Re: ***The Official Rapid Rail Thread***

Postby K74T » October 23rd, 2015, 8:39 pm

Nah

EmilioA

Postby EmilioA » October 23rd, 2015, 8:42 pm

Numb3r4 wrote:^^ You can't force adaptation onto a species/culture/group. It is a slow process that takes into consideration what is in existence and how it operates and does it need improving?

One must note that adaptation is not the introduction of an entirely new concept/thing it is a concept/thing that has come into being out of an existing one. It is the result of the gradual modification of an already existing concept/thing based on the prevailing environment.

Horses are not native to the New World. Before Cortez the dog was the main beast of burden in North America. So the horse was very much a new concept to the the Apache and Navajo. Yet it took a single generation for them to dump thier dogs and become the horsemen we know from TV.

And continuing the new concept trend , you know how long it took the car to replace the horse ? 30 years. Also just a generation.

The tank was invented in 1916. By 1939 (23 years) the Germans were invading Poland with tanks.

If a society want to move it can move. We've been talking about rapid rail for over 10 years now. We should be completely acclimated in 20 years. Unless you think the rapid rail is a bigger "new concept" than the horse and the automobile and the tank.

Twin Isle Cars n' Parts

Postby Twin Isle Cars n' Parts » October 23rd, 2015, 8:58 pm

Numb3r4 wrote:^^ You can't force adaptation onto a species/culture/group. It is a slow process that takes into consideration what is in existence and how it operates and does it need improving?

One must note that adaptation is not the introduction of an entirely new concept/thing it is a concept/thing that has come into being out of an existing one. It is the result of the gradual modification of an already existing concept/thing based on the prevailing environment.

Well said...

EmilioA

Postby EmilioA » October 23rd, 2015, 9:11 pm

Twin Isle Cars n' Parts wrote:

Well said...

Well said ...but still wrong as I pointed out above.

Postby sMASH » October 23rd, 2015, 9:39 pm

Hqng ur hat.where u can't reach- the point is not to reach the hat, but to have it hung high.

With the cycling idea. Why not relocate beetham residents and build an urban residential zone so that the MANY of the PoS workers can have easier, environmentally friendly time saving commutes to and from work?

Postby Habit7 » October 23rd, 2015, 10:03 pm

sMASH wrote:Hqng ur hat.where u can't reach- the point is not to reach the hat, but to have it hung high.

With the cycling idea. Why not relocate beetham residents and build an urban residential zone so that the MANY of the PoS workers can have easier, environmentally friendly time saving commutes to and from work?

How Beethamites stopping you from doing that?

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » October 23rd, 2015, 10:14 pm

sMASH wrote:Hqng ur hat.where u can't reach- the point is not to reach the hat, but to have it hung high.

I agree one of the biggest problems going into POS is the Beetham. Not even in a car you safe if you shut down, you can only imagine on a expensive road bike they taking that with machete.

If they did what you suggest its possible that people would adapt bikes to go into POS, parking is so much easier on a bike.

Postby zoom rader » October 24th, 2015, 3:54 am

Fat chance they gonna remove PNM core support for development

Postby Habit7 » October 24th, 2015, 6:58 am

Postby zoom rader » October 24th, 2015, 12:04 pm

^^^ Not a single jhandis will be planted under PNM

Postby K74T » October 24th, 2015, 12:13 pm

zoom rader wrote:^^^ Not a single jhandis will be planted under PNM

Well de place go look nicer then bai

Numb3r4

Postby Numb3r4 » October 24th, 2015, 12:24 pm

EmilioA wrote:

Horses are not native to the New World. Before Cortez the dog was the main beast of burden in North America. So the horse was very much a new concept to the the Apache and Navajo. Yet it took a single generation for them to dump thier dogs and become the horsemen we know from TV.

And continuing the new concept trend , you know how long it took the car to replace the horse ? 30 years. Also just a generation.

The tank was invented in 1916. By 1939 (23 years) the Germans were invading Poland with tanks.

If a society want to move it can move. We've been talking about rapid rail for over 10 years now. We should be completely acclimated in 20 years. Unless you think the rapid rail is a bigger "new concept" than the horse and the automobile and the tank.

Firstly we have had PTSC for how many years and have we adapted to it yet? How many years have we had to become acclimatized with the bus transit system PTSC?

Secondly you said it yourself is a society wants to move it will....look at what we have had have we moved?
We have a health care system that was free a most admirable thing and what happened both the public and staff seem content to take it for granted.

Take a gander at the myriad of things that have been placed in the laps of Trinbagonians all to what end abuse, corruption, mismanagement etc.etc. We need a mentality change, we need to fix what we have.

