When will Taxes be removed on CCTV systems....?

R.P.J

Re: When will Taxes be removed on CCTV systems....?

Postby R.P.J » May 30th, 2015, 6:59 pm

Could anyone recommend someone who could install a camera system for a flat house. Need someone who is honest and of good character and not just only want to make a hustle and give me bull work.

Postby Team Loco » May 30th, 2015, 7:27 pm

R.P.J wrote:Could anyone recommend someone who could install a camera system for a flat house. Need someone who is honest and of good character and not just only want to make a hustle and give me bull work.

Does such a person exist?
I went to a friends house. Said he installed a 16 channels system. Paid $80,000. When i checked its a relabled night owl system. Rip off peeps everywhere

Postby pugboy » May 30th, 2015, 10:25 pm

going rate is around $350 per camera

src1983

Postby src1983 » May 30th, 2015, 11:00 pm

Doing my own thing now

Axis
Nas

jose123

Postby jose123 » May 31st, 2015, 7:12 am

Team Loco wrote:
R.P.J wrote:Could anyone recommend someone who could install a camera system for a flat house. Need someone who is honest and of good character and not just only want to make a hustle and give me bull work.

Does such a person exist?
I went to a friends house. Said he installed a 16 channels system. Paid $80,000. When i checked its a relabled night owl system. Rip off peeps everywhere

Exactly DIY!!!

Daran

Postby Daran » May 31st, 2015, 7:26 am

Still can't understand why people pay contractors to install.

I

Postby Chimera » May 31st, 2015, 7:56 am

Daran wrote:Still can't understand why people pay contractors to install.

I

Not everyone has the time or will to diy. I've stopped sending installers to do work on the whole. When ppl call n ask for installers or to recommend installers,I tell them I could give them some numbers but I can't recommend anyone

Postby 1UZFE » May 31st, 2015, 8:10 am

Pal order yuh ting on amazon n look around for an installer. I have a 8ch set up n d installer took 1k to do it.

src1983

Postby src1983 » May 31st, 2015, 8:53 am

Some guys don't even know how to crimp coax properly much less crimp network cable. So when u shift the DVR you lose signal

R.P.J

Postby R.P.J » May 31st, 2015, 10:07 am

Thanks guys yes amazon self I would order it from.

Postby hustla_ambition101 » July 15th, 2015, 9:46 pm

Guys I want to purchase a single CCTV camera for my home, what cables etc will I need to purchase along with the camera

jose123

Postby jose123 » July 15th, 2015, 11:32 pm

hustla_ambition101 wrote:Guys I want to purchase a single CCTV camera for my home, what cables etc will I need to purchase along with the camera

The kits usually contain everything you will need. If the cable runs are too short extension cables can be bought. Just check on the gender of the ends. If you need to use an extension, it might be better to buy a higher quality longer cable, or have a dedicated (waterproofed) electric outlet at the camera.
The kits are usually cheaper than buying each piece of hardware. You can get single cam kits.
If you decide to buy individual pieces a camera of at least 700 lines is advisable and a DVR that can support that.
A DVR supporting 4 or more cams might be desirable in case you want to extend later.
If you just want to view an area, and no recording is necessary, one of those small cams used in car applications could be connected to a dedicated monitor, or directly to a TV.

patricksarg

Postby patricksarg » July 18th, 2015, 12:23 pm

Call sarge 318 3659

patricksarg

Postby patricksarg » July 18th, 2015, 12:27 pm

I got a 4 channel DVR with connections you can make your own cables any length contact me for details number above

dredman1

Postby dredman1 » October 5th, 2015, 8:35 pm

Were any specific details given in today's budget concerning this?

In their manifesto they indicated they would provide incentives for installing CCTV and alarm systems to home and business owners to fight crime.

However, I only heard the minister say something along the lines of they would be reviewing the types and specifications of the equipment, but nothing specific or concrete was stated.

Did I miss anything?

Postby pugboy » October 5th, 2015, 8:58 pm

cant be worse than the previous govt who said taxes were to be removed but for 3 years still charged taxes............

Postby Chimera » October 5th, 2015, 9:18 pm

pugboy wrote:cant be worse than the previous govt who said taxes were to be removed but for 3 years still charged taxes............

Nah they had removed it

For about 6 months

To allow a large shipment of cctv equipment in for a family of a minister to supply to the government

dredman1

Postby dredman1 » October 5th, 2015, 9:30 pm

pugboy wrote:cant be worse than the previous govt who said taxes were to be removed but for 3 years still charged taxes............
Can't argue that point. However, I was really looking forward to see what incentives they would bring.

