Re: The Official Skybox Thread: Take 2

Postby craig lee quay » February 11th, 2015, 4:31 pm

Hookah ^*

Postby S_2NR » February 11th, 2015, 4:47 pm

This Insurance fee that some skyboxes want to charge is rel crap imo. You essentially paying for nothing because if your package is damaged how do you prove that it was damaged in the courier's care and not before it arrived in Miami? This package changing hands so much before it get to you.
IBC right now trying to milk money out of ppl by making insurance mandatory so now the min cost is 57$ without taxes added yet for 1st lb.

Anyone here actually got compensated from this skybox insurance or this is just another way to make money off people?

Which companies have optional insurance?

src1983

Postby src1983 » February 11th, 2015, 5:02 pm

S_2NR wrote:This Insurance fee that some skyboxes want to charge is rel crap imo. You essentially paying for nothing because if your package is damaged how do you prove that it was damaged in the courier's care and not before it arrived in Miami? This package changing hands so much before it get to you.
IBC right now trying to milk money out of ppl by making insurance mandatory so now the min cost is 57$ without taxes added yet for 1st lb.

Anyone here actually got compensated from this skybox insurance or this is just another way to make money off people?

Which companies have optional insurance?

You can request E-zone not to charge insurance, don't know if the policy still exists

Postby Spitfir3 » February 11th, 2015, 6:08 pm

insurance is optional for websource and i THINK CSF

Swisha

Postby Swisha » February 11th, 2015, 6:12 pm

EZone has optional insurance. I removed it from my account for the same reason

Postby Spitfir3 » February 17th, 2015, 10:37 pm

almost forgot to update...alright so apparently you can't bring in hunting knives..it WILL be seized however ive successfully brought in some small throwing knives for my cousin and a small folding knife for myself....im not sure if blade length plays any sort of factor but HUNTING KNIVES are a definite no go

Postby Chimera » February 17th, 2015, 10:51 pm

Spitfir3 wrote:almost forgot to update...alright so apparently you can't bring in hunting knives..it WILL be seized however ive successfully brought in some small throwing knives for my cousin and a small folding knife for myself....im not sure if blade length plays any sort of factor but HUNTING KNIVES are a definite no go

U have to label it as home ornaments.its hit and miss though

djruncrowd

Postby djruncrowd » February 17th, 2015, 11:15 pm

Guys, any of you ever brought in a 2pc luggage set ? I'm looking at a set that's close to $50.usd , 9.8lbs what kinda shipping fees I'm looking at ? Or should I just look for something down here ?

Postby Chimera » February 17th, 2015, 11:51 pm

That gonna be bulky and they will charge you dimensional weight

Postby pioneer » February 18th, 2015, 5:58 pm

Not gonna renew Ezone this year, bought a watch using the loyalty points I accrued over the years and that will be it for them.

Their non-response and non-acknowledgement of a serious issue I made them aware of in January 2015 was enough to make me not want to do business with them anymore.
Last edited by pioneer on February 18th, 2015, 10:52 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Postby Chimera » February 18th, 2015, 6:45 pm

Wha happen pioneer?

Postby ~Vēġó~ » February 18th, 2015, 10:18 pm

wow....heavy ezone advocate gorne against...

RhymePaladin

Postby RhymePaladin » February 18th, 2015, 10:27 pm

Anyone in here used laparkan? How is the service and are they good?

Postby S_2NR » February 18th, 2015, 10:49 pm

Pioneer pm me please. I'm considering ezone.

Postby pioneer » February 18th, 2015, 10:53 pm

I'll try to do a follow up tomorrow to see if any action was taken before sharing my story.

src1983

Postby src1983 » February 19th, 2015, 1:33 am

Sabriel wrote:Hmmm u buying stuff online from the US where u don't have to deal with young, unknowledgeable sales clerks in a Tdad store ...but yet still u hadda put up with the local courier stink customer service to get it.

cya win nah.

Was in the U.S. This weekend sales staff here don't have much knowledge either

Dennis61

Postby Dennis61 » February 19th, 2015, 2:26 am

Last phone (new S2) i bought online, i had it shipped in with up xpress back in 2011 and i was raped with charges, payed liked $1700 TT to clear.

Brought in a used Nexus 4 from ebay and payed a few hundred in 2013.

Pardner brought in a new Sony Z3 and payed like $300 last year

All dat ole talk to ask.... whats the cost these days to bring in a new smartphone, say a Note 4? Are duties and VAT charged seeing that these phones are basically computers?

Postby redmanjp » February 19th, 2015, 4:58 pm

i think once any device have a sim card slot they charge both duty & vat- well according to websource

btw i find websource still taking long to deliver my package even though Xmas season done- was waiting whole last week when the package came in to T&T the week before

Postby S_2NR » February 20th, 2015, 8:19 am

pioneer wrote:I'll try to do a follow up tomorrow to see if any action was taken before sharing my story.

Postby Chimera » February 20th, 2015, 8:22 am

Wham pioneer you get pay off ?

Postby supercharged turbo » February 20th, 2015, 9:23 am

Give we ah lil dets self nah pios

Postby Spitfir3 » February 20th, 2015, 9:32 am

mubbe lost or damaged e package

bluesclues

Postby bluesclues » February 20th, 2015, 10:41 pm

RhymePaladin wrote:Anyone in here used laparkan? How is the service and are they good?

laparkan is good. except, when customs hang your balls with a gross overcharge, the chances of getting it rectified and the price adjusted next to nill. this was a few years ago i dont know if they fix it yet. for that reason i started intercepting my laparkan shipments and handling the customs myself to ensure it gets billed properly. and then websource came out with a professional service ;)

id still use laparkan for sea freight tho. there isnt really any other option i know of for ocean crates and package consolidation. within that regard they were very professional. just not as efficient and convenient as websource.

GOAT

Postby GOAT » March 3rd, 2015, 6:57 pm

Need you guys to recommend me a skybox to bring down a Tablet case ans Screen protector.

bassotronics

Postby bassotronics » March 3rd, 2015, 9:20 pm

I'm with csf, I brought a tab 3 8 inch with keyboard case and screen protector and it cost $42 to clear.

STORM1234

Postby STORM1234 » March 3rd, 2015, 9:30 pm

bought 3 heavy books, csf charge me 240 for the 3 books, which i think is quite reasonable.

killercow

Postby killercow » March 4th, 2015, 8:47 pm

Just switched from EZone to Websource. From my personal experience so far,
Websource is much cheaper although they take a day longer to deliver.
Also, just before the switch I noticed something unusual.
Usually, before my package arrives in Miami I would use the
customs website (http://www.customs.gov.tt/importing) to calculate
my overall clearance. However, to my surprise, it always came up higher than
calculated on the courier bill :|. (hence the switch). Just thought I'd share the info.

Postby supercharged turbo » March 4th, 2015, 9:45 pm

Pios still eh hit we that story yet

INHUMAN

Postby INHUMAN » March 5th, 2015, 9:01 am

killercow wrote:Usually, before my package arrives in Miami I would use the
customs website (http://www.customs.gov.tt/importing) to calculate
my overall clearance. However, to my surprise, it always came up higher than
calculated on the courier bill :|. (hence the switch). Just thought I'd share the info.

So u switch cus u paid less than u had bargained for ... Seems legit