GRIM

Re: ***THE FARMERS CHED***

Postby GRIM » December 16th, 2015, 6:27 pm

purple cabbage isnt a big seller
best bet with chinese restaurants is pakchoi, cauliflower and sweet pepper
sweet pepper real cheap right now $3/lb for big ones and expensive to plant.
dont know the price for pakchoi right now but it cheap to plant.
cauliflower fairly cheap to plant but is very susceptible to bacteria/fungus and various pests (worms, white flies)

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » December 16th, 2015, 6:46 pm

^ $3 a pound is incredibly cheap for sweet pepper. One question though how would such a business work with a chinese restaurant? Will the price adjust everytime according to the market? or will I be selling them one same price constantly?

Seeing as these things cheap right now I feeling to take a gamble and plant them see if I get lucky next year when they ready to sell. Cauliflower does grow good in my area, I notice its going for a high price right now $15 a pound.

Pointman-IA

Postby Pointman-IA » December 16th, 2015, 7:01 pm

Can cauliflower be grown via aquaphonics?

GRIM

Postby GRIM » December 16th, 2015, 7:42 pm

cauliflower sell for $8/lb today in macoya market and it was best quality flowers

not sure if cauliflower could grow in aquaphonics, you will have to research it.
planting garden is a gamble sometimes yuh loss, sometimes yuh make

Postby Chimera » December 17th, 2015, 6:47 am

Everything will grow in hydro/aquaponics....but is the difficulty for certain stuff. Cauliflower might use up alot of water. Google and see....I'm sure there are dozens of research papers on it

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » December 18th, 2015, 10:55 am

Is it possible to grow Broccoli in Trinidad? anybody ever tried it and see what happen?

TriniAutoMart

Postby TriniAutoMart » December 21st, 2015, 12:58 pm

Ginger is always expensive. Something you may also want to sell to the restaurants if they use that ed.

On a side note. I got an electric string trimmer for $350 on sale at Home Mart. I don't really have a big set of land it's just to cut the grass in my yard. Tried it out and it worked really well. Must say it's a really good investment.

Also got some Bermuda grass seeds so now I'm going not make an attempt to plant some lawn grass. Wish me luck.

vidane

Postby vidane » December 21st, 2015, 7:28 pm

Planted Broccoli, Cauliflower and Cabbage on a small scale. Yes they can be grown locally, same management practices for all except to the point when the head starts to develop. Simple management pravtices, nothimg too complicated. Commercially, not much producers of Broccoli and Cauliflower so market not readily available would have to do some ground work finding your market, however demand does exist.

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » December 21st, 2015, 7:47 pm

TriniAutoMart wrote:Ginger is always expensive. Something you may also want to sell to the restaurants if they use that ed.

On a side note. I got an electric string trimmer for $350 on sale at Home Mart. I don't really have a big set of land it's just to cut the grass in my yard. Tried it out and it worked really well. Must say it's a really good investment.

Also got some Bermuda grass seeds so now I'm going not make an attempt to plant some lawn grass. Wish me luck.

Hmm interesting and ginger is something hard to thief. I will plant some ginger and see how it comes and how it sell. Will check out the restaurants and find out how much they willing to buy and how often.
The string trimmer you got is it wobble bike handle? something to note the bike handle is much easier to use compared to those small handle ones where the trigger built on the shaft also less vibration but if its a small area it won't matter to you I suppose.

I was considering planting some kinda lawn grass in my 1.25 Acre of land when the coconuts start to produce in 4 years from now. But then there is the issue of the hopper bug they love lawn grass and those bugs is what kill coconut trees. So I guess I gonna be spraying the grass so it wont' have grass when that time comes.
I really can't wait till next election, cause it means I will be retiring once them coconuts start to bear. Just imagine if I did this 4 years ago? I could ah retire at 30 years today yes.

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » December 31st, 2015, 3:09 pm

I bought a pack of Sugar Baby mellon seeds at the shop here. You all ever tried growing them? anything in particular I should know? planting for myself not sure if anyone does sell these melons locally or if it would make sense trying to sell for a profit.

lipstick war

Postby lipstick war » January 1st, 2016, 9:19 pm

Does anyone know the agent/distributor for novatec brand locally aka blau korn?

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » January 2nd, 2016, 12:18 pm

caribbean chemicals is a good place to start^

TriniAutoMart

Postby TriniAutoMart » January 3rd, 2016, 10:04 pm

Straight handle Ed. Harder to operate but it isn't much grass so I'm cool with it.

Don't have much crops so the lawn grass will be a welcome addition for my yard.

Looking for some specific stuff to make a soil mixture:
Plant growth aquarium gravel
Cheap unscented non clumping, clay cat litter
Activated coal for aquariums
Absorbing zeolite for aquariums
Anyone know where I can get these specific items?

snatman

Postby snatman » January 4th, 2016, 3:56 pm

what is the typica treatment for root knot nematodes?

I'm convinced that's the problem my backyard peppers are suffering with

GRIM

Postby GRIM » January 4th, 2016, 6:09 pm

more preventative than curative (in my experience)
about $45 a bottle 100ml
good luck finding a bottle though

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » January 4th, 2016, 11:21 pm

TriniAutoMart wrote:Straight handle Ed. Harder to operate but it isn't much grass so I'm cool with it.

when you say straight handle you mean the one that looks like a loop? not the bike handle right? if so it would fall under the category of "string trimmer" as brush cutter has the bike handle, how much did you pay for that murray?

