***THE FARMERS CHED***

Re: ***THE FARMERS CHED***

Postby hustla_ambition101 » December 27th, 2014, 11:53 am

Could be a fungal problem......take a sample of fruit and leaves to Research Division to get a diagnosis

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » December 27th, 2014, 1:42 pm

hustla_ambition101 wrote:it real pretty though

pommecythere tree not looking so nice though

Postby hustla_ambition101 » December 27th, 2014, 2:32 pm

Spray dem basterds........I lost d entire passion fruit vines to the suckers I posted earlier in the year

Postby supercharged turbo » December 27th, 2014, 3:07 pm

hustla_ambition101 wrote:
supercharged turbo wrote:Have about a lot of land that i looking to plant some trees on.Looking at more long term crops like coffee,cacao,rough skin lemon for personal use.That is all that i come up with so far.Any suggestions?

Plant fruits like mangoes, citrus, pommerac, miniature pommecythere............only plant coffee and cocoa if you planning on processing them yourself. You can also plant short term veggies and seasonings.
Have another piece of land with mangoes,pommerac and pommecythere

Postby Chimera » December 27th, 2014, 11:06 pm

I also lookin for pommerac and minature pommecythere trees to buy

vidane

Postby vidane » December 30th, 2014, 9:27 pm

@Francis1979

The first problem described sounds like a fungal problem, namely 'anthracnose.' The second could be insect, fruit fly. Fairly common pests of Mango so information about prevention, treatment and management should be available online.

@ABA

How exactly yuh manage to get that fella sitting so calmly in back of you, didn't notice no extra muscle with yuh, yuh hav ting oor?

Postby X_Factor » December 30th, 2014, 10:33 pm

yeah, the black spots on the mango is most likely anthracnose....something called Bellis should work ok but you may need a mist blower to properly cover the tree/s....

ABA--you ever had to deal with anthracnose on the pawpaw?.....what u used?

GRIM

Postby GRIM » December 31st, 2014, 8:20 am

once the fruit has anthracnose already there is no way to save it. It only makes sense to spray at the flowering stage and 2-3 weeks after that.

Postby X_Factor » January 8th, 2015, 9:35 pm

can anyone get the 2015 CC calender for me?
been asking the agri shops in the area but they dont have anymore

snatman

Postby snatman » January 12th, 2015, 1:38 pm

I pulled out my two long suffering backyard hot pepper plants.
They flowered for months without bearing :(

anyways, the roots were covered with ANTS, so i figure that was the cause of the non production.

What can I use to prevent this next time?

Postby X_Factor » January 12th, 2015, 1:48 pm

any insecticide...fastac, diazinon , sevin powder, list is soo long
but you will have to treat the soil before you plant and then follow the directions on whichever you buy

snatman

Postby snatman » January 12th, 2015, 1:50 pm

bruh, i know nothing about gardening, so ease me up

i have sevin at home, just throw the powder in the hole before planting? or mix with water? and keep addding every few weeks?

Postby X_Factor » January 12th, 2015, 1:57 pm

mix it with water and pour some into the hole a couple days before transplanting
and usually its 7 days for the first treatment and every 14 days after

snatman

Postby snatman » January 12th, 2015, 2:01 pm

much thanx

marlener

Postby marlener » January 13th, 2015, 7:43 am

Questions, in the event of a snake bite, beside try to get to the nearest health facility. Is there and Bush or something you can apply. Seeing quite a bit in the land recently.

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » January 13th, 2015, 1:43 pm

what kinds are you seeing?

marlener

Postby marlener » January 13th, 2015, 3:09 pm

Shakes to be honest I am not very good at recognising snakes. But I saw one just over 6ft in a cocoa tree. Ran out of there so fast. Usually look for them in the bushes not overhead.

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » January 13th, 2015, 3:46 pm

6ft....once in longer than me fork dat........you would usually find mapapire,horse whip and maybe one or two rat snakes in cocoa trees..can you remember colour? if mapapire try yuh best and doh get bite nah,daz death and is only Sangre Grande hospital have remedy for that.I doh think it have any bush medicine for that kinda bite

Postby hustla_ambition101 » January 13th, 2015, 3:49 pm

Yup....you sheit outta luck with a venemous bite. I wonder those snake bite kits they sell are any good as a temporary measure

marlener

Postby marlener » January 13th, 2015, 4:09 pm

They sell snake bite kits locally? Will google and see what I can use to discourage them from coming around.

Postby hustla_ambition101 » January 13th, 2015, 4:23 pm

Check those safety companies, CSP sells them I think

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » January 13th, 2015, 5:18 pm

marlener wrote:They sell snake bite kits locally? Will google and see what I can use to discourage them from coming around.

spirit of ammonia and black disinfectant is a good start

NR8

Postby NR8 » January 13th, 2015, 7:33 pm

shake d livin wake d dead wrote:only Sangre Grande hospital have remedy for that

Only hospital in the country that has it??? :shock:

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » January 13th, 2015, 7:48 pm

NR8 wrote:
shake d livin wake d dead wrote:only Sangre Grande hospital have remedy for that

so they say...I honestly don't know why

Postby hustla_ambition101 » January 13th, 2015, 8:04 pm

Then people wonder why most of us are quick to drop blade on snakes, and yes NR8, only Grande

Postby X_Factor » January 29th, 2015, 7:41 pm

tell me what u guys think this could be...

been using bio20 and liquid litter 7 days apart at cycle every 2 weeks and the plants look amazing
will use it until 3-4mths then change up the blend to prepare for "fruit"

this is the situation now.....fungus yes but which type and what could be used to stop it...
i sprayed with mancozeb today

vidane

Postby vidane » January 30th, 2015, 9:30 am

@X-Factor from here looks like an incidence of spray drift of fertilizer burn. When spraying consider the time of day when spraying. Best in cooler parts of the day, less wind. Simple as this, water settling on leaves at mid day is almost as bad as magnifying glass on leave = burn. When mixing make sure and use recommended rate and don't add an extra umph to the measurement (feel yuh hand heavy) just saying.

Dennis61

Postby Dennis61 » January 30th, 2015, 11:13 am

Like vidane said it could be chemical drift. Did you fertilize or apply herbicide recently? It could also be a nutrient deficiency. What was your fertilising regime?

Postby nervewrecker » January 30th, 2015, 11:17 am

shake d livin wake d dead wrote:
NR8 wrote:

so they say...I honestly don't know why

Heard talk that princess town might have.

Postby hustla_ambition101 » January 30th, 2015, 11:19 am

Who willing to risk it