:: The official TOOLS thread ::

Re: :: The official TOOLS thread ::

Postby Morpheus » July 29th, 2015, 8:23 pm

NR8 wrote:
Morpheus wrote:Can't get a water temperature sensor out with a regular spanner 19mm I believe.
Frig dat. Whole set. Went impact one time. Bought off Amazon.

I've wanted to buy one of these sets for a while but considering the shipping costs. What's the weight and how much was the skybox cost, if you don't mind me asking?

No problem man

Socket set US$27 + Play Doh US$15 = US$42
Skybox 10.5lbs = US$28
Delivery (No Duty) Vat = TT$45

NR8

Postby NR8 » July 29th, 2015, 8:40 pm

Thanks Morpheus. black start I've seen the Stanley sets for less but I don't think they come with a storage case.

I've had my eyes these Kawasaki corded and Craftsman cordless impact wrenches for a long time. Both are great for what they are, but I may eventually go with Craftsman because of size. Just waiting for a big sale lol.
http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B008PN5JAU
http://www.craftsman.com/craftsman-c3-1 ... 945195000P

BTW my friend has the older corded version of the Mastercraft posted by subie_2NR and it's 200ft/lbs works great for removing lug nuts and suspension work.

Postby black start » July 29th, 2015, 9:22 pm

NR8 wrote:Thanks Morpheus. black start I've seen the Stanley sets for less but I don't think they come with a storage case.

Yea they come with a nice yellow case.....neat.

Postby Morpheus » July 29th, 2015, 9:55 pm

Yeah I chose this one due to the price, surface texture, case and range of sizes 7mm-19mm.

Postby Ted_v2 » July 29th, 2015, 10:00 pm

Even the case looks pretty good.

Postby Strugglerzinc » July 30th, 2015, 5:46 pm

Those take a severe beating. I use the 1/2" metric set daily with impact gun or 2 foot breaker bar. Even the laser etching does not come off (its actual etching) compared to a Stanley set that has stamped digits which have worn off strangely enough.

If you buy Tekton stuff from Amazon, you will get warranty replacements. Got wrenches and snap ring pliers replaced already.

Bought a Harbor Freight set as well to use with a shop press and those also can take serious lix.

nareshseep

Postby nareshseep » July 30th, 2015, 6:20 pm

X_Factor wrote:for those who lookin for a corded electric impact
http://www.amazon.com/PORTER-CABLE-PCE2 ... act+wrench

http://www.amazon.com/Craftsman-8-Amp-I ... act+wrench

craftsman seems to have slightly more power
both prices are really good
could land them for about 1100 or less

check this dewalt as an option as well
http://www.amazon.com/DEWALT-DW292-7-5- ... ded+impact

I borrowed a cordless impact Milwaukee M18 impact wrench and that loosens axle nuts and flywheel with ease.

http://www.amazon.com/Milwaukee-Lithium ... act+wrench

Postby Ted_v2 » July 30th, 2015, 8:29 pm

That m18 is the truth

Postby *KRONIK* » July 30th, 2015, 9:05 pm

Ted_v2 wrote:That m18 is the truth

Was playing with the display unit at bhagwansingh today...really nice unit

Very light, more run time than the competition, ergonomic.

Postby black start » July 30th, 2015, 9:06 pm

Ted_v2 wrote:That m18 is the truth

no lie there.....real good stuff from milwaukee.....

buh start is a sufferer. snipe and breaker bar for life...

Postby pugboy » July 30th, 2015, 9:10 pm

all the new generation lithium more than good enough
with nicd the batteries were the weak link,
lithium delivers much higher current and capacity in smaller package

important is battery management, lithium batteries should never be run
down very low even to the low indicator.
Low discharge shortens lifespan,

many a drone has suddenly dropped out of the sky because of bad battery mgmt.

Postby X_Factor » July 31st, 2015, 12:09 am

http://www.amazon.com/DEWALT-DCF899HB-B ... act+wrench

with the 4 or 5ah batteries i feel this will give the M18 a good run!

Postby *KRONIK* » July 31st, 2015, 11:46 am

Fellaz...i need a wood blade for an oscillating cutter tool ASAP.

preferably in the east!

Postby *KRONIK* » July 31st, 2015, 8:32 pm

Dammmmmmmitttt

I make a whole hour drive to bhagwansingh, buy a dremel oscillating bit and it not fitting on the blasted tool....turns out i need some kinda dremel to regular tool adaptor....

Friggin blade cost me 92 dollars

Mothersoandso

silent_riot

Postby silent_riot » August 1st, 2015, 8:39 am

Whats the model of the oscillating tool?

Postby *KRONIK* » August 1st, 2015, 9:18 am

Chicago electric

Postby Ted_v2 » August 1st, 2015, 9:29 am

I have one. The tip does change to use different sizes of tools.

Postby *KRONIK* » August 1st, 2015, 9:51 am

What i've come to realize is the dremel bit is different...all the others will fit the different brands...

fullthrotle

Postby fullthrotle » August 3rd, 2015, 8:15 am

hi, where can i get a used milling machine. hopefully a 110volt 3/4 hp

Postby - Rovin's car audio - » August 3rd, 2015, 10:47 am

recently bought 1 of these DEWALT Right Angle Attachment for my drill

http://www.amazon.com/DEWALT-DWARA100-R ... ngle+drill

its not something u gonna use often but for certain jobs its a must have for places ur drill cant fit - it works well .....
Last edited by - Rovin's car audio - on August 4th, 2015, 11:23 am, edited 1 time in total.

Postby *KRONIK* » August 3rd, 2015, 10:51 am

I wish i had 1 to use a few days ago...

I feel i go invest in 1 some time soon

Postby Morpheus » August 3rd, 2015, 12:16 pm

Wow only $20 :shock:

Postby Chimera » August 3rd, 2015, 12:38 pm

Yup that looks useful

Postby Ted_v2 » August 3rd, 2015, 12:55 pm

I agree.

Anyone interested in buying a impact gun? 1/2".

I'm have two 1/2 models and recently I seeing the need for a 3/8 impact.

NR8

Postby NR8 » August 3rd, 2015, 1:10 pm

Post models and price

Postby *KRONIK* » August 3rd, 2015, 4:26 pm

Fellaz...i ask this question on the "kitchen cupboards" thread....but i eh get no response.

What can i use as insulation between a cabinet and range hood?

Postby pugboy » August 3rd, 2015, 4:48 pm

Send a pic

Postby X_Factor » August 3rd, 2015, 4:56 pm

insulation? for the heat not to transfer onto the kitchen cupboard?

there is something called bakelite available from lotec, kinda pricey but will literally stop the heat

Postby Strugglerzinc » August 3rd, 2015, 5:07 pm

Why would you need insulation though? You cooking with a blast furnace?

Postby *KRONIK* » August 3rd, 2015, 6:09 pm

X_Factor wrote:insulation? for the heat not to transfer onto the kitchen cupboard?

there is something called bakelite available from lotec, kinda pricey but will literally stop the heat

Yeah...is just to keep the cabinet and its contents from getting hot.

Previously, the old cabinet would get really hot and all the stuff inside it would get really warm so i wanted to insulate the gap between them to prevent any damage to the cabinet and its contents.

@ strugglerz
And no...its not a blast furnace!

But wifey does have 3 burners running sometimes and as you should know....heat rises