***The Official Rapid Rail Thread***

Re: ***The Official Rapid Rail Thread***

Postby pete » October 28th, 2015, 9:30 pm

Bring back the one way on Ariapita and Tragarete?

Sent from my MotoG3 using Tapatalk

Fuzzle

Postby Fuzzle » October 29th, 2015, 7:19 am

Postby Dizzy28 » October 29th, 2015, 8:43 am

^ But how much more dangerous would a train be to any other form of transport? We all hear statistically flying safer than driving and I suspect trains are also safer than driving.

Postby Slartibartfast » October 29th, 2015, 8:44 am

http://961theeagle.com/what-is-the-safest-way-to-travel-by-plane-car-train-space-shuttle/ wrote:Motorcycles - 125 deaths per billion miles
Walking - 41 deaths per billion miles
Bicycles - 35 deaths per billion miles
Ferries - 20 deaths per billion miles
The Space Shuttle - 7 deaths per billion miles
Cars - 4 deaths per billion miles
Airplanes - 0.5 deaths per billion miles
Buses - 0.5 deaths per billion miles
Trains - 0.2 deaths per billion miles

http://journalistsresource.org/studies/environment/transportation/comparing-fatality-risks-united-states-transportation-across-modes-time wrote:Same stats but in the US only
Motorcycles - 212 deaths per billion miles
Cars, Trucks, SUVs - 7.3 deaths per billion miles
Airplanes - 0.07 deaths per billion miles (Excluding suicide and terrorism)
Buses - 0.11 deaths per billion miles
Trains - 0.15 deaths per billion miles (0.25 if you counts fatalities of pedestrians and collisions with cars, many of which are believed to be suicides)
Last edited by Slartibartfast on October 29th, 2015, 8:52 am, edited 1 time in total.

Postby Dizzy28 » October 29th, 2015, 8:50 am

Not bad odds at all for a train ride

Postby Slartibartfast » October 29th, 2015, 8:53 am

Those motorcycle stats tho :(

Postby RASC » October 29th, 2015, 8:53 am

rspann wrote:Rasc,You are either an as shole or you just dunce. Where did I say that I love cars more than proper development. We have roads already and they need to be developed but we have to wait years while the train comes on stream.What do we do in the meantime.You do not discuss or bring any points you only try to sheit up people. Hear what to do ,you alone post and you alone answer ,because you don't want anybody to say anything as long as it conflicts with your simpleminded single track sheit of a brain.

Is this your goodbye post?

Postby Allergic2BunnyEars » October 29th, 2015, 8:54 am

Slartibartfast wrote:Those motorcycle stats tho :(

Yeah well you wanna lane split locally :p

EmilioA

Postby EmilioA » October 29th, 2015, 9:20 am

Fuzzle wrote: Train crashes

Clearly this means cars are a bad idea .

EmilioA

Postby EmilioA » October 29th, 2015, 9:24 am

According to Arrive Alive, 147 people died from car accidents in 2014 in Trinidad.

The time has come to ban cars clearly.

Postby Slartibartfast » October 29th, 2015, 9:28 am

Allergic2BunnyEars wrote:
Slartibartfast wrote:Those motorcycle stats tho :(

Yeah well you wanna lane split locally :p

Lol, yeah. I slowed down significantly since my last accident. Realised I already saving an hour in traffic, no need to risk my life to save 5-10 minutes more.

Postby Redman » October 29th, 2015, 9:37 am

Lol, yeah. I slowed down significantly since my last accident. Realised I already saving an hour in traffic, no need to risk my life to save 5-10 minutes more.

Egggzakleeeee

So what is it we trying to achieve here?

Whats an acceptable transit time?

What are we willing to pay to reduce that time ...for the portion of the population that commutes in the affected areas.?

What is the population affected?

DurzoBlint1

Postby DurzoBlint1 » October 29th, 2015, 9:52 am

Wait nah tuners, ent d country in for hard times? So howz about the government take dat same money and give it to citizens to help weather the hard times rather than waste a set of money and sink the country deeper into hard times. Wat allyuh say to that?

Postby Redman » October 29th, 2015, 9:59 am

no boy
no feasibility study+IDB validation of arithmetic=fus world.

doh study it

Postby Dizzy28 » October 29th, 2015, 10:42 am

DurzoBlint1 wrote:Wait nah tuners, ent d country in for hard times? So howz about the government take dat same money and give it to citizens to help weather the hard times rather than waste a set of money and sink the country deeper into hard times. Wat allyuh say to that?

How do we know citizens wouldn't also waste the money if given it??

Postby Slartibartfast » October 29th, 2015, 10:45 am

Redman wrote:

Egggzakleeeee

What are we willing to pay to reduce that time ...for the portion of the population that commutes in the affected areas.?

I would like to answer your questions but I have no idea the questions refer to. Are you saying more people should buy motorcycles? Cuz if that's your point then I'll definitely agree given my personal bias.

Postby Habit7 » October 29th, 2015, 11:01 am

DurzoBlint1 wrote:Wait nah tuners, ent d country in for hard times? So howz about the government take dat same money and give it to citizens to help weather the hard times rather than waste a set of money and sink the country deeper into hard times. Wat allyuh say to that?
I continue to realise that most ppl who question this project are largely uninformed about the project.

The project will be a BOLT (build operate lease transfer) project. Meaning a contractor will build it, complete it and then the govt will start paying incrementally over several years. Jamaica with hardly 2¢ to run together, over the last 10 years built almost the amount of highways we did in 50 years. Thanks to BOLT they can afford it and trust me, it is the most beautiful road I have ever driven on.

