Paying a ticket after the court date passed ...

Re: Paying a ticket after the court date passed ...

Postby Ted_v2 » August 28th, 2015, 9:27 pm

South is a normal scene. Walk in and walk out. Brisk brisk. There's a longer wait by the doubles man than to pay tickets

Postby zoom rader » August 28th, 2015, 9:30 pm

Ted_v2 wrote:South is a normal scene. Walk in and walk out. Brisk brisk. There's a longer wait by the doubles man than to pay tickets

If that is the case then less tickets are issued in south.

Lazy policemen

Postby rollingstock » August 28th, 2015, 9:34 pm

Project-JDM wrote:
Project-JDM wrote:got some time today walked in the court normal .. hand the CSR the ticket he wrote up the receipt normal ... tell me go pay by the cashier ...went to the cashier she read the ticket also told me $1000 paid it and walked out ....

NONE of them realise the date for the ticket passed by 4 weeks :|

sweet T&T yesh.. :drinking:

That's the level of an incompetent workforce that we have.

4-5 cxc gets you a ojt job anywher , i waited about 45mins jus to this ... at tunapuna court

heard in south .... you jus walk in go directly to the casher and pay ...and thats it... 5mins max once the line is not long

K74T wrote:Unc ppl again

doubt its UNC peeps ... its the culture of the people ... lazy as fack ... doh care ...

Uhmm no!

Once the court dates passes, attached to the ticket at the court registrar dept is a copy of the proceedings so far. If no warrant was issued they would accept payment and have the court list updated and the matter stricken off the list.

This was a decision taken to free up court time for matters where persons genuinely wants to contest the ticket and not for persons to waste court time to plead guilty only for the magistrate to order you to go downstairs and pay the ticket.

KraziiKris

Postby KraziiKris » August 28th, 2015, 10:00 pm

Well ppl I inna slightly different situation I got a ticket an didn't pay it with in the 2 weeks dat I suppose to pay it bt my court date ent pass yet. Would it be possible for me to go an pay it without havin to go to court???

Postby rollingstock » August 28th, 2015, 10:05 pm

The Chief Justice has mandated that you have until the morning of the court date to pay, so yes you can. The 2 weeks is what is stipulated in law so police have no choice but to put that pay by date but you have until 9am on the morning of the court date.

10-01

Postby 10-01 » August 28th, 2015, 10:13 pm

Project-JDM wrote:
Project-JDM wrote:got some time today walked in the court normal .. hand the CSR the ticket he wrote up the receipt normal ... tell me go pay by the cashier ...went to the cashier she read the ticket also told me $1000 paid it and walked out ....

That's the level of an incompetent workforce that we have.

4-5 cxc gets you a ojt job anywher , i waited about 45mins jus to this ... at tunapuna court

heard in south .... you jus walk in go directly to the casher and pay ...and thats it... 5mins max once the line is not long

K74T wrote:Unc ppl again

doubt its UNC peeps ... its the culture of the people ... lazy as fack ... doh care ...

Uhmm no!

Once the court dates passes, attached to the ticket at the court registrar dept is a copy of the proceedings so far. If no warrant was issued they would accept payment and have the court list updated and the matter stricken off the list.

This was a decision taken to free up court time for matters where persons genuinely wants to contest the ticket and not for persons to waste court time to plead guilty only for the magistrate to order you to go downstairs and pay the ticket.

from what i saw ... he jus took the ticket grab the receipt book write it up fling it by the clerk ( yes he actually fling it ) to carry it to the cashier , and i jus walked over to the casher and paid it .. didnt see then check any list or anything ... idk if they do it after ..

Postby rollingstock » August 28th, 2015, 10:16 pm

If there was a warrant for failing to attend court they wouldn't have accepted payment.

10-01

Postby 10-01 » August 28th, 2015, 10:20 pm

rollingstock wrote:If there was a warrant for failing to attend court they wouldn't have accepted payment.

well procedure is procedure ....... but im 99% sure dem aint read sheit on that ticket

Postby rollingstock » August 28th, 2015, 10:27 pm

Well they could be lazy beetches too.
Just hope there isn't a warrant floating around for you.

KraziiKris

Postby KraziiKris » August 28th, 2015, 10:28 pm

rollingstock wrote:The Chief Justice has mandated that you have until the morning of the court date to pay, so yes you can. The 2 weeks is what is stipulated in law so police have no choice but to put that pay by date but you have until 9am on the morning of the court date.

Tanks for d info

10-01

Postby 10-01 » August 29th, 2015, 10:36 pm

rollingstock wrote:Well they could be lazy beetches too.
Just hope there isn't a warrant floating around for you.

have my receipt .... so ah safe

Postby rollingstock » August 29th, 2015, 11:51 pm

You do know that if those workers fogged up and just accepted payment without checking the status of the court matter and there is a warrant, the receipt would absolve you BUT you will still have to be arrested and depending on time and day may have to spend time in a cell before you appear before a JP or the magistrate.

The matter would be dismissed as you paid but would incur some inconvenience, hopefully the police would be smart and ask you to meet at the court the next business day to have it cleared.

Better course of action would have been to verify if there was a postponement and what action was taken if any.

Not trying to frighten you here eh, jus that it could happen.

Postby Ted_v2 » August 30th, 2015, 12:31 am

Wogyarrrd but seems legit

10-01

Postby 10-01 » August 30th, 2015, 5:03 pm

rollingstock wrote:You do know that if those workers fogged up and just accepted payment without checking the status of the court matter and there is a warrant, the receipt would absolve you BUT you will still have to be arrested and depending on time and day may have to spend time in a cell before you appear before a JP or the magistrate.