I have noticed something interesting, some people are saying that STIHL is extremely overpriced and that you does get rob when you buy a stihl. But from a little research I have found out that every other company out there hides the Brake Horse Power of their brush cutter. STIHL is the only company that lists their cc, KW and BHP all on the same page. So I eh sure if Stihl is overpriced or not. Who knows maybe it is.
Last edited by EFFECTIC DESIGNS on January 5th, 2016, 10:42 am, edited 1 time in total.

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » January 4th, 2016, 11:29 pm

Wondering what opinion do you all have about spraying grass with poison? can doing this every 3 months cause an issue with my coconut trees as they are very small? So far I am spraying poison once to kill out the big hard bamboo grass. But from there on I am cutting with the wacker because I am not sure how much of an effect this swiper poison has on the soil.

We have coconut trees home here that start to produce in just 3 years. Same plants I using for the land I planting and I don't wanna hamper this in anyway, I usually cut the grass and rake it up around the coconut plants for manure. Let me know what experience you guys have on using poison over a long period of time.

Postby De Dragon » January 4th, 2016, 11:37 pm

I'm getting some black fungus( I assume) on the leaves of my seven pod pepper plants. What's a good, preferably organic method to treat. I specify organic because these plants have seen no chemicals whatsoever, not even fertilizer and they bearing some nice, hardy peppers.

Postby Chimera » January 5th, 2016, 6:29 am

You could try soap water or crush up some neem leaves and dilute and spray

Postby Chimera » January 5th, 2016, 6:30 am

It has a thick black nylon that is sold locally effectic. No need to amazon it in

BoxEater

Postby BoxEater » January 5th, 2016, 6:37 am

AYSN wrote:It has a thick black nylon that is sold locally effectic. No need to amazon it in

bought mines from massy on ubh before monroe road flyover.....paid 1 something for a fairly large bobine...been using it for more than 8 mths with no problem...

i think the thickness is 3.3mm and you could buy the universal (husquvarna ) head to use it on...i think its the t35....

that string cuts bamboo grass normal and even (black sage) trees....

TriniAutoMart

Postby TriniAutoMart » January 5th, 2016, 10:59 am

EFFECTIC DESIGNS wrote:
TriniAutoMart wrote:Straight handle Ed. Harder to operate but it isn't much grass so I'm cool with it.

when you say straight handle you mean the one that looks like a loop? not the bike handle right? if so it would fall under the category of "string trimmer" as brush cutter has the bike handle, how much did you pay for that murray?

I have noticed something interesting, some people are saying that STIHL is extremely overpriced and that you does get rob when you buy a stihl. But from a little research I have found out that every other company out there hides the Brake Horse Power of their brush cutter. STIHL is the only company that lists their cc, KW and BHP all on the same page. So I eh sure if Stihl is overpriced or not. Who knows maybe it is.

It is not a Murray ed. It was a cheap electric string trimmer for $350. Manufactured in China. Does a pretty good job though for the small area I'm working with.

Anyone know where I can find the specific items above?

lipstick war

Postby lipstick war » January 5th, 2016, 7:24 pm

TriniAutoMart wrote:
EFFECTIC DESIGNS wrote:

It is not a Murray ed. It was a cheap electric string trimmer for $350. Manufactured in China. Does a pretty good job though for the small area I'm working with.

Anyone know where I can find the specific items above?

What exactly are you trying to do?

ado15mk3

Postby ado15mk3 » January 5th, 2016, 8:11 pm

Quick question for you seasoned farmers.
When buying plants from la vega etc. What would be the best way to harden the plants (not seedlings) so that they don't just wilt an die?
Reason I ask is because this has happened to me but when I buy seedlings from d plant shop there is no issue normally.

Postby Chimera » January 5th, 2016, 10:14 pm

Probably Hit It With Some Rooting Nutrients And Gradually Expose It To Heavier Sunlight before actually planting. Make sure it always watered when u exposing to direct sunlight tho

lipstick war

Postby lipstick war » January 5th, 2016, 10:38 pm

ado15mk3 wrote:Quick question for you seasoned farmers.
When buying plants from la vega etc. What would be the best way to harden the plants (not seedlings) so that they don't just wilt an die?
Reason I ask is because this has happened to me but when I buy seedlings from d plant shop there is no issue normally.

What problems are you having?

ado15mk3

Postby ado15mk3 » January 6th, 2016, 5:36 am

I now start to try out ornamental plants and whenever we buy them and put them out they wilt and eventually die. We water as normal, once in the morning every day. However, the bougainvillea didn't have this issue

lipstick war

Postby lipstick war » January 6th, 2016, 8:37 am

ado15mk3 wrote:I now start to try out ornamental plants and whenever we buy them and put them out they wilt and eventually die. We water as normal, once in the morning every day. However, the bougainvillea didn't have this issue

Ornamental plants need a fast draining potting mix if you decide on watering everyday,if your mix is to heavy and holds to much water rentention you will induce root rot.

Sounds like you're overwatering them which may rob you of oxygen and drainage causing wilting/death.

ado15mk3

Postby ado15mk3 » January 6th, 2016, 8:57 am

Interesting.. I thought once per day is under watering

lipstick war

Postby lipstick war » January 6th, 2016, 11:24 am

Water them only when necessary,what potting mix you using?