Seaboard Marine CMRC Wallerfield Trinidad 2015

Re: Seaboard Marine CMRC Wallerfield Trinidad 2015

Postby pete » June 29th, 2015, 12:06 pm

If you become a member you should be able to get the annual reports.

Bezman

Postby Bezman » June 29th, 2015, 4:20 pm

Can myself and other plebs simply pay $200,$500 or 1000 an hour, three or per day to use the track?? Once we pass safety etc of course. And in a time attack staggered style to keep it safe.

Would be a great way to put some rubber on the track and pull the oil etc out of the asphalt, not to mention grow the grassroots participants.

Postby 3stagevtec » June 29th, 2015, 4:44 pm

Really interested in open track days as well, don't mind paying a fee or joining an appropriate club to use the track..

I'm sure appropriate rules will need to be put in place and firmly enforced to ensure safety.. such as how it is done at the Nurburgring..

Postby Morpheus » June 29th, 2015, 4:47 pm

Last 2 posts in a nutshell. That would be great....

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » June 29th, 2015, 6:34 pm

a price suggested by Robert Amar at the meeting on Sunday was TT$400 per hour.

Of course this was just a suggestion and may not have considered additional club expenses like safety marshals, ambulance, fire services etc that should be present once there are cars on the track.

But it was an indication that YES the club is willing and interested in giving use of the track for practice and testing.

Bezman

Postby Bezman » June 29th, 2015, 8:23 pm

Would gladly pay a track membership of about $1500-2000 annually and $400/hour and entry fees to whatever events etc

20 cars an hour. 10 hours a day. Do the math. Track can make money 4 days a week. Mon-wed is private testing etc unless racing coming up

Duane. Make it happen

Postby Aaron 2NR » June 29th, 2015, 8:24 pm

same here boy Aaron...... wtb roll cage lol

Bezman

Postby Bezman » June 29th, 2015, 8:25 pm

Done have one in my shopping cart on eBay lol!!

Postby Aaron 2NR » June 29th, 2015, 8:27 pm

the cusco for my car is $10k....

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » June 29th, 2015, 10:41 pm

^ that's a great price. The TEIN Flex with EDFC I put on the Evo in 2007 was $10K.

Bezman wrote:Would gladly pay a track membership of about $1500-2000 annually and $400/hour and entry fees to whatever events etc

20 cars an hour. 10 hours a day. Do the math. Track can make money 4 days a week. Mon-wed is private testing etc unless racing coming up

Duane. Make it happen
it already happening! You can get TTASA membership for $1000/yr and TTASA is open to all these ideas for using the track.

I drove the track on Sunday for the first time at speed since it was resurfaced. It brought back great memories of driving/racing around it in the late 90's and first half of the 2000's with my car for fun and "super car" races. The surface is incredibly smooth compared to what we had years gone by. The chicane feels tighter and was deceiving the first couple laps around. The hairpin is tighter. My brand new Yokohama AD08R front left is now scrubbed on the shoulder. Wallerfield always beats up that front left tyre. The new asphalt surface is a lot more forgiving on tyres compared to the concrete that was there before. The surface still feels very fresh and slippery. private track days and time attack sessions will be AWESOME!

Postby MG Man » June 29th, 2015, 10:44 pm

all dat tuh say yuh drive on de track?

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » June 29th, 2015, 11:19 pm

MG Man wrote:all dat tuh say yuh drive on de track?
no all of that to say i have Yokohama tyres

brandonology1

Postby brandonology1 » June 30th, 2015, 12:48 am

Open track days! Yusssssssss!
Once people adhere to the proper safety guidelines, this cld be very epic!

Postby MG Man » June 30th, 2015, 8:54 am

MG Man wrote:all dat tuh say yuh drive on de track?
no all of that to say i have Yokohama tyres

I was kinda hoping u were lying about the Yokohamas....where'd you get them?

Postby pete » June 30th, 2015, 9:27 am

After driving the car at ARC and am accustomed to the wear there I was surprised that after 6 laps there was very very little wear on my tires.

V8 Boys

Postby V8 Boys » June 30th, 2015, 9:38 am

so true about the tire wear...the surface is soooo smmamamood!

The Old School guys got a few laps in around the circuit the thur before the event and we could feel it for ourselves. Hence the reason most of the drift cars left on the same set of tires they came in on.

The surface at ARC is very worn with tons of loose gravel...sure recipe for premature destruction of both tire and suspension.

HN Racing

Postby HN Racing » June 30th, 2015, 9:50 am

Suggested $400.00/hr is not good for a Hard Core Racer with his race car at this time, it's good for guys who just want to drive with their modified street cars & get some track time.

Race cars are going to take allot of time to get them right, just simply getting in & out these cars is a task & takes time.

How about a day price that's reasonable as a starter, help start to develop the sport & make us more competitive.

Remember the sport is still growing & there's NO corporate Business putting major monies into the Race Cars from a Sponsorship point.

Almost ALL the Racers put monies out their own pockets, so charging us a cost per hour to use the track is just another adder that going to hold us back.

I'm not saying don't charge but let it be very reasonable for the hard core racers.

Postby pete » June 30th, 2015, 10:08 am

What will the minimum safety coverage be for cars to be on the track? At what point do you need an ambulance and then what point do you need a fire truck?

