Medical Marijuana - Charlotte's Web

Postby UML » September 21st, 2014, 10:11 pm

Is T&T ready for this?

Really sad and really changed my mind.

Re: Medical Marijuana - Charlotte's Web

Postby streetbeastINC. » September 21st, 2014, 11:15 pm

This changed dr sanjay gupta"s entire view on alternative medication, i do support medical marijauana and related research i do not support, smoking the substance...everyone should view this research docu, it was well researched and put together by a highly respected medical researcher
Last edited by streetbeastINC. on September 22nd, 2014, 8:10 am, edited 1 time in total.

Postby Slartibartfast » September 21st, 2014, 11:26 pm

I don't see a problem with it once it is regulated properly. Dont want any drivers under this influence and use should only be allowed on private premises or under supervision of a medical professional

Postby Ted_v2 » September 22nd, 2014, 12:51 am

Smoke the herb save the nation.

Postby The_Honourable » September 22nd, 2014, 1:44 am

Using it for medical purposes - Yes.

Using it (smoking) to alter your state of mind like alcohol - NO.

Postby 88sins » September 22nd, 2014, 6:01 am

there will always be those that have every intention to abuse anything they are allowed to use.
Marijuana is no different from anything else in this regard.

however I would support its use for medical purposes under supervision of a licensed physician or medical practicioner, if there is proof it would actually help a patient in some way

Mr_Carz

Postby Mr_Carz » September 22nd, 2014, 8:26 am

They need to decriminalize it for medical and recreational use, the amount of time and resources being wasted not just locally, but globally fighting down the weed thing is rediculous. The facts are; not 1 death directly caused by marijuana; can't say the same for alcohol. Everybody has their own vice, people smoke, people drink, people fcuk. Live and let live done the fight down thing. There are actual benefits from smoking weed, medical or not BUT like everything , too much of one thing isn't good. Balance is key.

Postby Redman » September 22nd, 2014, 8:40 am

I support medical use

I really dont support decriminalization-my concern is children getting more access and in their developmental years weed really adding to their mental issues.

Mr_Carz

Postby Mr_Carz » September 22nd, 2014, 8:44 am

^^ I didn't think of that, and that's very true too . Maybe to combat that they can adopt Amsterdams approach I.e coffee shops so there's still some form of structure. But at the same time if it's decriminalized maybe it would deter youth because it would no longer be an "illegal rebellious" thing to do. Primarily it's down to the parent to keep their child aware of the dangers.

Postby DFC » September 22nd, 2014, 8:45 am

I dont use the marijuanas but i say legalise it.

Postby dougla_boy » September 22nd, 2014, 8:59 am

legalize it....

Postby dougla_boy » September 22nd, 2014, 9:21 am

nick639 wrote:Finding it cheaper to get weed than to go and drink inna club yes :/.. Real talk..

weedman have delivery service....call and place ah order.....

Postby Ted_v2 » September 22nd, 2014, 10:19 am

HA, truth. I see a old man delivering some weed with a old gas 280c yesterday. He hiding it in the trunk and delivering it with a fanny pack.

Postby Redman » September 22nd, 2014, 11:00 am

Mr_Carz wrote:^^ I didn't think of that, and that's very true too . Maybe to combat that they can adopt Amsterdams approach I.e coffee shops so there's still some form of structure. But at the same time if it's decriminalized maybe it would deter youth because it would no longer be an "illegal rebellious" thing to do. Primarily it's down to the parent to keep their child aware of the dangers.

I smoked weed for about 7 years but started in my 20s.....working living on my own etc

If I had a chance to smoke it at 14(the only thing stopping me was the law part) almost 30 years later I would still be at home,listening to Led Zepplin,weighing 300 lbs-cuz I would be on a ice cream bars and chocolate diet, and I would be a Galaga,Call of Duty,Rayman,GT 1-5 champion.

As it was I maxed out on Rum and cigarettes-but I never liked either cuz there were after effects

without a hang over there is little negative feedback from weed so I know I would have been in a mess from day 1.

Weed too nice to be unleashed on young people IMHO

:cry: :cry: I miss it

Postby UML » September 22nd, 2014, 11:14 am

I dont think there is anything to abuse in this system if we only issuing medical marijuana with Low THC and High CBD, cause users cant get high with it.

Are you aware that national consultations on marijuana has begun in T&T and it is being poorly attended?

National consultation on marijuana begins
By Sue-Ann Wayow sue-ann.wayow@trinidadexpress.com

Story Created: Aug 27, 2014 at 10:38 PM ECT

Story Updated: Aug 27, 2014 at 10:38 PM ECT
SAN FERNANDO

“AT what time in our existence did a natural herb become illegal?”
This was one of the questions asked on Tuesday during a national consultation on marijuana in San Fernando. It was held at St Paul’s Anglican Church auditorium, Harris Promenade and entitled “Attitudes toward marijuana, its uses and effects”.

The question was asked by Andrew Alexander, one of the attendees, who said there was a need for more education regarding marijuana.
The consultation was hosted by the National Drug Council (NDC). Data from the consultations will be used in a report to be submitted for use in policy-making. The collection of the data is expected to be completed by the end of September.

