Tree transplanting advice

4G63Turbo

Tree transplanting advice

Postby 4G63Turbo » January 24th, 2015, 3:26 pm

Has anyone successfully transplanted trees?

I have to move a "silver tree " that is about 5yrs old
About 7ft high,

Any advice?

Want to save this tree.

Re: Tree transplanting advice

Postby DVSTT » January 24th, 2015, 4:09 pm

Shouldn't be too hard.

Postby SMc » January 24th, 2015, 4:15 pm

If its a Silver Birch them things quite robust though is no guarantee it will survive a move.

If you need to dig it out keep in mind the trace roots will extend (usually) just beyond the circumference of where the leaves/end of the branches so when digging it may be a good idea to start there. If you do manage to get it out with the root-ball intact and soil still inside you OK, but you will need to keep it moist until replanted a garbage bag works well.

When replanting you will need to dig a bigger hole than you originally dug it out of as them roots are not going to be happy. In the hole do not put raw manure as it will burn the roots, get some potting soil and use that mixed in with the soil you just dug up. Plant tree and pack lightly with soil and water thoroughly..top op soil over next few days if needed.

Oh it will loose leaves due to stress etc, but it is part of the process.

Postby De Dragon » January 24th, 2015, 6:33 pm

Dig down and around the base to access as much of the roots as possible, after digging a suitable hole to locate the tree. Place some good top soil along with sharp sand or gravel to aerate the roots, add some fertilizer or rooting powder, transplant and hope for the best.

Postby skylinechild » January 25th, 2015, 10:19 am

before actually placing the plant in the new hole throw some water in the hole- put in plant then add in some more water - then your soil / fertilizer etc whatever else

_Kingfish_

Postby _Kingfish_ » January 25th, 2015, 12:09 pm

:shock: :shock: :shock:

Postby DVSTT » January 25th, 2015, 6:06 pm

leelad wrote:

:shock: :shock: :shock:

It's commonly done in the US. Seen it first hand when someone was renovating a mall and they were planting massive 20ft trees in the car park

4G63Turbo

Postby 4G63Turbo » January 26th, 2015, 3:55 pm

some good info,
thanks guys,

will try to save as much of the roots as I can.

Postby Chimera » January 26th, 2015, 4:19 pm

DVSTT wrote:It's commonly done in the US. Seen it first hand when someone was renovating a mall and they were planting massive 20ft trees in the car park

by miami airport they constantly replanting 40-50 foot tall palm trees

not sure if theres any equipment down here to do THAT kinda work though

i think theres trained arboriculturists in trinidad, try to find one and ask for advice before yuh kill the tree

don't bother with asking anyone in those agrishops