RASC wrote:Anti Rapid rail or Anti Light rail people can eat an L
Sub Sahara Africa is passing us by, in technology, innovation, ecommerce, banking and transportation solutions , reducing carbon footprint...all the while having less purchasing power, less reliable energy supplies, less stability in terms of governance and security...
Mean while we have these donkey cart supporting muthafuckers promoting more buss lanes, more congestion and less innovation. Y'all seriously need to leave this country...anyone who wants to go back in time can ship themselves off to some Amazonian back waters of Guyana. The rest can stay and HELP take us forward.
Habit7 wrote:At 34°C with 90% humidity, ppl will die every week.
RASC wrote:Anti Rapid rail or Anti Light rail people can eat an L
Sub Sahara Africa is passing us by, in technology, innovation, ecommerce, banking and transportation solutions , reducing carbon footprint...all the while having less purchasing power, less reliable energy supplies, less stability in terms of governance and security...
Mean while we have these donkey cart supporting muthafuckers promoting more buss lanes, more congestion and less innovation. Y'all seriously need to leave this country...anyone who wants to go back in time can ship themselves off to some Amazonian back waters of Guyana. The rest can stay and HELP take us forward.
K74T wrote:Nah
RASC wrote:On another somewhat related note...
There are quite a few Trinbagonian EXPERTS (20+ years experience) in mass transit and rail in particular living, practising abroad who genuinely want to return to help in any which way to make this a success.
Whether it be downstream or upstream there is no shortage of talented citizenry the world over who want to come home and assist in this project.
Alot of you guys not seeing the added benefit of having technically savvy citizens return home and contribute to the KNOWLEDGE transfer. One of the biggest challenges any developing nation has is having its extremely talented nationals returning home to contribute ... Whether it be lecturing part time, being contracted to work on future driven projects, mentoring and of course business activities-this (along with others) is the type of project that will bring them home.
Daran wrote:Rasc,calm yourself. I agree in theory with that. Africa will surpass us eventually quite easily too. The trini mindset is doom to fail us when the economy collapsed. I have friends from Africa many who I helped during my MSc. All of them are being funded by they respective governments for PhDs. These are rich countries, these were students from Senegal, Mozambique, Niger and Angola. And their 'primitive' African governments were fully funding them to study any topic they wanted. In Trinidad we over promote undergraduate study while under funding and appreciating post grad work.
These countries will go far. But I digress.
The rapid fail not by any measure will dig us out of our hole. That is argument many are putting forth.
Imo its too late to start this now, we simply cannot afford this mega project. Priorities man.not saying it wasn't needed. it was either that or the highways the PP built. We got what we got.
Right now it is a horrible idea to spend your way out of a recession especially if you have very little to fall back on.
What exactly does Brazil offer Mercedes Benz and Volvo etc that we cannot?
Dizzy28 wrote:K74T wrote:Nah
If Duane bans the word "Nah" from use on this forum you really wouldn't have much purpose here!!!
RASC wrote:On another somewhat related note...
There are quite a few Trinbagonian EXPERTS (20+ years experience) in mass transit and rail in particular living, practising abroad who genuinely want to return to help in any which way to make this a success.
Whether it be downstream or upstream there is no shortage of talented citizenry the world over who want to come home and assist in this project.
Alot of you guys not seeing the added benefit of having technically savvy citizens return home and contribute to the KNOWLEDGE transfer. One of the biggest challenges any developing nation has is having its extremely talented nationals returning home to contribute ... Whether it be lecturing part time, being contracted to work on future driven projects, mentoring and of course business activities-this (along with others) is the type of project that will bring them home.
Redman wrote:RASC wrote:On another somewhat related note...
All those citizens are gainfully employed because there was a process followed and implemented.
All of them are part of a system with different components that is useful in their location....because it was successfully implemented...
What we have down here is a POLITICAL decision that is now the answer....and we just trying to find the right questions that lead to that answer...
The RR is such a large project...and our history of managing projects sucks such large battam that we need to be double dog sure that its the right thing and we not being handed a justification as an excuse to transfer wealth to a few chosen people.
aaaafakinGAIN.
RASC wrote:Redman wrote:RASC wrote:On another somewhat related note...
All those citizens are gainfully employed because there was a process followed and implemented.
All of them are part of a system with different components that is useful in their location....because it was successfully implemented...
What we have down here is a POLITICAL decision that is now the answer....and we just trying to find the right questions that lead to that answer...
The RR is such a large project...and our history of managing projects sucks such large battam that we need to be double dog sure that its the right thing and we not being handed a justification as an excuse to transfer wealth to a few chosen people.
aaaafakinGAIN.
All I'm hearing from y'all is:
We not ready
We cyar manage
We too lazy to pull it off
We too small
We used to be leaders, but with y'all in charge we will be destined to be followers.
Numb3r4 wrote:I keep hearing about these three African countries but one must mention that they are loaded with natural resources. It must also be said that many of these resource rich countries tend to be taken advantage of by multinationals much to the benefit of the few and at the expense of the general population.
One must also make mention of the fact that these infrastructural projects are deals made with the Chinese, infrastructure in exchange for resources etc., one must be wary of these things and to who the benefit really goes to. Fine we've got a rail but when the Chinese and the resources go can we maintain it on our own?
We have oil and gas and we still have a functionally illiterate population of about 20% of the total. Some people say more....isn't this where the oil and gas money should go first, to the improving of what we already have, to the betterment of policy and the general empowering of the public and achieving a raised standard of government services. Haven't we had enough infrastructural projects, we get one every 5 years...take a break.
With the IDB they will fund you only if you have the potential to pay them back. Which means that yes you can obtain a piece of infrastructure but is it worth the long term cost not just the financial but the IDB measures that may be inflicted upon the populace? Yeah we've got the rail but when the IDB runs the economy would we like? We might have no choice but to like it.
RASC wrote:Redman wrote:RASC wrote:On another somewhat related note...
aaaafakinGAIN.
We not ready
We cyar manage
We too small
We used to be leaders, but with y'all in charge we will be destined to be followers.
Trinispougla wrote:Numb3r4 wrote:....
With the IDB they will fund you only if you have the potential to pay them back. Which means that yes you can obtain a piece of infrastructure but is it worth the long term cost not just the financial but the IDB measures that may be inflicted upon the populace? Yeah we've got the rail but when the IDB runs the economy would we like? We might have no choice but to like it.
I think you are confusing the IDB with the IMF or world bank. The later institutions are meant to keep economies afloat. They don't deal with expenditure. They deal with revenue. E.g, in Jamaica, when the bauxite market crashed in the mid seventies, they were forced to bring in the Imf to help pay wages, upkeep healthcare and so on. This is because they had little revenue and they needed a Cash boost. They are still with the imf and have to abide by certain spending regulations. The organization strictly deals with sort of doomsday situations like Greece. The IDB won't impose limitations on you're spending. They simply won't or will stop funding you
RASC wrote:.........
We not ready
We cyar manage
We too small