bissessar,

Thanks for your letter to me on September 18, 2014 which was released into the public domain; and then a copy handed to me by Mr Francis Joseph yesterday at the site of our 200-day vigil outside the Office of the Prime Minister. I thank you for your prayers and good wishes.
Please feel assured that the following facts are accurate.
1. On the matter of the Highway Re-Route Movement’s invocation of court proceedings and the matter being currently before the court:—
When you, Honourable Prime Minister, agreed to stop the Debe to Mon Desir highway and do a review, the matter was not yet before the court. This promise was given on March 16, 2012. It was only after this promise was breached and the Government undertook to demolish our camp at Debe that legal actions began on August 3, 2012, four months after waiting for you to abide by your promise, and one month after the destruction of our camp.
Our advocacy camp was erected legally, as I and members of the HRM were granted permission by the chief officer at NAMDEVCO, Debe, to construct the camp. The matter was invoked in courts only after you breached your promise and our camp was illegally destroyed.
When the Armstrong process ensued during a hunger strike in November and December 2012—a process in which your Government signed a document agreeing to the process, fully participating in it, submitting volumes of data and records, sending witnesses, paying close to one million dollars for it—the matter was before the courts. The Government’s hands were not then tied by the courts.
You and your Government have ignored the findings of the independent Armstrong Committee which reiterates your statement to put on hold and review the Debe to Mon Desir highway.
The above facts suggest that, whether the matter is in court or out of court, you are prepared to act illegally, breach promise, and ignore the findings of science.

2. On the matter of consensus on the need for the Debe to Mon Desir highway: —
There is no scientific finding on how many persons desire the Debe to Mon Desir Highway. The scientific finding is that in view of the considerable risks involved and a flawed CEC process, work on this highway ought not to proceed until a review is done; this review should comprise, among other studies, a cost benefit analysis, a social impact analysis and a hydrological study.
The view of the HRM is the majority desires connectivity which may or may not involve a highway, and should certainly involve a deep consideration of the superiority of connector roads, by-passes, auxiliary roads, feeder roads for densely populated areas and a richly endowed social, economic and ecological district.

3. On the claim of superiority of authority on the highway issue:—
(“You claim to lead a Highway Re-Route Movement, I lead Trinidad and Tobago”.)
We are no doubt astounded at your political victories of 2010, when a majority of our citizens brought you into political office. Your victory was resounding and beautiful to behold. But, with deep respect, authority derives from the voicing of truth, and not alone from political office. We scarcely believe that the revered Mahatma Mohandas Gandhi held less authority than the Viceroy over India or indeed the first Prime Minister of India in the first half of the 20th century.
Authority also derives from science and rationality. The voice of Dr James Armstrong and nineteen scientists and experts are not inferior to those of political office holders on this matter. I recommend you to the autobiography of Gandhi, My Experiments With Truth, and the Armstrong Report, as guiding voices on this matter.
Finally, Madame Prime Minister, we implore you to not shut the doors of diplomacy and rationality. The only victory possible in this matter is for you to agree to put on hold the questioned segment of highway, and agree to review it.
There are experts of eminence willing to sit with your Government to decide on the terms of this review.

Sincerely
Wayne Kublalsingh
The Highway Re-Route Movement

http://www.trinidadexpress.com/news/I-w ... 58241.html

This man suffering from delusions of grandeur or something yes.

Postby De Dragon » September 20th, 2014, 12:04 am

^^ Fast like it affecting he brains arready.

shottah_crew

Postby shottah_crew » September 20th, 2014, 1:52 am

So Kubs on par with Ghandi now yes....

Nissian for life

Postby Nissian for life » September 20th, 2014, 2:19 am

Ok I'm not the only one who knows that 3-4 days no water = Sure/Absolute/unadulterated Death

Postby kurpal_v2 » September 20th, 2014, 5:00 am

Kubs goh done dem out

Postby rspann » September 20th, 2014, 7:18 am

Nissian for life wrote:Ok I'm not the only one who knows that 3-4 days no water = Sure/Absolute/unadulterated Death

Truth.

rambo22

Postby rambo22 » September 20th, 2014, 7:20 am

Kubs you need a bottle of Gramoxone to show them how its done.........

Soul Collector

Postby Soul Collector » September 20th, 2014, 8:41 am

3stagevtec wrote:Why people caring about him beyond me.. There are so much other individuals that deserve recognition for their work, many of them having a greater impact on the community while working quietly in the background. The media sensationalizing the wrong people.

That right there is already the wrong way of thinking. Stop thinking about the MAN, Wayne. Instead just leave behind all the negativity surrounding him and look at what he is trying to bring light to. His message is the only important thing as with any of those other activists and others like you mentioned in your post.

So, about the transparency and making informed decisions with the taxpayer's money, the welfare of ppl who are under represented, whether it be a few or many, the (possible) environmental impacts it could have, not following the guidelines set out by the Armstrong report. Why commission the report anyway if you weren't going to stop work or if work is already underway there? This is probably why he has taken this drastic action again. You see how much the media "sensationalizing" it? Some of the articles I saw were very good as opposed to how much of that I saw back when he did the 1st strike. Look at yesterday's express editorial column, that was a great article.

Like the express editorial said, I wish he could go about it in a different way instead now and pointed out some good things, unlike idiots just arguing about Wayne, and if he eating a doubles or wishing death upon him etc. Thinking like that isn't going to solve anything. Bombing ppl won't solve anything. If that is the man's purpose and he is driven to do what he does so passionately unlike alot of these same "9 day trinidadians(?)" as someone else said, who argue about something for 2 weeks and then back to normal and didn't choose to do anything to effect change. Like him or not, as many ppl are saying now, he is a rare person, even more so, a rare Trinidadian.

That's just my take on it of course. I can't change ppl's minds about him. I can just say what I feel.

Postby sMASH » September 20th, 2014, 9:02 am

What does the Armstrong report has that kams does not want to read it?
He only major problem that any inequality has is the mondesir section.
It too have concerns about that because it passes through lowlying and swamp land most of through time.
If sections aren't drained properly they would be flooded.
Worse to me is that the present road ways in those areas do not hold up well at all. So I think that there would be road repair works goin on consistently.
Because is swamp land, that section would be easy to shift and sink.

Postby Redman » September 20th, 2014, 9:14 am

The hway is a great idea-but if it is poorly thought out or executed-the same people here that want it done and bad talking WK would be the ones that stuck in the floods and or traffic when repair work is done..

The way to do this is to ventilate the supporting evidence and data BEFORE you begin....

TriP

Postby TriP » September 20th, 2014, 10:37 am

in other news.. :lol:

civicman

Postby civicman » September 20th, 2014, 10:53 am

sMASH wrote:What does the Armstrong report has that kams does not want to read it?
He only major problem that any inequality has is the mondesir section.
It too have concerns about that because it passes through lowlying and swamp land most of through time.
If sections aren't drained properly they would be flooded.
Worse to me is that the present road ways in those areas do not hold up well at all. So I think that there would be road repair works goin on consistently.
Because is swamp land, that section would be easy to shift and sink.

The same was said about the highway through charlievillie and caroni.
You see anyone crying when they speeding up and down over former mangrove.