The matter would be dismissed as you paid but would incur some inconvenience, hopefully the police would be smart and ask you to meet at the court the next business day to have it cleared.

Better course of action would have been to verify if there was a postponement and what action was taken if any.

Not trying to frighten you here eh, jus that it could happen.

noted ... :oops:

Postby toyolink » August 30th, 2015, 6:39 pm

Some real useful infor. here.
Thanks RS.

Casper23

Postby Casper23 » September 27th, 2015, 11:50 am

Rolling stock, what are the statute of limitations on traffic tickets in trinidad, how long can a warrant of arrest be valid for, just curious

Postby rollingstock » September 27th, 2015, 3:17 pm

There is no statute of limitations on a fixed penalty notice (ticket) The ticket itself is a summons so court proceedings had already been instituted.

A warrant has no expiry date, either it is served and the respondent appears in court or dies.

shottah_crew

Postby shottah_crew » September 27th, 2015, 3:39 pm

Actually, even if the matter is adjourned, the ticket can be paid. Although the ticket acts as a summons, many Magistrates do not issue warrants for non appearance on the first date. A fresh summons is ordered for you to attend in most cases, but not all. Depends on the magistrate.

When you get to court, most times the case is not ready to start and the matter is adjourned. People have come to court on several adjournments and just pay the ticket in between court dates because they are fed up of attending and waitinf for the matter to go to trial.

Each ticket is done in triplicate. You get one, the police keeps one and the court gets one. There is usually a ticket register at the court which is updated, sometimes daily, to reconcile the tickets that have been paid and those not paid to be booked to go to court. Those tickets already booked would just be endorsed as paid on the case sheet the next time the case is to be heard.

Tickets are minor offences and at the end of the day is revenue for the government. The point behind the new system is not to deny people if they want to pay the fine.

Casper23

Postby Casper23 » September 27th, 2015, 3:51 pm

Well if that is the case this is my situation my court date is on Friday, however I'm leaving the country tomorrow at 5AM, I just remembered this thing when I was packing over the weekend, it wasn't a pressing matter to me until I saw the date as 2nd Oct,2015. I will be away for two months on business, I just don't want when I return, I not familiar how the system works to be arrested on sight or whatever the case maybe. I have no problem paying this thing and moving forward, I am not wasting any time challenging it court.

shottah_crew

Postby shottah_crew » September 28th, 2015, 12:00 am

You can always ask someone else you trust to pay it for you. You just need to give them your copy to go to the court with.

Postby SmokeyGTi » September 28th, 2015, 7:41 am

Keep your receipt!
just in case a breakdown in communication happens and they still come for you

Postby Monk BANzai » October 1st, 2015, 11:29 am

rollingstock wrote:The Chief Justice has mandated that you have until the morning of the court date to pay, so yes you can. The 2 weeks is what is stipulated in law so police have no choice but to put that pay by date but you have until 9am on the morning of the court date.

oh ok..so even if the 14 days has expired you can still go up until the day of the court appearance to pay?

(sorry if i asking a question that was raised already.....)

daxt0r

Postby daxt0r » October 1st, 2015, 12:19 pm

Yes Yes!! Heck i even pay mine the day written on the ticket to come to court lol!!!
Basically you can pay up to 9am of the written court date.

Postby RBphoto » October 1st, 2015, 12:29 pm

Repeat after me, when asked if you know what you did or if they just ask for your licence and insurance "Mr. Officer sir, I am terribly sorry for "Whatever the ticket is obviously for". I do not pass this way very often and "either confused, mistook signals, ah too chupid excuse here", I would really appreciate if you could let me off with a warning and I promise you will never see me in this situation again. Mention your wife and kids if you have to. Crying helps.

If you too high and mighty to or just sarcastic, take ticket in your azz.

daxt0r

Postby daxt0r » October 1st, 2015, 1:13 pm

lol lolol
tru tru i from south and does always use da excuse in town an get off.
from d time dey see my license dey does b like wa u doin quite here and start to ol talk

Postby RBphoto » October 1st, 2015, 2:52 pm

daxt0r wrote:lol lolol
tru tru i from south and does always use da excuse in town an get off.
from d time dey see my license dey does b like wa u doin quite here and start to ol talk

Only had to use it twice, both for those places where they have time limits on making a turn, and both times I was actually given a new assignment in a new office, so it really did not know.

Advent

Postby Advent » October 1st, 2015, 3:41 pm

RBphoto wrote:Repeat after me, when asked if you know what you did or if they just ask for your licence and insurance "Mr. Officer sir, I am terribly sorry for "Whatever the ticket is obviously for". I do not pass this way very often and "either confused, mistook signals, ah too chupid excuse here", I would really appreciate if you could let me off with a warning and I promise you will never see me in this situation again. Mention your wife and kids if you have to. Crying helps.

If you too high and mighty to or just sarcastic, take ticket in your azz.

i get off like this d other day, was doing 140 and a bike police was tryna catch up, all was good till i indicated and overtake with a little space between cars, officer try to catch up start the lights and stuff. pull meh over " my motorbike is 1300cc and i tryna catch you" officer i sorry, my gf sick and just fly in from america. all this time i have on a distressed look eh :lol: , after 5 minitues of im sorry , was my wrong etc officer took insurance info then say take yuh time na, i disappointed with yuh.

gnutt

Postby gnutt » August 29th, 2016, 8:24 am

anyone know what is the hours i could go pay a ticket in sando court? is a whole day thing or is only morning half?

if anyone know what is the best time to go?

gnutt

Postby gnutt » August 30th, 2016, 5:42 am

anyone?

shottah_crew

Postby shottah_crew » August 30th, 2016, 8:23 am

Today is the last working day of the month so cash would close lunch time, otherwise it's usually 3 I think.