Why is it so difficult to bring this to the table when it seems this is something that could help with fighting crime?

Last gov't was a set of delays with implementing, then only for a specific time, then only specific resolution systems and systems with monitor only - like they really didn't want to give the regular citizen any sort of real incentive.

So far with this gov't, still nothing concrete (that I've heard).

EDIT:

Found it. I was right - nothing yet. Incentives and concessions to be announced in 2016. At least they acknowledged it.
Forward the vid to 1:45:20.

fullthrotle

Postby fullthrotle » February 16th, 2016, 9:30 am

am i right in saying that only complete cctv system (ie monitor camera dvr etc) is non taxable (ie no vat no duties)

zaria

Postby zaria » August 12th, 2016, 10:44 am

What's the update on this?
Looking to import a 4 camera alibi system.
Also if anyone can recommend any other good brand.

Postby hustla_ambition101 » August 12th, 2016, 8:28 pm

Hearing taxes will be back on cctv systems soon. Not sure how true or how soon. Also looking to import soon

killercow

Postby killercow » June 21st, 2020, 10:52 pm

What's the current taxes for CCVT systems now?
20% duty and VAT?
No duty?
Looking to bring in one. Any help will be appreciated thanks

agent007

Postby agent007 » June 21st, 2020, 11:02 pm

20% duty
12.5% vat

killercow

Postby killercow » June 21st, 2020, 11:17 pm

agent007 wrote:20% duty
12.5% vat

Thanks. Can anyone recommend a decent 8-channel home surveillance system?
(brand, reliability, cost etc.)

agent007

Postby agent007 » June 22nd, 2020, 12:56 am

viewtopic.php?f=4&t=691294

viewtopic.php?f=4&t=574499

Nice info passed on those 2 threads. Mere fact it's a home based system and you want only 8 channels then something like a Lorex or Swann might not be so bad.

Analog 1080p with DVR
https://www.lorextechnology.com/hd-dvr- ... 80-88W-1-p

Digital IP 4K with NVR
https://www.lorextechnology.com/4k-ip-c ... 844NVW-1-p

Depends on how deep your pocket is. I have 37 cameras spanning 4 systems. Oldest one is 4 years old and the newest is 2 years old. All systems are working perfect. In those 4 years, I had 3 issues. In 2 systems, the power adapter went bad and for the third system, a cable went bad due to my own mistake however I thought initially it was a defect which Lorex replaced under standard warranty for free. So I owe them a cable lol.

Postby pugboy » June 22nd, 2020, 5:00 am

The laws to allow no taxes are a joke
It’s only no taxes if the entire system incl monitor comes in a single pkg,

Postby nemisis » June 22nd, 2020, 6:55 am

Any 8cam nvr systems can be recommended that meets the criteria?
pugboy wrote:The laws to allow no taxes are a joke
It’s only no taxes if the entire system incl monitor comes in a single pkg,

killercow

Postby killercow » June 22nd, 2020, 7:13 pm

agent007 wrote:https://www.trinituner.com/v4/forums/viewtopic.php?f=4&t=691294

https://www.trinituner.com/v4/forums/vi ... 4&t=574499

Nice info passed on those 2 threads. Mere fact it's a home based system and you want only 8 channels then something like a Lorex or Swann might not be so bad.

Analog 1080p with DVR
https://www.lorextechnology.com/hd-dvr- ... 80-88W-1-p

Digital IP 4K with NVR
https://www.lorextechnology.com/4k-ip-c ... 844NVW-1-p

Depends on how deep your pocket is. I have 37 cameras spanning 4 systems. Oldest one is 4 years old and the newest is 2 years old. All systems are working perfect. In those 4 years, I had 3 issues. In 2 systems, the power adapter went bad and for the third system, a cable went bad due to my own mistake however I thought initially it was a defect which Lorex replaced under standard warranty for free. So I owe them a cable lol.

Thanks for this! Just what I needed!

Rota fan

Postby Rota fan » June 24th, 2020, 7:40 am

After months of checking around, i decided to go with a company that calls themselves "experts" from cunupia for my system. They were quick on the draw to install but after only a couple weeks, two of the hikvision cameras started to show blurry. This was since april of this year and im still waiting on their technician to come check it. Total failure

Postby pugboy » June 24th, 2020, 7:43 am

did you try cleaning the lens on the cameras ?

Rota fan wrote:After months of checking around, i decided to go with a company that calls themselves "experts" from cunupia for my system. They were quick on the draw to install but after only a couple weeks, two of the hikvision cameras started to show blurry. This was since april of this year and im still waiting on their technician to come check it. Total failure