Having emergency response on track is going to be expensive and maybe not necessary for just one car to go do testing.

The next problem is how do you differentiate between a driver who is serious and someone who just wants to come off the road and play the ass and put themselves and others at risk?

I know before there used to be a lot of complaints about the FIA license but maybe now the clubs can come together and develop a syllabus and have driving schools to get people to the level they need to be to drive at higher speeds on the track.

While everyone wants to go out and have fun we do need to realise that motorsports are dangerous and we definitely don't want anyone getting hurt or worse.

Postby SR » June 30th, 2015, 10:29 am

I would suggest a flat rate rental per day for use of the facilities together with emergency personel etc. People can come together to share the cost and this would.make it viable for all parties. It doesnt make sense rental by the hr.. how do you coordinate an hr today and hr tomorow etc when there isnt onsite support personel on a daily basis

djaggs

Postby djaggs » June 30th, 2015, 10:56 am

A time attack would be epic. Scrutineering will have to be thorough. The cars can be slowed down slightly by adding chicanes and slaloms using our cones.

Bezman

Postby Bezman » June 30th, 2015, 11:00 am

HN Racing wrote:Suggested $400.00/hr is not good for a Hard Core Racer with his race car at this time, it's good for guys who just want to drive with their modified street cars & get some track time.

Race cars are going to take allot of time to get them right, just simply getting in & out these cars is a task & takes time.

How about a day price that's reasonable as a starter, help start to develop the sport & make us more competitive.

Remember the sport is still growing & there's NO corporate Business putting major monies into the Race Cars from a Sponsorship point.

Almost ALL the Racers put monies out their own pockets, so charging us a cost per hour to use the track is just another adder that going to hold us back.

I'm not saying don't charge but let it be very reasonable for the hard core racers.

thats why i was saying

Would gladly pay a track membership of about $1500-2000 annually and $400/hour and entry fees to whatever events etc

400 for the plebs like me and then private days for the serious racers and specified closed testing days.

the reality is most street cars, 1 hour is a LONG time on teh track and will kill most tires/clutches and most of all brakes... so a couple hours over a weekend sounds about right for me a couple times a month if that.

Postby MG Man » June 30th, 2015, 11:05 am

^^^correct....many tracks offer a rate by laps for street-car track days, rather than time....ten laps is more than what any of my cars can handle, and ten laps is plenty for most...
I'm with Bezman on his proposed structure

As for HN Racing's point, I think dedicated competition cars will warrant a different structure

Postby 3stagevtec » June 30th, 2015, 6:18 pm

I like and support the idea of an hourly cost.. One hour isa lot of time for an average driver to practice and set personal lap times.. any more would put a lot of abuse on the equipment.

djaggs wrote:A time attack would be epic. Scrutineering will have to be thorough. The cars can be slowed down slightly by adding chicanes and slaloms using our cones.

Chicanes would alter the track and make comparing lap times impossible.. IMO, the track seems pretty safe, just enforce overtaking / driving / track usage rules, ensure drivers understand the safety flags in case of an accident and probably put a limit to the maximum number of cars allowed on the track at any one time (if plausible).

Postby pete » July 1st, 2015, 6:44 am

One hour is too much time. Unless it's say four 15 minute sessions. Imagine 30 guys show up, how many you going to put on the track at the same time? Most cars could probably handle 15 mins tops anyway. The supercar race was 9 mins long.

cacasplat3

Postby cacasplat3 » July 1st, 2015, 8:53 am

$400/hr sounds more like what a club will have to pay to use the facility on a given trackday, not what each participant will have to pay. i.e. $4k-$5k per day of use.

there is no way i'm spending $400 an hour to use a track unless i'm the only driver on it.

emergency services should be mandatory as long as anyone uses the track. event promoters will need to sort that out.

time to start looking at building a 450cc supermoto Image

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » July 1st, 2015, 12:53 pm

cacasplat3 wrote:$400/hr sounds more like what a club will have to pay to use the facility on a given trackday, not what each participant will have to pay. i.e. $4k-$5k per day of use.

there is no way i'm spending $400 an hour to use a track unless i'm the only driver on it.

emergency services should be mandatory as long as anyone uses the track. event promoters will need to sort that out.

time to start looking at building a 450cc supermoto Image
how are they affording running a facilty with all the safety etc if you are the only person on the track at $400/hr?

Postby pete » July 1st, 2015, 1:16 pm

Having events and using spectator fees to subsidize the day to day tasks?

Postby Aaron 2NR » July 1st, 2015, 1:54 pm

This is where proper planning is needed and less bitching and complaining.

This is just my view, $100us an hour with a minimum of 4 hours. Which should factor in a medic on site.

The 4 hours can be split between yourself and 3 friends to make a hour per user.

We have to remember the facility has to repay for the lease and other infrastructural costs for its upkeep. Just my two cents

Postby 16 cycles » July 1st, 2015, 2:07 pm

before any pricing scheme comes out etc....

i might have missed it, but is there an official document from the government that states wallerfield will be used for racing and if so, under what terms and agreements?

brandonology1

Postby brandonology1 » July 1st, 2015, 2:18 pm

I was playing around and got an idea... I see the nurburgring sticker n I raise u the wallerfield sticker.
NB: I am not trying to infringe anyone or any club. Im just throwing an idea out there.
1435774570091.jpg