Going back to what was said about the rapid adaptation of technology true they were rapid but one must admit that there was trememdous physical/external pressure to adapt it not to mention tremendous private gain to be had. In the case of the car yes it was good but it was also a lucrative business endeavor that promoted the sale of oil and gas products and the growth of a robust manufacturing industry. Quite alot of spin off industries were created by the rapid adaptation of the technology, or one can say that because the technology had the potential for many spinoff industries it was adapted so quickly. Does the rapid rail have the ability to create massive lucrative spi off industries? Has PTSC done that?

In the case of the tank sure it was a rapid advencement but that was done primarily to obtain a tactical advantage on the battlefield to win a war. Not necessarily because the German people needed it. External pressure to simpe prop up a cause that proved to ambitious amoung other things.

Yet within this tank analogy lies a good case for not always choosong the the most expensive piece of technology. I shall eleborate, the German "Tiger" tanks were technologically superior to any of the armored vehicles of the time, be it the Russian T72 or the American Sherman yet still the the American Sherman tank proved to be more decisive in battle principally because itnwas cheaper to manufacture, use and maintain. Coming to the end of the war the German war machine found it very difficult to produce the tanks, many being left in various states of manufacture in the factories as the allies closed in.

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » October 24th, 2015, 2:25 pm

^ I think you mean the Russian T34 as the T72 was not invented until 1973.

But its been said until the T72 in 1973 there was no tank more advanced than the German Tiger of the 1940's which showed how advanced it really was. Hitler's mistake was focusing on too much quality, its true that German Engineering you can't beat but in war its numbers that count. Americans outsmarted them with much more tanks even if it was cheaper. Russians however still had the toughest tanks of them all, the only thing capable of neutralizing the T34 with 1 shot was the German 88 cannon.

drchaos

Postby drchaos » October 24th, 2015, 3:07 pm

Wikipedia ....

Postby desifemlove » October 24th, 2015, 3:22 pm

EFFECTIC DESIGNS wrote:^ traveling with the bike on the RR would be pretty great, for a lot of people its going to be a short ride to get to the RR.

But I not sure how many trinis would be willing to do that, we have never been a culture of bicycles like the Europeans and Americans are. In first world countries even women ride bike in a dress. Not a fat chance anything remotely close to this would happen in Trinidad.

Look even the British Prime Minister David Cameron can be seen often riding to parliament on his bicycle middle of a work week, not a fat chance you will ever see anything like that down here in Trini. You could ever catch even one of them in government down here doing that? LOL HA them want police escort and a Prado just to go to the grocery.

erm....cos Downing street is only 10 mins away from Parliament... even still London does have plenty cycle routes, fully marked and with driver respect. london is an example for T&T to follow.

Numb3r4

Postby Numb3r4 » October 24th, 2015, 4:11 pm

Apologies it was the T34. But going back to my point you see how in this case the simpler solution, The Sherman, in the long run proved better. Expensive and complicated while they are things of marvel and wonder aren't always the best.

Numb3r4

Postby Numb3r4 » October 24th, 2015, 4:21 pm

And back to the cycle many of the cities that utilize this tend to have dedicated cycle lanes and/or special traffic ordinances that facilitate and protect both the drivers and the cyclists.

If they get things like dedicated lanes maybe they cluld make it work but still...the whole issue of driver mentality and plain rudeness and lack of proper manners hasme questioning this.

EmilioA

Postby EmilioA » October 24th, 2015, 5:56 pm

Numb3r4 wrote:Yet within this tank analogy lies a good case for not always choosong the the most expensive piece of technology. I shall eleborate, the German "Tiger" tanks were technologically superior to any of the armored vehicles of the time, be it the Russian T72 or the American Sherman yet still the the American Sherman tank proved to be more decisive in battle principally because itnwas cheaper to manufacture, use and maintain. Coming to the end of the war the German war machine found it very difficult to produce the tanks, many being left in various states of manufacture in the factories as the allies closed in.

1. Not to get involved in a tankie debate but the Tiger was not superior to the Sherman. The Tiger like most German tanks had an engine that was too weak for its weight which made it slow and a big ass target for its opponents.

But this is kinda off topic.

irstly we have had PTSC for how many years and have we adapted to it yet? How many years have we had to become acclimatized with the bus transit system PTSC?

Secondly you said it yourself is a society wants to move it will....look at what we have had have we moved?
We have a health care system that was free a most admirable thing and what happened both the public and staff seem content to take it for granted.

Take a gander at the myriad of things that have been placed in the laps of Trinbagonians all to what end abuse, corruption, mismanagement etc.etc. We need a mentality change, we need to fix what we have.

I'm not exactly sure you get my point . My point is adapt or die. Once you decide to adapt you can do so quickly. If you decide not to adapt for whatever reasons then your society will decline.

My examples were designed to refute you point that change has to happen slowly.

All your examples now are telling me is that Trinis will choose not to adapt Not that Trinis cant adapt . And as I say, if Trinis choose not to adapt then we will reap the consequences.
Last edited by EmilioA on October 24th, 2015, 6:05 pm, edited 2 times in total.