When asked what people wanted, they requested more education, better advertising, additional consultations, social services, more knowledge relating to the medicinal uses of marijuana and a streamlining of its usage. The consultation was facilitated by Margaret St George, assistant director of research and development at the Strategic Services Agency, a member of the NDC.

One attendee who attempted to highlight positive uses of marijuana referred to it as “a creation of the Almighty”. He said he never had a problem smoking marijuana or consuming it in the form of tea and it was unfair that people were criminalised for having small quantities.
Naigum Joseph, councillor for Springvale/Paradise, said: “It is a naturally growing herb. How do you control that? I would want to see a true national policy.

To me, the marijuana pusher I know still living in an old house, they don’t have a big car, they don’t have a big house. I am afraid that national policy would be dictated by the pharmaceutical companies, from companies that cannot make money from marijuana.”
Joseph said last week, the San Fernando City Corporation had a consultation with street dwellers, none of whom had problems because of marijuana usage.

St George said one of the main issues people have is that they could not get a decent job because they were arrested at least once for small possession of marijuana. She said: “The options of employment are greatly reduced and is one of the touching points in the region.”

Another question asked was “Is marijuana a higher entry level drug?”
Esther Best, NDC’s manager replied: “To make the definitive statement that marijuana is a gateway drug to other drugs, that’s not what research has shown.” Also attending the consultation was retired acting commissioner of police James Philbert. Philbert said there should be more parental involvement, control and understanding since “things are more lapsed and there are so many challenges now”.

The first consultation was held on Monday in Port of Spain, yesterday in Sangre Grande and today it takes place in Chaguanas. Consultations continue next month.
http://www.trinidadexpress.com/news/Nat ... 71581.html

Postby Slartibartfast » September 22nd, 2014, 11:26 am

Hmmm. I didn't know they were actually holding consultations.

The worst effects of weed are due to it being illegal. I'm sure if the decriminalize it and stop throwing people in jail for minor possession, things would be a lot better for users. Most of the "problems" people have from is not from using it but from getting caught.

Postby pete » September 22nd, 2014, 11:32 am

Where is it legal for 14 year old kids to smoke marijuana recreationally? Or smoke cigarettes or drink alcohol for that matter?

Such a silly argument for not legalizing.

Sure if parents have it lying around the kids might try it but I don't see it being something that they will start using a lot.

I had read that in the US it's actually easier for kids to go buy pot from a dealer than to buy alcohol because they can only get that at a store(cause really, who's going to stock alcohol for kiddies to buy?). If only LICENSED distributors are allowed to sell marijuana then this reduces the possibility of kids getting their hands on it.

kstt

Postby kstt » September 23rd, 2014, 10:16 am

Say a terminally ill person wanted the oil or a vaporizer kit, where could they get it?

mufasa10

Postby mufasa10 » September 23rd, 2014, 10:21 am

nick639 wrote:IMO driving under the influence of marijuana is much easier than that of alcohol from what I have noticed.

X9999999

Postby dougla_boy » September 23rd, 2014, 10:38 am

*pulls up by block*

me: "eh, wah grade allyuh ha tuhday?"

dealer: " ah have kush, strawberry and pine, some sticky jam and a lil local, wah yuh wah?"

me: "gimme a lil nut nah....ah d stickiness"

dealer: " yeah, no scn, $40 +VAT tho"

me: :|

Postby Slartibartfast » September 23rd, 2014, 10:47 am

mufasa10 wrote:
nick639 wrote:IMO driving under the influence of marijuana is much easier than that of alcohol from what I have noticed.

X9999999

Yup but it is still an impairment and given the carnage on our roads, the last thing we need is another way for our drivers to drive impaired. It has nothing to do with how hard it is to drive drunk.

Postby Slartibartfast » September 23rd, 2014, 11:03 am

Yup. To be fair though, being drunk impairs basically all of your judgments (especially in women) so doing anything while high will be easier than doing it when you are drunk.

dread_2002

Postby dread_2002 » September 23rd, 2014, 12:14 pm

legalize it.. it does more good than harm..

and those ppl with a substance abuse problem.. they will always abuse substances.. whether it be weed alcohol. cigarettes..etc
the person obviously has some issues that they are concealing and hiding and they choose weed/alcohol to hide behind it because it makes them feel good and forget their issues
the plant isnt creating the problem.. the person is hiding behind the plant..
its less addictive than cigarettes and alcohol.. and has great potential medical benefits

yes it can make u lazy and make u get the munchies.. but there is a time and place for everything

Postby desifemlove » September 24th, 2014, 9:35 am

why not?

It is a placebo in some cases, but can help..

besides, many smoke weed in private...so how come it good in private for kicks/fun, but not in public for sick people?

People gonna say sheit like "it against God!" or "de Bible/Quran/Gita say it wrong!" er...tell me where it say so in dese books? And if people iz Christian, or Muslim or Hindu, ent it say to help the sick and suffering? How yuh ent know Jesus didn't take drugs? is everything he EVER did on Earth in the Gospels?