Graduate training programs in the energy sector (wnt sum inf

dmusicman

Graduate training programs in the energy sector (wnt sum inf

Postby dmusicman » December 28th, 2014, 8:46 am

good day.....i recently finished my mechanical tech. diploma....i lookin to strt off my career. i have seen alot of companies have apprenticeship programs. i have called and dropped of resumes...but is failure with tht..... can anyone just give me ah lil guidance on wat i shud do nex.....also i was lookin into the ojt programs, anyone have and reviews on them?

any info will b helpful....THANKZ

rmrunner

Re: Graduate training programs in the energy sector (wnt sum

Postby rmrunner » December 28th, 2014, 9:26 am

Plnl has a vacancy on caribbean jobs for mech and electrical technicians. Apply there. What companies have you applied to? Try all those contractor companies to get some experience in the sector then move from there. SIS, D rampersad, RMSL, Tosl, just to name a few....

dmusicman

Postby dmusicman » December 28th, 2014, 10:15 am

yea saw the vancany in plnl and applied for it... wait to see what happens......have also applied to sum of those companies...such as SIS AND TCL but the common response is that they not takin on workers....thankz for the info doh

Postby UML » December 28th, 2014, 7:43 pm

Petrotrin recently started back their apprenticeship programme.

10-01

Postby 10-01 » December 28th, 2014, 7:51 pm

wher did u graduate from ?

dmusicman

Postby dmusicman » December 28th, 2014, 10:51 pm

Trying to get sum info on how to apply to petrotrin apprenticeship program.....haven't seen any ads out yet doh.......I graduated from UTT

Cantmis

Postby Cantmis » December 29th, 2014, 12:48 am

You need to be patient.
http://www.energyguidett.com/
I applied to most of these companies and I have a job. You could also try.

DTAC

Postby DTAC » December 29th, 2014, 1:22 am

If you wrote to them any where near like you wrote here never expect a reply. Did you write a cover letter as well or just drop off a resume?

Here's a couple of tips. Go to a good stationary store and get proper paper. Not that John Dickinson copy paper rubbish, proper quality paper with a good weight (24 lb. at least and with a textured feel even better, e.g. Image
They'll know about paper weight in the stationers. Same goes with envelopes. Remember, Human Resource Officers probably handle a dozen resumes a day so you want to make yours look and feel better than the rest.

Write a concise cover letter introducing yourself and explaining why you want to work at the company. If they feel they are just another company in a long line of companies you are applying to, they'll treat you as another in a long line of applicants.

Paste what you want to send them here if you want and I'm sure a few people here will make it shine if need be.

Good luck.

Postby pioneer » December 29th, 2014, 7:54 am

Should work in your english for starters.

Postby ismithx » December 29th, 2014, 9:22 am

in your cover letter remember to market yourself well, look at the company and what they do and who they are, and then try to explain why you would fit in or be an excellent choice. give a couple relevant examples of how your skills and strengths would be useful to the company's activities.

dmusicman

Postby dmusicman » January 2nd, 2015, 5:01 pm

ok ppl tanks for all the advice......did the best i can do and hope for the best now.....

Dennis61

Postby Dennis61 » January 4th, 2015, 12:41 am

Curtms wrote:You need to be patient.

Good information

dmusicman

Postby dmusicman » February 2nd, 2015, 8:57 am

Thankz for all the info fellas.....still lookin for something

Postby nervewrecker » February 2nd, 2015, 9:08 am

Pressure for grads. Up till Friday only three people from UTT got called for internship.

Not sure if from the entire sch or just chemical engineering.

Dennis61

Postby Dennis61 » February 2nd, 2015, 11:42 am

Where were the interns from the degree or diploma programme?

Postby nervewrecker » February 2nd, 2015, 11:44 am

As far as I know, diploma.

Dennis61

Postby Dennis61 » February 2nd, 2015, 1:55 pm

Or OK

kjaglal76v2

Postby kjaglal76v2 » February 2nd, 2015, 2:03 pm

Damn.

Postby sliderz1 » February 3rd, 2015, 10:32 am

Dennis61 wrote:
Curtms wrote:You need to be patient.

Good information

start at manufacturing. lots of companies not gonna hire you fresh for energy

Postby RBphoto » February 3rd, 2015, 1:00 pm

Buy tools, rent a pickup, hire a few old field hands and start doing jobs. Wuk for yourself and let other people fuel your dreams. I made the mistake that pursuing a career and working for a firm would lead to wealth. I was wrong. You are young.. go for it!!

York

Postby York » February 4th, 2015, 12:19 am

youthman pbly didnt study entrepreneurship in UTT...

Postby RBphoto » February 4th, 2015, 9:08 am

York wrote:youthman pbly didnt study entrepreneurship in UTT...

They have a really great program... I encourage everyone who wants to start something get aligned with their small business incubator program. I learned a lot.

Need to put that knowledge to work for the business.

York

Postby York » February 24th, 2015, 2:23 pm

RBphoto wrote:
York wrote:youthman pbly didnt study entrepreneurship in UTT...

They have a really great program... I encourage everyone who wants to start something get aligned with their small business incubator program. I learned a lot.

Need to put that knowledge to work for the business.

So after that great programme, are you in business as a sole trader or working for a company collecting a fat cheque every Month end like is the case in the energy sector?