A mass transit system will redound to the benefit if the said citizens with a more productive country, healthier emissions and more time home with their families and not in traffic.

Giving money carte blanche to citizens is what got us into this problem in the first place.

Fuzzle

Postby Fuzzle » October 29th, 2015, 11:49 am

EmilioA wrote:

NOPE Drivers are

Postby pugboy » October 29th, 2015, 4:36 pm

A lot of jamaicas recent highways are financed with grants from china
All rail and subway systems around the world are usually permanently subsidized
Ie they run at a loss no matter what

Postby Habit7 » October 29th, 2015, 4:52 pm

Habit7 wrote: http://www.dominicantoday.com/dr/econom ... -the-world
Santo Domingo spent only TT$150,000,000 on theirs before it broke even and made a profit.

EmilioA

Postby EmilioA » October 29th, 2015, 7:15 pm

Fuzzle wrote:
EmilioA wrote:

NOPE Drivers are

We must stop spending money on drivers then.

Postby Redman » November 2nd, 2015, 10:18 am

Slartibartfast wrote:
Redman wrote:

Egggzakleeeee

I would like to answer your questions but I have no idea the questions refer to. Are you saying more people should buy motorcycles? Cuz if that's your point then I'll definitely agree given my personal bias.

Well no...

Im saying that we should be focusing on the PROCEDURE to arrive at a decision.

Math is based on procedure.
Follow the steps without error you cant get 5 when adding 2+2.

Our Policy should reflect this....Investigate Analyze,Consult,Decide Implement.

So we should know what we trying to achieve BEFORE we take the first step.

I heard Dr Rowley say that the IDB is developing a solution based on their analysis.

whatever the solution recommended he will implement.

Good concept

Postby Slartibartfast » November 2nd, 2015, 3:03 pm

Still not sure what that has to do with my comment on slowing down. I agree with what you say about focusing on the procedure. The only thing I disagree with you on are the expected results and motives behind making a car easier to own. But otherwise you talkin sense.

Postby Redman » November 2nd, 2015, 4:57 pm

you referenced not wanting risk your life for the the 5-10 minutes etc

Which demonstrates the type of analysis we need.
ie whats the risks and cost to you to save 5-10min.
Is it worth it?

Extrapolating to the RR

What we want to achieve?
What will we achieve?
whats the cost, alternatives etc?

So if it is the goal is to cut commute times to POS.....for x% of the population then is the RR and the 20B the way to go???
Is the result worth the 20B that could be used elsewhere?

All of these questions should be answered BE..FAKIN..FORE we break ground.

in a properly done and fully published study.

Postby desifemlove » November 2nd, 2015, 5:05 pm

Fuzzle wrote:Image

is this mode of transport 100% safe?

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=WzdRdFclcmo

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=D6D3sBxtEQc

sheit happens, dude....how is this grounds for not having a rail? how come Spain ent shut down all rail from that accident?

VII

Postby VII » November 2nd, 2015, 7:40 pm

The second train crash gif is from a movie btw,just saying.

drchaos

Postby drchaos » November 2nd, 2015, 9:00 pm

Another reason we need a RR system, diesel fumes are highly toxic. This stuff does a real number to your health, everything from worsening asthma to miscarriages. Every other vehicle on the road is running high sulphur diesel on a euro 2 emission engine or sometimes worse.

The downstream effect of a healthier population is huge!

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » November 2nd, 2015, 11:47 pm

drchaos wrote:Another reason we need a RR system, diesel fumes are highly toxic. This stuff does a real number to your health, everything from worsening asthma to miscarriages. Every other vehicle on the road is running high sulphur diesel on a euro 2 emission engine or sometimes worse.

The downstream effect of a healthier population is huge!

Everybody wants to own a Diesel Vehicle because it so cheap to drive around in, nobody cares about how toxic it is. Why are they even selling Diesel Engine SUV in this place, you have $700,000 to buy a Prado well you could afford a gas engine one.

What they should do is raise the Tax on personal diesel vehicles by 9000% make it almost impossible to own one. But say a farmer wants to buy a Pickup? well he won't pay any tax if its a single cab, and majority of people buying Hilux to joyride won't buy single cab anyways. But which government has the balls to do something like this? Trinis don't care about their health I realize this, infact they think its cool to breathe diesel smoke and survive.

Everytime one of these stupid Maxi Taxi pull off it leaves a huge trail of thick black smoke on the passengers they drop off.

Postby Slartibartfast » November 3rd, 2015, 5:11 am

Redman wrote:you referenced not wanting risk your life for the the 5-10 minutes etc

Which demonstrates the type of analysis we need.
ie whats the risks and cost to you to save 5-10min.
Is it worth it?

Extrapolating to the RR

What we want to achieve?
What will we achieve?
whats the cost, alternatives etc?

So if it is the goal is to cut commute times to POS.....for x% of the population then is the RR and the 20B the way to go???
Is the result worth the 20B that could be used elsewhere?

All of these questions should be answered BE..FAKIN..FORE we break ground.

in a properly done and fully published study.
Ok word word. I agree with this. Not just for that rapid rail but for any major project a proper cost/benefit analysis must be done.

BRZ

Postby BRZ » November 3rd, 2015, 8:28 am

EmilioA wrote:
rspann wrote:Everybody on this forum are tuners ,lovers of cars . Like I said the ones who talking want ban or limitation on cars but would not want their privilege taken away. Why can't a proper road network solve the traffic problem?

What is your proposed proper road network ? Our problem is that 1/2 the country trying to drive to POS in the morning and getting trapped on the CRH/ EMR

As ive said previously

Decentralization and School ZONING! or maybe a complete change to SHIFT hours for schools too?