EmilioA

Postby EmilioA » October 24th, 2015, 5:58 pm

desifemlove wrote:
erm....cos Downing street is only 10 mins away from Parliament... even still London does have plenty cycle routes, fully marked and with driver respect. london is an example for T&T to follow.

How far the Trini PM residence from either the old Red House and Whitehall or the new PM Office and Tower D ?

drchaos

Postby drchaos » October 24th, 2015, 8:31 pm

What we need is to not copy white people systems and solutions and come up with our own that work with the culture and problems that we have here.

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » October 24th, 2015, 8:34 pm

EmilioA wrote:
1. Not to get involved in a tankie debate but the Tiger was not superior to the Sherman. The Tiger like most German tanks had an engine that was too weak for its weight which made it slow and a big ass target for its opponents.

This is false though, Tiger was an Engineering marvel but was plagued with overheating etc because it was rushed.

However this isn't the main reason it lost the Battle of Kursk the largest tank battle in history. The British succeeded in decryption the messages sent by the German Electro Mechanical computer called Enigma. They then passed on the info to Moscow, so since the Russians were now aware of the tank assault at Kursk this allowed them to booby trap the 100KM front with tank mines and anti tank weapons.

This is the only reason the Tiger was defeated, the T34 though had more armor and was more powerful had rudimentary radios and clunky gearboxes, the German Tiger was a technological marvel which is why it defeated the T34 at every chance up until the British decoded Enigma.

The American Sherman tanks were cheap Garbage and only succeeded in defeating the German Tiger simply because the British won the war on espionage. The current day American tanks however are second to none.

Numb3r4

Postby Numb3r4 » October 24th, 2015, 10:19 pm

EmilioA wrote:
Numb3r4 wrote:

Not to mention the fact that the Tiger Tank was the or among the heavier pieces of mobile battlefield equipment, this was one the reasons the engine had difficulty in doing its job. Yet still despite this "weak engine" the Tiger managed to attain a descent battle field speed one quite comparable to that of the Sherman and the T34. Point to note that later on as the war progressed design concessions were probably made as materials became scarce and this could have affected the performance of the tank later on, a possibility as the Nazis were losing.

True it was a "big target" in dimensions yet still Sherman did not actively engage the Tiger that work was still left to the anti-tank guns. To put a Sherman up against it would have been a terrible idea the Sherman's armour was effective against 75mm shell (tops) the Tiger fired a 88mm(8.8cm).

Numb3r4

Postby Numb3r4 » October 24th, 2015, 10:45 pm

EmilioA wrote:
irstly we have had PTSC for how many years and have we adapted to it yet? How many years have we had to become acclimatized with the bus transit system PTSC?

I'm not exactly sure you get my point . My point is adapt or die. Once you decide to adapt you can do so quickly. If you decide not to adapt for whatever reasons then your society will decline.

My examples were designed to refute you point that change has to happen slowly.

All your examples now are telling me is that Trinis will choose not to adapt Not that Trinis cant adapt . And as I say, if Trinis choose not to adapt then we will reap the consequences.

Sincerest apologies for any misunderstandings, no insult or harm was intended.

Still though I believe that history has shown that we are a bit slow to adapt as a nation that is the principle reason we are where we are, I am quoting low productivity as the chief example of this. We have been told on multiple occasion that this is a problem yet where are we in properly addressing this issue?

Now more that ever when the external world is moving so quickly we are relative to them not moving at all (I feel).

At this point when ever I think about the rapid rail I think about the TTC, I made this point before, and the fact that they have a ultra reliable bus system complimenting the subway/rail system. We currently have a bus system please fix that first, then that will help to compliment the rail system and make it far more effective. I don't believe we should build the rail before first improving what we have and observing the result.

For that matter stop simply paving roads and build the roads such that they just last longer, and are a little more resilient to soil creep and such earth movement.

But I digress.....

I believe (it is sad) that they may not consciously choose to not adapt but by their internalized (bad) habits the end result will be that they don't make much of an effort, and the adaptation process may not be carried out in full....

Postby Habit7 » October 25th, 2015, 4:36 pm

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » October 25th, 2015, 4:50 pm

^ Notice how slim they all are aswell. If only we had wonderful temperate like they do, no sweating there.

Postby j.o.e » October 25th, 2015, 4:54 pm

All this bike talk .... Is a waste.

Postby Habit7 » October 25th, 2015, 6:08 pm

At 34°C with 90% humidity, ppl will die every week.

Postby Morpheus » October 25th, 2015, 6:31 pm

Habit7 wrote:At 34°C with 90% humidity, ppl will die every week.

LoL yuh telling me. We does sweat in Trinidad while just standing in one spot.....

Numb3r4

Postby Numb3r4 » October 25th, 2015, 7:11 pm

The physical exertion would be terrible, but not only the temperature and the humidity but what about the rain, and the fact that Port of Spain floods?